Claim(s) 1-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandzia et al, WO 2017/157774 in view of Hurd et al, U.S. Patent No. 9,677,207 and Lindsay, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0032570.
Kandzia discloses a method of treating a textile to degrade malodors. The treatment is suitable for manmade fabrics such as athletic wear. See page 1, 3rd paragraph. The method involves contacting a fabric with at least one species of Bacillus, such as Bacillus amyloliquefaciens, and or Bacillus atrophaeus, especially bacterial spores of bacilli selected from the groups set forth at the end of page 1 through the first full paragraph of page 2. The contact of the bacterial spores can occur before, during or after a washing process in a washing machine. See page 2, third full paragraph. More than one bacterial strains can be used. See page 2, paragraph 4. Any type of fabric or textile can be treated, including garments and fabrics used in furnishings and vehicles. The fabrics can comprise various types of fibers, including natural, synthetic and man-made fibers, including natural fibers such as wool, cellulosic fibers, regenerated cellulose fibers and polymeric fibers such as polyester and blends thereof. See final paragraph of page 3. The bacterial spores are present in an effective amount. See page 4, 4th full paragraph. An effective dosage of the spores is a final concentration of 1X102 t- 1X109 CFU/g. See page 4, paragraph 5 – page 5, first paragraph. The compositions can have a pH in the range of 5-10 and may include water and other preservatives as needed. See page 5, 4th full paragraph. The composition can be added to a fabric as a liquid, aerosol or emulsion. See page 6, 3rd full paragraph. The composition can further comprise an organic acid and other polymers, (see page 9, second paragraph-page 11, 3rd full paragraph). Kandzia does not require the use of bleach with the composition and does not require the use of fabric conditioning agents, wherein fabric conditioning agents are interpreted as set forth at page 9, lines 1-5 of the instant specification.
Kandzia differs from the claimed invention because while it discloses sport fabrics and fabrics formed from polyester generally, it does not clearly disclose wicking fabrics.
However, Hurd discloses an integrally knitted fabric with two or more layers wherein the denier per filament of the yarns making up the layers progressively get smaller as they face away from the skin contacting layer. The yarns can be polyester. See claims 1-4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have applied the solution of Kandzia to the fabric of Hurd in order to provide the improved properties of eliminating odors to the wicking fabrics of Hurd.
As set forth above, since Kandzia does not require any anionic surfactant, Kandzia would meet the limitation of up to 1% which includes zero. However, if the limitation is interpreted as requiring anionic surfactant to be present, Kandzia does not teach the claimed amount.
However, Lindsay teaches a method of mitigating biofilms and removing odors on clothes and other items. Lindsay teaches treating the clothes and other items with compositions which can include bacteria, enzymes and anionic surfactants. See paragraphs 0006. The enzymes can include an enzyme stabilizing system. See paragraph 0055. The enzyme stabilizers can be present in amounts of up to 7%. See paragraph 0056. The stabilizer can be sodium citrate, sodium formate, calcium chloride or sodium carbonate, etc. See paragraph 0056. Lindsay teaches that anionic surfactants can be present in the system in amounts of 0.01-25% by weight. See paragraph 0098 and 0102.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included the particular enzymes and enzyme stabilizers as well as the anionic surfactant in the amounts as taught by Lindsay in the composition of Kandzia in order to provide a composition which reduces malodor and biofilm.
Claim(s) 16is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandzia et al, WO 2017/157774 in view of Hurd et al, U.S. Patent No. 9.677,207 and Lindsay, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0032570 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0066352.
Kandzia differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly teach including alkoxylated polyalkyleneimines in the composition. However, Wang discloses incorporating alkoxylated polyalkyleneimines into compositions for cleaning textiles. See paragraph 0219, 0277.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated alkoxylated polyalkyleneimines into the composition of Kandzia in order to further clean and deodorize the treated textiles.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s summary of the invention and case law has been carefully considered.
Applicant argues that Example 3 provides evidence of nonobvoiusness because it excludes the fabric conditioning agents.
However, Kandzia already teaches an embodiment without fabric conditioning agents. Therefore, while Kandzia neither teaches away from using fabric conditioning agents nor recognizes a problem with using fabric conditioning agents, since Kandzia teaches an embodiment which does not include any fabric conditioning agents, a showing is not able to overcome the Kandzia reference. Kandzia teaches four embodiments, 1) spores with water, 2) spores with water plus detergent, 3) spores with water plus fabric conditioning agents and 4) spores with water, detergent, and fabric conditioning agents. Since Kandzia teaches embodiments which are free of fabric conditioning agents, there is no modification of the composition of Kandzia required to meet the claimed invention. See entire document, especially page 3, lines 1-5; page 3,third paragraph; page 5, third paragraph and page 6, line 1 – third paragraph, which teaches that the spores may be in a solvent, wherein the solvent is water and may be applied to fabrics alone or in combination with other components.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789