DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, see (Pgs. 7 – 8), filed on (4 – 27 – 2026), with respect to the amended feature(s) of claim(s) 1 & 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takashi Arai (US 4752199 A, in view of An et al. (US 20170210888 A) and in further view of Bertschi et al. (US 5798069 A) and Arai in view of An in view of Bertschi and in further view of William Diamond (US 2809764 A, hereinafter Diamond), respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 – 8 & 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi Arai (US 4752199 A, hereinafter Arai) in view of An et al. (US 20170210888 A, hereinafter An) and in further view of Bertschi et al. (US 5798069 A, hereinafter Bertschi)Regarding claim 1,
A method for forming a trim breaker, the method comprising steps of:
disposing gas-blocking flakes into a polymer material to form an injection molding material;
forming a mold that defines a forming cavity,
wherein the mold includes a plurality of gating structures,
wherein the plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures;
injecting the injection molding material into the mold via the plurality of gating structures,
wherein each respective gating structure of the plurality of gating structures is positioned in a parallel configuration with respect to a corresponding interior wall of the corresponding portions of the mold; and
directing respective flows of the injection molding material into the mold,
wherein the plurality of gating structures in the parallel configuration with respect to the corresponding interior walls of the corresponding portion of the mold produces the respective flows of the injection molding material that are aligned, respectively, with the plurality of gating structures and are parallel with respect to an interior surface that defines the forming cavity,
the respective flows of the injection molding material for each gating structure of the plurality of gating structures flowing in a single and dedicated direction, through each respective gating structure and through the corresponding portion of the mold, respectively,
wherein the respective flows of the injection molding material produce an aligned configuration of the gas-blocking flakes in an ultimate position within the injection molding material that is parallel with the interior surface of the corresponding interior walls and the respective gating structures to define the trim breaker.
First Author teaches the following:
b.), c.), d.), e.), f.), g.), h.) & i.) (Col. 4, lines 17 – 25) teaches that the resin A is injected into the cavity 4a through various runners. Consequently, as shown in (Fig. 4B), the resin A is uniformly injected, with almost uniform pressure. After a predetermined amount of the resin A is injected into the molding cavity, the needle valve 1b of the first injection cylinder unit is closed, and the needle valve 2b of the second injection cylinder unit 2 is opened to inject the resin B layer. (Col. 5, lines 53 – 55) teaches that the resins may be polycarbonate resins. As illustrated in (Figs. 1, 3A – 4A & 5A – 6A), each of the respective gating structure of the plurality of gating structures is positioned in a parallel configuration with respect to a corresponding interior wall of the mold, such that the respective flows of the injection molding material are aligned, respectively, with the plurality of gating structures and are parallel with respect to an interior surface that defines the forming cavity, providing for the plurality of gating structures flowing in a single direction, through each respective gating structure and through the mold. The (Abstract) notes that this configuration provides for a resin flow toward the sprues into a same direction and to achieve uniform resin pressure in the proceeding direction, thus realizing uniform injection into the runners.
As illustrated in (Figs. 3 – 4) a plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold.
Highlighting, that the respective flows of the injection molding material produce an aligned configuration of the gas-blocking flakes is understood to be a functional limitation. Where, the configuration of Arai is understood to be equivalent to that of applicant. As such, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.
Regarding Claim 1, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding comprising gas blocking flakes. In analogous art for a polymer composition, (Abstract) for injection molded parts, ([0078]), An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
& i.) ([0075]) teaches that the preparation of the compositions according to the present invention may be carried out by mixing the polymer components with the possibly present reinforcing filler and the other additives according to techniques known in the art. ([0075]) teaches that the elastomeric composition is incorporated into injection molded parts. ([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai. By modifying and optimizing the composition to comprise a polymer composition with fillers including glass and / or mica fillers, as taught by An. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement and optimize the composition to comprise a polymer composition with fillers such as glass and / or mica fillers as it provides a means for tailoring the compositions thermophysical properties including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient, ([0066]). Accordingly, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Additionally, the use of a known material, i.e, polymer with fillers, in a known environment, namely injection molding for its intended use tailoring the compositions thermophysical properties including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 1, Arai as modified by An is silent regarding the plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures. In analogous art for a mold implemented in injection molding, the mold comprising a first injector and a second injector around the perimeter of the mold, (Abstract), Bertschi suggests details regarding the plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures, and in this regard, Bertsch teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches that The foregoing objects are attained by the opposed gating injection method and apparatus for forming molded articles and for use with injection molders wherein a first mold half and a second mold half are adapted to cooperate and form at least one mold cavity. A first injector nozzle is positioned in a first mold half adjacent the cavity, for injecting a first molding resin into the cavity through a first orifice. A second injector nozzle is included which is positioned in the second mold half adjacent the cavity for injecting a second molding resin. The second resin may be different from the first resin or the same as the first resin. As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 8), various arrangements are provided in which a first and second gating injection nozzles are positioned on the mold, in particular the first and second gating injection nozzles are situated on opposed ends along the perimeter of the mold such that the first and second gating injection nozzles are aligned with corresponding portions of the mold. Where the first and second gating injection nozzles actings as applicant’s plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures. In summary, a first and second gating injection nozzles are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai in view of An. By further modifying the mold to comprise a plurality of nozzles with gating structures positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures, as taught by Bertsch. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implementing a mold to comprise a plurality of nozzles with gating structures positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures as it provides for injecting a plurality of resins into a mold cavity in a space efficient manner and provides for the first and second gating injection nozzles to be independently adjusted for each resin while such system is space efficient producing parts with unique quality and an efficient single resin injection system is provided for efficiently molding a plurality of articles in a multi-cavity mold, (Col. 7, lines 60 – End & Col. 8, lines 1 – 6). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the step of disposing the gas-blocking flakes into the polymer material includes disposing glass particles into the polymer material.
Regarding Claim 4, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding comprising gas blocking flakes. In analogous art as applied above, An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
([0075]) teaches that the preparation of the compositions according to the present invention may be carried out by mixing the polymer components with the possibly present reinforcing filler and the other additives according to techniques known in the art. ([0075]) teaches that the elastomeric composition is incorporated into injection molded parts. ([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the step of directing the flow of the injection molding material into the mold includes selectively operating at least one gating structure of the plurality of gating structures of the mold.
Arai teaches the following:
After a predetermined amount of the layer resin A is injected into the molding cavity, the needle valve 1b of the first injection cylinder unit is closed, and the needle valve 2b of the second injection cylinder unit 2 is opened to inject the layer resin B. As such, the step of directing the flow of the injection molding material into the mold includes selectively operating at least one gating structure of the plurality of gating structures of the mold.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the plurality of gating structures are positioned to promote the flow of the injection molding material that is parallel with the interior surface that defines the forming cavity.
Arai teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 17 – 25) teaches that the resin A is injected into the cavity 4a through various runners. Consequently, as shown in (Fig. 4B), the resin A is uniformly injected, with almost uniform pressure. After a predetermined amount of the resin A is injected into the molding cavity, the needle valve 1b of the first injection cylinder unit is closed, and the needle valve 2b of the second injection cylinder unit 2 is opened to inject the resin B layer. (Col. 5, lines 53 – 55) teaches that the resins may be polycarbonate resins. As illustrated in (Figs. 1, 3A – 4A & 5A – 6A), each of the respective gating structure of the plurality of gating structures is positioned in a parallel configuration with respect to a corresponding interior wall of the mold, such that the respective flows of the injection molding material are aligned, respectively, with the plurality of gating structures and are parallel with respect to an interior surface that defines the forming cavity, providing for the plurality of gating structures flowing in a single direction, through each respective gating structure and through the mold
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the step of disposing the gas-blocking flakes into the polymer material includes disposing the gas-blocking flakes in a range of from approximately 10 percent to 40 percent by volume of the injection molding material.
Regarding Claim 10, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding. In analogous art as applied above in claim 1, An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well. Furthermore, due to the impact of the filler i.e., mica and/or glass has on the composition, the case law regarding for result effective variable may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
B.) Claim(s) 2, 11, 13 & 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of An in view of Bertschi and in further view of William Diamond (US 2809764 A, hereinafter Diamond)Regarding Claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising:
disposing an epoxy coating on at least a portion of an outer surface of the trim breaker.
Regarding Claim 2, Arai as modified by An and Bertschi is silent regarding the applying an epoxy coating after injection molding the article. In analogous art for a polymer composition that can be pressure pumped into a mold, (Col. 3, lines 1-5), Diamond suggests details regarding implementing an epoxy coating on the article after being fabricated and in this regard, Diamond teaches the following:
(Claim 1) teaches a layer of transparent low-heat conducting epoxy-resin composition covering said decorative material and filling a space there above that extends between said slotted members. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 2) the edging members 20 and 21 which comprise the plastic material are found to have an epoxy coating 23, on both their top exterior portion and side exterior portion (side walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai as modified by Arai as modified by An and Bertschi. By further modifying the article to include an epoxy coating, as taught by Diamond. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an epoxy coating due to providing an excellent moisture seal around the outer edges of said edge members, (Col. 5, lines 1-3) and allows for incorporating therein a coloring pigment which will aid in harmonizing said material with a particular adjoining color scheme, (Col. 3, lines 36-49) additionally tailoring the heat insulating properties, (Col. 3, lines 42-44). As such, the implementation of an epoxy coating is understood to impact various aspects of the article fabricated including the color, moisture resistance and heat insulating properties. The use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 11,
A method for forming a trim breaker, the method comprising steps of:
disposing gas-blocking flakes into a polymer material to form an injection molding material;
injecting the injection molding material into a mold via a plurality of gating structures;
directing respective flows of the injection molding material, via the plurality of gating structures, into the mold,
the plurality of gating structures being positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures,
wherein the plurality of gating structures are aligned with walls of the corresponding portions of the mold, respectively, to produce the respective flows of the injection molding material that move through each gating structure and through the mold in the dedicated directions a single respective direction, the respective flows being aligned with the gating structures and parallel with an interior surface of the corresponding portions that defines define a forming cavity, respectively,
wherein the respective flows of the injection molding material produce an aligned configuration of the gas-blocking flakes that, in an ultimate position within the injection molding material, generally orients a longitudinal axis of each gas-blocking flake of a plurality of gas-blocking flakes to be parallel with the interior surface of the forming cavity to define the trim breaker; and
disposing an epoxy coating on at least a portion of an outer surface of the trim breaker.
Arai teaches the following:
, b.), c.) & e.) (Col. 4, lines 17 – 25) teaches that the resin A is injected into the cavity 4a through various runners. Consequently, as shown in (Fig. 4B), the resin A is uniformly injected, with almost uniform pressure. After a predetermined amount of the resin A is injected into the molding cavity, the needle valve 1b of the first injection cylinder unit is closed, and the needle valve 2b of the second injection cylinder unit 2 is opened to inject the resin B layer. (Col. 5, lines 53 – 55) teaches that the resins may be polycarbonate resins. As illustrated in (Figs. 1, 3A – 4A & 5A – 6A), each of the respective gating structure of the plurality of gating structures is positioned in a parallel configuration with respect to a corresponding interior wall of the mold, such that the respective flows of the injection molding material are aligned, respectively, with the plurality of gating structures and are parallel with respect to an interior surface that defines the forming cavity, providing for the plurality of gating structures flowing in a single direction, through each respective gating structure and through the mold. The (Abstract) notes that this configuration provides for a resin flow toward the sprues into a same direction and to achieve uniform resin pressure in the proceeding direction, thus realizing uniform injection into the runners.
As illustrated in (Figs. 3 – 4) a plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold.
Highlighting, that the respective flows of the injection molding material produce an aligned configuration of the gas-blocking flakes is understood to be a functional limitation. Where, the configuration of Arai is understood to be equivalent to that of applicant. As such, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.
Regarding Claim 11, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding comprising gas blocking flakes. In analogous art for a polymer composition, (Abstract) for injection molded parts, ([0078]), An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
& f.) ([0075]) teaches that the preparation of the compositions according to the present invention may be carried out by mixing the polymer components with the possibly present reinforcing filler and the other additives according to techniques known in the art. ([0075]) teaches that the elastomeric composition is incorporated into injection molded parts. ([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai. By modifying and optimizing the composition to comprise a polymer composition with fillers including glass and / or mica fillers, as taught by An. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement and optimize the composition to comprise a polymer composition with fillers such as glass and / or mica fillers as it provides a means for tailoring the compositions thermophysical properties including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient, ([0066]). Accordingly, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Additionally, the use of a known material, i.e, polymer with fillers, in a known environment, namely injection molding for its intended use tailoring the compositions thermophysical properties including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 11, Arai as modified by An is silent regarding the plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures. In analogous art for a mold implemented in injection molding, the mold comprising a first injector and a second injector around the perimeter of the mold, (Abstract), Bertschi suggests details regarding the plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures, and in this regard, Bertsch teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches that The foregoing objects are attained by the opposed gating injection method and apparatus for forming molded articles and for use with injection molders wherein a first mold half and a second mold half are adapted to cooperate and form at least one mold cavity. A first injector nozzle is positioned in a first mold half adjacent the cavity, for injecting a first molding resin into the cavity through a first orifice. A second injector nozzle is included which is positioned in the second mold half adjacent the cavity for injecting a second molding resin. The second resin may be different from the first resin or the same as the first resin. As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 8), various arrangements are provided in which a first and second gating injection nozzles are positioned on the mold, in particular the first and second gating injection nozzles are situated on opposed ends along the perimeter of the mold such that the first and second gating injection nozzles are aligned with corresponding portions of the mold. Where the first and second gating injection nozzles actings as applicant’s plurality of gating structures are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures. In summary, a first and second gating injection nozzles are positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai in view of An. By further modifying the mold to comprise a plurality of nozzles with gating structures positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures, as taught by Bertsch. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implementing a mold to comprise a plurality of nozzles with gating structures positioned around the mold to be oriented in dedicated directions that align with corresponding portions of the mold, each gating structure being positioned in a different direction with respect to the remainder of the plurality of gating structures as it provides for injecting a plurality of resins into a mold cavity in a space efficient manner and provides for the first and second gating injection nozzles to be independently adjusted for each resin while such system is space efficient producing parts with unique quality and an efficient single resin injection system is provided for efficiently molding a plurality of articles in a multi-cavity mold, (Col. 7, lines 60 – End & Col. 8, lines 1 – 6). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Regarding Claim 11, Arai as modified by An and Bertschi is silent regarding the applying an epoxy coating after injection molding the article. In analogous art for a polymer composition that can be pressure pumped into a mold, (Col. 3, lines 1-5), Diamond suggests details regarding implementing an epoxy coating on the article after being fabricated and in this regard, Diamond teaches the following:
(Claim 1) teaches a layer of transparent low-heat conducting epoxy-resin composition covering said decorative material and filling a space there above that extends between said slotted members. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 2) the edging members 20 and 21 which comprise the plastic material are found to have an epoxy coating 23, on both their top exterior portion and side exterior portion (side walls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai as modified by An and Bertschi. By further modifying the article to include an epoxy coating, as taught by Diamond. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an epoxy coating due to providing an excellent moisture seal around the outer edges of said edge members, (Col. 5, lines 1-3) and allows for incorporating therein a coloring pigment which will aid in harmonizing said material with a particular adjoining color scheme, (Col. 3, lines 36-49) additionally tailoring the heat insulating properties, (Col. 3, lines 42-44). As such, the implementation of an epoxy coating is understood to impact various aspects of the article fabricated including the color, moisture resistance and heat insulating properties. The use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 11,
Wherein the step of disposing the gas-blocking flakes into the polymer material includes combining the gas-blocking flakes and the polymer material to form a homogenous mixture.
Regarding Claim 13, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding comprising gas blocking flakes. In analogous art as applied above, An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
([0075]) teaches that the preparation of the compositions according to the present invention may be carried out by mixing the polymer components with the possibly present reinforcing filler and the other additives according to techniques known in the art. ([0075]) teaches that the elastomeric composition is incorporated into injection molded parts. ([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient. As such, the disposing the gas-blocking flakes into the polymer material is understood to comprise combining the filler/gas-blocking flakes and the polymer material to form a homogenous mixture.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 11, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 11,
Wherein the step of directing the respective flows of the injection molding material into the mold includes selectively operating at least one gating structure of the plurality of gating structures of the mold.
Arai teaches the following:
After a predetermined amount of the layer resin A is injected into the molding cavity, the needle valve 1b of the first injection cylinder unit is closed, and the needle valve 2b of the second injection cylinder unit 2 is opened to inject the layer resin B. As such, the step of directing the flow of the injection molding material into the mold includes selectively operating at least one gating structure of the plurality of gating structures of the mold.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 11,
Wherein the step of disposing the gas-blocking flakes into the polymer material includes disposing the gas-blocking flakes in a range of from approximately 10 percent to 40 percent by volume of the injection molding material.
Regarding Claim 16, Arai is silent regarding the polymer composition utilized for injection molding. In analogous art as applied above in claim 1, An suggests details regarding the polymer composition for injection molding, and in this regard, An teaches the following:
([0067]) teaches that the elastomeric composition can comprise at least about 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 phr of one or more fillers, based on the total weight of the elastomers. Recalling, that the fillers that can improve the thermophysical properties of the elastomeric composition including the modulus, strength, and expansion coefficient.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well. Furthermore, due to the impact of the filler i.e., mica and/or glass has on the composition, the case law regarding for result effective variable may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
C.) Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of An and Bertschi and in further view of Lapčík et al. (Effect of filler particle shape on…, 2018, hereinafter Lapčík).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the aligned configuration of the gas-blocking flakes is characterized by a longitudinal axis of each gas-blocking flake being oriented parallel with an adjacent interior surface of the forming cavity.
Regarding Claim 9, Arai as modified by An and Bertschi is silent regarding the or orientation of the longitudinal axis. In analogous art for a polymer composition that comprises fillers including mica (Abstract), the composition is injection molded to form an article, (Pg. 94, Col. 2, Materials and Processing ¶2, lines 1-2), Lapčík suggests details regarding optimizing the orientation of filler particles during injection molding and in this regard, Lapčík teaches the following:
(Pg. 93, Col. 2, ¶1, lines 1 – 2) teaches that this paper aims to study the effect of planar shape mica and prism shape wollastonite filler particles in HDPE polymer composites. (Pg. 93, Col. 1, ¶1, lines 30 – End) teaches that the effect of the additional mica delamination induced by the injection flow and its orientation within the flow direction, allows for the polymer macromolecules melted matrix to be intercalated in between galleries of mica layers under applied shear conditions. As a result, an increased storage modulus was found reflecting higher stiffness of the DPIM prepared HDPE/mica composite materials. As such, the orientation of mica during injection molding is understood to impact the storage
modulus and stiffness. Furthermore, (Pg. 93, Col. 2, ¶2, lines 11 – 14) teaches that there was found parallel orientations of the filler particles in the final composite testing articles by SEM analysis. (For the visualization of the flux of the polymer matrix/filler melt in the mold see Appendix A. Supplementary data. Highlighting, as shown in the Appendix A Data, the particles are oriented along the direction of injection molding. (Pg. 96, Col. 2, lines 1 – 10) clarifying that this is melt flow induced, the fillers spatial orientation in the injection molded testing articles, the fillers were oriented in the direction of their lowest hydrodynamic resistance. (Pg. 96, Col. 2, lines 1 – 10) noting similarly, that the steep increase of the HDPE/mica composites was ascribed to the effect of the proper pouring of the polymer macromolecular chains on the surface of the planar mica particles initiating stronger inter particle as well as particle polymer interactions, enhancing the so-
called confinement effects.Highlighting, in the images provided there is found to be fibers that are oriented in both the vertical direction and horizontal direction of the article formed, and thus are aligned with the vertical and horizontal corresponding portions of the mold. Adding, that the additives aligned in the vertical direction are also understood to be aligned with the gates / nozzles utilized for the injection molding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing injection molded parts that comprises a polymer material of Arai as modified by An and Bertschi By further modifying and optimizing the composition to include filler particles with augmented orientation and shape, as taught by Lapčík. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement filler particles with directed orientation and a desired shapes provides a means for tailoring the storage modulus and stiffness of the article fabricated, (Pg. 93, Col. 1, ¶1, lines 30 – End). Furthermore, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arnold Cook (US 5183096 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A method for producing composite materials by forming one material in a die cavity such that another material can be forced into the same die cavity and infiltrate the spaces in the first material. A method for producing a composite comprising the steps of injecting reinforcement material in a binder or suspension into a die cavity.
Beck et al. (US 5221507 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A multi-cavity injection mold process, for simultaneously injection molding a plurality of multi-layer articles, having a single hot runner manifold system for the sequential supply of first and second molten molding materials to the cavities of the mold with each of the materials being supplied simultaneously to all cavities in equal quantities.
Schrewe et al. (US 3888612 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) Sandwich moulding process wherein skin and core materials are sequentially injected into a mould cavity from separate injection barrels through a common sprue, skin material being caused to flow up the core feed channel towards the core injection barrel while skin material is being injected into the mould cavity
Adams et al. (US 20060093701 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) An in-mold degating device that includes a base having mounting ears for removable attachment to a mold system. The base is removably attached to the die half such that the uppermost surface of the base is flush with the surface of the die half. The insert further includes a body fixed to the base including a pair of opposed surfaces that define predetermined relief angles relative to the base.
Gellert et al. (US 6350401 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Sprue gated injection molding apparatus for molding preforms or other products having two layers of a barrier material such as EVOH or nylon alternating between three layers of another thermal plastic material such as PET. The PET is injected by one injection cylinder into first and third melt passages which branch in a front melt distribution manifold to extend to a number of heated nozzles
Matthew Kallas (US 20190217380 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A multi-directional casting machine for casting a frame of a vehicle is described herein. The casting machine may include a central hub having a cover die portion and a plurality of ejector die portions translatable relative to the cover die portion and configured to meet at the central hub.
John Farrell (US 3940223 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) This invention reduces the time that a core rod must remain at an injection station of a plastic blow molding machine. The injection operation is usually performed by a plasticizer, and while the injection operation itself requires very little time, the plasticizer performs other roles that must be complete before the next injection.
Boesch et al. (US 3954362 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) In transfer molding thermosetting polymeric materials, a first preform of first thermosetting polymeric material having a volume substantially equal to the volume of the die cavities is placed in the transfer chamber adjacent the runners. A second preform of second thermosetting polymeric material cheaper than the first polymeric material is placed in the transfer chamber above the first preform.
Schad et al. (US 4717324 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) Apparatus for co-injecting a plurality of thermoplastic materials to mold an article having a layered wall structure using thermoplastic material having different optimum processing temperatures including the maintenance of the optimum temperatures in flow paths individual to each material from its source to a mold cavity.
Ochs et al. (US 4803031 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) An improved molded closure cap is described which has a softer sealing portion and a relatively hard closure engaging portion. The cap is molded using two differing plastics where the container engaging portion is molded of a softer seal-forming plastic and the remaining portion or shell is molded of a harder plastic.
Robert Schad (US 5145630 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A process and apparatus for injection molding thin-walled plastic articles having comparatively thick lip portion. The apparatus has a mold cavity and a mold core defining a cavity space in the shape of the article and at least one injection gate adjacent a portion of the cavity space defining the lip portion through which molded plastic is injected into the cavity space.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743