DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Claims 2-22 and 28-34 have been cancelled. Claim 41 has been newly added.
.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 23-24 and 32-40 in the reply filed on 5/13/2024 is again acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 25-27 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/2024.
Specification
The replacement sequence listing submitted 9/24/2025 and the amendments to the specification are acknowledged.
Drawings
The replacement drawing for Figure 1 received on 9/24/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 23 has been amended to remove the limitation that the IGF-II mutein is “at least 70% identical to mature human IGF-II (SEQ ID NO: 1).” The claims are no longer required to retain any particular sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1. No basis was pointed to and none is apparent. The specification and original claims all contain this limitation. Claim 23 is not limited to only the recited deletion and substitution in claim 1 in view of the “comprising” language.
The claims constitute new matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-24 and 35-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15-16, 18, 20-22, and 32 of copending Application No. 17/815,468 (9/24/2025 claim set) in view of LeBowitz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0244400, of record).
The instant application and the co-pending application are related applications and have the same effective filing date through common parent application 15/657,764 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,351,231). One is not junior or senior to the other. The co-pending application is a CON of 16/869,862 (now abandoned) which is a CON of 15/657,764. The instant application is a CON of 15/657,764. Double patenting is not prohibited as these applications are not divisional applications.
Instant claims 23 and 35-38 are directed to nucleic acids encoding fusion proteins having the limitations of the co-pending claims. Instant claims 24 and 40 are directed to a cell containing the nucleic acid of claim 23 and instant claim 39 is directed to a recombinant method of making fusion proteins. The fusion protein encoded in instant claims 23-24 and 40-41 map to copending claim 1. Instant claim 35 maps to copending claim 18. Instant claims 36-38 map to instant copending 20-22, respectively. The co-pending claims are not directed to nucleic acids, cells, or recombinant methods of production.
LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) discloses a fusion protein of IGF-II and human acid alpha-glucosidase (GAA). The fusion protein includes a spacer such as Gly-Ala-Pro between IGF-II and GAA. (See instant claims 37-38.) The GAA can include amino acids 70-952 of human GAA. (See instant claim 36.) Deletion of residues 1-7 of human IGF-II is disclosed and resulted in a 30-fold decrease in affinity for the human IGF-I receptor. The amino terminal amino acids 1-7 of IGF-II can be deleted or replaced. (See instant claims 1 and 35.) Additionally, amino acids 29-40 can be deleted or replaced without altering the folding of the remainder of the polypeptide or altering binding to the cation-independent M6P receptor. Recombinant methods of producing the fusion proteins using nucleic acids encoding them and mammalian cells are disclosed. See at least abstract, claims, examples, and paragraphs [0007, 0009-0010, 0012, 0058-0079, 0082, and 0098-0115].
It would have been obvious to make nucleic acids encoding the fusion proteins of the co-pending claims as suggested by LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) and produce the fusion proteins recombinantly using the mammalian cells and methods disclosed by LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) thereby arriving at the invention of the instant claims. The disclosure of LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) that amino acids 29-40 can be eliminated or replaced without altering the folding of the remainder of the polypeptide or binding to the cation-independent M6P receptor would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that substitution of Arg37 with Ala would be sufficient to prevent cleavage and retain activity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant has acknowledged this rejection. No argument has been made. No properly executed terminal disclaimer has been filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 23-24 and 35-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LeBowitz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0244400, of record) in view of Lebowitz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,396,811, of record), Glass et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0166328, of record), Edwards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,736,363, of record) and Molloy et al. (of record).
LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) discloses a fusion protein of IGF-II and human acid alpha-glucosidase (GAA). The fusion protein includes a spacer such as Gly-Ala-Pro between IGF-II and GAA. (See instant claims 37-38.) The GAA can include amino acids 70-952 of human GAA. (See instant claim 36.) Deletion of residues 1-7 of human IGF-II is disclosed and resulted in a 30-fold decrease in affinity for the human IGF-I receptor. The amino terminal amino acids 1-7 of IGF-II can be deleted or replaced. (See instant claims 1 and 35.) Additionally, amino acids 29-40 can be deleted or replaced without altering the folding of the remainder of the polypeptide or altering binding to the cation-independent M6P receptor. Recombinant methods of producing the fusion proteins using nucleic acids encoding them and mammalian cells are disclosed. See at least abstract, claims, examples, and paragraphs [0007, 0009-0010, 0012, 0058-0079, 0082, and 0098-0115].
LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) does not suggest the specific substitution of Ala for Arg at amino acid position 37 of SEQ ID NO: 1 (IGF-2) as recited in instant claim 23. LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) does not disclose mutations that cause diminished binding affinity for the insulin receptor relative to the affinity of naturally-occurring human IGF-II for the insulin receptor as recited in instant claim 23.
Lebowitz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,396,811) discloses and claims a therapeutic fusion protein comprising a lysosomal enzyme and a mutein of mature human IGF-II that binds human
cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor in a mannose-6-phosphate independent manner, wherein the mutein differs from mature human IGF-II (A) only by a deletion or a replacement of amino acids 29-40 or (B) only by a deletion or a replacement of amino acids 1-7, wherein the mutein of mature human IGF-II is fused N-terminally to the lysosomal enzyme and wherein the therapeutic fusion protein is produced in a mammalian expression system using an IGF-II signal peptide and is therapeutically active in vivo. See at least claims 2 and 4. This indicates that human IGF-II with deletion of amino acids 1-7 and replacement (i.e. substitution) of any amino acids in the 29-40 range will still bind cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor in a mannose-6-phosphate independent manner. That is, amino acid 37 of IGF-II is not required for binding to the cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor in a mannose-6-phosphate independent manner.
Glass et al. discloses fusion proteins of IGF-II. Glass et al. specifically suggests substituting Arg37 and/or Arg38 with another amino acid. Glass et al. specifically suggests substituting with alanine (Ala) and specifically discloses the substitution Arg37Ala. These substitutions prevent cleavage. See at least paragraph [0009, 0034-0035].
Edwards et al. discloses and claims substituting arginine at amino acids 37 and/or 38 in IGF-II with different amino acids to make the IGF-II resistant to cleavage by proteases. The amino acid substituted can be a non-basic or neutral amino acid such as Ala. These substitutions result in lower affinity of IGF-II for the insulin receptor and retain binding to the IGF-II receptor. See at least abstract; column 3, lines 8-47; column 4; and claims.
Molloy et al. discloses that human furin is a predominantly Golgi membrane-localized endoprotease that can efficiently process precursor proteins at paired basic residues such as Arg-Arg. See abstract.
LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) discloses that the sequence of IGF-II can include a variety of mutations and suggests substituting in the range of amino acids 29-40. The intended use of the fusion proteins of LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) is to target a therapeutic agent to a lysosome using a protein, or an analog of a protein, that specifically binds a cellular receptor for that protein. The exterior of the cell surface is topologically equivalent to endosomal, lysosomal, golgi, and endoplasmic reticulum compartments. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce IGF-II and human acid alpha-glucosidase (GAA) fusion proteins that were resistant to cleavage by endoproteases such as furin which are located in the Golgi membrane, for example.
It would have been obvious to delete amino acids 1-7 of the mature human IGF-II sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8 (equivalent to instant SEQ ID NO: 1) as disclosed in Leibowitz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,396,811) and then substitute alanine for arginine at amino acid position 37 in this sequence as suggested by Glass et al. and Edwards et al. in order to block protease cleavage in IGF-II. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent cleavage at the dibasic (RR) site in IGF-II as taught by Edwards et al. and was known to be a furin cleavage site as taught by Molloy et al. At least LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) discloses that deletion of amino acids 1-7 of IGF-II provides the activity recited in instant claim 35. Both LeBowitz et al. references disclose that IGF-II having replacement (i.e. substitution) of any amino acids in the 29-40 range would still bind cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor in a mannose-6-phosphate independent manner as recited in instant claim 23. Edwards et al. discloses that an Arg37Ala substitution in IGF-II results in lower affinity of IGF-II for the insulin receptor and retains binding to the IGF-II receptor as recited in instant claim 23. This mutation also disrupts the furin cleavage site in IGF-II.
It would have been obvious to make nucleic acids encoding the claimed fusion protein of IGF-II and human acid alpha-glucosidase (GAA) suggested by the combination of the prior art references as discussed above and produce the fusion protein recombinantly using the mammalian cells and methods disclosed by LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) thereby arriving at the invention of the instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. All of the elements of the claims are taught or suggested by the prior art. The prior art provides motivation to combine all of the elements of the claims. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make nucleic acids encoding the claimed fusion protein. In response to applicant’s arguments on page 8, last paragraph, of the 9/24/2025 response about “amino acids 29-40 can likely be eliminated” (italic emphasis by applicant), the claims of Lebowitz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,396,811) recite retention of the binding to the human cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor in a mannose-6-phosphate-independent manner for the IGF-II muteins. Patent claims are presumed to be valid. It would have been within the skill of those in the art to make the fusion protein suggested by the prior art using nucleic acids and mammalian cells as evidenced by at least both LeBowitz et al. publications. One would have expected to produce a fusion protein having all of the recited functional activities for the reasons set forth above. Each of the recited activities were known in the art with respect to mutated forms of IGF-II and the activities were independent of each other.
Again, Edwards et al. discloses that substituting Arg37 will result in diminished binding affinity for the insulin receptor. Edwards et al. also discloses that binding to the IGF-II receptor is retained for the mutation Arg37Ala.
Again, LeBowitz et al. (PGPUB 2005/0244400) discloses that deleting amino acids 1-7 will result in diminished binding affinity for the IGF-1 receptor.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Glass et al. suggesting other modifications does not diminish or teach away from the specific suggestion to substitute alanine for arginine at amino acid position 37. This substitution can be made as an independent mutation and does not need to be made in combination with any other mutations disclosed by Glass et al. See at least part (iii) of paragraph [0034]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this Arg37Ala mutation in view of this specific suggestion in combination with the disclosures of Edward et al. and Molloy et al. regarding reducing protease cleavage such as by furin. Note that only claim 41 excludes inclusion of the mutations at amino acid position 38 of SEQ ID NO: 1. That is, the claims are not limited to the Arg37Ala mutation within amino acids 30-40 of SEQ ID NO: 1. The recitation of “comprises” in claim 23 permits other changes.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Edwards et al. are not persuasive. The prior art can suggest making the claimed mutations for reasons that differ from applicant. This does not render the claims unobvious. Proteases that cleaved at dibasic cleavage sites (such as Arg-Arg) would have been known to exist in both bacterial and mammalian cells. Furthermore, the fusion protein encoded by the claimed nucleic acid could have been produced in bacterial cells as well as mammalian cells. See for example, paragraph [0020] of Glass et al. That is, there are multiple reasons that one of ordinary skill in the art would have wanted to substitute Arg37 in IGF-II to remove a dibasic cleavage site.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Glass not disclosing the effect of an IGF-II mutein having an amino acid substitution at Arg37 on cation-independent mannose-6-phosphate receptor binding affinity are not persuasive. Lebowitz et al. discloses that amino acids 29-40 (i.e. including Arg37) can be eliminated or replaced without altering the binding to the cation- independent M6P receptor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood from the teachings of Lebowitz et al. that this portion of IGF-II was not critical for this particular activity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated and able to construct the claimed nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein with an expectation of success. At least Lebowitz et al. and Glass et al. demonstrate the level of skill in manipulating and mutating protein sequences to obtain proteins with desired properties. It would have been routine to eliminate protease cleavage sites as evidenced by the prior art to at least Glass et al. and Edwards et al. and Lebowitz et al. discusses the modifications that would have provided the remaining properties. There would have been an expectation of success at producing a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein where the encoded fusion protein possessed the recited properties. The combination of the prior art suggests making the claimed embodiment. The prior art was well aware of cleavage sites in recombinant proteins and how to mutate them to avoid cleavage.
Applicant has not established any unexpected results for the fusion protein in the claims. The resistance to furin cleavage, diminished binding affinity for the insulin receptor, and the retained binding for the human CI-M6PR (instant claim 23) as well as diminished binding affinity for the human IGF-I receptor (instant claim 35) limitations have all been addressed. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, the claims do not require any more particular levels of furin resistance or binding affinity to the various receptors. The obviousness rejection addresses each of the properties recited in the claims with respect to the teachings of the prior art. The claimed fusion proteins would have been obvious as well as nucleic acids encoding them.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa