DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-15 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-16 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that Kuang and Shibahara fail to explicitly disclose the limitations of independent claims 1 and 10, specifically the limitations, “loading the target block to a coding tree generation module to output a first coding tree and a second coding tree; generating an output decision tree according to the first coding tree and the second coding tree.”
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s Remarks. The claim limitation states, “loading the target block to a coding tree generation module to output a first coding tree and a second coding tree.” Through the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a block is being divided (partitioned) at least two ways in order to produce the at least two coding trees.
Kuang discloses a tree structure for searching for a partition mode according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 6, for a coding unit 601, QT, BT, and TT partition modes may be first respectively used for performing block partition to obtain corresponding sub coding units. [See Kuang, 0067 and Fig. 6]. Thus, it is known in the art that the partitioning of a coding unit (block) produces a coding tree.
Further, Kuang discloses that the search for a partition mode is performed on a portion of the current frame (i.e., coding unit of the current frame). [See Kuang, 0066 and Fig. 5]. In Fig. 6, it can be seen that different partition modes are being performed and at least three coding trees are produced. [See Kuang, 0068-0070 and Fig. 6]. During coding of the current video frame, a coder may partition the current video frame into a plurality of coding units according to different partition modes. [See Kuang, 0073]. Thus, Kuang is producing at least three coding trees through the actual partitioning of the coding unit of the current frame.
Shibahara discloses a process flow of coding mode determination for an image block. [See Shibahara, 0166]. The small block full-pel prediction step S45 performs motion estimation with integer pixel accuracy for each of the small blocks Sb1 to Sb9 of MxN ((M,N) = (16,16), (16,8), (8,16), (8,8)) (see FIG. 25), obtained by dividing an image block of 16x16 with four types of candidate division methods, to derive the coding cost and the motion vector for each of the small blocks. [See Shibahara, 0168]. The candidate division method selecting step S42 selects the two types of candidate division methods with the smallest coding cost by comparing the coding costs per image block derived by the coding cost deriving step S47. [See Shibahara, 0171].
Shibahara discloses the image block is divided by four candidate division methods which would produce at least four partitions of the image blocks. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the four partitions of the image blocks are coding trees. The two smallest cost partitions are then selected in step S42 [See 0171 and Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang’s partitioning of the coding unit into different partitions (coding tree) using the different partition modes with the selection of two candidate division methods from the dividing of the image block as taught by Shibahara.
The claim limitation states, “generating an output decision tree according to the first coding tree and the second coding tree.” Through the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the decision tree is determined based on the first and second coding tree.
Kuang discloses that during coding of the current video frame, a coder may partition the current video frame into a plurality of coding units according to different partition modes, and respectively performs predictive coding on the coding units. During block partition, after block partition is performed according to different partition modes, predictive coding may be performed on the obtained coding units, so that the rate distortion costs under the partition modes, and the partition mode with a lowest rate distortion cost is selected for predictive coding. [See Kuang, 0073]. Thus, Kuang discloses that the costs of the different partition modes of the coding unit of the current frame are compared and the partitioned block with the lowest cost is selected.
Shibahara discloses the sub-pel prediction step S43 performs motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42. [See Shibahara, 0172] The division method determining step S44 determines the prediction direction for each of the small blocks, based on the smallest coding cost for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42, and derives the coding cost per image block. Furthermore, it determines the candidate division method having the smallest coding cost as the division method for the image block by comparing the derived coding costs per image block for the two types of candidate division methods. [See Shibahara, 0173].
Shibahara discloses that the two divided blocks with the lowest cost are selected in S42 and input into step S43-S44, wherein the divided block with the smallest cost is selected as the division method. Thus, the two divided blocks are used for the selection of the final divided block (smallest cost).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang’s selection of the lowest cost of the partitioned coding unit (coding tree) as the partition mode with the use of the two divided blocks for the selection of the final divided block (division method) as taught by Shibahara.
On pages 16-17 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that the combination of Kuang and Shibahara does not disclose or suggest the claimed feature of selecting the smallest and second smallest rate-distortion costs as two independent integer estimation results for subsequent parallel processing to generate two independent coding trees. [Dependent claims 2 and 3].
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s Remarks. Dependent claim 2 states, “wherein the step of loading the target block to the coding tree generation module to output the first coding tree and the second coding tree comprises: splitting the target block into at least one coding unit; calculating, by an integer motion estimation (IME) unit of the coding tree generation module, a rate-distortion cost of each of the coding units; and selecting a smallest one and a second smallest one from all of the rate-distortion costs, wherein the smallest rate-distortion cost is a first integer estimation result, and the second smallest rate-distortion cost is a second integer estimation result.”
Shibahara discloses the full-pel prediction step S41 includes a small block full-pel prediction step S45, a prediction direction selecting step S46 and a coding cost deriving step S47. [See Shibahara, 0167]. The small block full-pel prediction step S45 performs motion estimation with integer pixel accuracy for each of the small blocks Sb1 to Sb9 of MxN ((M,N) = (16,16), (16,8), (8,16), (8,8)) (see FIG. 25), obtained by dividing an image block of 16x16 with four types of candidate division methods, to derive the coding cost and the motion vector for each of the small blocks. [See Shibahara, 0168]. The prediction direction selecting step S46 selects a subset of a plurality of coding modes based on the coding costs derived by the full-pel prediction step S45. [See Shibahara, 0169]. The small block full-pel prediction step S45 performs forward prediction (denoted as "fw" in FIG. 4) and backward prediction (denoted as "bw" in FIG. 4) with integer pixel accuracy for all of the small blocks Sb1 to Sb9 to derive the coding cost for each of the reference directions. [See Shibahara, 0175]. The prediction direction selecting step S46 selects a prediction direction having an even smaller coding cost by comparing the coding costs of the forward prediction and the backward prediction for each of the small blocks. [See Shibahara, 0176]. The coding cost deriving step S47 derives the coding cost per image block based on the coding costs of the respective small blocks that have been selected by the prediction direction selecting step S46. [See Shibahara, 0177]. The candidate division method selecting step S42 selects the two types of candidate division methods with the smallest coding cost by comparing the coding costs per image block derived by the full-pel prediction step S41 for each of the candidate division methods. [See Shibahara, 0178].
Thus, Shibahara discloses the prediction with integer pixel accuracy (full-pel) by dividing the image block in different direction in order to determine the 1st and 2nd candidate division wherein the 1st and 2nd candidates are the smallest costs for the image block [See Shibahara, 0175-0178 and Fig. 3 and 4].
Dependent claim 3 states, “wherein the step of selecting the smallest one and the second smallest one from all of the rate-distortion costs comprises: loading the first integer estimation result to a fractional motion estimation (FME) unit of the coding tree generation module to obtain a first fractional estimation result; loading the first fractional estimation result to a coding mode decision unit of the coding tree generation module to obtain the first coding tree; loading the second integer estimation result to the FME unit to obtain a second fractional estimation result; and loading the second fractional estimation result to the coding mode decision unit to obtain the second coding tree.”
Shibahara discloses in the encoder 1, the candidate division method selecting step S42 narrows down the candidate division methods based on the coding costs obtained by the full-pel prediction step S41. Furthermore, the sub-pel prediction step S43 performs sub-pel prediction on the small blocks of the narrowed candidate division methods. Here, sub-pel prediction requires use of a filter and therefore involves a larger processing amount than full-pel prediction; however, in this apparatus, it is not necessary to perform sub-pel prediction on all of the small blocks Sb1 to Sb9 for determining the coding mode. Accordingly, it is possible to decrease the number of times of sub-pel prediction, thus reducing the processing amount for coding mode determination. Furthermore, since sub-pel prediction is carried out on the necessary small blocks, it is possible to determine a coding mode with an appropriate coding efficiency. [See Shibahara, 0179].
The candidate division method selecting step S42 selects the two types of candidate division methods with the smallest coding cost by comparing the coding costs per image block derived by the coding cost deriving step S47. [See Shibahara, 0171]. The sub-pel prediction step S43 performs motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42. Here, motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy is carried out in the same manner as in the sub-pel prediction step S301, described with reference to FIG. 28. That is, motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy is performed for each of the small blocks divided with the selected two types of candidate division methods, based on the motion vectors derived in the small block full-pel prediction step S45. Furthermore, in the sub-pel prediction step S43, forward prediction steps S431 and S434, backward prediction steps S432 and S435, and bi-directional prediction steps S433 and S436 are performed for each of the small blocks. Consequently, the coding costs of three types of prediction directions are derived for each of the small blocks. Further, in the forward prediction steps S431 and S434, the backward prediction steps S432 and S435, and the bi-directional prediction steps S433 and S436, the process is carried out a number of time according to the number of the small blocks divided with each of the selected two types of candidate division methods. [See Shibahara, 0172]. The division method determining step S44 determines the prediction direction for each of the small blocks, based on the smallest coding cost for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42, and derives the coding cost per image block. Furthermore, it determines the candidate division method having the smallest coding cost as the division method for the image block by comparing the derived coding costs per image block for the two types of candidate division methods. [See Shibahara, 0173].
Thus, Shibahara discloses that the results from the full-prediction step are sent to the sub-pel prediction step, wherein the motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy is performed for each of the blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods. Therefore, the output of the blocks of the smallest costs are obtained and input to the division method determining step S44.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUANG et al. (Hereafter, “Kuang”) [US 2023/0421763 A1] in view of Shibahara et al. (Hereafter. “Shibahara”) [US 2007/0002948 A1].
In regards to claim 1, Kuang discloses a method for processing video coding, for performing coding prediction on one of a plurality of frames of an input image and comprising: acquiring a target block in the frame ([0057] a CTU to be coded [0060] Step S510. Obtain a current video frame and determine a reference frame to which reference is made during coding of the current video frame. [0133] an obtaining module 1310, configured to obtain a current video frame); loading the target block to a coding tree generation module to output a first coding tree and a second coding tree ([0057] CTU is partitioned by a first partition mode and a second partition mode [0066] Step S520. Search for partition modes used for performing block partition on a portion to be coded of the current video frame. [0133 and Fig. 13] a searching module 1320, configured to search for partition modes used for performing block partition on a portion to be coded of the current video frame); generating an output decision tree according to the first coding tree and the second coding tree ([0057] RD costs of the first and second partition modes are calculated [0073] During block partition, after block partition is performed according to different partition modes, predictive coding may be performed on the obtained coding units, so that the rate distortion costs under the partition modes, and the partition mode with a lowest rate distortion cost is selected for predictive coding.); and outputting streaming data according to the output decision tree and the frame ([0074] Step S540. Perform, according to a found partition mode, predictive coding on coding units that constitute the portion to be coded. [0075] According to the found partition mode, block partition may be performed on the portion to be coded of the current video frame to obtain the coding units that constitute the portion to be coded, and on the basis of block partition, predictive coding may be further performed on each coding unit. [0133 and Fig. 13] a coding module 1340, configured to perform, according to a found partition mode, predictive coding on coding units that constitute the portion to be coded).
Shibahara discloses a method for processing video coding ([0001] The present invention relates to coding mode determining apparatuses, image coding apparatuses, coding mode determining methods and coding mode determining programs.), for performing coding prediction on one of a plurality of frames of an input image ([0152] a predicted image generating portion 11 that receives an output from the motion estimation portion 10 as a first input and the local decoded signal 32 as a second input and that outputs a predicted image) and comprising: acquiring a target block in the frame ([0166] an image block); loading the target block to a coding tree generation module to output a first coding tree and a second coding tree ([0173] The division method determining step S44 determines the prediction direction for each of the small blocks, based on the smallest coding cost for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42, and derives the coding cost per image block.); generating an output decision tree according to the first coding tree and the second coding tree ([0173] Furthermore, it determines the candidate division method having the smallest coding cost as the division method for the image block by comparing the derived coding costs per image block for the two types of candidate division methods.); and outputting streaming data according to the output decision tree and the frame ([0152] a predicted image generating portion 11 that receives an output from the motion estimation portion 10 as a first input and the local decoded signal 32 as a second input and that outputs a predicted image [0162] The motion estimation portion 10 determines the coding mode (e.g., the division method and the prediction direction of an image block) of an image block that results in the smallest coding cost, and derives a motion vector. [Fig. 1 and 0155] outputs the coded image signal).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang with the explicit teachings of two division methods for the image block as taught by Shibahara in order to achieve a combination of small block having the lowest coding cost in the coding mode of each of the division methods [See Shibahara].
In regards to claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Kuang fails to explicitly disclose the claim limitations.
However, Shibahara discloses wherein the step of loading the target block to the coding tree generation module to output the first coding tree and the second coding tree comprises: splitting the target block into at least one coding unit ([0006] divide a macroblock of 16x16 pixels (hereinafter, referred to as "16x16") into macroblock partitions (hereinafter, referred to as "small blocks") of 16x16, 16x8, 8x16 and 8x8); calculating, by an integer motion estimation (IME) unit of the coding tree generation module, a rate-distortion cost of each of the coding units ([0167] The full-pel prediction step S41 includes a small block full-pel prediction step S45, a prediction direction selecting step S46 and a coding cost deriving step S47. [0170] The coding cost deriving step S47 sums up the coding costs of the prediction direction selected by the prediction direction selecting step S46 for each of the candidate division methods to derive the coding cost per image block.); and selecting a smallest one and a second smallest one from all of the rate-distortion costs, wherein the smallest rate-distortion cost is a first integer estimation result, and the second smallest rate-distortion cost is a second integer estimation result ([0170] Here, the full-pel prediction step S45 selects the picture reference direction having the lower coding cost for each of the small blocks, and it is therefore possible to achieve a combination of small blocks having the lowest coding cost in the coding mode of each of the candidate division methods. [0171] The candidate division method selecting step S42 selects the two types of candidate division methods with the smallest coding cost by comparing the coding costs per image block derived by the coding cost deriving step S47.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang with the calculation of the cost of the division methods in the pull-pel prediction and the selection of the two smallest division methods as taught by Shibahara in order to achieve a combination of small block having the lowest coding cost in the coding mode of each of the division methods [See Shibahara].
In regards to claim 3, the limitations of claim 2 have been addressed. Kuang fails to explicitly disclose the claim limitations.
However, Shibahara discloses wherein the step of selecting the smallest one and the second smallest one from all of the rate-distortion costs comprises: loading the first integer estimation result to a fractional motion estimation (FME) unit of the coding tree generation module to obtain a first fractional estimation result; loading the first fractional estimation result to a coding mode decision unit of the coding tree generation module to obtain the first coding tree; loading the second integer estimation result to the FME unit to obtain a second fractional estimation result; and loading the second fractional estimation result to the coding mode decision unit to obtain the second coding tree ([0172] The sub-pel prediction step S43 performs motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42. That is, motion estimation with non-integer pixel accuracy is performed for each of the small blocks divided with the selected two types of candidate division methods, based on the motion vectors derived in the small block full-pel prediction step S45. Further, in the forward prediction steps S431 and S434, the backward prediction steps S432 and S435, and the bi-directional prediction steps S433 and S436, the process is carried out a number of time according to the number of the small blocks divided with each of the selected two types of candidate division methods. [0173] The division method determining step S44 determines the prediction direction for each of the small blocks, based on the smallest coding cost for each of the small blocks divided with the two types of candidate division methods selected in the candidate division method selecting step S42, and derives the coding cost per image block. Furthermore, it determines the candidate division method having the smallest coding cost as the division method for the image block by comparing the derived coding costs per image block for the two types of candidate division methods. [0179] In the encoder 1, the candidate division method selecting step S42 narrows down the candidate division methods based on the coding costs obtained by the full-pel prediction step S41. Furthermore, the sub-pel prediction step S43 performs sub-pel prediction on the small blocks of the narrowed candidate division methods.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang with the two smallest division methods in the sub-pel prediction step for the blocks as taught by Shibahara in order to achieve a combination of small block having the lowest coding cost in the coding mode of each of the division methods [See Shibahara].
Claim 10 lists all the same elements of claims 1 and 2, but in device form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1 and 2 applies equally as well to claim 10.
Claims 11 and 12 list all the same elements of claims 2 and 3, but in device form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 2 and 3 applies equally as well to claims 11 and 12.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482