DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11 and 13 rejected under 35 USC §103. This rejection is set forth in the prior Office action mailed on January 12, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the reference does not disclose a paper towel with the combination of the claimed properties and that none of the examples teaches the claimed absorbency, since the highest absorbency disclosed in Table 3 of Hermans is 17.55 g/g. However as discussed previously, Table 3 discloses bath tissues, not towels, and the reference teaches that paper towels can be made with the tissue(s), i.e., the basesheet(s), of the invention and the absorbency of a paper towel is greater than that of a tissue. It is the examiner contention that paper towels made using the basesheet of the cited reference, Hermans, would have the same or at the very least similar properties. Note that a reference is not evaluated by only it examples, but what it actually teaches to one of ordinary skill in the art. It has been held that “A disclosure in a reference is not limited to its specific illustrative examples, but must be considered as a whole to ascertain what would be realistically suggested thereby to one of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Uhlig, 54 CCPA 1300, 376 F2d 320; 153 USPQ 460. Applicants have not provided any argument or evidence that a towel made with the basesheet of the reference would not have related properties.
Figure 13 of the current application shows that all the towels have GMT greater than the claimed range, i.e., greater than 295 N/m and therefore, towels made with the process taught by Hermans would inherently have GMT that falls within the claimed range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Multi-Ply Towels.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF