DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to application amendments filed on 11-12-2025.
2. Claims 1, 3 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 10,15 have been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, 10, 15 are independent. This application was filed on 6-1-2022.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 11-12-2025, with respect to the rejection(s) under Volkerink in view of Teruyama and further in view of Salter have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Volkerink in view of Teruyama and further in view of Salter and further in view of Vestal.
A. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... controlling a cargo handling system, from a user via the controller, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Volkerink discloses receiving authentication credentials for controlling a cargo system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Salter discloses a user receiving credentials for authentication of a computing system such as a computing system controlling and managing a cargo system. (see Salter paragraph [0045]: user, (or any other user such as the user 140) may input identification credentials and receive information from the system)
And, Volkerink discloses a system that controls and manages a cargo system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0013]: a system monitors loading of cargo onto a transport vehicle. The system includes a wireless tracking tag attached to a logistic container containing the cargo, the wireless tracking tag associated with a tracking identifier that uniquely identifies the wireless tracking tag. The system also includes a wireless monitoring device positioned to monitor a cargo hold of the transport vehicle.)
B. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... the controller configured to control at least one of loading or unloading of cargo into or out of a cargo compartment, the controller comprising at least a set of arrow buttons configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo; responsive to the controller pairing with the cargo handling system using the authentication credentials, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Volkerink discloses controlling the loading or unloading of cargo utilizing a system such as the indicated computing system controlling the loading of cargo after an authentication process. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Vestal discloses a system that is configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of commands (i.e. analogous to rotate buttons, user interface) configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
And, Volkerink discloses receiving authentication credentials for controlling a cargo system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
C. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... send commands, received from the user via the controller, to the cargo handling system to control ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vestal discloses a system that is configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system with a set of commands (i.e. analogous to rotate buttons) and configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
D. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... do not disclose or contemplate "receive authentication credentials for controlling a cargo handling system, from a user via the controller, via a passive near field communication access point, the passive near field communication access point comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to the controller using a short-range wireless communication protocol, the short-range wireless communication protocol is a near field communication protocol ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Volkerink discloses controlling the loading or unloading of cargo utilizing a system such as the indicated computing system controlling the loading of cargo after an authentication process. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Teruyama discloses a passive near field communication access point, which is associated with unpowered embedded equipment. The equipment is configured to transfer data to a controller using a short-range wireless communication protocol (near field communication devices). (see Teruyama page 5: When performing communication by short-range wireless communication between two NFC devices, it is desired that the communication mode of short-range wireless communication can be flexibly switched between the active communication mode and the passive communication mode. Therefore, in this embodiment, a description will be given of a mode in which the target NFC device transmits information on services available in the passive communication mode to the initiator when establishing a short-range wireless communication connection in the active communication mode. If the service that uses both the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used by sending information on the services that can be used in the passive communication mode to the initiator side, all the services that can be used in the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used. It becomes possible to make the initiator know the service.)
E. Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of Remarks: ... the controller configured to control at least one of loading or unloading of cargo into or out a cargo compartment, the controller comprising at least a set of arrow buttons configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo; responsive to the controller pairing with the cargo handling system using the authentication credentials, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Volkerink discloses controlling the loading or unloading of cargo utilizing a system such as the indicated computing system controlling the loading of cargo after an authentication process. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Vestal discloses a system that is configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of commands (i.e. analogous to rotate buttons) configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
And, Volkerink discloses receiving authentication credentials for controlling a cargo system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
F. Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks: ... send commands, received from the user via the controller, to the cargo handling system to control at least one of the loading or the unloading of the cargo into or out of the cargo compartment, the control being at least one of movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and rotation of the cargo within the section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo" as recited (emphasis added).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Volkerink discloses controlling the loading or unloading of cargo utilizing a system such as the indicated computing system controlling the loading of cargo after an authentication process. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Vestal discloses a system that is configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of commands (i.e. analogous to rotate buttons) configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
And, Volkerink discloses receiving authentication credentials for controlling a cargo system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
G. Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks: ... Amended independent claims 10 and 15 recite features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 1.
Independent claims 10 and 15 have similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses to arguments against independent claim 1 also answer arguments against independent claims 10 and 15.
H. Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks: ... Claims 3-9, 11-14, and 16-20 variously depend from and add additional features to amended independent claims 1, 10, and 15 ... .
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkerink et al. (US PGPUB No. 20210110122) in view of Teruyama et al. (US PGPUB No. WO 2015/137105 A1) and further in view of Salter et al. (US PGPUB No. 20230177888) and further in view of Vestal et al. (US PGPUB No. 20240365258).
Regarding Claim 1, Volkerink discloses a controller, comprising:
a) a processor; b) a memory operatively coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor (see Volkerink paragraph [0069], lines 1-12: tangibly embodied in software or firmware, as one or more sets of computer instructions encoded on one or more tangible non-transitory carrier media (e.g., a machine-readable storage device, substrate, or sequential access memory device) for execution by data processing apparatus; (processor coupled to memory)), cause the processor to:
c) receive authentication credentials for controlling a cargo handling system via an access point, the access point using a short-range wireless communication protocol; (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
d) responsive to the controller pairing with the cargo handling system using the authentication credentials, connect to the cargo handling system via a wireless communication protocol; (see Volkerink paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server); paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance (short range communication) of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection; pairing of devices for wireless communication) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag)
e) receive control of the cargo handling system; (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded) and
f) send commands (see Volkerink paragraph [0067], lines 1-13: A user may interact (e.g., input commands or data) with the computer apparatus using one or more input devices; Information may be presented through a graphical user interface (GUI) that is presented to the user on a display monitor, which is controlled by a display controller), received from the user via the controller, to the cargo handling system to control at least one of the loading or the unloading of the cargo from the cargo compartment. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Volkerink does not specifically disclose receive authentication credentials from a user.
However, Salter discloses wherein receive authentication credentials from a user via the controller. (see Salter paragraph [0045]: user, (or any other user such as the user 140) may input identification credentials and receive information from the system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink for receive authentication credentials from a user as taught by Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Salter for the secure processing of data by requiring input of authentication credentials prior to data processing. (see Salter paragraph [0045])
Furthermore, Volkerink discloses wherein the controller configured to control at least one of loading and unloading of cargo into or out a cargo compartment. (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: The authentication data (credentials) may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag(s))
Volkerink-Salter does not specifically disclose a passive near field communication access point comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to the controller using a short-range wireless communication protocol, such as near field communication protocol.
However, Teruyama discloses wherein a passive near field communication access point, the passive near field communication access point comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to the controller using a short-range wireless communication protocol, the short-range wireless communication protocol is a near field communication protocol. (see Teruyama page 5: When performing communication by short-range wireless communication between two NFC devices, it is desired that the communication mode of short-range wireless communication can be flexibly switched between the active communication mode and the passive communication mode. Therefore, in this embodiment, a description will be given of a mode in which the target NFC device transmits information on services available in the passive communication mode to the initiator when establishing a short-range wireless communication connection in the active communication mode. If the service that uses both the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used by sending information on the services that can be used in the passive communication mode to the initiator side, all the services that can be used in the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used. It becomes possible to make the initiator know the service.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter for a passive near field communication access point comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device using a short-range wireless communication protocol, such as near field communication protocol as taught by Teruyama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Teruyama for the flexibility of a system that enables NFC communications utilizing both active and passive communication by a single device. (see Teruyama page 5)
Volkerink does not specifically disclose the controller configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo.
However, Vestal discloses wherein the controller comprising at least a set of arrow buttons configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo, and the control being at least one of movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and rotation of the cargo within the section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous tro button on user interface) within cargo section))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter-Teruyama for the controller configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo as taught by Vestal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vestal for the flexibility of a system that enables the movement of cargo objects within the cargo section and rotational movement of the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 3, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: send a request for normal access and control of the cargo handling system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; (access and control of cargo system))
Regarding Claim 4, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: send a request for advanced access and control of the cargo handling system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag)
Regarding Claim 5, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: transmit a cargo load plan to the cargo handling system via the short-range wireless communication protocol. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol))
Regarding Claim 6, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: receive at least one of maintenance logs, use logs, and cargo information from the cargo handling system via the short-range wireless communication protocol. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (selected: cargo information from cargo handling system))
Regarding Claim 7, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: receive from the cargo handling system via the access point a first access to a first zone of the cargo handling system, the first zone being a subset of the cargo handling system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group))
Regarding Claim 8, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 7, wherein the first access to the first zone of the cargo handling system is exclusive access to the first zone of the cargo handling system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group))
Regarding Claim 9, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the controller of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
a) request, from the cargo handling system, a second access to a second zone, the second zone being different than the first zone, the request being via a second access point using the short-range wireless communication protocol, the second access point being different the access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone; different manifests); paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group)) and
b) receive access to the second zone, wherein the controller releases access to the zone in response to receiving access to the second zone. (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag)
Regarding Claim 10, Volkerink discloses a cargo handling system, comprising:
a) a conveyance surface configured to move cargo within a cargo compartment; (see Volkerink paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a compartment or zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group))
b) a near field communication (NFC) access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol)) and
c) the NFC enabled device configured to connect to the cargo handling system in response to providing authentication information the NFC access point, the NFC enabled device configured to transmit and receive information about the conveyance surface via the NFC access point. (see Volkerink paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group))
Volkerink does not specifically disclose providing authentication, received from a user.
However, Salter discloses wherein providing authentication, received from a user. (see Salter paragraph [0045]: user, (or any other user such as the user 140) may input identification credentials and receive information from the system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink for providing authentication received from a user as taught by Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Salter for the secure processing of data by requiring input of authentication credentials prior to data processing. (see Salter paragraph [0045])
Volkerink-Salter does not specifically disclose comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device.
However, Teruyama discloses wherein comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to an NFC enabled device. (see Teruyama page 5: When performing communication by short-range wireless communication between two NFC devices, it is desired that the communication mode of short-range wireless communication can be flexibly switched between the active communication mode and the passive communication mode. Therefore, in this embodiment, a description will be given of a mode in which the target NFC device transmits information on services available in the passive communication mode to the initiator when establishing a short-range wireless communication connection in the active communication mode. If the service that uses both the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used by sending information on the services that can be used in the passive communication mode to the initiator side, all the services that can be used in the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used. It becomes possible to make the initiator know the service.; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter for comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device, by means of a near field communication protocol as taught by Teruyama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Teruyama for the flexibility of a system that enables NFC communications utilizing both active and passive communication by a single device. (see Teruyama page 5)
Volkerink-Salter-Teruyama does not specifically disclose configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo.
However, Vestal discloses wherein comprising at least a set of arrow buttons configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo, the control being at least one of movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and rotation of the cargo within the section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter-Teruyama for configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo as taught by Vestal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vestal for the flexibility of a system that enables the movement of cargo objects within the cargo section and rotational movement of the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 11, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the cargo handling system of claim 10, wherein the NFC enabled device includes a cargo load plan, the NFC enabled device configured to transmit the cargo load plan to the cargo handling system. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag)
Regarding Claim 12, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the cargo handling system of claim 11, wherein the cargo handling system is configured to verify the cargo load plan. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded)
Regarding Claim 13, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the cargo handling system of claim 10, wherein the NFC enabled device is configured to receive data about the conveyance surface from the cargo handling system, the data being received by the wireless connection between the passive NFC access point and the NFC enabled device. (see Volkerink paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag)
Regarding Claim 14, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the cargo handling system of claim 13, wherein the data includes at least one of maintenance data, lifecycle data, and cargo status. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; (selected: cargo status)
Regarding Claim 15, Volkerink discloses a method of controlling access to a cargo loading system, the method comprising:
a) transmitting, by a processor, a first set of credentials to connect a controller to the cargo loading system using a first near field communication (NFC) access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag)
b) responsive to the controller pairing with the cargo loading system using the first set of credentials, connecting, by the processor, the cargo loading system to the controller; (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0057], lines 1-6: first wireless tracking tag repeats the transmission, at intervals, of the wireless signal with authentication data, to establish communications connections with other wireless tracking tags that are within wireless range, and to receive their corresponding tracking identifiers) and
c) receiving, by the processor, instructions, received from the user via the controller, to operate the cargo loading system from the controller, the instructions being at least one of the loading or the unloading of the cargo into or out the cargo compartment. (see Volkerink paragraph [0067], lines 1-13: A user may interact (e.g., input commands or data) with the computer apparatus using one or more input devices (e.g. one or more keyboards, computer mice, microphones, cameras, joysticks, physical motion sensors, and touch pads); Information may be presented through a graphical user interface (GUI) that is presented to the user on a display monitor, which is controlled by a display controller; paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded)
Volkerink does not specifically disclose credentials, received from a user.
However, Salter discloses wherein credentials, received from the user. (see Salter paragraph [0045]: user, (or any other user such as the user 140) may input identification credentials and receive information from the system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink for credentials, received from user as taught by Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Salter for the secure processing of data by requiring input of authentication credentials prior to data processing. (see Salter paragraph [0045])
Volkerink-Salter does not specifically disclose a first passive near field communication (NFC) entity, comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device and communicating using a near field communication protocol.
However, Teruyama discloses wherein a first passive near field communication (NFC) entity, comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device and communicating using a near field communication protocol. (see Teruyama page 5: When performing communication by short-range wireless communication between two NFC devices, it is desired that the communication mode of short-range wireless communication can be flexibly switched between the active communication mode and the passive communication mode. Therefore, in this embodiment, a description will be given of a mode in which the target NFC device transmits information on services available in the passive communication mode to the initiator when establishing a short-range wireless communication connection in the active communication mode. If the service that uses both the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used by sending information on the services that can be used in the passive communication mode to the initiator side, all the services that can be used in the active communication mode and the passive communication mode can be used. It becomes possible to make the initiator know the service.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter for a first passive near field communication (NFC) entity, comprising unpowered embedded equipment configured to transfer data to a powered device and communicating using a near field communication protocol as taught by Teruyama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Teruyama for the flexibility of a system that enables NFC communications utilizing both active and passive communication by a single device. (see Teruyama page 5)
Volkerink-Salter-Teruyama does not specifically disclose configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo.
However, Vestal discloses wherein the controller comprising at least a set of arrow buttons configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and a set of rotate buttons configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo, the control being at least one of movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and rotation of the cargo within the section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004]: management systems must constantly monitor and control every aspect of every mobile robot's progress, with rigid and exacting specificity, explicitly instructing every mobile robot in the fleet on: (1) how to get to a specified destination and (2) when to perform a task once the intended destination is reached. A series of such instructions might include, for instance, the following commands: [0005] "pick up cargo" [0006] "back up 0.5 meters" [0007] "rotate right 90 degrees;" [0008] "drive 10 meters forward" [0009] "rotate right 45 degrees;" [0010] "drive 50 meters forward;" [0011] "pause 7 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by); [0012] "drive 8 meters forward;" [0013] "rotate left 60 degrees;" [0014] "pause 5 seconds" (while another mobile robot passes by) [0015] "drive 3 meters forward;" [0016] "back up 0.2 meters;" and [0017] "unload cargo"; (movement and rotation of cargo based on command (analogous to button on user interface) within cargo section))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Volkerink-Salter-Teruyama for configured to control the movement of the cargo within the cargo handling system and configured to rotate the cargo within a section of the cargo compartment before storing the cargo as taught by Vestal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vestal for the flexibility of a system that enables the movement of cargo objects within the cargo section and rotational movement of the cargo. (see Vestal paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 16, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
a) transmitting, by the processor, a second set of credentials to control a zone within the cargo loading system to the controller using a second near field communication (NFC) access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0050], lines 1-40: wireless monitoring device may broadcast an alert to other nodes forming the system (e.g., another wireless tracking tag, another wireless monitoring device, a client device, a smartphone or device of a human operator, and/or the server; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol); paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0055]: Each wireless tracking tag 18 attached to logistic containers 14 being shipped together, or attached to packages being shipped together, may be configured with a threshold number that defines the total number of wireless tracking tags 18 used for that collective shipment; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo system analogous to a zone, collection of cargo shipped as a group))
b) granting, by the processor, control of the zone to the controller; (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded) and
c) restricting, by the processor, control of the zone to other controllers. (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag (restrict access when not matched); paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo analogous to a zone))
Regarding Claim 17, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a cargo load plan for the cargo loading system from the controller. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers listed in manifest and received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded)
Regarding Claim 18, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, maintenance data for the cargo loading system via the first passive NFC access point in response to a request from the controller. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded; (maintenance data: data to maintain wireless tracking information associated with a subset of cargo); paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol))
Teruyama discloses passive communication mode as stated above.
Regarding Claim 19, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
a) receiving, by the processor, an authentication code from the controller; (see Volkerink paragraph [0003], lines 1-26: system monitors loading of assets (e.g., cargo in logistic containers) onto transport vehicle; Each asset and/or logistic container has a respective wireless tracking tag attached; Each wireless tracking tag has a globally unique tracking identifier; paragraph [0041], lines 1-14: transport vehicle includes a cargo hold into which the logistic containers are loaded by a cargo loader, such as a conveyer device, through an access port (e.g., a door or hatch); paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag) and
b) granting, by the processor, advanced access to the cargo loading system in response to receiving the authentication code. (see Volkerink paragraph [0053], lines 1-28: the wireless monitoring device communicates with each of the wireless tracking tags as it is loaded into the cargo hold and received the corresponding tracking identifier of the wireless tracking tag; The wireless monitoring device identifies discrepancies between the tracking identifiers received from the wireless tracking tags attached to the logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle and the tracking identifiers listed in the manifest to determine discrepancies between the cargo expected to be loaded and the cargo actually loaded)
Regarding Claim 20, Volkerink-Teruyama-Salter-Vestal discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
a) transmitting, by the processor, a second set of credentials to connect a second controller to the cargo loading system using the first passive NFC access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0051], lines 1-15: a distance of a wireless tracking tag relative to the wireless monitoring device is estimated based on a signal strength of a communication link (e.g., a Bluetooth communication connection) between the wireless monitoring device and the wireless tracking tag; (Bluetooth: short range, near field communications protocol); paragraph [0057], lines 1-6: first wireless tracking tag repeats the transmission, at intervals, of the wireless signal with authentication data, to establish communications connections with other wireless tracking tags that are within wireless range, and to receive their corresponding tracking identifiers)
b) receiving, by the processor, a request for access to a zone of the cargo loading system from the second controller through a second NFC access point; (see Volkerink paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; (manifest identifies a subset of cargo analogous to a zone) and
c) restricting, by the processor, control of the zone to the second controller in response to the request. (see Volkerink paragraph [0056], lines 1-31: Other wireless tracking tags (or the wireless monitoring device) that are within wireless communication range of the first wireless tracking tag may respond to receiving the wireless signal, when the authentication data (credentials) is validated, by transmitting a scan link request to establish communication with the first wireless tracking tag, over a data channel; The authentication data may be determined as valid only when it matches authentication data preloaded into the other wireless tracking tag; paragraph [0004], lines 1-23: The wireless monitoring device is operative to communicate with each of the wireless tracking tags and comprises a manifest storing a listing of cargo scheduled to be conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle correlated with the one or more globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags, wherein the wireless monitoring device is operative to identify discrepancies between the cargo listed in the manifest and the correlated globally unique tracking identifiers of the wireless tracking tags on the assets and/or logistic containers being conveyed to the cargo hold of the transport vehicle; (manifest identifies a set of cargo analogous to a zone))
Teruyama discloses passive communication mode as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLTON JOHNSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1032. The examiner can normally be reached Work: 12-9PM (most days).
/CJ/
February 23, 2026
/FATOUMATA TRAORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436