Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. The claim objections are withdrawn due to the amendments. The 112f interpretations are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (USPGPN 20170093189) in view of Jung et al (USPGPN 20160064959) and Xiao et al (USPGPN 20090079385), as evidenced by Potter et al (USPGPN 20080238393)
Independent Claim 1, Zeng teaches a charging method (performed on structure of Figs. [5, 6, 9, 10]), wherein the method (Figs. [1-4, 7, 8]) comprises:
detecting, by a charger (power adapter in Figs. [5 & 9], ¶’s [77, 151]), that a connection is established ([110 of Fig. 1, 210 of Fig. 2, 710 of Fig. 7], ¶’s [61, 77-80, 84, 123, 124, esp. 77-80]) with a terminal (mobile terminal);
performing, by the charger, a handshake with the terminal (¶’s [123, 182-190, 193, 195-198, 200, 206, 209], Figs. [4, 7]), comprising:
setting, by the charger, a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open- loop fast charging mode on a communication cable (USB meaning cable, ¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212]) for performing open-loop fast charging (Figs. [4, 7] describes communicating on whether to activate a quick charging mode based upon signals sent and received, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the voltage for USB charging is 5V, while also that a communication signal from a charger will have a certain voltage along with some form of message, therefore the voltage signal being present is required to communicate a signal at all, so lacking the applicant demonstrating specifics on this “voltage signal indicating”, this feature is met;
i.e. for any message to be sent via USB’s data lines, it has to have a specific voltage, or the terminal receiving the message will not understand that a signal has been sent, and so be able to respond to it, so a voltage indicating support for something would be equivalent to a voltage suitable for messaging, esp. with Zeng explicitly describing being able to communicate so as to provide open-loop fast/quick charging operation);
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger and sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast charging mode; receiving, by the charger, instruction information sent by the terminal (Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8], abstract); and
in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (Figs. [4, 7, 8], esp. 720-740 of Fig. 7).
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of Jung with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Independent Claim 7, Zeng teaches a charger (power adapter in Figs. [5 & 9], ¶’s [77, 151]), wherein the charger (structure of Figs. [5, 6, 9, 10], performing the method/functional steps of Figs. [1-4, 7, 8]) comprises:
a handshake unit (see 112[f] interpretation], 510 of Fig. 5) configured to:
detect that a connection is established ([110 of Fig. 1, 210 of Fig. 2, 710 of Fig. 7], ¶’s [61, 77-80, 84, 123, 124, esp. 77-80]) with a terminal (mobile terminal); and
perform a handshake with the terminal (¶’s [123, 182-190, 193, 195-198, 200, 206, 209], Figs. [4, 7]), comprising:
setting, by the charger, a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode on a communication cable (USB meaning cable, ¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212]) for performing open-loop fast charging (Figs. [4, 7] communicating on whether to activate a quick charging mode based upon signals sent and received, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the voltage for USB charging is 5V, while also a communication signal from a charger will have a certain voltage along with some form of message, therefore the voltage signal being present is required to communicate a signal at all, so lacking the applicant demonstrating specifics on this “voltage signal indicating”, this feature is met;
i.e. for any message to be sent via USB’s data lines, it has to have a specific voltage, or the terminal receiving the message will not understand that a signal has been sent, and so be able to respond to it, so a voltage indicating support for something would be equivalent to a voltage suitable for messaging, esp. with Zeng explicitly describing being able to communicate so as to provide open-loop fast/quick charging operation);
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger; and sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast charging mode (Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8], abstract);
a receiver (it is interpreted that the communication control circuit and/or the current/voltage adjusting circuits meet the requirements of these circuits, see 112[f] and claim objection interpretations) configured to receive an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger; and receive instruction information sent by the terminal (Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8]); and
an output unit configured to: in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, output a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (Figs. [4, 7, 8], esp. 720-740 of Fig. 7).
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of Jung with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Independent Claim 13, Zeng teaches a charging system (Figs. [5, 6, 9, 10], performing method of Figs. [1-4, 7, 8]), wherein the charging system comprises a terminal (mobile terminal) and a charger (power adapter in Figs. [5 & 9], ¶’s [77, 151]), wherein the terminal is connected to the charger, and wherein the charger is configured to:
detecting that a connection is established with a terminal ([110 of Fig. 1, 210 of Fig. 2, 710 of Fig. 7], ¶’s [61, 77-80, 84, 123, 124, esp. 77-80]);
performing a handshake with the terminal (¶’s [123, 182-190, 193, 195-198, 200, 206, 209], Figs. [4, 7]), comprising:
setting a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode on a communication cable (USB meaning cable, ¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212]) for performing open-loop fast charging (Figs. [4, 7] describes communicating on whether to activate a quick charging mode based upon signals sent and received, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the voltage for USB charging is 5V, while also that a communication signal from a charger will have a certain voltage along with some form of message, therefore the voltage signal being present is required to communicate a signal at all, so lacking the applicant demonstrating specifics on this “voltage signal indicating”, this feature is met;
i.e. for any message to be sent via USB’s data lines, it has to have a specific voltage, or the terminal receiving the message will not understand that a signal has been sent, and so be able to respond to it, so a voltage indicating support for something would be equivalent to a voltage suitable for messaging, esp. with Zeng explicitly describing being able to communicate so as to provide open-loop fast/quick charging operation);
receiving an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger; and sending feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast charging mode; receive instruction information sent by the terminal (Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8], abstract); and
in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, output a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (Figs.[4, 7, 8],esp.720-740 of Fig.7).
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of Jung with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Independent Claim 19, Zeng teaches a charging method (performed on structure of Figs. [5, 6, 9, 10]), wherein the method (Figs. [1-4, 7, 8], with [110 of Fig. 1, 210 of Fig. 2, 710 of Fig. 7], ¶’s [61, 77-80, 84, 123, 124, esp. 77-80] describing the detection of connection with the charger, ¶’s [123, 182-190, 193, 195-198, 200, 206, 209], Figs. [4, 7] describes the handshaking/negotiation/communication between the charger and terminal) comprises:
obtaining, by a charger (power adapter in Figs. [5 & 9], ¶’s [77, 151] ), a charging mode supported by a terminal connected to the charger; setting, by the charger, a voltage signal on a communication cable (USB meaning cable, Figs. [4, 7] describes communicating on whether to activate a quick charging mode based upon signals sent and received, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the voltage for USB charging is 5V, while also that a communication signal from a charger will have a certain voltage along with some form of message, therefore the voltage signal being present is required to communicate a signal at all, so lacking the applicant demonstrating specifics on this “voltage signal indicating”, this feature is met;
i.e. for any message to be sent via USB’s data lines, it has to have a specific voltage, or the terminal receiving the message will not understand that a signal has been sent, and so be able to respond to it, so a voltage indicating support for something would be equivalent to a voltage suitable for messaging, esp. with Zeng explicitly describing being able to communicate so as to provide open-loop fast/quick charging operation); receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger (Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8], abstract); sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast charging mode (it is noted that that the above steps do not appear to be consecutive in nature; if the applicant was looking for consecutive steps to be given patentable weight, then the limitations should not be circular in nature [e.g. the 1st step says it has determined the charging supported by the terminal, but then the following steps describes different ways to obtain the charging mode, which would be required to occur before the determination was made]);
in response to determining, based on the voltage signal, that the charging mode supported by the terminal comprises an open-loop fast charging mode for performing open-loop fast charging (¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212]);
in response to determining that both the terminal and the charger are in an open loop state, obtaining, by the charger, a charging parameter of the terminal (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163, 225, 277] describes battery voltage, while Figs. [1, 2, 4, 7, 8], abstract describes charging current and charging voltage settings);
and adjusting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the charging parameter, and transmitting, to the terminal, an adjusted voltage and an adjusted current (Figs. [4, 7, 8], esp. 720-740 of Fig. 7).
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of Jung with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Dependent Claims 5, 11, and 17, Zeng teaches a battery voltage value of the terminal and a target voltage value of the terminal (Zeng ¶’s [121-150, 225, 277], Figs. [3, 4, 7]); and
wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to the target voltage value (Zeng ¶’s [121-150, 225, 277], Figs. [3, 4, 7]);
determining, by the charger, a current value corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163]); and
outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the target voltage value, and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Zeng Figs. [3, 4, 7]).
Dependent Claims 6, 12, and 18, Zeng teaches the instruction information comprises a target voltage value and a target current value; and
wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to the target voltage value;
adjusting, by the charger, the current to the target current value; and
outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the target voltage value and a current of the target current value (Zeng Figs. [4, 7, 8], ¶’s [225, 277]).
Dependent Claims 20-23, Zeng teaches the charging system further comprises a communication cable, the voltage signal is set by the communication cable (Zeng describes USB communication, as described above)
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al (USPGPN 20130054703) in view of Zeng (USPGPN 20170093189), Jung et al (USPGPN 20160064959), and Xiao et al (USPGPN 20090079385), as evidenced by Sood ( “What are the advantages and disadvantages of an open–loop control system?” Pragya Sood, Specialties.bayt.com, Published Online Jan 8 2016, Accessed Online Aug 9 2020, https://specialties.bayt.com/en/specialties/q/249473/what-are-the-advantages-and-disadvantages-of-an-open-loop-control-system/ ) and Potter et al (USPGPN 20080238393)
Independent Claim 1, Fischer teaches a charging method (Figs. 4 and 9-12B),
wherein the method comprises:
detecting, by a charger (22, see Fig. 1), that a connection is established (¶’s [41-44]) with a terminal (10 see Figs. 1-3 & 5),
performing, by the charger, a handshake with the terminal, comprising: setting, by the charger, a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode (one having ordinary skill in the art understands that when a charger charges a device, both voltage and current are sent, where the charger, which is not disclosed to monitor its output, nor receive such data, would be assumed by one having ordinary skill in the art to be in an open loop mode, ¶[41] detects charging mode, with it saying there is first a disconnect and reconnect in step 308 of Fig. 4, and enumeration/power request is the handshake 310/312, see ¶’s [41-44, esp. 42] where a USB charger/hub is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to output a voltage of 5V, and ¶[62] states that the output would be between 300mA – 500mA, where ¶[42] states that the output is not changed, but understood through the communication with the charger, thus, by outputting 5V, and the USB enumeration process [unique to USB] at the time [2002/2003 corresponds to USB 2.0 which was open-loop control, unlike the power delivery standard that came out in 2012], the charger has set a 5V voltage indicating it supports an open-loop fast mode, where the terminal decides whether it is fast charging by the power output, see Fig. 9 & ¶’s [58-63, esp. 60-62], thus the voltage signal indicates to the terminal whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode);
receiving, by the charger, instruction information sent by the terminal (see Figs. 9-12B along with ¶’s [44, 58-63, 66-68, & 78-81] describes determining the charging mode supported by the charger 22 via 12 & 16, ¶’s [41-44] describes the enumeration); and
in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (charger is in the open loop mode, while the terminal is not necessarily in the open-loop charging mode, but is in the fast-charging mode if the charger is able to support it, as described above).
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger (Fig. 4); and
sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast-charging mode (Fig. 4 demonstrates that the power level allowed by the charger [feedback] shows the amount of power, ¶’s [58-62] describes the determination through the feedback that a high/fast or low charging mode is allowed, thus this limitation is met by Fischer, see further Figs. 9-12B)
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Zeng teaches communication on a USB cable to bring the charger and the terminal into an open-loop fast charging mode of operation (¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212], where Figs. [1-4, 7, 8, esp. 4, 7] analogously describes a quick charging mode of operation determination, with Figs. [4, 7, 8] specifically describing the determination of the current and voltage levels of the open-loop quick/fast charging mode of operation). Sood provides evidence that Open-Loop control provides improved simplicity (simpler in layout and construction), costs/economical (less monitoring and communication parts), and stability (less parts and improved simplicity means upkeep and things which can go wrong decrease).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with Zeng to provide improved stability, simplicity, and costs.
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Fischer is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of [Jung and Zeng] with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Fischer teaches a USB charger, filed all the way back in 2002/2003. At that time, the voltage output by a USB charger was 5V, and the output of the USB charger would be 300mA-500mA (¶[62]), where Fischer says the amount provided for charging is the maximum amount allotted during enumeration. ¶[42] in Fischer states that communication with the hub in a process known as enumeration, causes the setting of the output of the hub/charger to be known to the power receiving device. The hub/device therefore knows the connected device is connected, and thus communication is confirmed.
Fischer, thus, takes the information gleaned from the communication to determine if the power allotted by the hub/charger USB is enough for fast power charging. If it is, then it confirms the charger/hub supports open-loop-fast charging. If it does not, then it supports open-loop-low power charging mode (see e.g. ¶[13]).
Now, the examiner notes that the applicant changed the scope of Claim 2 when adding it to the independent claims. They removed the limitations “voltage signal of a communication signal”. Now the applicants have “a voltage signal indicating”. Regardless, it is the same for Fischer, since a USB circuit at the time of Fischer outputs 5V. As a USB charger/hub at the time of Fischer was open-loop, this 5V indicates it supports open-loop charging. Fischer takes the information understood from the charger’s output, and determines whether it supports open-loop (a) fast-charging mode or (b) low-power-charging mode.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has only claimed that the charger sets a voltage signal indicating open-loop fast charging mode. As USB requires a voltage of 5V to operate (especially with the USB voltage requirements at the time of Fischer), a voltage signal of 5V output by the charger indicates that charging can occur, and thus a support for a charging via fast charging is possible. The applicant’s arguments of an opposite direction are unconvincing, and it is noted that the applicant has not claimed whether the “voltage signal” is either a communication signal (as the applicant has alleged is described by Fischer), or a power signal. A communication by USB, either via the power [in-band] or data [out-of-band] lines, would require a voltage so as to be noticeable by the device receiving the communication. This voltage indicates that a signal was sent. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments with respect to Fischer are respectfully refuted.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Zeng is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of Jung with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Independent Claim 7, Fischer teaches a charger (22, see Fig. 1),
wherein the charger comprises:
a handshake unit (called USB hub, where one having ordinary skill in the art understands that a USB host/hub would include a transmitting communication interface over which D+ & D- communicate date) configured to:
detect that a connection is established (¶’s [41-44]) with a terminal (10 see Figs. 1-3 & 5),
perform a handshake with the terminal, comprising: setting, by the charger, a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode for performing open-loop fast charging (one having ordinary skill in the art understands that when a charger charges a device, both voltage and current are sent, where the charger, which is not disclosed to monitor its output, nor receive such data, would be assumed by one having ordinary skill in the art to be in an open loop mode, ¶[41] detects charging mode, with it saying there is first a disconnect and reconnect in step 308 of Fig. 4, and enumeration/power request is the handshake 310/312, see ¶’s [41-44, esp. 42] where a USB charger/hub is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to output a voltage of 5V, and ¶[62] states that the output would be between 300mA – 500mA, where ¶[42] states that the output is not changed, but understood through the communication with the charger, thus, by outputting 5V, and the USB enumeration process [unique to USB] at the time [2002/2003 corresponds to USB 2.0 which was open-loop control, unlike the power delivery standard that came out in 2012], the charger has set a 5V voltage indicating it supports an open-loop fast mode, where the terminal decides whether it is fast charging by the power output, see Fig. 9 & ¶’s [58-63, esp. 60-62], thus the voltage signal indicates to the terminal whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode);
a receiver configured to receive instruction information (see Figs. 9-12B along with ¶’s [44, 58-63, 66-68, & 78-81] describes determining the charging mode supported by the charger 22 via 12 & 16) sent by the terminal (USB host/hub is both a transmitter and a receiver, see rest of explanation from transmitter); and
an output unit (USB host/hub is both a transmitter and a receiver, see rest of explanation from transmitter) configured to: in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, output a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (charger is in the open loop mode, while the terminal is not necessarily in the open-loop charging mode, but is in the fast-charging mode if the charger is able to support it, as described above).
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger (Fig. 4); and
sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast-charging mode (Fig. 4 demonstrates that the power level allowed by the charger [feedback] shows the amount of power, ¶’s [58-62] describes the determination through the feedback that a high/fast or low charging mode is allowed, thus this limitation is met by Fischer, see further Figs. 9-12B)
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Zeng teaches communication on a USB cable to bring the charger and the terminal into an open-loop fast charging mode of operation (¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212], where Figs. [1-4, 7, 8, esp. 4, 7] analogously describes a quick charging mode of operation determination, with Figs. [4, 7, 8] specifically describing the determination of the current and voltage levels of the open-loop quick/fast charging mode of operation). Sood provides evidence that Open-Loop control provides improved simplicity (simpler in layout and construction), costs/economical (less monitoring and communication parts), and stability (less parts and improved simplicity means upkeep and things which can go wrong decrease).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with Zeng to provide improved stability, simplicity, and costs.
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Fischer is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of [Jung and Zeng] with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Fischer teaches a USB charger, filed all the way back in 2002/2003. At that time, the voltage output by a USB charger was 5V, and the output of the USB charger would be 300mA-500mA (¶[62]), where Fischer says the amount provided for charging is the maximum amount allotted during enumeration. ¶[42] in Fischer states that communication with the hub in a process known as enumeration, causes the setting of the output of the hub/charger to be known to the power receiving device. The hub/device therefore knows the connected device is connected, and thus communication is confirmed.
Fischer, thus, takes the information gleaned from the communication to determine if the power allotted by the hub/charger USB is enough for fast power charging. If it is, then it confirms the charger/hub supports open-loop-fast charging. If it does not, then it supports open-loop-low power charging mode (see e.g. ¶[13]).
Now, the examiner notes that the applicant changed the scope of Claim 2 when adding it to the independent claims. They removed the limitations “voltage signal of a communication signal”. Now the applicants have “a voltage signal indicating”. Regardless, it is the same for Fischer, since a USB circuit at the time of Fischer outputs 5V. As a USB charger/hub at the time of Fischer was open-loop, this 5V indicates it supports open-loop charging. Fischer takes the information understood from the charger’s output, and determines whether it supports open-loop (a) fast-charging mode or (b) low-power-charging mode.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has only claimed that the charger sets a voltage signal indicating open-loop fast charging mode. As USB requires a voltage of 5V to operate (especially with the USB voltage requirements at the time of Fischer), a voltage signal of 5V output by the charger indicates that charging can occur, and thus a support for a charging via fast charging is possible. The applicant’s arguments of an opposite direction are unconvincing, and it is noted that the applicant has not claimed whether the “voltage signal” is either a communication signal (as the applicant has alleged is described by Fischer), or a power signal. A communication by USB, either via the power [in-band] or data [out-of-band] lines, would require a voltage so as to be noticeable by the device receiving the communication. This voltage indicates that a signal was sent. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments with respect to Fischer are respectfully refuted.
Independent Claim 13, Fischer teaches a charging system (Figs. 1 and 3-5), wherein the charging system comprises a connection cable (USB), a terminal (10), and a charger (22), wherein the terminal is connected to the charger by using the connection cable, and wherein the charger is configured to:
detect that a connection is established with a terminal (¶’s [41-44]);
performing a handshake with the terminal, comprising: setting a voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode for performing open-loop fast charging (one having ordinary skill in the art understands that when a charger charges a device, both voltage and current are sent, where the charger, which is not disclosed to monitor its output, nor receive such data, would be assumed by one having ordinary skill in the art to be in an open loop mode, ¶[41] detects charging mode, with it saying there is first a disconnect and reconnect in step 308 of Fig. 4, and enumeration/power request is the handshake 310/312, see ¶’s [41-44, esp. 42] where a USB charger/hub is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to output a voltage of 5V, and ¶[62] states that the output would be between 300mA – 500mA, where ¶[42] states that the output is not changed, but understood through the communication with the charger, thus, by outputting 5V, and the USB enumeration process [unique to USB] at the time [2002/2003 corresponds to USB 2.0 which was open-loop control, unlike the power delivery standard that came out in 2012], the charger has set a 5V voltage indicating it supports an open-loop fast mode, where the terminal decides whether it is fast charging by the power output, see Fig. 9 & ¶’s [58-63, esp. 60-62], thus the voltage signal indicates to the terminal whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode);
receive instruction information sent by the terminal (see Figs. 9-12B along with ¶’s [44, 58-63, 66-68, & 78-81] describes determining the charging mode supported by the charger 22 via 12 & 16); and
in response to determining that the instruction information is used to instruct the charger to charge in the open-loop fast charging mode, output a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode (charger is in the open loop mode, while the terminal is not necessarily in the open-loop charging mode, but is in the fast-charging mode if the charger is able to support it, as described above)
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger (Fig. 4); and
sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast-charging mode (Fig. 4 demonstrates that the power level allowed by the charger [feedback] shows the amount of power, ¶’s [58-62] describes the determination through the feedback that a high/fast or low charging mode is allowed, thus this limitation is met by Fischer, see further Figs. 9-12B)
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Zeng teaches communication on a USB cable to bring the charger and the terminal into an open-loop fast charging mode of operation (¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212], where Figs. [1-4, 7, 8, esp. 4, 7] analogously describes a quick charging mode of operation determination, with Figs. [4, 7, 8] specifically describing the determination of the current and voltage levels of the open-loop quick/fast charging mode of operation). Sood provides evidence that Open-Loop control provides improved simplicity (simpler in layout and construction), costs/economical (less monitoring and communication parts), and stability (less parts and improved simplicity means upkeep and things which can go wrong decrease).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with Zeng to provide improved stability, simplicity, and costs.
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Fischer is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of [Jung and Zeng] with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Fischer teaches a USB charger, filed all the way back in 2002/2003. At that time, the voltage output by a USB charger was 5V, and the output of the USB charger would be 300mA-500mA (¶[62]), where Fischer says the amount provided for charging is the maximum amount allotted during enumeration. ¶[42] in Fischer states that communication with the hub in a process known as enumeration, causes the setting of the output of the hub/charger to be known to the power receiving device. The hub/device therefore knows the connected device is connected, and thus communication is confirmed.
Fischer, thus, takes the information gleaned from the communication to determine if the power allotted by the hub/charger USB is enough for fast power charging. If it is, then it confirms the charger/hub supports open-loop-fast charging. If it does not, then it supports open-loop-low power charging mode (see e.g. ¶[13]).
Now, the examiner notes that the applicant changed the scope of Claim 2 when adding it to the independent claims. They removed the limitations “voltage signal of a communication signal”. Now the applicants have “a voltage signal indicating”. Regardless, it is the same for Fischer, since a USB circuit at the time of Fischer outputs 5V. As a USB charger/hub at the time of Fischer was open-loop, this 5V indicates it supports open-loop charging. Fischer takes the information understood from the charger’s output, and determines whether it supports open-loop (a) fast-charging mode or (b) low-power-charging mode.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has only claimed that the charger sets a voltage signal indicating open-loop fast charging mode. As USB requires a voltage of 5V to operate (especially with the USB voltage requirements at the time of Fischer), a voltage signal of 5V output by the charger indicates that charging can occur, and thus a support for a charging via fast charging is possible. The applicant’s arguments of an opposite direction are unconvincing, and it is noted that the applicant has not claimed whether the “voltage signal” is either a communication signal (as the applicant has alleged is described by Fischer), or a power signal. A communication by USB, either via the power [in-band] or data [out-of-band] lines, would require a voltage so as to be noticeable by the device receiving the communication. This voltage indicates that a signal was sent. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments with respect to Fischer are respectfully refuted.
Independent Claim 19, Fischer teaches a charging method (Figs. 4 and 9-12B), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a charger (22, see Fig. 1), a charging mode supported by a terminal (10 see Figs. 1-3 & 5; ¶’s [41-44]) connected to the charger (808 to 804 & 802 in Fig. 9, steps 926 & 932 of Fig. 10B, 1070 in Fig. 11, and 1300 of Fig. 12B, along with ¶’s [44, 58-63, 66-68, & 78-81] describes determining the charging mode supported by the charger 22 via 12 & 16);
setting by a charger, a voltage signal (¶’s [41-44]; USB is known to output 5V);
in response to determining that the charging mode supported by the terminal comprises an open-loop fast charging mode, for performing open0loop fast charging (one having ordinary skill in the art understands that when a charger charges a device, both voltage and current are sent, where the charger, which is not disclosed to monitor its output, nor receive such data, would be assumed by one having ordinary skill in the art to be in an open loop mode, ¶[41] detects charging mode, with it saying there is first a disconnect and reconnect in step 308 of Fig. 4, and enumeration/power request is the handshake 310/312, see ¶’s [41-44, esp. 42] where a USB charger/hub is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to output a voltage of 5V, and ¶[62] states that the output would be between 300mA – 500mA, where ¶[42] states that the output is not changed, but understood through the communication with the charger, thus, by outputting 5V, and the USB enumeration process [unique to USB] at the time [2002/2003 corresponds to USB 2.0 which was open-loop control, unlike the power delivery standard that came out in 2012], the charger has set a 5V voltage indicating it supports an open-loop fast mode, where the terminal decides whether it is fast charging by the power output, see Fig. 9 & ¶’s [58-63, esp. 60-62], thus the voltage signal indicates to the terminal whether the charger supports an open-loop fast charging mode);
in response to determining that both the terminal and the charger are in the open loop state, obtaining, by the charger, a charging parameter of the terminal (fast charging disclosed above, again, when the charger is not being sent feedback about its output, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that it was already in an open loop state); and
adjusting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the charging parameter, and transmitting, to the terminal, an adjusted voltage and an adjusted current (increasing from 0 mAmps to the charge power would also involve increasing the voltage from 0 V to the charging voltage, see ¶[41] in light of Fig. 4)
receiving, by the charger, an inquiry request sent by the terminal, wherein the inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger (Fig. 4); and
sending, by the charger, feedback information to the terminal, wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that the charger supports a fast-charging mode (Fig. 4 demonstrates that the power level allowed by the charger [feedback] shows the amount of power, ¶’s [58-62] describes the determination through the feedback that a high/fast or low charging mode is allowed, thus this limitation is met by Fischer, see further Figs. 9-12B)
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Zeng teaches communication on a USB cable to bring the charger and the terminal into an open-loop fast charging mode of operation (¶’s [212, 240, 267, 292, esp. 212], where Figs. [1-4, 7, 8, esp. 4, 7] analogously describes a quick charging mode of operation determination, with Figs. [4, 7, 8] specifically describing the determination of the current and voltage levels of the open-loop quick/fast charging mode of operation). Sood provides evidence that Open-Loop control provides improved simplicity (simpler in layout and construction), costs/economical (less monitoring and communication parts), and stability (less parts and improved simplicity means upkeep and things which can go wrong decrease).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with Zeng to provide improved stability, simplicity, and costs.
Fischer is silent to the terminal being in an open-loop fast charging mode; a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio; a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode.
Jung teaches a static voltage signal indicating whether the charger supports the fast charging mode (¶[97] describes that a static voltage signal is applied to the D+ and D- line to communicate whether the fast charging is supported [i.e. one value for quick charging, another for normal charging], where fast charging is described as higher than 5V, e.g. 9V or 12v or 20 v in ¶’s [67, 70, 74, 125, 126, 144]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having static instead of dynamic voltage, it improves the simplicity, and so the time required for communication can be improved. Jung further teaches that the system is meant to address communication connection failure (¶’s [06, 13, 145, 157]), where since the communication can be performed quicker, subsequent fixes for communication can be more quickly performed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of Zeng with Jung to provide improved simplicity.
Fischer is silent to a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio.
Xiao teaches a direct current to direct current (DC/DC) conversion module of the terminal operates at a fixed duty cycle to convert the voltage and the current output by the charger according to a fixed conversion ratio (¶’s [22, 26], where Potter provides evidence that fixed conversion ratio means a fixed duty cycle in ¶[44]). Xiao teaches that by having this open-loop control, it serves to improve the efficiency and costs of the system (¶’s [22, 26])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of [Jung and Zeng] with Xiao to provide improved costs and efficiency.
Fischer teaches a USB charger, filed all the way back in 2002/2003. At that time, the voltage output by a USB charger was 5V, and the output of the USB charger would be 300mA-500mA (¶[62]), where Fischer says the amount provided for charging is the maximum amount allotted during enumeration. ¶[42] in Fischer states that communication with the hub in a process known as enumeration, causes the setting of the output of the hub/charger to be known to the power receiving device. The hub/device therefore knows the connected device is connected, and thus communication is confirmed.
Fischer, thus, takes the information gleaned from the communication to determine if the power allotted by the hub/charger USB is enough for fast power charging. If it is, then it confirms the charger/hub supports open-loop-fast charging. If it does not, then it supports open-loop-low power charging mode (see e.g. ¶[13]).
Now, the examiner notes that the applicant changed the scope of Claim 2 when adding it to the independent claims. They removed the limitations “voltage signal of a communication signal”. Now the applicants have “a voltage signal indicating”. Regardless, it is the same for Fischer, since a USB circuit at the time of Fischer outputs 5V. As a USB charger/hub at the time of Fischer was open-loop, this 5V indicates it supports open-loop charging. Fischer takes the information understood from the charger’s output, and determines whether it supports open-loop (a) fast-charging mode or (b) low-power-charging mode.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has only claimed that the charger sets a voltage signal indicating open-loop fast charging mode. As USB requires a voltage of 5V to operate (especially with the USB voltage requirements at the time of Fischer), a voltage signal of 5V output by the charger indicates that charging can occur, and thus a support for a charging via fast charging is possible. The applicant’s arguments of an opposite direction are unconvincing, and it is noted that the applicant has not claimed whether the “voltage signal” is either a communication signal (as the applicant has alleged is described by Fischer), or a power signal. A communication by USB, either via the power [in-band] or data [out-of-band] lines, would require a voltage so as to be noticeable by the device receiving the communication. This voltage indicates that a signal was sent. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments with respect to Fischer are respectfully refuted.
Dependent Claims 5, 11, and 17, the combination of Fischer and Zeng teaches a battery voltage value of the terminal and a target voltage value of the terminal (Fischer: Fig. 4 describes this with the loop resetting at 314 & 316, where if it cannot meet the target current and voltage values, it adjusts the request until the charger can provide the target values according to 320, see ¶[42] which explicitly lists Vbus [i.e. target voltage] and power, where when power and voltage are known, the target current would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as well, see further modifications of Fischer’s Figs. 9-12B;
Zeng ¶’s [121-150, 225, 277], Figs. [3, 4, 7]); and
wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to the target voltage value (Zeng ¶’s [121-150, 225, 277], Figs. [3, 4, 7]);
determining, by the charger, a current value corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163]); and
outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the target voltage value, and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Zeng Figs. [3, 4, 7]).
Dependent Claims 6, 12, and 18, the combination of Fischer and Zeng teaches the instruction information comprises a target voltage value and a target current value; and
wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the open-loop fast charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to the target voltage value;
adjusting, by the charger, the current to the target current value; and
outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the target voltage value and a current of the target current value (Fischer: Fig. 4 describes this with the loop resetting at 314 & 316, where if it cannot meet the target current and voltage values, it adjusts the request until the charger can provide the target values according to 320, see ¶[42] which explicitly lists Vbus and power, where when power and voltage are known, the target current would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as well, see further modifications of Fischer’s Figs. 9-12B;
Zeng Figs. [4, 7, 8]).
Dependent Claims 20-23, the combination of Fischer and Zeng teaches the charging system further comprises a communication cable, the voltage signal is set by the communication cable (Fischer: USB cable described in ¶[33], where USB cables are known to be communication cables with further capability for power transfer for charging purpose, this cable is known to have four lines, including the power lines with 5V output;
Zeng also describes USB communication, as described above)
Claims 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of [Zeng, Jung, and Xiao], further in view of Huang et al(USPGPN 20170040805), as evidenced by Sood and Potter
Dependent Claims 4, 10, and 16, the combination of Fischer and Zeng teaches an open loop charging mode, a charger, and a terminal (as described above), the instruction information comprises a battery voltage value of the terminal (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163, 225, 277]),
determining, by the charger, a current corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163]) and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Zeng Figs. [3, 4, 7]).
Fischer is silent to the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the mode comprises: adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to K times the battery voltage value, wherein K is a pre-stored fixed conversion ratio coefficient, and K is a constant value and is any real number greater than 1; and outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the K times the battery voltage value.
Huang teaches the instruction information comprises a battery voltage value of the terminal (Fig. 5, ¶[35]); and wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to K times the battery voltage value, wherein K is a pre-stored fixed conversion ratio coefficient, and K is a constant value and is any real number greater than 1 (Fig. 5, ¶’s [49-51], shows Vout being higher than the battery, as is necessary, where at 3.5 V-3.6 V [i.e. approximately 3.5V], the value is 4.26V/3.5mV, and if 4V-4.1V [i.e. approximately 4V], the value is 4.7V/4V; which shows that the battery is charged at that K value times the lower value until the next value jumps to the next 100mV level);
determining, by the charger, a current corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (table shown in ¶[51]); and outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the K times the battery voltage value, and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Fig. 5, ¶’s [32, 36, 38, 40, 45, 48], esp. Fig. 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by increasing the voltage above a battery voltage, it ensures that the battery can increase its voltage, and thus charge, quickly, and not lose power by having lower voltage such that the battery discharges (i.e. improving charging speed and efficiency). Further, by optimizing the battery charging according to the voltage of the battery, one of ordinary skill in the art understands it serves to help to ensure that the battery is safely charged at the right levels (where a damaged battery can easily injure the terminal and the user of the terminal), that power is not wasted (efficiency), & is stably charged at the right levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer in view of [Zeng, Jung, and Xiao] with Huang to provide improved efficiency, safety, speed, and stability.
Claims 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (USPGPN 20170093189) in view of [Jung and Xiao, further in view of Huang et al(USPGPN 20170040805), as evidenced by Potter
Dependent Claims 4, 10, and 16, Zeng teaches an open loop charging mode, a charger, and a terminal (as described above), the instruction information comprises a battery voltage value of the terminal (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163, 225, 277]),
determining, by the charger, a current corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (Zeng ¶’s [28, 96, 97, 163]) and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Zeng Figs. [3, 4, 7]).
Zeng is silent to the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the mode comprises: adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to K times the battery voltage value, wherein K is a pre-stored fixed conversion ratio coefficient, and K is a constant value and is any real number greater than 1; and outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the K times the battery voltage value.
Huang teaches the instruction information comprises a battery voltage value of the terminal (Fig. 5, ¶[35]); and wherein the outputting, by the charger, a voltage and a current according to the instruction information in the charging mode comprises:
adjusting, by the charger, the voltage to K times the battery voltage value, wherein K is a pre-stored fixed conversion ratio coefficient, and K is a constant value and is any real number greater than 1 (Fig. 5, ¶’s [49-51], shows Vout being higher than the battery, as is necessary, where at 3.5 V-3.6 V [i.e. approximately 3.5V], the value is 4.26V/3.5mV, and if 4V-4.1V [i.e. approximately 4V], the value is 4.7V/4V; which shows that the battery is charged at that K value times the lower value until the next value jumps to the next 100mV level);
determining, by the charger, a current corresponding to the battery voltage value, wherein a correspondence between the battery voltage value and the current is pre-stored in the charger (table shown in ¶[51]); and outputting, by the charger, a voltage of the K times the battery voltage value, and outputting the current corresponding to the battery voltage value (Fig. 5, ¶’s [32, 36, 38, 40, 45, 48], esp. Fig. 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by increasing the voltage above a battery voltage, it ensures that the battery can increase its voltage, and thus charge, quickly, and not lose power by having lower voltage such that the battery discharges (i.e. improving charging speed and efficiency). Further, by optimizing the battery charging according to the voltage of the battery, one of ordinary skill in the art understands it serves to help to ensure that the battery is safely charged at the right levels (where a damaged battery can easily injure the terminal and the user of the terminal), that power is not wasted (efficiency), & is stably charged at the right levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng in view of [Jung and Xiao] with Huang to provide improved efficiency, safety, speed, and stability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859