DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE APPLICATION
Receipt of the amendments to the claims and applicant arguments/remarks, filed 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 13,16-18, and 29-37, are pending in this action. Claims 33-37 are new. Claims 1-3, 13, 16-18, and 29-37 are currently under consideration.
Applicant’s amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection or objection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after June 15, 2026, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: the status identifier is “(Ne Previously Presented w)”, which is obviously incorrect. Please delete the word Ne. . . w from the identifier. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13, 16-18 and 29-37, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deli (Potential use of tight junction modulators to reversibly open membranous barriers and improve drug delivery, Biochimica et Biophysica Acta 1788 (2009) 892-910), in view of Castillo et al. (US2003/0054017A1), and Stinchcomb et al. (US2009/0291128 A1), Kurasawa et al. 2009, "Regulation of tight junction permeability by sodium caprate in human keratinocytes and reconstructed epidermis, Biochemical and Biophysical Research communications, Bommannan et al. (US5323769A), and Peterson et al. (US5296222A).
Regarding claims 1-3, and 17, Deli teaches E-cadherin has been shown to be present in brain endothelial cells and is found in all epithelial barriers. Loss of E-cadherin activates Rac, a small GTPase of the Rho family, and protein kinase C (PKC), which changes the location of claudin-1, -4, and zonula occludens-1 at tight junctions and enhances tight junction permeability. E-cadherin loss or downregulation is a crucial step in the invasion and metastasis of cancer. The lobular breast cancer, familial gastric cancer, and human gastric carcinoma cell line have all been found to have mutations in CDH1 that impair the adhesive function of E-cadherin (See page 4-5, 3.2). The reference also teaches according to ongoing multicenter clinical investigations, intraarterial hyperosmotic mannitol can improve the penetration of anticancer medications and increase survival in patients with malignant brain tumors by disrupting the blood-brain barrier (See page 14, 6.2).
Regarding claim 16, Deli teaches peptides produced from Zonula occludens toxin or clostridium perfringens enterotoxin, peptides chosen by phage display that bind to integral membrane tight junction proteins, and lipid modulators are examples of modulators that directly affect tight junctions. They have the potential to be employed as pharmaceutical excipients to enhance drug delivery across blood-brain and epithelial barriers. They can also reversibly increase paracellular transport and drug delivery with less toxicity than earlier absorption enhancers (See Abstract). The reference also teaches the non-toxic, biocompatible polymeric absorption enhancers chitosan and its variants are derived from chitin. As excipients for drug delivery across the gastrointestinal, pulmonary, and cutaneous epithelial barriers, these cationic polysaccharides have been investigated due to their mucoadhesive and absorption-enhancing qualities (See page 11, 5.4). The reference also teaches oleic acid is a widely used absorption enhancer that is utilized in microemulsions, patches, and transdermal drug delivery systems. It is well recognized to alter membrane structure (See page 11, 5.2). The reference also teaches protein kinase C is activated by calcium chelators such as EDTA, which disrupt adherens junctions and tight junctions to promote paracellular permeability (See page 10, 5.1).
Regarding claim 18, the teachings of the prior art as applied to claim 13 are incorporated herein.
The prior art relied upon with respect to claim 13 does not expressly disclose wherein the transdermal delivery formulation includes an anesthetic and/or a cannabinoid.
However, Castillo et al. disclose a topical anesthetic formulation comprising an anesthetic, such as lidocaine, and a penetration enhancer for enhancing delivery of the anesthetic through the skin. Castillo et al. further teach that lidocaine and prilocaine are useful topical anesthetics for superficial skin procedures (See paragraph 0002 and 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transdermal delivery formulation of the prior art relied upon for claim 13 to include an anesthetic, such as lidocaine as taught by Castillo et al., because anesthetics were known active agents suitable for delivery through the skin and the use of a penetration-enhancing formulation would have predictably facilitated delivery of the anesthetic through the skin to provide the desired local anesthetic effect.
Additionally, Stinchcomb et al. teach transdermal delivery of cannabinoids to a subject. Stinchcomb et al. disclose contacting the skin of a subject with a cannabinoid and a permeation enhancer to facilitate trandermal delivery of the cannabinoid. Stinchcomb et al. specifically teach cannabinoids including inter alia, cannabinol, cannabidiol, nabilone, levonantradol, and other cannabinoids, and further teach that cannabinoids may be administered through the skin using a topical formulation, patch, bandage, or other transdermal delivery system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transdermal delivery formulation of the prior art relied upon for claim 13 to include a cannabinoid as the active agent, as taught by Stinchcomb et al., because cannabinoids were known active agents suitable for trandermal administration and Stinchcomb et al. expressly teach delivering cannabinoids across the skin using trandermal formulations and permeation enhancers. One of ordinary skills in the art would therefore have had a reasonable expectation that incorporating a cannabinoid into the transdermal formulation of the prior art would provide transdermal delivery of the cannabinoid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an anesthetic and/or a cannabinoid in the transdermal delivery formulation of claim 13 because both classes of active agents were known in the prior art to be suitable for administration through the skin, and their incorporation into a known transdermal delivery formulation would have amounted to the predictable use of known active agents according to their established functions.
Regarding claims 13, and 29-32, Deli discloses that keratin-filled corneocytes in a special lipid matrix make up the stratum corneum, the outermost layer. The poor permeability to water and solutes is caused by this layer. Although skin acts as a major barrier to drug transport, trandermal drug delivery is the most efficient non-oral technique for systemic drug delivery available in the pharmaceutical industry (See page 3, 2.3). The reference also explains how calcium chelators, including ethylenediamine-N, -N, -N, -N-tetraacetic acid (EDTA), increase paracellular permeability by breaking adherens junction and tight junctions by activating protein kinase-C (See page 10, 5.1). the intricate structures called tight junctions, which close the paracellular gaps between the cells of the mammalian epithelial and endothelial barriers, are also covered in the reference, and the made up of signaling molecules that allow the dynamic regulation of paracellular transport, integral membrane proteins, and linker or adaptor proteins that connect them to the actin cytoskeleton (See page 3, 3.0).
Regarding claim 33, Deli et al. disclose the transdermal delivery formulation as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Deli et al. teaches absorption enhancers and junctional protein modulators capable of altering epithelial barrier permeability through modulation of tight junctions and associated junctional proteins; however, Deli et al. does not expressly disclose that the one or more junctional protein modulators and/or calcium chelator act specifically within the epidermal layers of the skin.
Kurasawa et al. teach regulation of tight junction permeability in human epidermal keratinocytes and reconstructed human epidermis. Kurasawa et al. specifically teaches application of a tight-junction barrier regulator to human epidermal keratinocytes and reconstructed human epidermis and demonstrates that modulation of tight junctions within the epidermis alters epidermal barrier function and increases paracellular permeability. Kurasawa et al. further teaches that transport enhancers, including calcium chelators, are capable of disrupting intercellular adhesions, including tight junctions (See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the junctional protein modulator and/or calcium chelator taught by Deli et al. such that the modulator acts within the epidermal layers of the skin, as suggested by Kurasawa et al., because Kurasawa et al. demonstrate that tight junctions within epidermal keratinocytes constitute a modifiable barrier and that modulation of these junctional structures alters epidermal permeability.
One of ordinary skills in the art seeking to enhance transdermal penetration using the junctional protein modulators taught by Deli et al. would therefore have had reason to target the corresponding junctional structures within the epidermal layers, with a reasonable expectation that modulation of those structures would alter epidermal barrier permeability and thereby facilitate penetration through the skin.
Regarding claim 34, Deli et al. teaches transdermal delivery formulation as discussed above with respect to claim 1. However, Deli et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the formulation delivers the active agent across the stratum corneum and penetrates the epidermis, the papillary dermis, and/or the capillary walls into the vascular system or lymphatic system.
Bommannan et al. teach transdermal delivery of active agents through the skin. Bommannan et al. teach that molecules moving from the environment into and through intact skin must first penetrate the stratum corneum and thereafter penetrate the viable epidermis, the papillary dermis, and the capillary walls into the bloodstream or lymph channels. Bommannan et al. further teach that the stratum corneum constitutes the primary barrier to absorption of transdermally administered drugs. (See Abstract, Description, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior, to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the trandermal delivery formulation taught by Deli et al. such that the active agent is delivered across the stratum corneum and penetrates the epidermis and into the dermal and/or vascular or lymphatic structures, as taught by Bommannan et al., because Bommannan et al. teach that penetration through these anatomical layers constitutes a known pathway by which an active agent applied to the skin is transdermally absorbed and ultimately delivered to the systemic circulation.
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking systemic transdermal delivery of an active agent would therefore have had reason to formulate the active agent and permeability-enhancing components of Deli et al. to facilitate passage through the stratum corneum and underlying epidermal and dermal barriers, with a reasonable expectation that sufficient penetration would permit the active agent to reach the blood or lymphatic circulation, as taught by Bommannan et al.
Regarding claim 35, Deli et al. teaches the trandermal delivery formulation as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Deli et al. teaches junctional protein modulators for enhancing permeability across epithelial barriers and further identifies calcium chelators, including EDTA, as agents capable of affecting intercellular junctional permeability. However, Deli et al. does not expressly disclose a trandermal delivery formulation comprising, in combination, the one or more junctional protein modulators, the calcium chelator, and the active agent as presently claimed.
Petersen et al. teaches percutaneous drug-delivery compositions for enhancing penetration of an active drug through the skin. Petersen et al. specifically teaches the use of the calcium-chelating agent ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) in a penetration-enhancing system and demonstrates that use of EDTA in the delivery system increases penetration of an active drug through the skin (See Abstract, claim 1, and Description paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a calcium chelator, such as EDTA, together with the junctional protein modulator and active agent in the transdermal delivery formulation taught by Deli et al., as suggested by Petersen et al., because Petersen et al., teaches that EDTA can be included in a percutaneous drug-delivery system and used to facilitate increased penetration of an active agent through the skin.
One of ordinary skills in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification because Deli et al. teaches that calcium chelation can modulate epithelial junctional permeability, while Petersen et al. demonstrates that EDTA can be employed in a skin-delivery system to facilitate penetration of an active drug. Thus, combining a junctional protein modulator, a calcium chelator such as EDTA, and an active agent in the transdermal formulation would have represented the predictable use of known permeability enhancing components for their established function of facilitating drug penetration.
Regarding claim 36, Deli et al. teaches the method as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Deli et al. teaches the use of junctional protein modulators and calcium chelators to enhance permeability across epithelial barriers by affecting tight junctions, adherens junctions, associated junctional proteins, and/or signaling pathways involved in regulating paracellular transport. However, Deli et al. does not expressly disclose wherein both the junctional protein modulator and the calcium chelator act within the epidermal layers of the skin.
Kurasawa et al. teach regulation of tight junction permeability in human epidermal keratinocytes and reconstructed human epidermis. Kurasawa et al. demonstrate that modulation of tight junctions within epidermal tissue alters epidermal barrier function and increases paracellular permeability. Kurasawa et al. further recognizes calcium chelators as transport enhancers capable of disrupting intercellular adhesions, including tight junctions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method taught by Deli et al. such that the junctional protein modulator and calcium chelator act within the epidermal layers of the skin, as suggested by Kurasawa et al. one of ordinary skill seeking to enhance transdermal penetration would have recognized from Kurasawa et al. that tight junctions present in epidermal keratinocytes constitute modifiable components of the epidermal barrier and that modulation of such junctional structures can increase epidermal permeability.
Thus, one of ordinary skill would have had reason to employ the junctional protein modulator and calcium chelator taught by Deli et al. so that they reach and act upon their corresponding junctional and calcium dependent targets within the epidermal layers, thereby modifying epidermal barrier function and facilitating penetration of an active agent through the skin.
One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kurasawa et al., demonstrate that modulation of tight-junction structures in human epidermal keratinocytes and reconstructed human epidermis alters epidermal permeability and further identify calcium chelation as a known mechanism for disrupting intercellular junctional adhesion.
Regarding claim 37, Deli et al. teaches the method of claim 16 as discussed above. However, Deli et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the formulation delivers the active agent across the stratum corneum and penetrates the epidermis, the papillary dermis, and/or the capillary walls into the vascular system or lymphatic system.
Bommannan et al. teach transdermal delivery of active agents through the skin. Bommannan et al. specifically teaches that molecules moving into and through intact skin must first penetrate the stratum corneum and thereafter pass through the viable epidermis, the papillary dermis, and the capillary walls before entering the blood stream or lymph channels. Bommannan et al. further recognize the stratum corneum as the principal barrier to absorption of transdermally administered drugs (See Description paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method taught by Deli et al. such that the transdermal delivery formulation delivers the active agent across the stratum corneum and through the underlying epidermal and dermal tissues into the vascular and/or lymphatic system, as taught by Bommannan et al., because Bommannan et al. teach that passage through these anatomical structures represents a known pathway for delivery of an active agent from the surface of the skin into the systemic circulation.
One of ordinary skill seeking to provide transdermal administration of an active agent would therefore have had reason to employ the permeability-enhancing formulation of Deli et al. to facilitate passage of the active agent across the stratum corneum and through the underlying epidermal and dermal barriers, with a reasonable expectation that sufficient penetration would permit the active agent to reach the blood or lymphatic circulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Deli’s disclosure is not limited to establishing that absorption enhancers function exclusively at the buccal mucosa. Rather, Deli discusses classes of absorption enhancers and mechanisms by which such agents modify epithelial barrier permeability, including modulation of intercellular junctions, membrane lipids, proteins, and associated signaling pathways. Deli further recognizes that certain classes of absorption enhancers exhibit activity across more than one biological barrier. Thus, Deli provides a technical basis from which one of ordinary skill in the art would have identified the disclosed absorption enhancers as candidates for enhancing permeability across epithelial barriers, including the skin.
Applicant’s reliance upon Deli’s discussion of morphological and molecular differences between the skin and buccal mucosa does not establish that Deli teaches away from the claimed invention. The fact that the magnitude or particular mechanism of an enhancer’s effect may vary according to the biological barrier does not constitute a criticism, discrediting, or discouragement of using such an enhancer with another barrier. Rather, such differences would have informed one of ordinary skills that the particular enhancer, amount, and formulation conditions could be selected and optimized according to the barrier through which delivery was desired.
Moreover, obviousness does not require absolute predictability or a guarantee that every absorption enhancer identified by Deli would produce the same degree of permeability enhancement when applied to skin as when applied to buccal mucosa. The appropriate inquiry is whether one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Deli’s recognition that certain enhancer classes are capable of affecting multiple biological barriers provides sufficient reason for one of ordinary skill to investigate and select such known enhancers for use in trandermal delivery, particularly where enhancement of epithelial permeability is the desired function.
The Examiner further notes that the rejection does not rely upon an arbitrary selection of an absorption enhancer merely because it appears among a large number of compounds disclosed by Deli. Rather, Deli identifies classes of compounds having known permeability enhancing and/or junction-modulating properties and discusses the biological mechanisms through which such compounds affect epithelial barriers. A person of ordinary skill seeking to enhance transdermal penetration would therefore have had reason to select from those compounds known to affect epithelial permeability and to determine an appropriate enhancer and formulation conditions through routine screening and optimization.
The additional prior art relied upon in the rejection further supports the applicability of such permeability-modulating mechanisms to the skin. Kurasawa et al. demonstrate modulation of tight-junction permeability in human epidermal keratinocytes and reconstructed human epidermis, thereby establishing that junctional structures within the epidermis were known targets for modifying epidermal barrier permeability. Likewise, Bommannan et al. teach that transdermally administered active agents penetrate the stratum corneum and thereafter pass through the viable epidermis and underlying tissues toward the blood or lymphatic circulation. These teachings further support the conclusion that the one of ordinary skill would have had reason to employ known permeability-enhancing and junction-modulating approaches in the skin for transdermal delivery, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Deli’s acknowledgment that absorption enhancers may exhibit different mechanisms or degrees of activity depending upon the biological barrier does not teach away from their use for transdermal delivery and does not negate the motivation provided by the prior art. Rather, the prior art as a whole would have provided one of ordinary skill with reason to select and employ known absorption enhancers and junctional protein modulators for enhancing permeability through the skin, with a reasonable expectation that such agents could facilitate trandermal delivery. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615