Remarks
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s response to the specification objection does not respond to the fact that paragraph 188 does not mention any reference being incorporated. Thus, the incorporation is non-compliant. It is suggested that either this paragraph be modified to explicitly reference the particular references being incorporated or removed.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations regarding Meduri, Meduri certainly discloses bootstrapping and deployment of services. For example, column 9, lines 16-19 exemplary section that discusses deploying new services (e.g., “service mesh control plan 102 may route traffic between services in an availability zone-aware, a latency-aware, or in a weighted manner, which makes it easy to deploy new microservices”). Moreover, paragraph 35 of the instant application defines bootstrapping as “intended to refer to the collective tasks associated with provisioning and deployment of any suitable number of resources (e.g., infrastructure components, artifacts, etc.) corresponding to a single service.”
Paragraph 40 states “deploying new applications or new versions of an application onto the prepared device”. Thus, the instant application states that updating an already-installed application is part of deploying, which is part of bootstrapping. Therefore, bootstrapping clearly includes updating applications/services that are already running. As discussed in Meduri and not argued by Applicant, Meduri discloses deploying new versions of microservices (e.g., column 3, lines 9-13) as well, which is included within Applicant’s definition of bootstrapping. Therefore, Meduri clearly discloses bootstrapping and deploying. For example, Meduri discloses performing, by the proxy node, a bootstrapping operation for the seed server by at least configuring the seed server with the portion of the bootstrapping data to deploy a first core service of the target data center in Meduri’s disclosure of bootstrapping the container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., for example and receiving, by the proxy node, service traffic from the first core service, the service traffic directed to the host data center in Meduri’s disclosure that proxies handle all inbound and outbound communication for a node, for example.
Specification
It is unclear just which “references, including publications, patent applications, and patents, cited herein are hereby incorporated by reference to the same extent as if each reference were individually and specifically indicated to be incorporated by reference and were set forth in its entirety herein” (e.g., paragraph 188). An incorporation by reference must explicitly set forth what is being incorporated. This statement does not and is, therefore, non-compliant.
Please keep in mind, as noted in MPEP 608.01(p)I.A, essential material may only be incorporated from a U.S. Patent or U.S. Patent Application Publication. Therefore, any incorporation of any applications is only for nonessential subject matter, as noted in the same section. Thus, if Applicant intends for this incorporation or any other incorporation to be for essential subject matter, Applicant must properly reference the U.S. Patent or PGPUB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 14, 16-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meduri (U.S. Patent 11,457,080) in view of Australian Government (Fundamentals of Cross Domain Solutions, Australian Government – Australian Signals Directorate, December 2019, 32 pages).
Regarding Claim 1,
Meduri discloses a method comprising:
Implementing, at a target data center of a target region, a cross domain system comprising a plurality of nodes forming an ingress channel and an egress channel, the cross domain system communicatively connected to a host data center of a host region (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, line 12 to Column 8, line 32; Column 9, line 20 to Column 11, line 5; Column 14, lines 26-65; Column 17, lines 19-32; Column 17, line 64 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; cross domain system may be virtual routers, proxies, parts of nodes, etc., with ingress channels and egress channels, connected to nodes/resources/containers/services and container service, control plane as well as other meshes, planes, etc. and all devices therein, for example);
Receiving, at the cross domain system via the ingress channel, configuration data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 3, lines 23-39; Column 4, line 20 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 54 to Column 9, line 33; Column 9, line 45 to Column 10, line 54; Column 17, lines 19-32; Column 17, line 64 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; proxy, router, or the like, receives, via an ingress channel (such as ingress listener, channel, communication channel, connection, network link, portion of device receiving data from network link, etc.), configuration data, such as intents, policies, configurations, container configuration information, proxy configurations, etc., for example);
Configuring, using the configuration data, a proxy node of the plurality of nodes, a receiver node of the plurality of nodes, and a sender node of the plurality of nodes, the proxy node configured to provide one or more networking protocols and to be communicatively connected to the sender node and the receiver node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, line 12 to Column 8, line 32; Column 9, line 20 to Column 11, line 5; Column 14, lines 26-65; Column 17, lines 19-32; Column 17, line 64 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; configuring proxy, ingress/egress backends, ingress/egress ports, incoming/outgoing communications, etc., that may provide any networking protocols, such as BOOTP, TCP, TLS, and many more, as examples);
Establishing a network connection between the cross domain system and a seed server in the target data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, line 12 to Column 8, line 32; Column 9, line 20 to Column 11, line 5; Column 14, lines 26-65; Column 17, lines 19-32; Column 17, line 64 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; network connection between proxy, virtual router, etc. and container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., another container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., or the like, as examples);
Generating, by the proxy node, a request for bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 11; Column 10, line 38 to Column 13, line 60; Column 17, line 64 to Column 18, line 15; Column 18, line 54 to Column 19, line 67; and associated figures; intent, request, heartbeat, metrics, etc., for example);
Sending, from the sender node to the host data center via the egress channel, the request (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 11; Column 10, line 38 to Column 13, line 60; Column 17, line 64 to Column 18, line 15; Column 18, line 54 to Column 19, line 67; and associated figures; intent, request, heartbeat, metrics, etc., sent from proxy/router to container service, control plane as well as other meshes, planes, etc., for example);
Receiving, at the receiver node from the host data center via the ingress channel, the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 50 to Column 9, line 19; Column 10, lines 27-54; Column 14, lines 53-65; Column 16, lines 28-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 18, line 54 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; receiving any bootstrapping data, such as images, updates, new versions, bootstrapping data, configuration information, node definitions, etc., as examples);
Sending, to the seed server by the proxy node using the one or more networking protocols, a portion of the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 50 to Column 9, line 19; Column 10, lines 27-54; Column 14, lines 53-65; Column 16, lines 28-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 18, line 54 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; sending to container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., for example);
Performing, by the proxy node, a bootstrapping operation for the seed server by at least configuring the seed server with the portion of the bootstrapping data to deploy a first core service of the target data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; bootstrapping the container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., for example. For example, column 9, lines 16-19 discusses deploying new services. Moreover, paragraph 35 of the instant application defines bootstrapping as “intended to refer to the collective tasks associated with provisioning and deployment of any suitable number of resources (e.g., infrastructure components, artifacts, etc.) corresponding to a single service.” Paragraph 40 states “deploying new applications or new versions of an application onto the prepared device”. Thus, the instant application states that updating an already-installed application is part of deploying, which is part of bootstrapping. Therefore, bootstrapping clearly includes updating applications/services that are already running. As discussed in Meduri, Meduri discloses deploying new versions of microservices (e.g., column 3, lines 9-13) as well, which is included within Applicant’s definition of bootstrapping); and
Receiving, by the proxy node, service traffic from the first core service, the service traffic directed to the host data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; proxies handle all inbound and outbound communication for a node, for example);
But does not explicitly disclose that the ingress channel comprises a first data diode enforcing one way network traffic from the host data center to the target data center, and wherein the egress channel comprises a second data diode enforcing one way network traffic from the target data center to the host data center.
Australian Government, however, discloses that the ingress channel comprises a first data diode enforcing one way network traffic from the host data center to the target data center, and wherein the egress channel comprises a second data diode enforcing one way network traffic from the target data center to the host data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Page 3, Common technologies in a CDS; Page 3, Cross domain security; Page 8; misconception A CDS is the same as high assurance ICT equipment; Page 10, Domain boundary; Page 11, Connections between security domains; Pages 15-16, Types of CDS; Page 20, One-way flow; Page 22, Separation; data diodes used for one-way communications between domains, which, in the combination, are the host data center and target data center, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the CDS securing techniques of Australian Government into the mesh management system of Meduri in order to make use of high assurance IT equipment for transport, to ensure that only data that should be transmitted is transmitted, to provide for more secure connections between systems/networks with potentially different policies and risks, and/or to increase security in the system.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is a system claim that corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is a medium claim that corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 3,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the bootstrapping data comprises software images of core services hosted in the host data center, and wherein the portion of the bootstrapping data comprises a first software image of the first core service (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 3, line 49 to Column 4, line 19; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 50 to Column 9, line 19; Column 10, lines 27-54; Column 14, lines 53-65; Column 16, lines 28-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 18, line 54 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; software images, new software version, etc., for any service that is considered a core service, such as data storage services, crypto services, authentication services, etc., for example).
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is a system claim that corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is a medium claim that corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 4,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses sending, by the sender node to the host data center, telemetry data corresponding to a status of the bootstrapping operation in the target data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; telemetry data, such as metrics, versions, heartbeats, latest configuration information, etc., as examples).
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is a system claim that corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 6,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 4, in addition, Meduri discloses that the telemetry data is generated by the proxy node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; proxy may generate the above, for example).
Regarding Claim 7,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 4, in addition, Meduri discloses that the telemetry data is generated by the seed server (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; container, resource, service, microservice, application, node, etc., may generate the above, for example).
Regarding Claim 8,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the cross domain system is communicatively connected to a coordinating data center of an orchestration region, and further comprising sending, by the sender node to the coordinating data center, telemetry data corresponding to a status of a bootstrapping operation in the target data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 2, line 34; Column 3, lines 1-39; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 32; Column 8, line 1 to Column 9, line 54; Column 10, line 27 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, line 15 to Column 16, line 7; Column 16, lines 56-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 19, line 4 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; container service, control plane, or the like, being sent that described above with respect to telemetry data, for example).
Regarding Claim 21,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the service traffic comprises an updated configuration request, and further comprising obtaining, by the proxy node, updated configuration information from the host data center (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 50 to Column 9, line 19; Column 10, lines 27-54; Column 14, lines 53-65; Column 16, lines 28-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 18, line 54 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; receiving request for, and obtaining updates, new versions, etc., as examples).
Claims 2, 9-11, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meduri in view of Australian Government and Carbajal (U.S. Patent 6,560,706).
Regarding Claim 2,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the request is a first request and further comprising (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 11; Column 10, line 38 to Column 13, line 60; Column 17, line 64 to Column 18, line 15; Column 18, line 54 to Column 19, line 67; and associated figures):
Storing, at the proxy node, the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, lines 13-32; Column 8, line 50 to Column 9, line 19; Column 10, lines 27-54; Column 14, lines 53-65; Column 16, lines 28-64; Column 17, lines 19-46; Column 18, line 54 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; proxy stores the data for at least a short while, for example);
But does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the proxy node, a second request for a second portion of the bootstrapping data and sending, by the proxy node responsive to the second request and using the one or more networking protocols, the second portion of the bootstrapping data.
Carbajal, however, discloses that the request is a first request and further comprising (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; downloading a segment, such as a first segment, of a boot image or the like, for example):
Storing, at the proxy node, the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; it is stored in order to be verified, for example);
Receiving, at the proxy node, a second request for a second portion of the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; downloading another segment, for example); and
Sending, by the proxy node responsive to the second request and using the one or more networking protocols, the second portion of the bootstrapping data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; a network protocol (e.g., DHCP, IP, etc. (also being found in Meduri as disclosed above for the networking protocol(s) being used to send the bootstrapping data)) used and downloading/sending of another segment, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the boot image segmenting and verification techniques of Carbajal into the mesh management system of Meduri as modified by Australian Government in order to ensure that images are free from viruses and have not been tampered with, to ensure authentication of downloaded data, to allow for multi-stage bootstrapping, to allow for bootstrapping in a constrained environment, and/or to increase security in the system.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is a system claim that corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is a medium claim that corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 9,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the one or more networking protocols comprises a predecessor of DHCP or TFTP (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 1, line 62 to Column 3, line 22; Column 5, line 3 to Column 6, line 19; Column 7, line 12 to Column 8, line 32; Column 9, line 20 to Column 11, line 5; Column 14, lines 26-65; Column 17, lines 19-32; Column 17, line 64 to Column 20, line 3; and associated figures; BOOTP, for example);
But does not explicitly disclose that the one or more networking protocols comprises DHCP or TFTP.
Carbajal, however, discloses that the one or more networking protocols comprises DHCP or TFTP (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; DHCP, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the boot image segmenting and verification techniques of Carbajal into the mesh management system of Meduri as modified by Australian Government in order to ensure that images are free from viruses and have not been tampered with, to ensure authentication of downloaded data, to allow for multi-stage bootstrapping, to allow for bootstrapping in a constrained environment, and/or to increase security in the system.
Regarding Claim 10,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the ingress channel comprises an ingress filter and further comprising filtering, by the ingress filter, the bootstrapping data received via the ingress channel (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 11; Column 10, line 38 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, lines 15-36; Column 17, line 64 to Column 18, line 15; Column 18, line 14 to Column 19, line 67; and associated figures; filtering transmissions at an ingress listener, for example).
Carbajal also discloses that the ingress channel comprises an ingress filter and further comprising filtering, by the ingress filter, the bootstrapping data received via the ingress channel (Exemplary Citations: for example, Abstract, Column 4, lines 21-58; Column 5, lines 12-67; Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; DHCP, for example; verifying image, segment, hash, signature, certificate, etc., for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the boot image segmenting and verification techniques of Carbajal into the mesh management system of Meduri as modified by Australian Government in order to ensure that images are free from viruses and have not been tampered with, to ensure authentication of downloaded data, to allow for multi-stage bootstrapping, to allow for bootstrapping in a constrained environment, and/or to increase security in the system.
Regarding Claim 11,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government and Carbajal discloses the method of claim 10, in addition, Carbajal discloses that filtering the bootstrapping data comprises:
Determining whether the bootstrapping data contains prohibited data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Abstract, Column 4, lines 21-58; Column 5, lines 12-67; Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; if the above not verified, the data is prohibited, for example); and
Removing, based at least in part on a determination that prohibited data is contained in the bootstrapping data, the prohibited data prior to sending the bootstrapping data to the receiver node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Abstract, Column 4, lines 21-58; Column 5, lines 12-67; Column 8, line 20 to Column 9, line 27 and associated figures; not sending the prohibited data, for example).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meduri in view of Australian Government and Meyer (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0258325).
Regarding Claim 12,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government discloses the method of claim 1, in addition, Meduri discloses that the egress channel comprises an egress filter, and further comprising filtering, by the egress filter, the request for bootstrapping data generated by the proxy node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 6, line 32 to Column 7, line 11; Column 10, line 38 to Column 13, line 60; Column 15, lines 15-36; Column 17, line 64 to Column 18, line 15; Column 18, line 28 to Column 19, line 67; and associated figures; filtering transmissions at an egress listener, for example).
Meyer also discloses that the egress channel comprises an egress filter, and further comprising filtering, by the egress filter, the request for bootstrapping data generated by the proxy node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 46-49, 69-84, 98-100, 105-108, 114-118, and associated figures; analyzing requests, detecting exfiltration, and preventing the requests if exfiltration detected, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the request analysis techniques of Meyer into the mesh management system of Meduri as modified by Australian Government in order to allow the system to detect and prevent exfiltration, to provide a variety of techniques to prevent normally innocuous requests from leaking sensitive information, and/or to increase security in the system.
Regarding Claim 13,
Meduri as modified by Australian Government and Meyer discloses the method of claim 12, in addition, Meyer discloses that filtering the request comprises:
Determining whether the request contains prohibited exfiltration data (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 46-49, 69-84, 98-100, 105-108, 114-118, and associated figures; analyzing request vs. rules to detect exfiltration of sensitive data, for example); and
Blocking the request based at least in part on a determination that prohibited exfiltration data is contained in the request (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 46-49, 69-84, 98-100, 105-108, 114-118, and associated figures; preventive action, for example).
Conclusion
/Jeffrey D. Popham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432