DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-23 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (WO 2007/005822) in view of Papadimitriou et al. (US 10,767,438, hereafter Papadimitriou) and Ronaes et al. (US 9,007,580, hereafter Ronaes)
With respect to claim 1, Gray teaches a system for real-time detection of a kick within a fluid stream in a drilling well, the system comprising: a first sensor unit (monitor 103) positioned on top of the drilling well, wherein the first sensor unit includes: a first detector for measuring a value of one or more physical parameters associated with the fluid stream entering the drilling well; and a second sensor unit (monitor 101) positioned within the drilling well, wherein the second sensor unit includes: a second detector for measuring a value of one or more physical parameters associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well; a flow restrictor (output choke 21) positioned between the first and second sensor units, wherein the flow restrictor is in fluid communication with the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit; and a controller (computers 67) connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit; wherein the controller obtains the values associated with the fluid stream entering the drilling well and the values associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well. (par. 35-41, Figs. 1-3)
Gray does not teach a first impedance sensor for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream entering the drilling well; or a particle detector located below the second detector, wherein the particle detector is used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles present within the fluid stream.
Papadimitriou teaches a system for real time detection of a kick within a fluid stream in a drilling well, including an impedance sensor (data acquisition sensor 25) for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream. (col. 11, lines 22 – 59, col. 18, lines 9-17)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include sensors to monitor electrical parameters of the fluid stream, as taught by Papadimitriou, in order to provide additional information for fluid analysis.
Ronaes teaches a particle detector used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles within a fluid stream. (Abstract, col. 2, lines 3-32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a particle detector, as taught by Ronaes, in order to provide real time particle information as part of the analysis in order to improved control of physical conditions within the well.
With respect to claim 2, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the physical parameters include flowrate, velocity, density, pressure, differential pressure, or volume of a fluid phase within the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 3, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the fluid phase includes a water component, a gas component, a solid component and an oil component within the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 4, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the one or more electrical parameters include one of conductivity, impedance, permittivity and conductance associated with the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 5, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the measurement of the one or more electrical parameters are used in the measurement of volume fraction of a gas phase and velocity of any of the components or component mixtures within the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 6, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the second detector includes: a sensing element for measuring a density, a flowrate, a velocity, a volume fraction and a differential pressure of the fluid stream; and a second impedance sensor, wherein the second impedance sensor measures the value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream.
Gray, Papadimitriou and Ronaes do not explicitly teach the sensing element includes a pair of vertical and parallel pipes placed within the drilling well, however this is a known element for such a measurement and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure to include pipes as claimed in order to effectively measure the desired parameters.
With respect to claim 7, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the fluid stream is a multiphase fluid stream.
With respect to claim 8, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the fluid stream includes a gas phase, an oil phase, a water phase and a solid phase.
With respect to claim 9, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the particle detector is an electrical capacitance tomography (ECT), a double plane electrical capacitance tomography (ECT) sensor, an electrical resistance tomography (ERT), an X-ray tomography, an imaging device or a camera.
With respect to claim 10, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the flow-restrictor is one of a venturi tube, a conical structure, an orifice plate and a wedge structure.
With respect to claim 11, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the solid particles include drilling cuttings.
With respect to claim 12, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system detects loss of the fluid during circulation within the drilling well by using the flowrate measurement by the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit.
With respect to claim 13, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system is applied in drilling operations where the fluid stream used for drilling is either water-based or oil- based in composition.
With respect to claim 14, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system is used for measuring flowrates or fractions of gas phase and oil phase in the fluid stream in real-time by using direct measurement of flow behavior and physical properties of the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 15, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system further includes a gas separator for removing the gas phase from the fluid stream.
With respect to claim 16, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system further includes a flow conditioner located along a path of the fluid stream for homogenizing the fluid stream before entering the second sensor unit.
With respect to claim 17, Gray teaches a system for real-time detection of a kick within a multiphase fluid stream in a drilling well, the system comprising: a first sensor unit (monitor 103) positioned on top of the drilling well, wherein the first sensor unit includes: a first detector for measuring a flowrate, a volume fraction, a density and a pressure associated with the multiphase fluid stream entering the drilling well; and a second sensor unit (monitor 101) positioned within the drilling well, wherein the second sensor unit includes: a second detector for measuring the value of a flowrate, a velocity, a volume fraction, a density and a pressure associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well, wherein the second detector includes: a sensing element for measuring the flowrate, the density and the pressure of the multiphase fluid stream; a flow restrictor (output choke 21) positioned between the first and second sensor units wherein the flow restrictor is in fluid communication with the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit and a controller (computers 67) connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit; wherein the controller obtains the values associated with the fluid stream entering the drilling well and the values associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well. (par. 35-41, Figs. 1-3)
Gray does not teach first and second impedance sensors for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream; a sensing element includes a pair of vertical and parallel pipes placed within the drilling well; or a particle detector located below the second detector, wherein the particle detector is used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles present within the fluid stream.
Papadimitriou teaches a system for real time detection of a kick within a fluid stream in a drilling well, including an impedance sensor (data acquisition sensor 25) for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream. (col. 11, lines 22 – 59, col. 18, lines 9-17)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include sensors to monitor electrical parameters of the fluid stream, as taught by Papadimitriou, in order to provide additional information for fluid analysis.
Ronaes teaches a particle detector used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles within a fluid stream. (Abstract, col. 2, lines 3-32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a particle detector, as taught by Ronaes, in order to provide real time particle information as part of the analysis in order to improved control of physical conditions within the well.
Although the references do not teach a pair of vertical and parallel pipes placed within the drilling well, however this is a known element for such a measurement and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure to include pipes as claimed in order to effectively measure the desired parameters.
With respect to claim 18, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the impedance, the conductivity, the permittivity, and the conductance measured by the second detector are used in of the volume fraction of a gas phase and velocity of any of the components or component mixtures within the multiphase fluid stream.
With respect to claim 19, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system further includes a flow conditioner located along a path of the multiphase fluid stream for homogenizing the multiphase fluid stream before entering the second sensor unit.
With respect to claim 20, Gray, as modified by Papadimitriou and Ronaes, teaches the system further includes a gas separator for removing the gas phase from the multiphase fluid stream.
With respect to claim 24, Gray teaches a system for real-time detection of a kick within a multiphase fluid stream in a drilling well, the system comprising: a first sensor unit (monitor 103) positioned on top of the drilling well, wherein the first sensor unit includes: a first detector for measuring a flowrate, a volume fraction, a density and a pressure associated with the multiphase fluid stream entering the drilling well; and a second sensor unit (monitor 101) positioned within the drilling well, wherein the second sensor unit includes: a second detector for measuring a value of a flowrate, velocity, a volume fraction, a density and a pressure associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well, wherein the second detector includes: a sensing element for measuring the flowrate, the density and the pressure of the multiphase fluid stream; a flow restrictor (output choke 21) positioned between the first and second sensor units, wherein the flow restrictor is in fluid communication with the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit; and a controller (computers 67) connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit; wherein the controller obtains the values associated with the fluid stream entering the drilling well and the values associated with the fluid stream flowing out from the drilling well.
Gray does not teach first and second impedance sensors for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream; a sensing element includes a pair of vertical and parallel pipes placed within the drilling well; or a particle detector located below the second detector, wherein the particle detector is used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles present within the fluid stream.
Papadimitriou teaches a system for real time detection of a kick within a fluid stream in a drilling well, including an impedance sensor (data acquisition sensor 25) for measuring a value of one or more electrical parameters associated with the fluid stream. (col. 11, lines 22 – 59, col. 18, lines 9-17)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include sensors to monitor electrical parameters of the fluid stream, as taught by Papadimitriou, in order to provide additional information for fluid analysis.
Ronaes teaches a particle detector used for measuring a velocity, size and concentration of solid particles within a fluid stream. (Abstract, col. 2, lines 3-32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a particle detector, as taught by Ronaes, in order to provide real time particle information as part of the analysis in order to improved control of physical conditions within the well.
Although the references do not teach a pair of vertical and parallel pipes placed within the drilling well, however this is a known element for such a measurement and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure to include pipes as claimed in order to effectively measure the desired parameters.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 4, 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853