Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-5, 7-11, 12, 14-19, and 20 under U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Friedrich (WO 2017180888 A1) and Heibel (WO 03002699 A1), evidenced by Stewart (“Propylene Glycol”) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 6 and claim 13 under U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Friedrich (WO 2017180888 A1), Heibel (WO 03002699 A1), evidenced by Stewart (“Propylene Glycol”), and Brooker (WO 2015148777 A1) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 12, 14-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich (WO 2017180888 A1) and further in view of Haetzelt (DE 102019111837 A1), as evidenced by Stewart (“Propylene Glycol”).
With regard to claim 1, 7-8, 14, and 16-17, Friedrich discloses a pouch composed of water-soluble film and a household care product comprising an organic solvent (see Abstract). Further, Friedrich discloses non-limiting examples of liquid compositions including detergents, fabric enhancers, and laundry additives (see page 4 paragraph 4). Friedrich further teaches a laundry composition comprising an organic solvent and a perfume (see page 1 paragraph 2) and the laundry composition may be a liquid, which includes a free-flowing liquid (see page 4 paragraph 4). Friedrich discloses 1-50wt% of an organic solvent (see page 38 line 29-30). Friedrich further discloses suitable organic solvents as low molecular weight glycols having a molecular weight of less than 600 Da (see page 39 line 1-5). Further, Friedrich teaches suitable organic solvents as glycerol, 1,2-propanediol, 1,3 propanediol, dipropylene, and polyethylene glycol, which may have a weight average molecular weight of 200-600 Da (see page 39 line 4-7), and mixtures thereof (see page 39 line 7-8). Friedrich further discloses the composition may comprise at least two organic solvents (see page 39 line 14-15), the first of which may be 1,2 propane diol and the second of which may be glycerol (see page 39 line 19).
However, Friedrich fails to disclose from about 25wt% to about 50wt% by weight of an encapsulated fragrance slurry.
Haetzelt discloses a method for generating a fragrance impression after a drying step (see [0001]). Haetzelt further discloses the use of perfumed microcapsules for the purpose of allowing a fragrance intensity to be perceived that would not be experienced with a pure fragrance (see [0004]). Further, Haetzelt discloses the perfume capsules allow for delayed diffusion of the fragrances across the capsule wall (see [0004]). Haetzelt further discloses microcapsules for use in detergent compositions (see [0073]). Haetzelt further teaches the slurry as 4-50wt% of the composition (see [0065]) and the encapsulated fragrance as 1-50wt% of the slurry (see [0064]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve delayed diffusion of the fragrances across the capsule wall (see [0004]). One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result of allowing a fragrance intensity to be perceived that would not be experienced with a pure fragrance (see [0004]) because of the delayed diffusion of the fragrances across the capsule wall. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claims 2-3, 9-10, and 18, Friedrich teaches organic solvents at 1-50wt% (see page 38 line 29-30) and further discloses suitable organic solvents as glycerol and dipropylene glycol (see page 39 line 4-7), and the composition may comprise at least two organic solvents (see page 39 line 14-15). Friedrich further discloses 1,2-propane diol as a suitable organic solvent (see page 39 paragraph 1). Stewart discloses 1,2 propane diol is another name for propylene glycol.
With regard to claims 4, 11, and 19, Friedrich discloses a household care composition which may comprise at least two organic solvents (see page 39 line 14-15). Friedrich further discloses the first organic solvent as 1,2-propanediol and the second organic solvent as glycerol (see page 39 line 16-19). Friedrich further teaches the ratio of 1,2-propanediol to glycerol as from about 7:1 to about 1:5 (see page 39 line 19-20). Friedrich teaches organic solvents at 1-50wt% (see page 38 line 29-30).
While Friedrich fails to disclose the composition comprising from about 20% by weight to about 30% by weight of the first non-aqueous solvent and from about 8% by weight to about 10% by weight of the second non-aqueous solvent, Friedrich teaches organic solvents at 1-50wt% (see page 38 line 29-30). Friedrich further teaches the ratio of 1,2-propanediol to glycerol as from about 7:1 to about 1:5 (see page 39 line 19-20). A composition comprising 24wt% of 1,2-propanediol and 8wt% of glycerol would correspond to a ratio of 3:1. Optimization or even simply varying of the relative amounts within the prior art’s general conditions amounts to routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F,2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to claim 5 and claim 12, Friedrich discloses 0.1-50wt% polyethylene glycol as an organic solvent, having an average molecular weight of 200-600 Da (page 38 line 28-32-page 32 line 1-8).
With regard to claim 15 and claim 20, Friedrich teaches organic solvents as useful to facilitate product stability (see page 38 line 21-23). While Friedrich and Heibel do not teach a fabric treatment unit does product of claim 8 wherein the liquid composition does not separate into more than one layer for at least 24 hours at room temperature, Friedrich and Heibel disclose all of the limitations of claim 8. It stands to reason that the disclosed composition would meet the requirements of a liquid composition that does not separate into more than one layer for at least 24 hours at room temperature. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2112.01(I), “where the claimed and prior products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantial identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)” and 2112.01(II), “products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 6 and claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich (WO 2017180888 A1) and Haetzelt (DE 102019111837 A1), as applied to claim 1 and claim 8, and Brooker (WO 2015148777 A1).
With regard to claim 6 and claim 13, Friedrich and Haetzelt disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and claim 8.
However, Friedrich and Haetzelt fail to disclose a second compartment, wherein the second compartment comprises a powder composition, and wherein the powder composition comprises a fragrance composition.
Brooker teaches a unit dose product comprising a multi-compartment water soluble unit dose article, wherein a first compartment contains a powder composition and a second compartment contains a liquid composition (see page 2 line 11-13). Brooker further teaches the powder composition may contain perfumes (see page 7 line 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify water soluble pouch comprising at least one interior pouch in the interior space of Friedrich to include the powder composition and a liquid composition for the purpose of increasing the dissolution time of the fragrance to reduce potential interaction with incompatible substances (see Brooker, page 6 line 16-19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed December 17th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 under Heibel have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Haetzelt.
Applicant argues that Heibel discloses the amount ranges for these components with respect to the total amount of encapsulated fragrance slurry, not with respect to the total amount of the composition as a whole. As Heibel is no longer utilized as prior art, Applicant’s arguments with regard to Heibel are moot.
Applicant further argues that Brooker is silent as to the encapsulated fragrance slurry. Brooker discloses suitable perfumes may include perfume microcapsules (see page 24 lines 2-3). As stated above, Haetzelt discloses microcapsules for use in detergent compositions. Haetzelt further teaches the slurry as 4-50wt% of the composition and the encapsulated fragrance as 1-50wt% of the slurry. As Brooker discloses suitable perfumes may include perfume microcapsules, it stands to reason that one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize the microcapsules of Haetzelt for the purpose of allowing a fragrance intensity to be perceived that would not be experienced with a pure fragrance through delayed diffusion of the fragrances across the capsule wall.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761