DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/09/2025 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 9, 13, 17, and 20 in the amendment. Claim 5 is cancelled.
Claims 1-4, and 6-20 remain pending.
Terminal Disclaimer has been approved on 03/28/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-20 filed on 07/09/2025 have been considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, claim limitation recites “it” in line 14, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “it” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0350103 A1), hereinafter Lee, in view of Davis et al. (US 2017/0023963 A1), hereinafter Davis, in view of Doyle et al. (GB 2529645A), hereinafter Doyle, and further in view of Roquemore, III (US 2018/0027635 A1), hereinafter Roquemore.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses
A shower control system (shower system) comprising:
a pairing station for a shower (shower valve module 120, FIG. 1), the pairing station having a pairing interface located remote and separate from a control unit of the shower (mixing valve 140), the pairing process authorizing the portable user device (user terminal 160) to provide control signals to the control unit to control one or more functions of the shower comprising changing water temperature or change water flow rate of water from the shower ([0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal), and wherein the portable user device is configured to provide control signals to the control unit to control the one or more functions of the shower when the portable user device is authorized ([0273]: there is a user input on the control panel of the user terminal, the control signal for flowing the water is transmitted to the shower head module);
the portable user device to provide control signals to the pairing station and the pairing station relays the control signals to the shower ([0153]: a user terminal for transmitting data to and receiving data from the shower valve module; & [0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal)).
Lee does not explicitly disclose
the paring station initiates a pairing process with a portable user device responsive to activation of the pairing station by the user physically located at the pairing station when the portable user device is within a pairing region;
pairing the portable user device with the pairing station authorizes the portable user device to provide the control signals to the pairing station.
However, Davis discloses
the paring station initiates a pairing process with a portable user device responsive to activation of the pairing station by the user physically located at the pairing station when the portable user device is within a pairing region ([0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process);
pairing the portable user device with the pairing station authorizes the portable user device to provide the control signals to the pairing station ([0089]: before a power control unit can communicate with a particular smartphone via its wireless capability, ordinarily the two devices will be “paired” with each other; this process validates the association between the smartphone and the power control unit so that on future occasions the power control unit can identify the smartphone and accept it as an authorized device as opposed to any other device which is not approved).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Davis to Lee in order to achieve the feature because Lee discloses user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system ([0153]) and Davis further suggests pair devices after pressing a switch for pairing mode ([0089]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Davis in the Lee system in order to initiate pairing between devices as desired.
Lee and Davis do not explicitly disclose
authorizing via at least one of an authorization code and password.
However, Doyle discloses
authorizing via at least one of an authorization code and password (FIG. 10 & FIG. 11 & page 23, lines 12-19: the external device communicates the digital validation key DVK to the validation circuit of the controller, which in turn determine a validity of the digital validation key DVK; if the digital validation key DVK is determined to be authentic and valid, the controller will permit activation of the shower apparatus).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Doyle to Lee and Davis in order to achieve the feature because Lee and Davis disclose user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system (Lee: [0153]) and Doyle further suggests sending digital validation key to controller for permission to activate shower apparatus (page 23).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Doyle in the Lee and Davis system in order to provide a secure system to users.
Lee, Davis, and Doyle do not explicitly disclose
the pairing interface comprises a wall-mounted button requiring a user’s presence for activation, wherein, by depressing the wall-mounted button.
However, Roquemore discloses
the pairing interface comprises a wall-mounted button requiring a user’s presence for activation, wherein, by depressing the wall-mounted button ([0044]: a button on a wall switch must be pressed; press a button on a wall switch and the wall switch can transmit an active beacon; the active beacon is a wireless transmission of an advertising packet or the like to indicate to other Bluetooth enabled devices in the vicinity that the wall switch is attempting to essentially connect/pair itself with another device).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Roquemore to Lee, Davis, and Doyle in order to achieve the feature because Lee, Davis, and Doyle disclose user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system (Lee: [0153]) and Roquemore further suggests pairing devices after pressing a button ([0044]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Roquemore in the Lee, Davis, and Doyle system in order to initiate pairing between devices as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore further disclose
the pairing process is initiated in response to a first operation of the pairing interface and comprises authorizing the portable user device to provide the control signals to the pairing station in response to the pairing station detecting a second operation of the pairing interface (Davis: [0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 3, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee further disclose
the control unit comprises a control valve operable to change the water temperature or the water flow rate of the water from the shower ([0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore further disclose
the pairing region comprises a region within a set range of a relay arranged to relay a signal from the portable user device to the pairing station (Davis: [0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process). Therefore, the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore further disclose
the portable user device communicates wirelessly within the pairing station, and the pairing region is the region within a maximum distance over which communications can be exchanged wirelessly between the portable user device and the pairing station (Davis: [0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee further discloses
the pairing station is configured to receive the control signal from the portable user device and relay a control signal to the control unit of the shower ([0153]: a user terminal for transmitting data to and receiving data from the shower valve module; & [0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal)).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the shower control system as described in claim 1. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore further disclose
the pairing station is configured for pairing with a plurality of portable devices including the portable user devices (Davis: [0088]: each smartphone is individually “known” by the MCU so that more than one smartphone can be paired with each of the power control units; & [0089]: preferably each power control unit can “pair” with more than one smartphone if desired). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 12 and 18, the limitations of claims 12 and 18 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 13, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the controllable bathing system as described in claim 9. Lee further discloses
the pairing interface comprises a control knob or control lever operable to provide control signals to the shower ([0079]: the shower valve module further includes a knob).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the controllable bathing system as described in claim 9. Lee further discloses
the pairing station communicates with the portable user device using a wireless communication protocol, and the portable user device must be held within a predetermined wireless communication range of the pairing station for pairing to occur ([0145]: a wireless energy network includes various types and variants of commercially available wireless communication).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the controllable bathing system as described in claim 9. Lee further discloses
the pairing interface is or comprises at least one of a proximity sensor, a pressure sensor, a button ([0255]: the shower valve module is further provided at a front surface thereof with a control panel that receives a user input; the control panel is a button-type control panel), a lever, a rotary control, a finger print scanner, a facial scanner, a retinal scanner, and a voice recognition unit.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses
A method for controlling a shower, the method comprising:
a pairing station associated with the shower (shower valve module 120, FIG. 1) and having a pairing interface located remote and separate from a control unit of the shower (mixing valve 140);
the pairing process authorizing the portable user device to provide control signals to the control unit to control one or more functions of the shower comprising changing water temperature or changing water flow rate of water from the shower ([0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal), and wherein the portable user device is configured to provide control signals to the control unit to control the one or more functions of the shower when the portable user device is authorized ([0273]: there is a user input on the control panel of the user terminal, the control signal for flowing the water is transmitted to the shower head module);
wherein the pairing station relays the control signals, which it receives from the portable user device, to the shower ([0153]: a user terminal for transmitting data to and receiving data from the shower valve module; & [0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal).
Lee does not explicitly disclose
activate a pairing station, wherein the pairing station requires a user’s presence for activation;
initiating a pairing process between the pairing station and a portable user device responsive to activation of the pairing station by a user when the portable user device is within a pairing region.
However, Davis discloses
activate a pairing station, wherein the pairing station requires a user’s presence for activation ([0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process);
initiating a pairing process between the pairing station and a portable user device responsive to activation of the pairing station by a user when the portable user device is within a pairing region ([0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Davis to Lee in order to achieve the feature because Lee discloses user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system ([0153]) and Davis further suggests pair devices after pressing a switch for pairing mode ([0089]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Davis in the Lee system in order to initiate pairing between devices as desired.
Lee and Davis do not explicitly disclose
authorizing via at least one of an authorization code and password.
However, Doyle discloses
authorizing via at least one of an authorization code and password (FIG. 10 & FIG. 11 & page 23, lines 12-19: the external device communicates the digital validation key DVK to the validation circuit of the controller, which in turn determine a validity of the digital validation key DVK; if the digital validation key DVK is determined to be authentic and valid, the controller will permit activation of the shower apparatus).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Doyle to Lee and Davis in order to achieve the feature because Lee and Davis disclose user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system (Lee: [0153]) and Doyle further suggests sending digital validation key to controller for permission to activate shower apparatus (page 23).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Doyle in the Lee and Davis system in order to provide a secure system to users.
Lee, Davis, and Doyle do not explicitly disclose
the pairing interface comprises a wall-mounted button requiring a user’s presence for activation;
by depressing the wall-mounted button.
However, Roquemore discloses
the pairing interface comprises a wall-mounted button requiring a user’s presence for activation ([0044]: a button on a wall switch must be pressed);
by depressing the wall-mounted button ([0044]: a button on a wall switch must be pressed; press a button on a wall switch and the wall switch can transmit an active beacon; the active beacon is a wireless transmission of an advertising packet or the like to indicate to other Bluetooth enabled devices in the vicinity that the wall switch is attempting to essentially connect/pair itself with another device).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Roquemore to Lee, Davis, and Doyle in order to achieve the feature because Lee, Davis, and Doyle disclose user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from/communicate with the shower valve module of a shower system (Lee: [0153]) and Roquemore further suggests pairing devices after pressing a button ([0044]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Roquemore in the Lee, Davis, and Doyle system in order to initiate pairing between devices as desired.
Regarding claim 19, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the method as described in claim 17. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore further disclose
authorizing the portable user device to provide the control signals to the control unit is performed responsive to the pairing station detecting an authorization interaction with the pairing interface (Lee: [0158]: the shower valve module controls the mixing valve according to a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is calculated without a real-time input of the user, or a scheduled shower pattern or the flow rate and/or the temperature, which is received from the user terminal); & Davis: [0089]: in the case of power control unit 300, it is preferably placed into “pairing mode,” by having it plugged into a mains power outlet and the user pressing and holding disconnect switch 312 for more than 10 seconds; if the smartphone is also in “pairing mode,” it will recognize the request from power control unit 300 to “pair”, and both devices will exchange information to complete the “pairing” process).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Davis, in view of Doyle, in view of Roquemore, and further in view of Salvador et al. (US 2016/0277909 A1), hereinafter Salvador.
Regarding claim 20, Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose the method as described in claim 17. Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore do not explicitly disclose
receiving, by the pairing station, a second control signal from the portable user device;
in response to receiving the second control signal from the portable user device, determining, by the pairing station, that the portable user device has previously been authorized to provide the control signals; and
relaying the second control signal, by the pairing station, to the control unit.
However, Salvador discloses
receiving, by the pairing station, a second control signal from the portable user device ([0042]: user device can issue the instruction, and router can pass the instruction to a mobile access gateway);
in response to receiving the second control signal from the portable user device, determining, by the pairing station, that the portable user device has previously been authorized to provide the control signals ([0042]: using the device ID and the mobile number, the mobile access gateway can determine whether the gateway device and the user device are related with each other (e.g., whether the user device has previously authorized to use wireless hotspot provided by gateway device)); and
relaying the second control signal, by the pairing station, to the control unit ([0042]: if they are related, then mobile access gateway will forward the instruction to gateway device).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Salvador to Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore in order to achieve the feature because Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore disclose user terminal transmits data to and receiving data from the shower valve module of a shower system (Lee: [0153]) and Salvador further suggests determine user device has previously authorized to use a service and forward the instruction ([0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Salvador in the Lee, Davis, Doyle, and Roquemore system in order to save time and resource.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rodenbeck et al. (US 2016/0195882 A1). The water delivery system may have a portable device; select water temperature, water flow rates, water flow patterns, and/or task based presets.
Krajnc et al. (US 2018/0317305 A1). The user interface device sends control signals to the bridge over a first connection, and the bridge sends corresponding control signals to the luminaire(s) over one or more second connections ([0041]).
Frader-Thompson et al. (US 2009/0195349 A1). A user press a button on node in order to initiate a pairing ([0100]).
Hale et al. (US 2012/0242455 A1). User required to actuate one or more of the controllers on the RF remote control to confirm the user’s intent to pair or de-pair the RF remote control and the electronic device ([0059]).
El-Hoiydi et al. (US 2015/0341973 A1). An “initiate pair” command and a “confirm pairing” command are transmitted via the near field link, and a “pair” command and an “accept” command are transmitted via the RF link; the devices could be configured such that either one or both of the devices may request pairing by a single button press ([0022]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Kaylee Huang
08/15/2025
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447