DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on November 20, 2025 has been entered.
III. Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 and cancellation of claim 13 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) based on new matter.
IV. Allowability of claims 18 and 19 withdrawn; allowability of claim 19 remains
The examiner notes that applicant’s amendment to claim 1 and claim 12 is based on the previous indication of allowability of claim 18. However, after closer consideration, the examiner submits that Nayar et al. satisfies the limitations of claim 18. However, claim 19 remains allowable as indicated in the previous correspondence of parent applications. See, for example, the Office action dated October 6, 2022 of parent application, 16/802,205.
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5,8,10-13,15,17,20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nayar et al. (US # 6,864,916).
As to claim 1, Nayar et al. teaches a method comprising:
exposing a first plurality of pixels of an image sensor (Fig. 4B, pixel corresponding to brightest cell “102”) a second plurality of pixels of the image sensor (Fig. 4B, pixel corresponding to darkest cell “105”), and a third plurality of pixels of the image sensor (Fig. 4B, pixel corresponding to either bright cell “103” or dark cell “104”) to light substantially synchronously (col. 7, lines 39-41), wherein the first plurality of pixels are interspersed with the second plurality of pixels and the third plurality of pixels in a repeating array (Fig. 4A; Fig. 5B);
controlling the exposing such that the first plurality of pixels has a first exposure and the second plurality of pixels has a second exposure and the third plurality of pixels has a third exposure, and wherein the first exposure differs from the second exposure and the third exposure (col. 8, lines 60-64);
determining both a first luminance from the first exposure and a second luminance from the second exposure (Fig. 9; {The Examiner interprets the first luminance and the second luminance as the pixel values corresponding to the brightest mask cell and the darkest mask cell, respectively.}); and
determining a composite luminance (Fig. 9, interpolated pixel “129”) from the first luminance and the second luminance (The Examiner submits that the interpolated pixel “129” is determined from the pixel signal of a brightest cell and the pixel signal of a darkest cell even if they are not used in Nayar’s interpolation process. That is, in the case of saturation, the pixel value of the darkest mask cell will be used in interpolation but the pixel value of the brightest mask cell will not. However, even if not used in interpolation, its value is used to indicate saturation and that it should not be used in the interpolation process. Conversely, in the case of blackening, the pixel value of the brightest mask cell will be used in interpolation, and the pixel value of the darkest mask cell will be used to indicate blackening and that it should not be used in interpolation.}), wherein the composite luminance is determined by interpolating between the first luminance and the second luminance (col. 11, lines 2-9).
As to claim 2, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interpolating comprises one or more of a bicubic, a simple average (col. 10, lines 59-65), a bicubic spline, a cubic nearest-neighbor or a bilinear.
As to claim 3, the Examiner interprets the term “short” in claim 10 as defined in para. [0064] on pp. 16 and 17 of the specification.
Further as to claim 3, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 1. Although it is not stated expressly in Nayar et al., the Examiner takes official notice to the idea of capturing video frames at 1/60th of a second as well known and expected in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to quicken the frame rate of Nayar’s video camera to this well-known rate because this modification would be particularly advantageous in a camera that performs complicated post-capture processing, like the high dynamic range image calculation of Nayar et al., where reproduction of the image can be performed without noticeable delay after initiation of image capture.
As Applicant has failed to adequately traverse the official notice statement above, the subject matter of that statement is now considered admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03(c).
As to claim 5, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein controlling the exposing such that the first plurality of pixels has the first exposure and the second plurality of pixels has the second exposure and the first exposure differs from the second exposure is performed with an optical device that is configured to transmit a relatively different amount of light to the first plurality of pixels as compared to the second plurality of pixels (col. 8, lines 60-64).
As to claim 8, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first plurality of pixels are disposed immediately adjacent the second plurality of pixels in a sensing area so that the first plurality of pixels and second plurality of pixels would be subject to substantially a same amount of light if the optical device were not present (Fig. 4B).
As to claim 12, Nayar et al. teaches a system (Fig. 2, video camera “200”) comprising:
a first plurality of pixels (Fig. 4B, pixels corresponding to brightest cells “102”)
a second plurality of pixels (Fig. 4B, pixels corresponding to darkest cells “105”), and wherein the first plurality of pixels are interspersed with one another in a non-random pattern in a sensing area (Fig. 5B);
an optical device (Fig. 2, mask “101”; col. 9, lines 8 and 9, “…optical filter…”) configured to control an amount of exposure of the first pixel and the second pixel such that the first pixel has a first exposure and the second pixel has a second exposure (col. 8, lines 60-64), wherein the first exposure and the second exposure are taken simultaneously synchronously (col. 7, lines 39-41; note, also, the discussion in col. 1, lines 20-54), and wherein the first exposure differs from the second exposure (col. 8, lines 60-64);
a third pixel (Fig. 4B, pixel corresponding to either bright cell “103” or dark cell “104”) and the optical device is configured to control an amount of exposure of the third pixel such that the third pixel has a third exposure taken simultaneously and a for a substantially same time duration as the first exposure and the second exposure (col. 7, lines 39-41; note, also, the discussion in col. 1, lines 20-54), and wherein the first exposure, the second exposure, and the third exposure all differ from one another (col. 8, lines 60-64); and
a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium (Fig. 2, ROM “409”) storing processor executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 2, processing unit “411”), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
determine both a first luminance from the first exposure and a second luminance from the second exposure (Fig. 9; {The Examiner interprets the first luminance and the second luminance as the pixel values corresponding to the brightest mask cell and the darkest mask cell, respectively.}); and
determine a composite luminance (Fig. 9, interpolated pixel “129”) from the first luminance and the second luminance (The Examiner submits that the interpolated pixel “129” is determined from the first and second luminance even if they are not used in Nayar’s interpolation process. That is, in the case of saturation, the pixel value of the darkest mask cell will be used in interpolation but the pixel value of the brightest mask cell will not. However, even if not used in interpolation, its value is used to indicate saturation and that it should not be used in the interpolation process. Conversely, in the case of blackening, the pixel value of the brightest mask cell will be used in interpolation, and the pixel value of the darkest mask cell will be used to indicate blackening and that it should not be used in interpolation.}), wherein the composite luminance is determined by interpolating between the first luminance and the second luminance (col. 11, lines 2-9) and according to a light condition (The Examiner interprets the light condition as blackening/saturation.).
As to claim 15, Nayar et al. teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the optical device includes an optical filter that is configured to transmit a relatively different amount of light to the first plurality of pixels as compared to the second plurality of pixels (col. 8, lines 60-64).
As to claim 17, Nayar et al. teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the first plurality of pixels includes at least a first pixel disposed immediately adjacent at least a second pixel of the plurality of pixels in the sensing area so that the first pixel and second pixel would be subject to substantially a same amount of light if the optical device were not present (Fig. 4B).
As to claim 20, Nayar et al. teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the first plurality of pixels includes at least a first pixel disposed immediately adjacent at least a second pixel of the plurality of pixels in the sensing area (Fig. 4B).
As to claim 21, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein all pixels of the repeating array comprise either the first plurality of pixels, the second plurality of pixels or the third plurality of pixels (col. 8, line 64 – col. 9, line 2).
VI. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayar et al. (US # 6,864,916) in view of Georgiev et al. (US # 8,345,144) and further in view of Ciurea et al. (US 2018/0013945)
As to claim 4, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 1. The claim differs from Nayar et al. in that it requires that the first exposure comprises substantially a full exposure and the second exposure comprises substantially fifty percent exposure.
In the same field of endeavor, Georgiev et al. discloses an optical mask for an image sensor that filters incoming light to transmit a plurality of different amounts of light to respective pixels of the image sensor. The mask includes a plurality of elements that pass all incoming light to the image sensor (Fig. 37A, 100% mask elements; col. 36, lines 56-60). Further in the same field of endeavor, Ciurea et al. teaches that it is known to capture multiple images with different exposure settings to produce a high dynamic range image, where a first exposure setting can be set to half the value of another exposure setting ([0007]). In light of the teaching of Georgiev et al. and Ciurea et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design Nayar’s brightest mask cell to transmit all incoming light and Nayar’s darkest mask cell to transmit half of the incoming light because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this mask design would be particularly advantageous when producing high dynamic range images of low-light scenes.
As to claim 14, Nayar et al. teaches the system of claim 12. The claim differs from Nayar et al. in that it requires that the first exposure comprises substantially a full exposure and the second exposure comprises substantially fifty percent exposure.
In the same field of endeavor, Georgiev et al. discloses an optical mask for an image sensor that filters incoming light to transmit a plurality of different amounts of light to respective pixels of the image sensor. The mask includes a plurality of elements that pass all incoming light to the image sensor (Fig. 37A, 100% mask elements; col. 36, lines 56-60). Further in the same field of endeavor, Ciurea et al. teaches that it is known to capture multiple images with different exposure settings to produce a high dynamic range image, where a first exposure setting can be set to half the value of another exposure setting ([0007]). In light of the teaching of Georgiev et al. and Ciurea et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design Nayar’s brightest mask cell to transmit all incoming light, Nayar’s darkest mask cell to transmit half of the incoming light, and Nayar’s intermediate cells to transmit amounts of light between the amounts transmitted by the darkest and brightest cells because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this mask design would be particularly advantageous when producing high dynamic range images of low-light scenes.
B. Claims 6,7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayar et al. (US # 6,864,916) in view of Fukuhara (US 2015/0256734)
As to claim 6, Nayar et al. teaches the method of claim 5. The claim differs from Nayar et al. in that it requires that the optical device comprises a lenslet array that is configured to transmit a relatively different amount of light to the first plurality of pixels as compared to the second plurality of pixels.
In the same field of endeavor, Fukuhara discloses an image sensor (Fig. 3, imaging element “301”) with pixels that receive either high-intensity light or low-intensity light (Fig. 3, H and L pixels). A microlens array (Fig. 3, lens array “302”) is positioned before the image sensor and includes lenses that are designed to transmit either low-intensity or high intensity light to the image sensor ([0078]). In light of the teaching of Fukuhara, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Fukuhara’s microlens array in lieu of Nayar’s mask to transmit the different amounts of light to the CCD because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Fukuhara’s microlens array would allow the resultant imaging system to capture light field images, thereby allowing for post-capture focusing.
As to claim 7, Nayar et al., as modified by Fukuhara, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the lenslet array has a repeating pattern corresponding to the repeating array (See relevant cited portions of Nayar et al. and Fukuhara; {Nayar’s mask, which is replaced with Fukuhara’s microlens array, is repeating.}).
As to claim 16, Nayar et al. teaches the system of claim 12. The claim differs from Nayar et al. in that it requires that the optical device comprises a lenslet array that is configured to transmit a relatively different amount of light to the first plurality of pixels as compared to the second plurality of pixels.
In the same field of endeavor, Fukuhara discloses an image sensor (Fig. 3, imaging element “301”) with pixels that receive either high-intensity light or low-intensity light (Fig. 3, H and L pixels). A microlens array (Fig. 3, lens array “302”) is positioned before the image sensor and includes lenses that are designed to transmit either low-intensity or high intensity light to the image sensor ([0078]). In light of the teaching of Fukuhara, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Fukuhara’s microlens array in lieu of Nayar’s mask to transmit the different amounts of light to the CCD because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Fukuhara’s microlens array would allow the resultant imaging system to capture light field images, thereby allowing for post-capture focusing.
VII. Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. See the Office action dated 10/6/2022 of parent application, 16/802,205 for their reasons for allowability.
VIII. Conclusion
1/9/2026
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637