Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 16-20 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Status
Claims 1-11, 16-20 and 20 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 16-20 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horrell (US 2012/0172936 A1) in view of Da Silva (US 2020/0178953 A1) and Dreyfuss (US 2007/0060922 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Horrell teaches an apparatus for approximation of two bones (10, repair device, fig. 2), comprising:
a first anchor (12, first anchor, fig. 2) comprising:
a first proximal end (34, proximal end, fig. 3A);
a first distal end (32, tip, fig. 3A) configured for insertion into a first hole (see annotated fig. 10, below) in a first bone (2, tibia, fig. 2); and
a first distal tip (32, tip, fig. 3A);
a locking assembly (14, second anchor, fig. 2) comprising:
a second proximal end (80, head, fig. 6B); and
a second distal end (82, body, fig. 6B) configured for insertion into a second hole (see annotated fig. 10, below) in a second bone (4, fibula, fig. 2); and
a flexible segment (16, tether, fig. 2)
wherein the locking assembly is configured such that there is a second distance between the second distal end of the locking assembly and a second side of the second bone (see annotated fig. 2, below),
wherein the first anchor and the flexible segment are configured to be simultaneously delivered into the two bones such that when the first anchor is inserted into the first bone (¶ [0131], fig. 13), the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment extend proximally from a first side of the second bone (fig. 13), and
wherein the locking assembly is configured to be inserted into the second bone after the simultaneous delivery of the first anchor and the flexible segment into the two bones (¶ [0132]).
Horrell fails to teach a locking assembly releasable engages the flexible segment and a non-threaded flexible segment. However, Da Silva teaches a device for stabilized fixation of bone that includes
a locking assembly (20, plug assembly, fig. 4A) comprising:
a second proximal end (see annotated fig. 4B, below); and
a second distal end (see annotated fig. 4B, below) configured for insertion into a second hole (42, hole, fig. 3) in a second bone (40, fibula, fig. 3); and
a non-threaded flexible segment (24, suture, fig. 2A) extending from approximate the first distal tip of the first anchor to the locking assembly (fig. 2A) and configured to adjust a first distance between the first and second bones (¶ [0006], The phrase “a non-threaded flexible segment . . . configured to adjust a first distance between the first and second bones” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the suture is considered to be capable of adjusting a first distance between the first and second bones.);
wherein the locking assembly is configured to accept a plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment (fig. 2A, suture tails) and further to releasably engage the flexible segment to fix the first distance between the first and second bones (¶ [0014]),
wherein the locking assembly is configured to releasably engage the flexible segment (¶ [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Horrell to include a locking assembly releasable engages the flexible segment and an non-threaded flexible segment as taught by Da Silva in order to provide rigid and consistent fixation with a knotless closure during the healing phase (¶ [0005-0006], Da Silva). For clarity, the plug assembly of Da Silva is replacing the second anchor of Horrell as the locking assembly and the suture of Da Silva is replacing the tether of Horrell as the non-threaded flexible segment.
Horrell in view of Da Silva does not explicitly teach a non-threaded flexible segment (24, suture, fig. 2B, Da Silva) extends from the distal tip of a screw like first anchor (12, first anchor, fig. 2, Horrell). However, Dreyfuss teaches a suture anchor that includes a flexible segment (30, flexible strand, fig. 1) extending from the distal tip of a screw like anchor (4, anchor body, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Horrell and Da Silva to include a flexible segment extending from the distal tip of a screw like anchor as taught by Dreyfuss in order to increase the pullout strength of the suture even in soft bone, provide increased suture fixation and eliminate the anchor "pull back" (abstract, Dreyfuss).
Regarding claim 2, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the first anchor passes through the second hole (¶ [0006], fig. 11, Horrell) and is threaded within the first bone in the first hole from the first distal end to the first proximal end (¶ [0127], Horrell).
Regarding claim 3, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, and additionally teaches the flexible segment extends beyond the second distal end of the locking assembly (fig. 2B, Da Silva).
Regarding claim 4, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, and additionally teaches the first hole is disposed on a first side of the first bone (see annotated fig. 2, below, Horrell), and wherein the first anchor is configured such that there is a third distance between the first distal end of the first anchor and a second side of the first bone (see annotated fig. 2, below, Horrell).
Regarding claim 5, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the locking assembly is configured to be coupled to a bone plate (¶ [0117], Horrell), and wherein the bone plate is configured to be coupled to the first side of the second bone (¶ [0117], Horrell).
Regarding claim 6, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the locking assembly further comprises one or more openings for receiving the flexible segment (36, slots, fig. 4A, ¶ [0062], Da Silva) and is configured to anchor the flexible segment to hold the locking assembly to the first side of the second bone (fig. 3, Da Silva).
Regarding claim 7, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the locking assembly further comprises:
a body (30, plug, fig. 4A, Da Silva) comprising the second proximal end, the second distal end, and an internal cavity (54, hole, fig. 6B, Da Silva); and
a locking insert (34, screw, fig. 4A, Da Silva) moveable from a first position to a second position within the internal cavity (¶ [0062], Da Silva);
wherein the locking assembly is configured to receive the flexible segment through one or more openings (36, slots, fig. 4A, ¶ [0062], Da Silva); and
wherein the locking insert is configured to transition from the first position to the second position to lock the flexible segment at a length (¶ [0022-0023], Da Silva).
Regarding claim 8, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the locking assembly further comprises:
a locking insert (34, screw, fig. 4A, Da Silva); and
a button (30, plug, fig. 4A, Da Silva) comprising:
a first opening (54, hole, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to accept a third distal end of the locking insert (35a, threads, fig. 4A, ¶ [0064] , Da Silva); and
one or more second openings (36,slots, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to accept the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment (¶ [0062] , Da Silva).
Regarding claim 9, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 8, and additionally teaches the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings (¶ [0066], Da Silva). The phrase “the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the plug assembly of Da Silva is considered to be capable of locking the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings.
Regarding claim 10, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 8, and additionally teaches the locking insert comprises:
a cap (32, cap, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to be placed on a fourth proximal end of the button (37, flange, fig. 4A, Da Silva); and
a screw (34, screw, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to be screwed through the cap and the button and into the second bone (fig. 4A, Da Silva); and
the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap (¶ [0066], Da Silva). The phrase “the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the plug assembly of Da Silva is considered to be capable of locking the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap.
Regarding claim 11, Horrell teaches an apparatus for approximation of two bones (10, repair device, fig. 2), comprising:
a first anchor (12, first anchor, fig. 2) comprising:
a first proximal end (34, proximal end, fig. 3A);
a first distal end (32, tip, fig. 3A) configured for insertion into a first hole (see annotated fig. 10, below) in a first bone (2, tibia, fig. 2);
wherein the first anchor passes through a second hole in a second bone (¶ [0006], see annotated fig. 10, below) and is inserted within the first bone in the first hole from the first distal end to the first proximal end (¶ [0127]); and
a first distal tip (32, tip, fig. 3A);
a locking assembly (14, second anchor, fig. 2) comprising:
a second proximal end (80, head, fig. 6B); and
a second distal end (82, body, fig. 6B) configured for insertion into the second hole (see annotated fig. 10, below) in a second bone (4, fibula, fig. 2); and
a flexible segment (16, tether, fig. 2)
wherein the locking assembly is configured such that there is a second distance between the second distal end of the locking assembly and a second side of the second bone (see annotated fig. 2, below), and
wherein the first anchor and the flexible segment are configured to be simultaneously delivered into the two bones such that when the first anchor is inserted into the first bone (¶ [0131], fig. 13), the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment extend proximally from a first side of the second bone (fig. 13), and
wherein the locking assembly is configured to be inserted into the second bone after the simultaneous delivery of the first anchor and the flexible segment into the two bones (¶ [0132]).
Horrell fails to teach a locking assembly releasable engages the flexible segment and a non-threaded flexible segment. However, Da Silva teaches a device for stabilized fixation of bone that includes
a locking assembly (20, plug assembly, fig. 4A) comprising:
a second proximal end (see annotated fig. 4B, below); and
a second distal end (see annotated fig. 4B, below) configured for insertion into a second hole (42, hole, fig. 3) in a second bone (40, fibula, fig. 3); and
a non-threaded flexible segment (24, suture, fig. 2A) extending from approximate the first distal tip of the first anchor to the locking assembly (fig. 2A) and configured to adjust a first distance between the first and second bones (¶ [0006], The phrase “a non-threaded flexible segment . . . configured to adjust a first distance between the first and second bones” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the suture is considered to be capable of adjusting a first distance between the first and second bones.);
wherein the locking assembly is configured to accept a plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment (fig. 2A, suture tails) and further to releasably engage the flexible segment to fix the first distance between the first and second bones (¶ [0014]),
wherein the locking assembly is configured to releasably engage the flexible segment (¶ [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Horrell to include a locking assembly releasable engages the flexible segment and an non-threaded flexible segment as taught by Da Silva in order to provide rigid and consistent fixation with a knotless closure during the healing phase (¶ [0005-0006], Da Silva). For clarity, the plug assembly of Da Silva is replacing the second anchor of Horrell as the locking assembly and the suture of Da Silva is replacing the tether of Horrell as the non-threaded flexible segment.
Horrell in view of Da Silva does not explicitly teach a non-threaded flexible segment (24, suture, fig. 2B, Da Silva) extends from the distal tip of a screw like first anchor (12, first anchor, fig. 2, Horrell). However, Dreyfuss teaches a suture anchor that includes a flexible segment (30, flexible strand, fig. 1) extending from the distal tip of a screw like anchor (4, anchor body, fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Horrell and Da Silva to include a flexible segment extending from the distal tip of a screw like anchor as taught by Dreyfuss in order to increase the pullout strength of the suture even in soft bone, provide increased suture fixation and eliminate the anchor "pull back" (abstract, Dreyfuss).
Regarding claim 16, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 11, and additionally teaches the locking assembly further comprises:
a body (30, plug, fig. 4A, Da Silva) comprising the second proximal end, the second distal end, and an internal cavity (54, hole, fig. 6B, Da Silva); and
a locking insert (34, screw, fig. 4A, Da Silva) moveable from a first position to a second position within the internal cavity (¶ [0062], Da Silva);
wherein the locking assembly is configured to receive the flexible segment through one or more openings (36, slots, fig. 4A, ¶ [0062], Da Silva); and
wherein the locking insert is configured to transition from the first position to the second position to lock the flexible segment at a length (¶ [0022-0023], Da Silva).
Regarding claim 17, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 11, and additionally teaches the locking assembly further comprises:
a locking insert (34, screw, fig. 4A, Da Silva); and
a button (30, plug, fig. 4A, Da Silva) comprising:
a first opening (54, hole, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to accept a third distal end of the locking insert (35a, threads, fig. 4A, ¶ [0064], Da Silva); and
one or more second openings (36,slots, fig. 4A, Da Silva) configured to accept the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment (¶ [0062] , Da Silva).
Regarding claim 18, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 17, and additionally teaches the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings (¶ [0066], Da Silva). The phrase “the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the plug assembly of Da Silva is considered to be capable of locking the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in a proximal direction through the one or more second openings.
Regarding claim 19, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 17, and additionally teaches the locking insert comprises:
a cap (32, cap, fig. 4A) configured to be placed on a fourth proximal end of the button (37, flange, fig. 4A); and
a fastener (34, screw, fig. 4A) configured to be inserted through the cap and the button and into the second bone (fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 20, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 19, and additionally teaches the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap (¶ [0066], Da Silva). The phrase “the locking assembly is further configured to lock the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the plug assembly of Da Silva is considered to be capable of locking the flexible segment at a length when the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment are pulled in at least one of an approximately proximal direction and an approximately perpendicular direction through the one or more second openings and between the fourth proximal end of the button and a distal end of the cap.
Regarding claim 27, Horrell as modified by Da Silva and Dreyfuss discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches the flexible segment is configured to adjust the first distance between the first and second bones when force is applied on the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment in a proximal direction. The phrase “the flexible segment is configured to adjust the first distance between the first and second bones when force is applied on the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment in a proximal direction” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the tether of Horrell-936 interacting with the locking assembly of Da Silva is considered to be capable of adjusting the first distance between the first and second bones when force is applied on the plurality of third proximal ends of the flexible segment in a proximal direction.
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774