DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the arguments that Klug (US 20200301147 A1, of record) herein after referred to as D1, in view of Joergensen (US 20180066827 A1, of record) herein after referred to as D2 are an improper combination with regards to the limitation, “a first microLED emitter being included in a cavity having a reflective sidewall and an output aperture.” Due to:
the difference in scale and
its perceived function
the examiner respectfully disagrees.
1) as per the scale argument, just because something is large does not mean it cannot be miniaturized to perform a similar function, in this case taking a large “cavity” that controls and directs light, and making it a small cavity that controls and directs light is something that one of ordinary skill in the art in the field of light directing optics would be able to do, as such the combination with regards to macro vs micro is believe to be proper
2) as per the perceived function of D2, and its ability to focus and collimate light, the limitation in question of the instant invention mentions a cavity with reflective sidewalls and an output aperture, all of which when combined would be designed to emit light, trap and redirect light within said cavity, and then output the light through the aperture to a desired area. Putting the LEDS (Fig. 17b, 2002) of D1 in separate cavities, that have an exit aperture directed to the micro lens array (2010) would not render the invention of D1 inoperative and would ensure more of the desired light reaches the lens array with less light leakage.
As such the rejection is believed to be proper and has been restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug (US 20200301147 A1, of record) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Joergensen (US 20180066827 A1, of record) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a display system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); comprising: an emitter array panel (2002g) having an emitter array (20021 and 20022), the emitter array including: a first microLED emitter (20021) optically coupled with a first optical element (2010) configured to output light from the first microLED emitter (20021) as first collimated light (rays between 2010 and 1020), the first collimated light having a first chief ray angle ([0193]; may be configured to provide different beams of light from spatially distinct light emitters to different locations along a first axis, which is orthogonal to a second axis which may be the elongate axis of the lenticular lenslet); and a second microLED emitter (20022) optically coupled with a second optical element (another lens of 2010) configured to output light from the second microLED emitter (20022) as second collimated light having a second chief ray angle that is different than the first chief ray angle ([0193]; may be configured to provide different beams of light from spatially distinct light emitters to different locations along a first axis, which is orthogonal to a second axis which may be the elongate axis of the lenticular lenslet).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the first microLED emitter being included in a cavity having a reflective sidewall and an output aperture.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a light fixture comprising light sources, lenslets and a retro-reflector, in at least (figs 3A and 3B); wherein the first microLED emitter (109) being included in a cavity (each separate bubble) having a reflective sidewall (325) and an output aperture (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with separate zones surrounding each emitter, for the purpose of reducing light leakage and collecting the light to better focus it towards the output of the system.
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first collimated light has a first cone angle (Fig. 17b, light emitted by 20021 and 20022 and incident upon 2010 are shown to create cones); and the second collimated light has a second cone angle that is different than the first cone angle (Fig. 17b, light emitted by 20021 and 20022 and incident upon 2010 are shown to create 2 different cones).
With regard to claim 18, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first collimated light has a first polarization ([0198] and [0202] speak to the in-coupling optical element having polarization gratings and the ability to choose polarizations); and the second collimated light has a second polarization that is different than the first polarization ([0198] and [0202] speak to the in-coupling optical element having polarization gratings and the ability to choose polarizations).
With regard to claim 19, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first microLED emitter (20021) is optically coupled with the first optical element (2010) via a first cavity (space between 2002 and 2010) configured to, at least in part, facilitate imparting the first chief ray angle ([0193]) to the first collimated light (cones leaving 2010); and the second microLED emitter (20022) is optically coupled with the second optical element (2010 different lens) via a second cavity (space between 2002 and 2010 and the second lens) configured to, at least in part, facilitate imparting the second chief ray angle ([0193]) to the second collimated light (light cones leaving 2010).
With regard to claim 20, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first cavity includes a first exit aperture ([0167]) that is smaller ([0151]) than the first microLED emitter (20021); and the second cavity includes a second exit aperture ([0167]) that is smaller ([0151]) than the second microLED emitter (20022).
With regard to claim 21, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein a focal length ([0164-0165], and [0168]) of an emission from the display system (2000) is based, at least in part, on a difference between the second chief ray angle ([0193]) and the first chief ray angle ([0193]).
With regard to claim 22, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first microLED emitter is configured to emit light of a first color ([0205]); and the second microLED emitter is configured to emit light of a second color ([0205]) different from the first color ([0205]).
With regard to claim 23, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the first optical element (2010; lens array) and the second optical element (2010; lens array) are optically coupled to a collimator (2016) that is configured to output an image of the display system (2000), a position of the image, in a direction parallel to the display system, being based on a difference between the first chief ray angle ([0193]) and the second chief ray angle ([0193]).
With regard to claim 24, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the first optical element (2010 lens array) and the second optical element (2010 lens array) are optically coupled to a collimator (2016) that is configured to output an image of the display system (2000), a position of the image, in a direction perpendicular to the display system (2000), being based on a difference between the first chief ray angle ([0193]) and the second chief ray angle ([0193]).
With regard to claim 25, D1 teaches a display system (2000) comprising: a microLED panel (2002g) comprising: a first plurality of microLED emitters (20021) configured to respectively emit first light with a first chief ray angle ([0193]; may be configured to provide different beams of light from spatially distinct light emitters to different locations along a first axis, which is orthogonal to a second axis which may be the elongate axis of the lenticular lenslet); and a second plurality of microLED emitters (20022) configured to respectively emit second light with a second chief ray angle that is different than the first chief ray angle ([0193]; may be configured to provide different beams of light from spatially distinct light emitters to different locations along a first axis, which is orthogonal to a second axis which may be the elongate axis of the lenticular lenslet); a lens assembly (2010) that is optically coupled with the first plurality of microLED emitters (20021) and the second plurality of microLED emitters (20022) to receive the first light (light from 20021) and the second light (light from 20022); and a combiner (1030) having a first entrance pupil (770) with a first spatial position on the combiner (1030), and a second entrance pupil ([0197]) with a second spatial position on the combiner (1030) different than the first spatial position, the combiner (1030) being optically coupled with the lens assembly (2010), such that: the first light (light from 20021) passes through the lens assembly (2010) to the first entrance pupil (770); and the second light (light from 20022) passes through the lens assembly (2010) to the second entrance pupil ([0197]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the first microLED emitter being included in a cavity having a reflective sidewall and an output aperture.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a light fixture comprising light sources, lenslets and a retro-reflector, in at least (figs 3A and 3B); wherein the first microLED emitter (109) being included in a cavity (each separate bubble) having a reflective sidewall (325) and an output aperture (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with separate zones surrounding each emitter, for the purpose of reducing light leakage and collecting the light to better focus it towards the output of the system.
With regard to claim 26, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first plurality of microLED emitters (20021) emit light of a first color ([0205]); and the second plurality of microLED emitters (20022) emit light of a second color ([0205]) different than the first color ([0205]).
With regard to claim 27, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the first entrance pupil (770) and the second entrance pupil ([0108]; second eye) are laterally separated on the combiner (1030).
With regard to claim 28, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the combiner (1030) includes a diffractive waveguide ([0198]).
With regard to claim 29, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 28, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first entrance pupil (770) includes a first diffractive coupler ([0198]); and the second entrance pupil ([0108]; second eye) includes a second diffractive coupler ([0108]; second eye).
With regard to claim 30, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the combiner (1030) includes: a first waveguide (2005) including the first entrance pupil (770); and a second waveguide (1032) including the second entrance pupil ([0108]; second eye).
With regard to claim 31, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the combiner (1030) includes an exit pupil (800) configured to output the first light (20021) and the second light (20022).
With regard to claim 32, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 25, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the combiner (1030) includes: a first exit pupil (800) configured to output the first light; and a second exit pupil (800 other eye) an exit pupil configured to output the second light ([0108]; second eye).
With regard to claim 33, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 32, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: the first exit pupil (770) is configured to transmit the first light (2014) to a first eye of a viewer; and the second exit pupil (770 duplicate) is configured to transmit the second light to a second eye of the viewer ([0108]; second eye).
With regard to claim 34, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 32, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein: each microLED emitter (20201) of the first plurality of microLED emitters (20201) includes a respective cavity (space between each emitter and lens) and a respective optical element (2010 lenses) that are optically configured to impart the first chief ray angle ([0193]) to the first light, and each microLED emitter (20022) of the second plurality of microLED emitters (20022) comprises a respective cavity (space between each emitter and lens) and a respective optical element (2010 lenses) that are optically configured to impart the second chief ray angle ([0193]) to the second light.
With regard to claim 35, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the first microLED emitter (20021) and the reflective sidewall are jointly configured such that light from the first microLED emitter (20021) exits the output aperture and is optically coupled with the first optical element (2010) as the first collimated light (rays between 2010 and 1020).
With regard to claim 36, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the second optical element (another lens of 2010) has a center axis ([0193]), and wherein the second microLED emitter (20022) and the second output aperture ([0167]) are offset ([0226]) by a distance relative to the center axis of the second optical element (another lens of 2010).
With regard to claim 37, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 17b; and [0003], [0186], [0189-0200], [0224]); wherein the second optical element (another lens of 2010) includes an off-axis ([0193]) diffraction structure (2010) having a non-uniform pitch ([0144] and [0152]) configured to diffract the second collimated light (light cones leaving 2010) such that the second chief ray angle ([0193]; may be configured to provide different beams of light from spatially distinct light emitters to different locations along a first axis, which is orthogonal to a second axis which may be the elongate axis of the lenticular lenslet) is angled with respect to a normal vector ([0189]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872