DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 09/24/2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 16 is canceled. Claims 1-15 and 17 are presented for examination.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objection and double patenting rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous office action are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection required by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the new rejection does not rely on Amezutsumi, Kashimura, or Huang to teach the new claim 1 limitation “wherein a thickness of a portion of the insulating material sandwiched between the exterior body and the metal plate is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material that is in contact with only one of the exterior body or the metal plate.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 13-14 of claim 1 recite “the insulation material” but should recite “the insulating material.”
Claim 10 recites “the exterior portion of the exterior body that provides the surface on which the metal plate is disposed” but should recite “the surface of the exterior body” as required by amended parent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amezutsumi (JP-2019046639-A, cited in the IDS filed 08/21/2024) in view of Kim (US 2010/0233528 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Amezutsumi discloses a secondary battery (1, Fig. 1, [0013]) comprising: an electrode assembly (9, Fig. 1, [0014]); and an exterior body (11, Fig. 1, [0014]) that houses the electrode assembly (9), wherein the secondary battery (1) includes a metal plate (electrode terminal member 15, Fig. 1 , [0014]; plate is nickel, [0038]) joined with an insulating material (seal member 17, Fig. 1, [0014]; seal member is made of insulating material, [0019]) interposed between the exterior body (11) and the metal plate (15), and the metal plate (15) is an external output terminal ([0019]), wherein the exterior body (11) is provided with an opening portion (insertion hole 23, Fig. 1, [0015]), and the metal plate (15) is disposed on a surface (top surface of bottom portion 13a of exterior body 11, Fig. 1, [0015]) of the exterior body (11) located around the opening portion (23) with the insulating material (17) interposed between the metal plate (15) and the surface (top surface of 13a) of the exterior body (11), wherein the insulating material (17) may be provided along the peripheral edge (peripheral edge in annotated figure 1 below) of the opening portion (23) on the surface of the exterior body (11) (see Fig. 1).
Annotated figure 1
Amezutsumi does not disclose wherein a thickness of a portion of the insulating material sandwiched between the exterior body and the metal plate is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material that is in contact with only one of the exterior body or the metal plate.
Kim teaches a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0036]) comprising: an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0036]); and an exterior body (20/30, FIG. 2, [0036]) that houses the electrode assembly (10), wherein the secondary battery (100) includes a plate (protrusion 322, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]) joined with an insulating material (70, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]) interposed between the exterior body (20/30) and the plate (322), and the plate (322) is an external output terminal (part of terminal 40, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]), wherein the exterior body (20/30) is provided with an opening portion (41, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0036]), and the plate (322) is disposed on a surface (30) of the exterior body (20/30) located around the opening portion (41) with the insulating material (70) interposed between the plate (322) and the surface (30) of the exterior body (20/30), and wherein a thickness of a portion of the insulating material (70) sandwiched between the exterior body (20/30) and the plate (322) is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material (70) that is in contact with only one of the exterior body (20/30) or the plate (322) (thickness of groove 321 is smaller than thickness of other portions of the insulating material 70, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Amezutsumi by adding a groove to the insulating material, such that a thickness of a portion of the insulating material sandwiched between the exterior body and the metal plate is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material that is in contact with only one of the exterior body or the metal plate, because Kim teaches that doing so prevents rotation of the external output terminal ([0054]). Further, Amezutsumi teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein the exterior body (11) is a metal exterior body ([0015]), and the metal exterior body (11) has a two-part configuration including a cup-shaped member (13, Fig. 1, [0015]) and a lid-shaped member (19, Fig. 1, [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein the exterior body (11) is the positive electrode ([0015]) and the external output terminal (15) is the negative electrode ([0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein the metal plate (15) is positioned on an outer side of the exterior body (11) with the insulating material (17) interposed between the metal plate (15) and the exterior body (11) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein a metal member (lead body 21, Fig. 1, [0016]; steel, [0036]) is further provided on an inner surface (bottom surface in Fig. 1) of the metal plate (15).
Regarding claim 14, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein the metal plate (15) has a shape (disk, [0038]) along the exterior body (11) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein the insulating material (17) is formed in a shape along the exterior body (11) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Amezutsumi in view of Kim teaches (see Amezutsumi) wherein a positive electrode (3, Fig. 1, [0015]) and a negative electrode (5, Fig. 1, [0015]) capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions are included as electrodes of the electrode assembly (lithium ion secondary battery, [0013]).
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9-11, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-109192889-A; the rejections below refer to the machine translation mailed 06/12/2025) in view of Wang (Lithium and lithium ion batteries for applications in microelectronic devices: A review, 2015; cited 06/12/2025) and Kim (US 2010/0233528 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a battery (Figs. 1-3, [0027]) comprising: an electrode assembly (2, Fig. 2, [0027]); and an exterior body (1/3, Fig. 2, [0027]) that houses the electrode assembly (2), wherein the battery includes a metal plate (conductive sheet 33, Fig. 2, [0027]; (bond between insulating material and conductive sheet is a plastic-metal bond, [0037]; insulating material is plastic so conductive sheet is necessarily metal, [0030]) joined with an insulating material (32, Fig. 2, [0027]) interposed between the exterior body (1/3) and the metal plate (33), and the metal plate (33) is an external output terminal ([0051]), wherein the exterior body (1/3) is provided with an opening portion (34, Fig. 2, [0027]), and the metal plate (33) is disposed on a surface (31, Fig. 2, [0027]) of the exterior body (1/3) located around the opening portion (34) with the insulating material (32) interposed between the metal plate (33) and the surface (31) of the exterior body (1/3), and wherein the insulating material (32) may be provided along the peripheral edge (peripheral edge in annotated figure 2 below) of the opening portion (34) on the surface (31) of the exterior body (1/3).
Annotated figure 2
Huang teaches that the battery is a microbattery ([0001]), but does not disclose wherein the battery is a secondary battery and wherein a thickness of a portion of the insulating material sandwiched between the exterior body and the metal plate is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material that is in contact with only one of the exterior body or the metal plate.
Wang teaches a microbattery that is a secondary battery (p. 331, col. 1 bridging col. 2). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the battery of Huang as a secondary battery because Wang teaches that doing so increases the service life of the battery (p. 331, col. 1 bridging col. 2).
Kim teaches a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0036]) comprising: an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0036]); and an exterior body (20/30, FIG. 2, [0036]) that houses the electrode assembly (10), wherein the secondary battery (100) includes a plate (protrusion 322, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]) joined with an insulating material (70, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]) interposed between the exterior body (20/30) and the plate (322), and the plate (322) is an external output terminal (part of terminal 40, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]), wherein the exterior body (20/30) is provided with an opening portion (41, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0036]), and the plate (322) is disposed on a surface (30) of the exterior body (20/30) located around the opening portion (41) with the insulating material (70) interposed between the plate (322) and the surface (30) of the exterior body (20/30), and wherein a thickness of a portion of the insulating material (70) sandwiched between the exterior body (20/30) and the plate (322) is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material (70) that is in contact with only one of the exterior body (20/30) or the plate (322) (thickness of groove 321 is smaller than thickness of other portions of the insulating material 70, FIGS. 2 and 3, [0042]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Huang by adding a groove to the insulating material, such that a thickness of a portion of the insulating material sandwiched between the exterior body and the metal plate is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the insulation material that is in contact with only one of the exterior body or the metal plate, because Kim teaches that doing so prevents rotation of the external output terminal ([0054]). Further, Huang teaches that the battery may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein the exterior body (1/3) is a metal exterior body (bond between insulating material and exterior body is a plastic-metal bond, [0037]; insulating material is plastic so exterior body is necessarily metal, [0030]), and the metal exterior body (1/3) has a two-part configuration including a cup-shaped member (1) and a lid-shaped member (3) (Fig. 2, [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein the external output terminal (33) is a positive electrode and the exterior body (31 of 1/3) is a negative electrode, or wherein the exterior body (31 of 1/3) is the positive electrode and the external output terminal (33) is the negative electrode ([0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein the metal plate (33) is positioned on an inner side of the exterior body (1/3) with the insulating material (32) interposed between the metal plate (33) and the exterior body (1/3) (32 and 33 can be arranged inside the accommodating space 4, [0029]; see configuration of 32a and 33a in Fig. 4 embodiment for illustrative purposes).
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein the metal plate (33) is positioned on an outer side (top side in Fig. 2) of the exterior body (1/3) with the insulating material (32) interposed between the metal plate (33) and the exterior body (1/3) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein a joint portion of the insulating material (32) to the exterior body (1/3) and/or the metal plate (33) is peelable due to a raised cell internal pressure of the secondary battery ([0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein an exterior portion of the exterior body that provides a surface (31) which the metal plate (33) is disposed is at least partly displaceable due to the raised cell internal pressure (thickness is 150 µm, [0038]; instant specification indicates surface is displaceable if thickness is less than 170 µm, [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein a joint surface (31) of the exterior body (1/3) and a joint surface of the metal plate (33) to be joined to the insulating material (32) is a surface-treated surface (pre-treated to form a plurality of recesses 35, Fig. 3, [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches (see Huang) wherein the metal plate (33) has a shape (circle) along the exterior body (1/3) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches wherein the insulating material (32) is formed in a shape (circle) along the exterior body (1/3) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Huang in view of Wang and Kim teaches wherein a positive electrode (Huang: 22, Fig. 2, [0027]) and a negative electrode (Huang: 21, Fig. 2, [0027]) capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions are included as electrodes of the electrode assembly (2), but does not disclose wherein the electrodes are capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions.
However, because Wang teaches that lithium ion secondary batteries have high power and energy densities and longer shelf lives than other batteries (p. 330, col. 2, ll. 11-16), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Huang in view of Wang and Kim to include a positive electrode and a negative electrode capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-109192889-A) in view of Wang (Lithium and lithium ion batteries for applications in microelectronic devices: A review, 2015) and Kim (US 2010/0233528 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Uchiumi (JP-2008016368-A, cited in the IDS filed 08/28/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Wang and Kim does not disclose wherein a metal member is further provided on an outer surface of the metal plate.
Uchiumi teaches a battery (1A, Fig. 1, [0016]) comprising: an electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1, [0016]); and an exterior body (3, Fig. 1, [0016]) that houses the electrode assembly (2), wherein the battery (1A) includes a metal plate (4a, Fig. 1, [0016]) joined with an insulating material (13a, Fig. 1, [0016]) interposed between the exterior body (3) and the metal plate (4a), and wherein a metal member (20a, Fig. 1, [0021]) is further provided on an outer surface of the metal plate (4a). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Huang in view of Wang and Kim by adding a metal member to an outer surface of the metal plate because Uchiumi teaches that doing so enables electrical and mechanical connections between adjacent batteries while improving cooling performance within a battery pack ([0027]-[0028]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-109192889-A) in view of Wang (Lithium and lithium ion batteries for applications in microelectronic devices: A review, 2015) and Kim (US 2010/0233528 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim ‘2021 (KR 20180131798 A, English-language equivalent US 2021/0175567 A1 is referenced below; cited 06/12/2025).
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Wang and Kim does not disclose wherein a thickness of the exterior portion of the exterior body that provides the surface on which the metal plate is disposed is smaller than a thickness of the metal plate.
Kim ‘2021 teaches a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0029]) comprising: an electrode assembly (110, FIG. 2, [0029]); and an exterior body (140/150, FIG. 2, [0029]) that houses the electrode assembly (110), wherein the secondary battery (100) includes a plate (123, FIG. 2, [0037]) joined to the exterior body (140/150) with an insulating material (155, FIG. 2, [0048]) interposed between the exterior body (140/150) and the plate (123), and the plate (123) is an external output terminal ([0037]), and wherein a thickness of the portion of the exterior body (140/150) that provides the surface (150) on which the metal plate (123) is disposed is smaller than a thickness of the metal plate (123) (FIG. 2, [0011]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Huang in view of Wang and Kim such that a thickness of the exterior portion of the exterior body that provides the surface on which the metal plate is disposed is smaller than a thickness of the metal plate because Kim ‘2021 teaches that doing so prevents holes from forming in the battery terminal when it is welded to a busbar ([0011]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-109192889-A) in view of Wang (Lithium and lithium ion batteries for applications in microelectronic devices: A review, 2015) and Kim (US 2010/0233528 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamashita (US 2006/0141357 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Wang and Kim does not disclose wherein the insulating material includes at least two materials having melting points different from each other. Huang does teach that the exterior body, the insulating material, and the conductive sheet may be joined by laser welding ([0030]) such that the insulating material bonds to the metal exterior body and the metal plate ([0037]).
Yamashita teaches a battery (1, FIG. 4, [0057]) comprising an exterior body (5, FIG. 1, [0057]) and a metal plate (4, FIG. 1, [0060]) joined to the exterior body (5) with an insulating material (6, FIG. 1, [0060]) interposed between the exterior body (5) and the metal plate (4), wherein the insulating material (6) includes at least two materials (polyolefin resin layer 21, heat-resistant base film 22, acid-modified polyolefin resin layer 23, Fig. 1, [0063]) having melting points different from each other (heat-resistant base film 22 has a higher melting point than resins 21,23, [0066]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Huang in view of Wang and Kim to include a high-melting point film surrounded by resin layers with lower melting-points because, such that the insulating material includes at least two materials having melting points different from each other, because Yamashita teaches that doing so allows the exterior body and the metal plate to be bonded by heat-sealing and prevents metal-to-metal contact in the event that the outer resin layers melt ([0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang in view of Wang, Kim, and Yamashita teaches wherein the insulating material has a configuration including a high melting point resin layer having a relatively high melting point and low melting point resin layers having a relatively low melting point with the high melting point resin layer interposed between the low melting point resin layers (Yamashita: heat-resistant base film 22 has a higher melting point than resins 21,23, Fig. 1, [0066]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723