DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 1/9/26. By virtue of this amendment, claim 18 is newly added and thus, claims 1-18 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13-14,16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Choi et al (US Pub. No: 2024/0356202) in view of WO 2018166385A.
With respect to claim 1, Choi et al discloses a cover plate module 151, 1030 [paragraph 146], comprising: a supporting body 1020 [Fig. 5A and 6, FPCB and paragraphs 15,158]; a transparent antenna 1110 [paragraphs 13 and 147], comprising an antenna body and a partition region [paragraphs 16 and 191], wherein a side of the supporting body is provided with a grid-like conductive wire to form the antenna body [paragraphs 15 and 17]; a dummy electrode, wherein the partition region is provided with a grid to form the dummy electrode, and the dummy electrode is electrically insulated from the antenna body [paragraph 19]; and a micro-nano structural layer OLED, wherein the micro-nano structural layer is provided on another side of the supporting body [Fig. 5A], a side of the micro-nano structural layer away from the supporting body is provided with a micro-nano structure, and an absolute value of a difference between a transmittance of the antenna body and a transmittance of the dummy electrode is not greater than 20%( [Examiner notes: OLED would be emitting towards the glass/display(i.e..the side of the micro-nano structure would be on the top surface of OLED layer as shown in figure 5A) and Fig. 12A and paragraphs 196-198]).
Choi et al do not explicitly disclose a material of the micro-nano structural layer is a colored polymer glue.
WO 2018166385 A discloses in figure 1, the colored polymer film layer and the micro-nano structure layer are both formed by a colored polymer, preferably a color UV glue or a color OCA glue; for example, a color UV glue can be selected only by coloring or coloring the color UV glue.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of WO 2018166385 A into the structure of Choi et al to provide the colored polymer such as the color UV glue to improve more good decorative effect.
With respect to claim 2, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above, discloses wherein the absolute value of the difference between the transmittance of the antenna body and the transmittance of the dummy electrode is not greater than 10% (Examiner notes: OLED would be emitting towards the glass/display (i.e..the side of the micro-nano structure would be on the top surface of OLED layer as shown in figure 5A Fig. 12A and paragraph 198]).
With respect to claim 3, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above, discloses wherein a side of the supporting body is provided with a polymer layer (paragraph [146]), and the conductive wire is embedded on a side of the polymer layer away from the supporting body (reference numeral 1020(flexible PCB)).
With respect to claim 4, Choi et al as modified claims 1 and claim 3 above, discloses wherein the side of the polymer layer away from the supporting body(reference number 1020 (flexible PCB) is provided with a concave structure, the concave structure forms a grid (figures 11B,12A-12B, paragraphs [57,58], and the concave structure is provided with a conductive material to form the conductive wire embedded on the side of the polymer layer ( paragraph [22] and Figure 6 shows the mesh pattern having a height and thus would create a concave structure).
With respect to claim 5, Choi et al as modified claim 4 above, discloses wherein a height of the conductive material is less than a depth of the concave structures; or a height of the conductive material is equal to a depth of the concave structures; or a height of the conductive material is greater than a depth of the concave structure. Paragraph [22].
With respect to claim 6, Choi et al as modified claim 2 above, discloses wherein a side of the supporting body (1020) ([Figure 6, paragraph [22] shows the mesh pattern having height and thus would create a concave ) is provided with a polymer layer (paragraph [146]) and the conductive wire is embedded on a side of the polymer layer away from the supporting body(1020).
With respect to claim 7, Choi et al as modified claim 6 above, discloses wherein the side of the polymer layer away from the supporting body (1020 [Fig. 5A and 6, FPCB and paragraphs 15,158]) is provided with a concave structure, the concave structure forms a grid (paragraphs [16-17, 19], and the concave structure is provided with a conductive material to form the conductive wire embedded on the side of the polymer layer(paragraph [146]). (Figure 6, paragraph [22] shows the mesh pattern having height and thus would create a concave ) is provided with a polymer layer (paragraph [146]).
With respect to claim 8, Choi et al as modified claim 7 above, discloses wherein a height of the conductive material is less than a depth of the concave structures; or a height of the conductive material is equal to a depth of the concave structures; or a height of the conductive material is greater than a depth of the concave structure. Paragraph [22].
With respect to claim 9, Choi et al as modified claim 4 above, discloses wherein the concave structure comprises a bottom surface, two side surfaces and an opening, and a black material is provided close to the bottom surface and/or the opening. Paragraph [159].
With respect to claim 11, Choi et al as modified claim 7 above, discloses wherein the concave structure comprises a bottom surface, two side surfaces and an opening, and a black material is provided close to the bottom surface and/or the opening. Paragraph [159].
With respect to claim 13, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above, discloses wherein the grid forming the dummy electrode comprises multiple grid lines, and at least a grid line of the multiple grid lines is disconnected, so that the grid line is disconnected. Figures 11B and 12A, paragraphs [16-17].
With respect to claim 14, Choi et al as modified claim 13 above, discloses the grid lines are made of a conductive material and/or a non-conductive material, and the grid lines are embedded in the partition region. Figures 11B and 12A, paragraphs [16-17].
With respect to claim 16, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above, discloses wherein the micro-nano structure comprises one or more combinations of the group consisting of: a linear cylindrical mirror, a curved cylindrical mirror, a line segment structure, a microlens, a concave structure, a CD pattern, a trihedral cone and a tetrahedral cone. Figures 11B and 12A, paragraphs [16-17].
With respect to claim 18, Choi et al as modified claim 15 above, disclose wherein a semi-transparent and semi-reflective layer is disposed between the supporting body and the transparent antenna; and/or a semi-transparent and semi-reflective layer is disposed between the supporting body and the micro-nano structural layer. See Choi et al disclose FIGS. 12A and 12B illustrate the metal mesh grid structure of a transparent antenna as shown in paragraph [58] and WO 2018166385A disclose in figure 6, the micro-nano structure layer is covered with a reflective layer 3. The reflective layer 3 is a metal layer, a metal oxide layer or a non-metal oxide layer coated on the micro/nano structure layer.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Choi et al (US Pub. No: 2024/0356202).
With respect to claims 10 and 12, Choi et al as modified claims 9, 11 above, discloses the top and bottom surfaces where the feed line and the transparent antennas come into contact may be bonded and electrically connected through ACF bonding. Paragraph [159].
Choi et al do not explicitly disclose the two side surfaces and the bottom surface is not equal to 90 degrees.
The limitations are not of patentable merits since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide no equal angle 90 degrees. Since the applicant has not disclosed that, no equal angle 90 solves any problem or is for a particular reason. Therefore, to employ no equal 90 degrees into the electronic device having an antenna of Choi et al for a particular environment or a desired application would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Choi et al (US Pub. No: 2024/0356202) in view of WO 2018166385A and further in view of Bok (US Pub. No: 2021/0191552).
With respect to claim 15, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose all limitations recited in claim 1 above, except for wherein a reflecting layer is provided on a side of the micro-nano structural layer away from the supporting body, and a coloring layer is provided on a side of the reflecting layer away from the micro-nano structural layer.
Bok, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an anti-reflection layer may include a filter layer including a black matrix and color filters. The color filters may be arranged or disposed by considering the colors of light beams emitted by the pixels of the display apparatus 1. For example, the filter layer may include a color filter of a red, green, or blue color. Paragraph [242].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reflection layer and color filter layer of Bok into the display of Choi et al to improve more quality for touch screen display.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Choi et al (US Pub. No: 2024/0356202) in view of WO 2018166385A and further in view of Gao (US Pub. No: 2021/0029233).
With respect to claim 17, Choi et al as modified claim 1 above ,disclose all limitations recited in claim 1 above, except for wherein the cover plate module visually has one or more combinations of the group consisting of: an effect of gradual light and shadow, an effect of light and shadow with a straight line or a curve, and an effect of light and shadow forming an image.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an electronic device rear cover module (300) with the decorative functional film (100) (abstract) and visually has one or more combinations of the group consisting of: an effect of gradual light and shadow, an effect of light and shadow with a straight line or a curve, and an effect of light and shadow forming an image. Paragraphs [44,46].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover module (300) with the decorative film (100) of Gao into the display of Choi et al as modified claim 1 above to improve good decorative and functional properties and satisfying the personalized demand on appearance and function.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844