DETAILED ACTION
The species election filed October 20, 2025, is acknowledged and has been entered. Applicant has elected without traverse the species of antigen of TK1.
Claims 1-20 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 9-10 are indefinite in the recitation of “the method of claim 1" in claim 9 (claim 10 depends from claim 9 and recites “the method of claim 9”) because claim 9 depends from claim 1 which is not drawn to a method. Therefore, the recitation lacks proper antecedent basis and it cannot be determined which (if any) method is being referred to.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be properly determined and the invention is not set forth with the clarity and particularity necessary to satisfy the requirement set forth 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, so as permit the skilled artisan to know or determine infringing subject matter.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted as being drawn to the chimeric antigen receptor of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2017/019848 A1 (Gill et al, IDS).
With respect to claims 1 and 5-8, Gill et al disclose human macrophages expressing CARs, wherein the CAR comprises a constitutively active antibody fragment and a cytoplasmic signaling domain from TLR4 (see abstract, pages 2-7, 37 and 42 and figures) and using the cells expressing CARs of the invention to treat cancer (see pages 4 and 20). Gill et al teach that the antibody can be an scFv derived from a murine monoclonal antibody that binds CEA which is an antigen expressed by cancer cells (see pages 23 and 33-40).
With respect to claims 11-16, Gill et al disclose vectors in human macrophages, wherein the vector comprises a sequence that encodes such CARs and comprising a suitable promoter that constitutively activates expression of the CAR and the vectors in macrophages (see pages 10, 42-46 and 62). Gill et al teach that the cells can be activated with a co-stimulatory molecule (see figures and pages 21 and 33-40).
With respect to claims 2-4 and 17-20, Gill et al disclose human macrophages expressing CARs and human macrophages comprising a vector that expresses CARs, as set forth above, that are materially indistinguishable from the instantly claimed macrophages, and Applicant is reminded that products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive functions. Therefore, while Gill does do not expressly disclose the functions of claims 2, 4 and 17-18 the products of the prior art necessarily meet these limitations, absent a showing otherwise.
Therefore, the products of Gill et al are deemed to anticipate the claimed products absent a showing otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US WO 2017/019848 A1 (Gill et al, IDS) and US 2010/0266495 A1 (O’Neill, Kim, IDS).
With respect to claims 1 and 5-8, Gill et al disclose human macrophages expressing CARs, wherein the CAR comprises a constitutively active antibody fragment and a cytoplasmic signaling domain from TLR4 (see abstract, pages 2-7, 37 and 42 and figures) and using the cells expressing CARs of the invention to treat cancer (see pages 4 and 20). Gill et al teach that the antibody can be an scFv derived from a murine monoclonal antibody that binds CEA which is an antigen expressed by cancer cells (see pages 23 and 33-40).
With respect to claims 11-16, Gill et al disclose vectors in human macrophages, wherein the vector comprises a sequence that encodes such CARs and comprising a suitable promoter that constitutively activates expression of the CAR and the vectors in macrophages (see pages 10, 42-46 and 62). Gill et al teach that the cells can be activated with a co-stimulatory molecule (see figures and pages 21 and 33-40).
With respect to claims 2-4 and 17-20, Gill et al disclose human macrophages expressing CARs and human macrophages comprising a vector that expresses CARs, as set forth above, that are materially indistinguishable from the instantly claimed macrophages, and Applicant is reminded that products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive functions. Therefore, while Gill does do not expressly disclose the functions of claims 2, 4 and 17-18 the products of the prior art necessarily meet these limitations, absent a showing otherwise.
Gill et al does not disclose the antigen TK1 as set forth in claims 9-10.
O’Neill discloses that TK1 is involved in the salvage pathway of DNA synthesis and that TK1 is elevated in malignancies. O’Neill disclose using TK1 antibodies to treat cancer (see entire document, e.g., abstract, figures, examples, claims, and page 1).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to predictably use a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody in a chimeric antigen receptor as taught by Gill et al and place it in vectors in human macrophages to express the CAR for use in methods of targeting TK1-expressing cancers. Notably, the art recognized that TK1 is an antigen overexpressed frequently in cancers so that macrophage cells expressing a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody linked to macrophage TLR4 cytoplasmic signaling domains would be recognized as an advantageous product that would have wide applicability in treating cancers. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in making such constructs as genetic engineering techniques to make CARs were known in the art as evidenced by Gill.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of US Patent 11,052,138, IDS in view of US WO 2017/019848 A1 (Gill et al, IDS) and US 2010/0266495 A1 (O’Neill, Kim, IDS). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 1-6 of the patents recite:
Gill et al and O’Neill disclose that which is set forth above.
Accordingly, some of the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims and based on Gill and O’Neill it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to predictably use a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody in a chimeric antigen receptor as taught by Gill et al and place it in vectors in human macrophages to express the CAR for use in methods of targeting TK1-expressing cancers. Notably, the art recognized that TK1 is an antigen overexpressed frequently in cancers so that macrophage cells expressing a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody linked to macrophage TLR4 cytoplasmic signaling domains would be recognized as an advantageous product that would have wide applicability in treating cancers. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in making such constructs as genetic engineering techniques to make CARs were known in the art as evidenced by Gill.
Accordingly, the subject matter claimed in the instant application would be seen as an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in the patent in view of the state of art.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent 11,352,439, IDS in view of US WO 2017/019848 A1 (Gill et al, IDS) and US 2010/0266495 A1 (O’Neill, Kim, IDS). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 1-12 of the patents recite:
Gill et al and O’Neill disclose that which is set forth above.
Accordingly, while the patented claims are method claims, one would need to make CARs that bind to TK1 and that which comprises a TLR4 intracellular domain to practice such methods, so it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to predictably use a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody in a chimeric antigen receptor as taught by Gill et al and place it in vectors in human macrophages to express the CAR for use in methods of targeting TK1-expressing cancers. Notably, the art recognized that TK1 is an antigen overexpressed frequently in cancers so that macrophage cells expressing a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody linked to macrophage TLR4 cytoplasmic signaling domains would be recognized as an advantageous product that would have wide applicability in treating cancers. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in making such constructs as genetic engineering techniques to make CARs were known in the art as evidenced by Gill.
Accordingly, the subject matter claimed in the instant application would be seen as an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in the patent in view of the state of art.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of US Patent 12,076,378 in view of US WO 2017/019848 A1 (Gill et al, IDS) and US 2010/0266495 A1 (O’Neill, Kim, IDS). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 1-8 of the patents recite:
Gill et al and O’Neill disclose that which is set forth above.
Accordingly, some of the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims and based on Gill and O’Neill it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to predictably use a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody in a chimeric antigen receptor as taught by Gill et al and place it in vectors in human macrophages to express the CAR for use in methods of targeting TK1-expressing cancers. Notably, the art recognized that TK1 is an antigen overexpressed frequently in cancers so that macrophage cells expressing a single chain fragment variable TK1 antibody linked to macrophage TLR4 cytoplasmic signaling domains would be recognized as an advantageous product that would have wide applicability in treating cancers. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in making such constructs as genetic engineering techniques to make CARs were known in the art as evidenced by Gill.
Accordingly, the subject matter claimed in the instant application would be seen as an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in the patent in view of the state of art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2016/033331 A1 (Short, Jay, IDS), teach macrophages expressing CAR.
Respectfully,
Brad Duffy
571-272-9935
/Brad Duffy/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
January 15, 2026