Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 09/30/2025. Claims 1, 3 – 4, 10 – 12, and 17 – 19 are amended. Claims 5 and 10 – 20 remain withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment {i.e. independent claim 1 did not particularly require each connection terminal comprising at least one voltage tap location and claim 3 originally only claimed that the termina connections comprise one or more voltage tap locations}.
In light of applicant’s amendment, the objection to claim 4 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US PG Pub. 2021/0203029 A1, cited In previous Office action mailed 05/02/2025) in view of Kikuchi (WO2014184920A1, Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Ahn discloses a battery module (battery pack; Fig. 2; [0050]), comprising a plurality of current collectors configured to electrically connect the battery cells together, that is Ahn teaches using a bus bar for electrically connecting a plurality of battery cells and, in Figs. 6 and 8, shows the busbar including a plurality of first and second bus bars, 161 and 162, to electrically connect the battery cells ([0050];[0060 – 0061]).
Ahn further discloses a flex circuit, that is in Fig. 8 Ahn teaches an embodiment of the battery module that includes a circuit board with a flexible line that is electrically connected to the different first and second bus bars through second connection members 22 (Refer to Fig. 8, 140 and 180 and regions A2 – A6 in Fig. 8; [0069 – 0070];[0072];[0074 – 0075]). The combination of the circuit board and flexible line reads on the claimed flex circuit, because in the instant specification the applicant exemplifies the flex circuit to be a flexible circuit board and further the circuit board and flex line has a structure and function that corresponds to the structure and function of the flex circuit taught by the applicant {i.e. includes plurality of connection points for electrical connection to the current collectors of the battery pack and further uses the connection to detect voltages within the battery pack (Instant specification: [0002 – 0003];[0021 – 0022])}.
Ah further discloses wherein the battery module is configured to have a number of electrical connections between the plurality of current collectors and the flex circuit, that is in Fig. 8 the busbars of the battery module are shown to be electrically connected to the flex circuit {i.e. the combination of the circuit board and flexible line in Ahn} through a second connection member 22, and there are a total of 5 connections shown (Refer to Fig. 8 regions A2 – A6; [0072];[0075]).
Ahn further teaches the flexible line includes branch portions and the first branch portions are specifically portions of the flexible line that include a conductive pad at the end for electrical connection to the different first and second busbars (Refer to Fig. 8, 181 and regions A2 – A5 in Fig. 8; [0073]). The first branch portions are also shown to include connections members 22 which are configured to detect voltages of the battery cells connected by the bus bars ([0074 – 0075]). Therefore, because the first branch portions of Ahn’s flexible line form electrical connections, include conductive pad, and are configured to detect voltages of the battery cells connected by the bus bars ([0073 – 0075]), the first branch portions of Ahn read on the claimed number of connection terminals, each comprising one voltage tap location {i.e. conductive pad}, which is within the scope of at least one voltage tap location, capable of being electrically coupled to a current collector of the plurality of current collectors.
In total there are 4 first branch portions, which correspond to the claimed connection terminals shown in Fig. 8 (Refer to 181 regions A2 – A5) and 5 electrical connections (Refer to the electrical connections formed by connection members 22 in regions A2 – A6); therefore, Ahn does not disclose the number of connection terminals being greater than the number of electrical connections.
Kikuchi teaches a battery module including a battery monitoring device for monitoring the state of the battery, by for example, measuring for examiner the battery voltage, measuring the temperature, and balancing battery capacity ([09 – 10]). The monitoring device is comprised of a base substrate and battery monitoring substrate, and the base substrate 13 includes connection terminals 133 (Fig. 5; [15];[25]). The connection terminal are terminals for connecting the battery to the battery monitoring board 14 and further connect to the battery cell terminals through a wiring pattern 134 (Fig. 5; [29]). In Fig. 5, Kikuchi explicitly shows including more connection terminals than connections between the battery monitoring board and the battery cell terminals (Refer to number of connections formed by 134 vs. number of connection terminals 133}. Kikuchi further teaches that by having a different number of connection terminals, the versatility of the monitoring device can be improved because its connection points are not based on one particular number of cells within the battery ([014];[29];[33 – 34]).
Since Ahn also teaches using electrical connections between a circuit board and battery cells in battery module for voltage monitoring ([0074 – 0075]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the circuit board and flexible line of Ahn to include more connection terminals than electrical connections, as taught by Kikuchi, with a reasonable expectation of success improving the versatility of Ahn’s circuit board and flexible line structure.
Furthermore, since modified Ahn, as established above, includes a greater number of connection terminals than electrical connections, modified Ahn further includes the claimed structure of wherein the electrical connections are between the plurality of current collectors and a subset of the connection terminals of the flex circuit {i.e. the first branches including connection member 22}.
Regarding Claim 2, Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above. In the instant specification, the applicant teaches that a “universal flex circuit” is a flex circuit that is configured to connect n number of parallel groups of battery cells to processing circuitry, where n is the maximum number of parallel groups that are expected among the different anticipated configurations of the battery submodule, and further that universal flex circuit is capable of being used with multiple battery submodule configurations (e.g., of a battery module) having different numbers of current collectors (e.g., less than or equal to n+1) (Instant Specification: [0042]).
Modified Ahn does not appear to particularly limit the number of bus bars to be included in the battery module, and further teaches that the bus bars may have different structures from one another ([0060]). Furthermore, as established above, the circuit board and flexible line of modified Ahn includes more connection terminals than electrical connections to improve the versatility of the circuit board device (Kikuchi: [29];[33 – 34]).
As such, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the flex circuit of Ahn {i.e. the combination of the circuit board and flexible line} to be applicable in a battery module having a different number or structure of busbars, and thus read on being a universal flex circuit that is capable of being used with multiple battery module configurations having different numbers of current collectors.
Annotated Fig. 6 showing number of battery groups and bus bars in Ahn.
Regarding Claim 3, Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses that the battery cells are arranged into n-1 number of a plurality of groups (Refer to the 4 parallel module groups shown in annotated Fig. 6 above); and the plurality of current collectors comprises n number of current collectors configured to electrically connect the battery cells in each of the plurality of groups in parallel with each other and electrically connect each of the plurality of groups in series with each other (Refer to the 5 bus bars that make up the first and second bus bars shown in annotated Fig. 6 above and [0062];[0065 – 0066]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, modified Ahn includes a greater number of connection terminals {i.e. first branch portions} than electrical connections (refer to rejection of claim 1 above); therefore modified Ahn includes a number of electrical connections and a number of connection terminals within the claimed scope of wherein the number of electrical connections is equal to n and the number of connection terminals is greater than n.
Regarding Claim 9 , Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ahn further discloses wherein the flex circuit extends from one side of the battery module across the battery module along a first direction (Refer to how Ahn’s flex circuit {i.e. the combination of the circuit board 140 and flexible line 180} extends from the left end of the battery module to the right end of the battery module in the Z1 direction shown in Fig. 8; [0069]); each of the plurality of current collectors comprises a spine (Refer to base portions 161b and 162b or portions of the end bus bars where the combs 161a or 162a extend from; Fig. 8; [0060 – 0061]) that traverses the battery module along a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction (Refer to how the base portion extends along Z2 direction shown in Fig. 8 which is perpendicular to the Z1 direction); and a plurality of projections that extend from the spine (Refer to combs 161a and 162a of the bus bars shown in Fig. 8; [0062]).
Ahn further discloses, for each of the plurality of current collectors, a connection terminal, among the connection terminals, that is closest to the spine of the current collector is selected as the connection terminal to be electrically connected to the current collector, that is in Fig. 8 regions A2 – A4 of Ahn, the first branch portions of Ahn that are used to electrically connect the bus bar and flex circuit {i.e. the combination of the circuit board 140 and flexible line 180} are connected to portions of the bus bars that are relatively close to the spine {i.e. base portions} of the bus bars.
Claim(s) 6 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US PG Pub. 2021/0203029 A1) and Kikuchi (WO2014184920A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Capati (US PG Pub. 2019/0081370 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 05/02/2025).
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ahn teaches that the portions of the circuit board and flexible line that are electrically connected to the bus bars function to detect voltage information from the bus bars and by extension the battery cells ([0072];[0074 – 0075]).
Ahn does not disclose wherein the wherein: the flex circuit further comprises a plurality of conductive traces and a plurality of output terminals.
Capati teaches a battery module with a sense circuit board that is electrically connected to the current collectors of each battery block included in the battery module and further teaches that the sense circuit board is a printed circuit board ([0028 – 0029]). In addition to wire connections that connect the circuit board and the current collectors together, the circuit board of Capati additionally includes a connector 145 that allows the circuit board to relay signals from the battery module to an external component, such as a battery module system BMS ([0030 – 0031]). Capati further teaches that the inclusion of a battery module system allows for the detection of faults or errors occurring in the battery pack and the control various operations of the battery pack to attain or meet a performance criteria or operational condition ([0017]). The connector is taught to include voltage trace lines comprised of copper, aluminum, nickel, tin, lead or gold, and the voltage trace lines 140 are shown to extend from the connection terminals on the circuit board {i.e. Refer to points in Fig. 1 where the integrated current collector and circuit board are electrically connected together by a wire} to the connector 145 (Refer to Figs. 1 and 3; [0029];[0043 – 0044];[0056]). The voltage trace lines 140 between the connection terminals and the connector allows the BMS to be electrically connected to the components of the battery module ([0031]). Some of the voltage trace lines from the connector are further taught and shown to connect to a port 335 included on the circuit board, and the port includes connection elements to electrically couple the circuit board, the battery monitoring unit BMU 340, and the voltage trace lines included on the circuit board and integrated current collector (Fig. 3; [0044];[0049 – 0051];[0060]). The BMU has one or more inputs to obtain at least one measurement signal from one or more components of the battery module, particularly the BMU is able to obtain battery block characteristics such as voltage, current, temperature, pressure, and presence of gaseous substances ([0049]). The BMU further has at least one or more outputs to relay at least one measurement signal from the one or more components and further each input and output of the BMU can correspond to an input pin of the processor or integrated circuit for the BMU ([0049]).
Since Ahn indicates a desire to detect the voltage information of submodules in a battery pack ([0069]), and Capati teaches a BMS connected to a BMU that is capable of measuring battery pack characteristics such as voltage, current, and temperature ([0019];[0049 – 0050]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Ahn by incorporating a BMS and BMU that measures voltage in the manner taught by Capati {i.e. include connector 145, voltage trace lines between the connector and the connection terminals of Ahn, and a port 335 for connecting the circuit board, BMS, and BMU}, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the safety/performance of the battery module, because, as taught by Capati, the inclusion of a BMS and BMU allows for the detection of faults/errors from data collected from the battery module and further allows for more control over the battery pack to attain or meet a performance criteria/operational condition (Capati: [0017]).
Annotated Fig. 3 in Capati exemplifying output terminals included in modified Ahn.
By including voltage trace lines and the connector in the manner taught by Capati, modified Ahn includes the claimed conductive traces and plurality of output terminals, that is, the voltage traces lines are comprised of metallic material that is inherently conductive (Capati: [0029]) and would further be expected to provide a plurality of output terminals corresponding to where the trace lines and connector meet {i.e. In the instant specification the output terminals are exemplified to be the pins of a connector (Instant Specification: [0051] and Capati shows pins included in the connector that is shown at one end of the voltage trace lines (Refer to annotated Fig. 3 above and [0030] of Capati)}.
Furthermore, in modified Ahn, for each of the plurality of conductive traces, one of the connection terminals is connected to a first end of the conductive trace {i.e. Refer to the conductive trace end at the connection terminal exemplified in annotated Fig. 3 of Capati below} and one of the output terminals is connected to a second end of the conductive trace {i.e. Refer to the conductive trace end at the connector in annotated Fig. 3 of Capati below.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Capati exemplifying corresponding fist and second ends of the conductive trace lines in modified Ahn.
Fig. 3 of Capati further shows only a subset of the output terminals connected to the port 335 that electrically connects the circuit board 130 and the BMU 340; therefore, in modified Ahn, only a subset of the output terminals are necessarily configured to be coupled to a voltage-measuring device configured to measure a voltage level at the subset of the connection terminals of the flex circuit {i.e. in modified Ahn, as established above, the BMU measures voltage}. The subset of output terminals in modified Ahn would further be the output terminals connected to the subset of connection terminals, that is the voltage-measuring device would particularly be connected to the subset of branch portions used to detect voltage in modified Ahn {i.e. first branch portions with connection members 22 in modified Ahn}.
As established above, modified Ahn further includes port 335, which reads on the claimed adaptor configured to selectively electrically connect only a subset of the plurality of output terminals to the voltage-measuring device, based on the number of electrical connections made between the plurality of current collectors and the subset of the connection terminals of the flex circuit (Claim 8), because as taught and shown by Capati the port electrically connects the circuit board and BMU through a fifth connection element 330 via one or more voltage trace lines 140 of the circuit board ([0044];[0051]).
Regarding Claim 7, An discloses all limitations as set forth above. The BMU of modified Ahn is taught to have at least one or more outputs to relay at least one measurement signal from the one or more components in the battery pack (Capati: [0049]). Therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the voltage-measuring device of modified Ahn to be selected from a plurality of types of configurations of voltage-measuring devices, based on the number of electrical connections made between the plurality of current collectors and the subset of the connection terminals; that is since the number of outputs for the voltage-measuring device is dependent on the number of measurement signals from the components and Ahn includes a subset of connections terminals {i.e. branch portions} used to collect voltage data (Ahn: [0074 – 0075]), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the configuration of the voltage-measuring device in modified Ahn to be dependent on the subset of connection terminals used to detect voltage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/14/2026