DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-19, 12-24, and 26-29 are pending.
Claims 1, 14, and 21 were amended.
Claims 2, 10, 20, and 25 were previously canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/16/2026, which includes amendments from 11/24/2025 after final claim set, which were not entered as part of Advisory Action filed 12/29/2025, has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Claims 1, 14, and 21 have been amended to change the scope of the claimed invention. Specifically, amended claims 1 and 14 recites “other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit”, and claim 21 recites “a power receiver including a wireless communicator and a non-contact charging coil”, which changes the scope of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Applicant’s amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection. Examiner no longer relies on Yeo et al. (KR 101150257 B1), Ericksen et al. (US 20210300140 A1), or Emerson et al. (US 10766554 B1) in the prior art rejections. The primary reference used by examiner is Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 states, “a rechargeable power source that is mounted to the power receiver”. However, the specification does not describe a rechargeable power source mounted to a power receiver. Instead, the specification describes a rechargeable power source mounted to a housing. For example, paragraph [0116] of the specification states, “the battery unit 86 is removably mounted to the housing of the electric drive mechanism 84”, and paragraph [0118] of the specification states, “the battery unit 102 is removably mounted to the housing of the electric adjustment mechanism.”
Claims 22-24 and 26-29 are dependent on claim 21 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 22-24 and 26-29 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 13, 21-23 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches A bicycle (see at least FIG. 2: bicycle K) component (see at least FIGs. 2, 3: exercise equipment detector 10) other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit, the bicycle component comprising:
a housing (see at least FIG. 3: case body 13);
an electrical part (see at least FIG. 3: motion sensor 11);
a rechargeable power source (see at least FIG. 3: battery 18) electrically connected to (see at least [0023]: “a battery 18 … for the motion sensor 11”; [0012]: “the exercise equipment detection unit … [is] configured to include a battery for operation”) the electrical part; and
a power receiver (see at least FIGs. 3, 6: power receiving unit 19) including a non-contact charging coil (see at least FIG. 6: power receiving coil 30) and a wireless communicator (see at least FIG. 6: battery status transmitting unit 35);
the wireless communicator and non-contact charging coil being housed by the housing to or provided within the housing, and the rechargeable power source being mounted to or provided within the housing (see at least [0009]: “the exercise equipment detector … can be housed in a case”; FIG. 3: case body 13 encapsulates wireless power receiving section 19 and battery 18),
the non-contact charging coil being configured to wirelessly receive external electric power and to supply the external electric power to the rechargeable power source (see at least FIG. 6, [0026]: “The wireless power receiving unit 19 … receives, at the power receiving coil 30, electromagnetic wave energy transmitted from a power feeding coil 99 … . This power reception … charges the battery 18”), and
the wireless communicator being configured to communicate with (see at least FIG. 17, [0043]: “wireless power feeder 90 includes a power receiving status detection unit 94 a … that receives the status of the battery 70 from the battery status transmission unit 35… . The charge control communication unit 94 drives the wireless power supply unit 95 based on the detection by the power receiving state detection unit 94a.”; FIG. 17: battery status transmitter 35 [Wingdings font/0xE0] charging control communication section 94 [Wingdings font/0xE0] wireless power feed unit 95 (which includes feeding coil 99)) a power transmitter (see at least FIG. 17: feeding coil 99) of a non-contact charging device (see at least FIGs. 6, 17: wireless power feeder 90).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches The bicycle component according to claim 1,
further comprising a sensor (see at least FIG. 6: battery management system 34) configured to detect information relating to a condition (see at least [0026]: “The battery management system 34 also operates and records the battery charging status, such as SOC (Status of Charge).”) of the rechargeable power source.
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches The bicycle component according to claim 1, further comprising a controller (see at least FIG. 6: charge control communication unit 94; [0044]: “The wireless power supply unit 95 is controlled by the charge control communication unit 94”) configured to adjust at least one of a voltage supplied to the rechargeable power source (see at least [0044]: “voltage is first boosted by the booster unit 98 in order to transmit a predetermined power by electromagnetic wave coupling.”) and a voltage supplied to the electrical part.
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches A non-contact charging system comprising the bicycle component according to claim 1, and further comprising a non-contact charging device (see at least FIGs. 6, 17: wireless power feeder 90) including a non-contact charging coil (see at least FIG. 17: feeding coil 99) configured to wirelessly transmit electric power (see at least FIG. 6, [0026]: “The wireless power receiving unit 19 … receives, at the power receiving coil 30, electromagnetic wave energy transmitted from a power feeding coil 99 …. This power reception … charges the battery 18”) to the bicycle component.
Regarding claim 21, Sato teaches A bicycle (see at least FIG. 2: bicycle K) component (see at least FIGs. 2, 3: exercise equipment detector 10) other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit, the bicycle component comprising:
a base member (see at least FIG. 3: case body 13) configured to be mounted (see at least FIG. 2, [0007]: “an exercise equipment detection unit that is attached to the exercise equipment”) to a bicycle; and
a power receiver (see at least FIGs. 3, 6: power receiving unit 19) including a wireless communicator (see at least FIG. 6: battery status transmitting unit 35) and a non-contact charging coil (see at least FIG. 6: power receiving coil 30) configured to wirelessly receive external electric power (see at least FIG. 6, [0026]: “The wireless power receiving unit 19 … receives, at the power receiving coil 30, electromagnetic wave energy transmitted from a power feeding coil 99 … . This power reception … charges the battery 18”), the non-contact charging coil and the wireless communicator being housed within the base member (see at least [0009]: “the exercise equipment detector … can be housed in a case”; FIG. 3: case body 13 encapsulates wireless power receiving section 19 and battery 18) and being configured to supply the external electric power to a rechargeable power source (see at least FIG. 3: battery 18) that is mounted to the power receiver (see at least FIG. 3, [0023]: “case body 13 contains … a battery 18 …, and a wireless power receiving unit 19”), the rechargeable power source supplying electricity ([0023]: “a battery 18 … for the motion sensor 11”; [0012]: “the exercise equipment detection unit … [is] configured to include a battery for operation”) to an electrical component (FIG. 3: motion sensor 11).
Regarding claim 22, Sato teaches The bicycle component according to claim 21, wherein the base member includes a support portion (see at least [0024]: “inside the case body 13 … . A filler material 24 that conducts heat is filled in, and each mounted element is embedded in the filler material 24”) configured to support the power receiver.
Regarding claim 23, Sato teaches The bicycle component according to claim 21, wherein the bicycle component is one of an operating device (see at least FIGs. 2, 3: exercise equipment detector 10), an adjustable seatpost, an adjustable suspension, an adjustable front derailleur, a lamp, and an object holder.
Regarding claim 27, Sato teaches The bicycle component according to claim 21, wherein the power receiver includes a waterproof structure (see at least [0012]: “the detection unit for the exercise equipment … can each be stored in a case, improving watertightness”) accommodating the non-contact charging coil.
Regarding claim 28, Sato teaches A non-contact charging system comprising the bicycle component according to claim 21, and further comprising
a non-contact charging device (see at least FIGs. 6, 17: wireless power feeder 90) including a housing (see at least [0042]: “the wireless power supply device 90 … has a shape with a dome-shaped protrusion”) configured to be supported by the base member (see at least [0042]: “the wireless power supply device 90 is a device that wirelessly supplies power by being … in contact with the exercise equipment detection unit 10”), and
a transmitter (see at least FIG. 17: feeding coil 99) configured to wirelessly transmit electric power to (see at least FIG. 6, [0026]: “The wireless power receiving unit 19 … receives, at the power receiving coil 30, electromagnetic wave energy transmitted from a power feeding coil 99”) the non-contact charging coil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9, 14-5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Tagami et al. (JP 2017222245 A).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 3.
Sato further teaches a temperature sensor (see at least FIG. 7: temperature sensor 41A) configured to detect a temperature.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor includes; of the rechargeable power source.
Tagami teach wherein the sensor includes a temperature sensor (see at least [0070]: “the temperature sensor 220 is attached to the … battery 110) configured to detect a temperature (see at least [0070]: “the temperature of each part indicated by the temperature sensor”) of the rechargeable power source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to detect the temperature of the batteries. Doing so would help to “prevent excessive heat generation in … the battery,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0070].
Regarding claim 5, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 3.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor includes a voltage sensor configured to detect at least one of a voltage of the rechargeable power source and a voltage supplied to the rechargeable power source.
Tagami teach wherein the sensor includes a voltage sensor configured to detect at least one of a voltage of the rechargeable power source (see at least [0058]: “The battery monitoring function 105 in the main control unit 100 is a function in which the main control unit 100 communicates with the battery 110 to obtain information indicating … (battery voltage”) and a voltage supplied to the rechargeable power source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to detect the voltage of the batteries. Doing so would make it “so that overcharging of the battery can be prevented,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0126].
Regarding claim 9, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 1.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach further comprising: a controller configured to restrict an operating function of the electrical part upon determining a parameter of the rechargeable power source is outside of a permissible range, and
the controller being configured to maintain the operating function of the electrical part upon determining the parameter of the rechargeable power source is inside of the permissible range.
Tagami teach wherein further comprising: a controller configured to restrict (see at least [0070]: “the temperature sensor 220 is attached to the … battery 110 …, and if the temperature of each of these parts is not within a specified range, the magnitude of the auxiliary driving force by the motor 160 is limited.”) an operating function of the electrical part upon determining a parameter of the rechargeable power source is outside of a permissible range, and
the controller being configured to maintain *Examiner’s interpretation: the motor driving force is limited if the battery temperature is outside the range. Therefore, if the battery temperature is inside the range, the motor driving force will not be limited.* the operating function of the electrical part upon determining the parameter of the rechargeable power source is inside of the permissible range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to restrict motor output if battery temperature exceeds a limit. Doing so would help to “prevent excessive heat generation in … the battery,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0070].
Regarding claim 14, Sato teach A non-contact charging method is provided for charging a rechargeable power source (see at least FIG. 3: battery 18) of a bicycle (FIG. 2: bicycle K) component (see at least FIGs. 2, 3: exercise equipment detector 10) other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit, the non-contact charging method comprising:
starting wireless communication between (see at least FIG. 17, [0043]: “wireless power feeder 90 includes a power receiving status detection unit 94 a … that receives the status of the battery 70 from the battery status transmission unit 35… . The charge control communication unit 94 drives the wireless power supply unit 95 based on the detection by the power receiving state detection unit 94a.”; FIG. 17: battery status transmitter 35 [Wingdings font/0xE0] charging control communication section 94 [Wingdings font/0xE0] wireless power feed unit 95 (which includes feeding coil 99)) the bicycle component other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit and a power transmitter (see at least FIG. 17: feeding coil 99) of a non-contact charging device (see at least FIGs. 6, 17: wireless power feeder 90);
detecting a condition (see at least [0026]: “The battery management system 34 also operates and records the battery charging status, such as SOC (Status of Charge).”) of the rechargeable power source of the bicycle component other than a rear derailleur and a drive unit;
charging the rechargeable power source (see at least [0023]: “charges the battery 18”) of the bicycle component.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach confirming a parameter of the rechargeable power source based on a result of the condition that was detected;
the parameter being used to determine whether to restrict at least one of an operating function of an electrical part of the bicycle component that is powered by the rechargeable power source and the charging the rechargeable power source of the bicycle component
Tagami teach confirming a parameter (see at least [0070]: “if the temperature of each of these parts is not within a specified range”) of the rechargeable power source based on a result of the condition (see at least [0070]: “the temperature sensor 220 is attached to the … battery 110”; “the temperature of each part indicated by the temperature sensor”) that was detected;
the parameter being used to determine whether to restrict at least one of an operating function (see at least [0070]: “if the temperature of each of these parts is not within a specified range, the magnitude of the auxiliary driving force by the motor 160 is limited.”) of an electrical part of the bicycle component that is powered by the rechargeable power source and the charging (see at least [0099]: “if the temperature of each part indicated by … the temperature sensor 220 is not within a predetermined range, transition to the regeneration mode may be prohibited.”) the rechargeable power source of the bicycle component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to detect the temperature of the batteries. Doing so would help to “prevent excessive heat generation in … the battery,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0070].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sato and Tagami teach The non-contact charging method according to claim 14.
Tagami further teaches further comprising restricting (see at least [0070]: “the temperature sensor 220 is attached to the … battery 110 …, and if the temperature of each of these parts is not within a specified range, the magnitude of the auxiliary driving force by the motor 160 is limited.”) an operating function of the bicycle component upon determining a parameter of the rechargeable power source is outside of a permissible range, and
maintaining *Examiner’s interpretation: the motor driving force is limited if the battery temperature is outside the range. Therefore, if the battery temperature is inside the range, the motor driving force will not be limited.* the operating function of the bicycle component upon determining the parameter of the rechargeable power source is inside of the permissible range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to restrict motor output if battery temperature exceeds a limit. Doing so would help to “prevent excessive heat generation in … the battery,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0070].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sato and Tagami teach The non-contact charging method according to claim 14.
Tagami further teach further comprising detecting a temperature (see at least [0070]: “the temperature sensor 220 is attached to the … battery 110) of the rechargeable power source as the condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Tagami to detect the temperature of the battery. Doing so would help to “prevent excessive heat generation in … the battery,” as recognized by Tagami in paragraph [0070].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Abe (JP 2012039831 A).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 1, further comprising an AC/DC converter (see at least FIG. 17: AC-DC converter 96a).
However, Sato does not explicitly teach an AC/DC converter disposed between the non-contact charging coil and the rechargeable power source.
Abe teaches an AC/DC converter (see at least [0023]: “a converter”) disposed between (see at least FIG. 1: power receiving unit 5 comprises secondary circuit 18; FIG. 1, [0023]: “The secondary circuit 18 is also provided with a converter (not shown) for performs DC conversion … for supplying charging power to the battery 2.”) the non-contact charging coil and the rechargeable power source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Abe to convert power to direct current. Doing so would improve “reliability and safety,” as recognized by Abe in “Problem to be Solved” section of the Overview.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Ose (US 20150048838 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 1.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach further comprising a controller configured to monitor at least one of voltage of the rechargeable power source and voltage of the electrical part after a prescribed period of time elapsing from a start of the charging.
Ose teaches further comprising a controller configured to monitor at least one of voltage (see at least [0029]: “monitoring the voltage of the all-solid battery”) of the rechargeable power source and voltage of the electrical part after a prescribed period of time (see at least [0029]: “a few seconds after charging is started”) elapsing from a start of the charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Ose to monitor a battery after a period of time since charging start. Doing so would identify suspect batteries before they become abnormal, allowing for timely replacement, as recognized by Ose in paragraph [0012].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Komatsu et al. (US 20200079466 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 1.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the electrical part includes an electrical switch configured to output an electrical signal to operate an external device
Komatsu teaches wherein the electrical part includes an electrical switch (see at least FIG. 1: second electrical switch SW2) configured to output an electrical signal (see at least [0050]: “signal SG2”) to operate (see at least [0024]: “the bicycle operating device 10 is operatively connected to an additional component BC2 via wireless communication”: FIG. 1: device 10 contains switch SW2) an external device (see at least FIG. 1: additional component BC2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Komatsu to use an electrical switch to operate an external device. As shown in Komatsu FIG. 1, switch SW2 is accessible to a user’s hand on the handlebar. The user can therefore remotely adjust the height of his seat (see paragraph [0024]) by activating the switch on the handlebar without having to get off the seat and manually adjust the seat height, which increases convenience.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sato and Komatsu teach The bicycle component according to claim 11.
Komatsu further teaches further comprising an operating member (see at least FIG. 1: operating member 14) configured to activate (see at least FIG. 1, [0048]: “The electrical switch SW2 is configured to be activated by the receiving portion 41 of the operating member 14”) the electrical switch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Komatsu to use a member to activate an electrical switch to in turn operate an external device. As shown in Komatsu FIG. 1, switch SW2 is accessible to a user’s hand via operating member 14 on the handlebar. The user can therefore remotely adjust the height of his seat (see paragraph [0024]) by activating the switch on the handlebar without having to get off the seat and manually adjust the seat height, which increases convenience.
Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Tagami et al. (JP 2017222245 A) and Zhang et al. (US 20120139482 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sato and Tagami teach The non-contact charging method according to claim 15.
Sato further teaches further comprising adjusting a voltage (see at least [0044]: “voltage is first boosted by the booster unit 98 in order to transmit a predetermined power by electromagnetic wave coupling.”) of the rechargeable power source.
However, the combination of Sato and Tagami does not explicitly teach upon determining the parameter of the rechargeable power source is outside of the permissible range.
Zhang teaches adjusting (see at least [0037]: “the battery charging management apparatus controls the charger to terminate charging the battery, and thus the charging voltage decreases to zero volts”) a voltage of the rechargeable power source upon determining the parameter of the rechargeable power source is outside (see at least [0037]: “when the temperature reaches or exceeds a predetermined maximum charging temperature”) of the permissible range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to decrease charging voltage if battery overheats. Doing so would provide “over-temperature protection for the battery,” as recognized by Zhang in paragraph [0036].
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Tagami et al. (JP 2017222245 A), Zhang et al. (US 20120139482 A1), and Ose (US 20150048838 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sato, Tagami, and Zhang teach The non-contact charging method according to claim 16.
However, the combination of Sato, Tagami, and Zhang does not explicitly teach further comprising monitoring the voltage of the rechargeable power source after a prescribed period of time elapsing from a start of the charging.
Ose teaches further comprising monitoring (see at least [0029]: “monitoring the voltage of the all-solid battery”) the voltage of the rechargeable power source after a prescribed period of time (see at least [0029]: “a few seconds after charging is started”) elapsing from a start of the charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Ose to monitor a battery after a period of time since charging start. Doing so would identify suspect batteries before they become abnormal, allowing for timely replacement, as recognized by Ose in paragraph [0012].
Claims 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Tagami et al. (JP 2017222245 A) and Abe (JP 2012039831 A).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sato and Tagami teach The non-contact charging method according to claim 14.
Sato further teaches further comprising converting alternating current to direct current (see at least [0042]: “converts AC into 5V DC”) that is supplied to (see at least FIGs. 17, 6: AC-DC converter 96a [Wingdings font/0xE0] wireless power supply unit 95(A) [Wingdings font/0xE0] power receiving unit 19 of exercise equipment detector 10 [Wingdings font/0xE0] battery 18) the rechargeable power source.
However, the combination of Sato and Tagami does not explicitly teach from a non-contact charging portion.
Abe teaches converting (see at least FIG. 1: power receiving unit 5 comprises secondary circuit 18; FIG. 1, [0023]: “The secondary circuit 18 is also provided with a converter (not shown) for performs DC conversion … for supplying charging power to the battery 2.”) alternating current from a non-contact charging portion (see at least FIG. 6: secondary coils 6) to direct current
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Abe to convert power to direct current. Doing so would improve “reliability and safety,” as recognized by Abe in “Problem to be Solved” section of the Overview.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Von Novak et al. (US 20170368943 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 21.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the power receiver includes an electrical cord that is configured to supply the external electric power to the at least one of the rechargeable power source and the electrical component.
Von Novak teaches wherein the power receiver includes an electrical cord (see at least FIG. 3: cord connects inductive structure 114 to electronics 304, and then another cord connects electronics 304 to batteries 112; [0030]: “The electrical current is then passed to the electronics 304 and the batteries 112 for charging. Alternatively, the electrical current can be passed directly to the batteries 112 to charge the batteries 112.”) that is configured to supply the external electric power to the at least one of the rechargeable power source and the electrical component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Von Novak to transfer electricity from an inductive structure to batteries using a cord. Doing so would decrease “the risk of corrosion or damage from exposure to moisture or road salt,” as recognized by Von Novak in paragraph [0002].
Regarding claim 29, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 21.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the power receiver includes an AC/DC converter, the AC/DC converter being disposed between the non-contact charging coil and the at least one of the rechargeable power source and the electrical component
Von Novak teaches wherein the power receiver (see at least FIG. 6: power-transfer system 600, which includes converter 604, coils 608, and wires 606) includes an AC/DC converter (see at least FIG. 6: converter 604; [0037]: “The power converter 604 then converts the alternating current into direct current (DC) power”), the AC/DC converter being disposed between the non-contact charging coil (see at least FIG. 6: coils 608) and the at least one of the rechargeable power source and the electrical component (see at least [0037]: “for powering accessories”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Von Novak to convert electricity generated wirelessly for use by bicycle components. Doing so would decrease “the risk of corrosion or damage from exposure to moisture or road salt,” as recognized by Von Novak in paragraph [0002].
Claims 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2018072205 A) in view of Hou et al. (US 20200180433 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Sato teach The bicycle component according to claim 21.
However, Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the rechargeable power source is disposed in the power receiver.
Hou teaches wherein the rechargeable power source is disposed in (see at least [0011]: “a wireless charging receiver built in a battery of the scooter”) the power receiver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato to incorporate the teachings of Hou to build in the battery and the receiver together. Doing so would increase safety, as recognized by Hou in paragraph [0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson et al. (US 20210221462 A1) teaches an activity monitor that can be attached to a bicycle support beam and a water bottle holder (see FIG. 9). The activity monitor includes a wireless charging coil that can charge the battery (see paragraph [0034]).
Kang (US 20180241098 A1) teaches a system that measures the voltage of a battery (see paragraph [0008]).
Van Duijsen et al. (US 20200114771 A1) teaches a “contactless charger system for charging an electric vehicle,” such as for an e-bike (see paragraph [0009]).
Hoge (DE 102012110913 A1) teaches a system for contactless charging of an e-bike (see FIG. 1, paragraph [0010]).
Yeo et al. (KR 101150257 B1) teaches a wireless charging device that detects charging and voltage information of an e-bike for wireless charging (see paragraphs [0033], [0042]).
Ericksen et al. (US 20210300140 A1) teaches a bicycle component capable of wireless charging housed in a housing (see paragraph [0036]).
Emerson et al. (US 10766554 B1) teaches a bicycle light capable of wireless charging, with components housed in a casing (see FIGs. 1A, 18).
Examiner Interview are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GEORGE A ALCORN III/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662