Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paolazzi (US 2011/0236740) in view of Nielson (US 2014/0120413).
Regarding claim 1, Paolazzi discloses a fuel cell stack enclosure adapted to enclose a fuel cell stack, the fuel cell stack enclosure comprising:
an upper cover enclosing a first section of the fuel cell stack, the upper cover including an upper cover base and at least two upper faces extending downwardly away from the upper cover base (see annotated Fig. 5 below which illustrates these features),
a lower cover enclosing a second section of the fuel cell stack, the lower cover including a lower cover base and at least two lower faces extending upwardly away from the lower cover base (see annotated Fig. 5 below which illustrates these features),
a first flanged feature attached to an edge of a first upper face and extending along an entire length of the first upper face and a second flanged feature attached to an edge of a first lower face and extending along an entire length of the first lower face (see annotated Fig. 5 below which illustrates these features),
a first seal positioned between a first horizontal face extending outwardly from the first flanged feature and a second horizontal face extending outwardly from the second flanged feature, and
a first clamping bar (150, 156, 154, 152, etc.) configured to slide to couple the first upper face to a first lower face (face on bottom of clamp 150, as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below) and a second clamping bar (second clamping bar 150, 156, 154, 152 positioned on opposite side of enclosure and pictured in Fig. 2) configured to slide to couple a second upper face to a second lower face (face on bottom of clamp 150, as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below, but on the opposite side of the enclosure as the first lower face) by enclosing the first flanged feature and the second flanged feature (see paragraphs 27, 28 and 31 which disclose that the clamping bars/clips are slid into position to secure the half sections of the enclosure together), the first clamping bar and the second clamping bar configured to protect the fuel cell stack from contaminants outside the fuel cell stack enclosure (the clamps provide closure to the two halves which can contribute to preventing exposure to the inside of the shells).
The italicized portions above are directed toward an intended use of the claimed enclosure and do not further define the structure of the claimed enclosure. See §2111.02.
Paolazzi teaches enclosing the case (see paragraphs 27-28) but does not teach a first seal positioned between a first horizontal face extending outwardly from the first flanged feature and a second horizontal face extending outwardly from the second flanged feature.
Nielson also discloses an apparatus for enclosing an electrochemical device (see abstract).
Nielson, like Paolazzi, teaches an upper cover and lower cover along with first and second horizontal faces extending outwardly (see annotated Fig. 2 below which illustrates these features and see paragraph 38 which names these portions as “rims”). Nielson goes on to teach a seal (grommet 22, see annotated Fig. 2 below) that is positioned between the first and second horizontal faces extended outwardly in order to seal the inner volume of the case (paragraph 38).
As such, utilizing the grommet seal of Nielson in the structure of Paolazzi would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Such a modification would allow for a sealed enclosure in Paolazzi, similar to that of Nielson.
Annotated Fig. 5 of Paolazzi
Annotated Fig. 2 of Nielson
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Paolazzi further discloses the upper cover further includes a third flanged feature attached to an edge of the second upper face and extending along an entire length of the second upper face (see annotated Fig. 1 below which illustrates the third and fourth flanged feature), and
wherein the lower cover further includes a fourth flanged feature attached to an edge of the second lower face and extending along an entire length of the second lower face (see annotated Fig. 1 below which illustrates the third and fourth flanged feature).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Paolazzi
Regarding claim 4, Paolazzi further discloses the third and the fourth flanged feature are coupled together with the second clamping bar (as illustrated in annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Paolazzi further discloses the fuel cell stack enclosure further comprises a second seal, and wherein the second seal is positioned between the third and the fourth flanged feature (as modified above, each side of the enclosure would include a seal (first seal on one side, second seal on the other side).
Regarding claim 6, Paolazzi further discloses at least one cap is attached to an end of one of the first clamping bar and the second clamping bar (see paragraph 28 which discloses lid/cap is placed on the end of the clips to prevent sliding off the enclosure/housing).
Regarding claim 7, Paolazzi further discloses the fuel cell stack includes at least one end plate (164) having an outer perimeter, and wherein the upper cover, the lower cover, and one or more clamping means of the fuel cell stack enclosure cooperate to enclose the outer perimeter of the at least one end plate (see Fig. 2 which illustrates end plate 164 cooperating with the enclosure to enclose the outer perimeter of the end plate).
Regarding claim 8, Paolazzi further discloses the fuel cell stack includes at least one end plate (164) which forms a seal around the perimeter (as described in paragraph 28) due to having an outer perimeter, and wherein the upper cover, the lower cover, and the one or more clamping means of the fuel cell stack enclosure cooperate to enclose the outer perimeter of the at least one end plate (see Fig. 2 where end plate 164 is enclosed by the upper and lower covers and sealed by the clamping means).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725