DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are the current claims hereby under examination. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended and claim 21 was newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye, and in view of Weight Module Measuring Equipment et al. (Weight Module Measuring Equipment, Hopper Weighing Module, www.web.archive.org/web/20210422161926/http://modul-ves.ru/catalog/bunkernye-vesy/vesovoy-modul-dlya-bunkera/, 4-22-2021, translated via Google Translate, accessed 9/10/2025), hereto referred as WMME, and in view of Hall et al. (US 20150342576 A1), hereto referred as Hall, and in view of Bressler et al. (US 5146637 A), hereto referred as Bressler and in view of Wu et al. (CN-205306875-U), hereto referred as Wu, and in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 20220079487 A1), hereto referred as Horiguchi.
Regarding Claim 1, Aboagye teaches that a urine output measuring system (Aboagye, [0001]: "the invention relates to capturing human bodily waste to measure parameters of and/or record the captured bodily waste matter", where the waste can be urine), comprises: a urine hat having a body defining a cavity configured to collect urine therein (Aboagye, [0049]: "The receptacle 108 is... the shape of the toilet bowl 10 so that human bodily waste... is captured by the receptacle", where the receptacle acts as the urine hat and its body has the shape of a cavity to collect urine), one or more sensors coupled to the platform, the one or more sensors configured to determine a load value exerted on the platform by the urine hat (Aboagye, [0023]-[0024]: "The means for measuring the mass of captured bodily waste... may be arranged... with the means for mounting the apparatus... The means for measuring the mass of captured bodily waste material may be a sensor (e.g. a mass/weight sensor)", where the means for mounting acts as the platform for the receptacle and the sensor is determining a load value of the receptacle and the captured material within it (1[0051])), a console including one or more processors (Aboagye, [0058]: "...control panel, shown as a wall panel 138... is, for example, a touchscreen control panel", describing a console that contains processors) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having logic stored thereon (Aboagye, [0078]: "wall panel 138 may have a storage facility (e.g. memory)", describing non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Aboagye does not fully teach that the platform coupled with the urine hat includes a plurality of feet coupled together via elongate connecting members, wherein each end of each elongate connecting member is coupled with a foot and each foot is coupled with two elongate connecting members, wherein: the feet are configured to couple the platform to a toilet bowl. Rather, Aboagye teaches a receptacle with a mounting arrangement, but not elongate connecting members where each foot is joined to two members or feet configured to couple directly to the toilet bowl. Specifically, Aboagye teaches a mounting/fitting that couples the receptacle/urine hat to the toilet bowl such that it is suspended over the toilet bowl (Aboagye, [0046], [0052]; Figs. 1, 4). It additionally teaches that this mounting, while depicted as a single cantilevered connection point fixed to the toilet rim in figure 1, may alternatively be "mounted from any position(s) around the rim 106 or toilet..." (Aboagye, [0052]) and that "the means for mounting the apparatus to the toilet may be arranged to rest on the surface of the toilet" (Aboagye, [0020], [00831). This indicates that the mounting or platform for the urine hat may take on configurations with multiple connection points rendering the urine hat self-stable such that it may rest on the toilet instead of being directly fixed to the rim.
WMME teaches the missing structural arrangement directly in a weighing platform (WMME, p. 12, Image: platform depicted as a weighing frame composed of elongate members, with each end of each member terminating in a foot and each foot coupled with two members). This shows a stable weighing frame where every corner foot is joined to two elongate members. Although WMME is an industrial weighing platform, it demonstrates the fundamental structural principle of multi-foot frames that provide stability and distribute load, a principle equally applicable to a urine hat weighing platform.
Hall teaches the adaptation of such a multi-foot frame to a toilet environment, describing a urine specimen capture device that stabilizes on the rim using a flange with multiple suction cups (Hall, [0060], Fig. 2). Hall thus provides explicit teaching that the suction cups (functioning as feet/couplers) are designed to couple a platform to the toilet bowl to ensure stability during urine collection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aboagye in view of WMME and Hall to provide a platform of elongate connecting members with feet, each foot coupled to two members, and with the feet configured to couple the platform to a toilet bowl. This combination is feasible because all references address supporting receptacles for weighing or collecting fluids, and adapting the known frame-foot coupling from industrial weighing systems to the toilet rim environment is straightforward. The benefit of the combination would be improved stability from the rigid elongate-member frame (WMME), secure attachment to a toilet bowl through multipoint coupling (Hall), and accurate positioning of the receptacle to ensure reliable weight measurements. By incorporating WMME's weighing frame into Aboagye's medical system and adapting it with Hall's toilet-coupling feet, one of ordinary skill would gain a predictable and robust structure that minimizes tipping, distributes weight evenly, and ensures accurate data collection in a clinical setting.
The modified Aboagye also does not fully teach that the urine hat is configured for placement on the platform so that the urine hat rests on a plurality of the elongate connecting members. Rather, it teaches a platform that is coupled to the receptacle where the platform may rest on the toilet (Aboagye, [0020], [0083]; Figs. 1, 4), but does not describe the coupling mechanism of the receptacle/urine hat to the platform in any way, including in a resting configuration.
Bressler, who also investigates urine collection, describes a device in which "a cup having a top flange [is] slidably and removably positioned upon [a] mounting flange and registry with an outlet for collecting liquids" (Bressler, col. 1, ll. 59-65), and "an adapter 23 includes a semicircular mount flange 25 adapted to supportably receive the top flange 31 of cup 29" (col. 3, ll. 11-13). This shows that the collection receptacle (e.g., urine hat) is designed to rest on the support platform without permanent coupling, allowing for removable and replaceable positioning.
WMME further shows that a vessel is intended to rest on the supporting frame, as it is described for use with existing containers (WMME, p. 13: "The weighing module for the hopper is the optimal solution for small companies that occasionally need to weigh bulk materials in small quantities and for enterprises that already have a container on which a weighing device needs to be installed"). This indicates to one of ordinary skill that the weighing frame is designed to receive and support a removable container placed upon multiple elongate connecting members. Although WMME is an industrial weighing platform, the principle of supporting a container in a removable resting configuration on connecting members is directly applicable to urine collection where receptacles must be easily inserted and removed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye, WMME, and Hall in view of Bressler and WMME to configure the urine hat for placement on the platform so that it rests on a plurality of connecting members. This combination is feasible because all references disclose vessels supported by frames or flanges, and adapting WMME's resting structure and Bressler's removable placement to Aboagye's urine hat within Hall's toilet environment is straightforward. The benefit of the combination would be to provide a receptacle that is stably supported on multiple connecting members (WMME), easily removable for cleaning or replacement (Bressler), and reliably positioned within a toilet bowl environment (Hall). This improves hygiene, reduces cross-contamination, streamlines clinical workflows, and ensures accurate and repeatable urine output measurement.
The modified Aboagye also does not fully teach that the length of the elongate connecting members is adjustable. Rather, the modified Aboagye teaches a mounting arrangement for supporting a receptacle on or over a toilet bowl, but does not describe elongate connecting members whose length can be selectively changed.
Wu teaches elongate connecting members whose length is adjustable in a toilet-related support structure. Specifically, Wu states that "The length of the front crossbar, the rear crossbar and the backrest are adjusted to adjust the width of the toilet seat frame" (Wu, ¶[0012]). Wu further describes the adjustment structure, stating that "the adjustment structure includes an adjustment rod, a fixing rod, and a fastener;" that "the adjusting rod has several locking holes arranged sequentially along one end of the rod body; the fixing rod has a positioning hole at its end;" and that "one end of the fixed rod with the positioning hole extends through the inner cavity of the adjusting rod so that the elastic protrusion of the fastener engages with any of the locking holes of the adjusting rod in the positioning hole" (Wu, ¶[0009]–¶[0011]). Wu therefore explicitly teaches elongate connecting members whose length is adjustable using a telescoping and locking-hole mechanism. Further, Wu’s adjustable-width commode chair is used in a toilet environment and includes a “toilet bowl holder” that “holds a toilet bowl” reinforcing that Wu’s adjustable-width frame structure is directed to supporting toilet receptacle components during urination (Wu, FIG. 2; ¶[0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Wu to provide elongate connecting members having adjustable length. This modification is feasible because WMME already teaches a rigid frame whose geometry is defined by elongate connecting members between feet, and Wu teaches a known, predictable way to make an elongate crossbar adjustable in length using a telescoping/locking structure. The benefit of the combination would be improved adaptability of the platform to different toilet bowl sizes and geometries while maintaining stability and proper positioning of the urine hat during use.
The modified Aboagye does not explicitly teach that the console, when executed by the one or more processors, performs operations including: receiving the load value from the one or more sensors; and determining a volume of the collected urine from the load values. (Aboagye, [0066]-[0070]: from the console "the user may select which bodily function they... perform... This selection will determine what tests are performed by the system and what data will be recorded", [0071]: "The results of this analysis, as well as the weight of the deposited waste, are recorded and attributed to the identified user", where the weight or load value of the urine will be recorded by the wall panel (i.e. console)) and the analysis of weight is connoted to be volume as [0002]-[0003] discuss monitoring urine output and volume). It describes a system that records the weight of deposited urine and assigns it to a user for tracking purposes ([0071]) and the invention is geared towards use in a medical facility ([0078]-[0079]) which, as a standard, record urine output via volume. While it monitors urine collection, it does not explicitly state calculating urine volume based on weight.
Horiguchi, who investigates a urine quantity measurement device, describes a method of calculating urine volume from weight using a prescribed value related to urine's specific gravity (Horiguchi, [0076], Fig. 7). One skilled in the art would recognize the obviousness of integrating Horiguchi's volume calculation method into Aboagye's urine monitoring system. Determining urine volume based on weight is a well-known approach in fluid monitoring, using the relationship between fluid density/volume/mass, making this combination a predictable improvement.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to determine the volume of urine based on the load. This has the benefit of providing direct urine volume measurements, improving accuracy and clinical utility in medical applications.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the one or more sensors are coupled with one or more of the plurality of feet. The combined Aboagye, Hall, and Bressler teaches a weighing arrangement integrated into the structure supporting the urine receptacle (Aboagye, ¶[0023]-[0024[, [0051]-[0052]; Fig. 4). However, it does not explicitly describe a platform with multiple feet incorporating sensors. Hall describes a mounting frame that supports a urine collection device within a toilet bowl, resting on the rim and using structural support elements like suction cups (Hall, ¶[0060], Fig. 2). Hall’s mounting frame, when combined with Aboagye’s load measurement system, suggests a platform with feet. Hall’s mounting frame provides structural support for a urine collection device by resting on the toilet rim (Hall, ¶[0060], Fig. 2). Aboagye discloses a sensor integrated into the supporting structure of the receptacle, which interacts with the toilet bowl (Aboagye, ¶[0023]-[0024[, [0051]-[0052]; Fig. 4). When combined, Hall’s platform configuration ensures that the supporting structure includes defined feet, while Aboagye’s load measurement system already incorporates sensors at the coupling point with the toilet (at the location of the feet), reinforcing the placement of sensors within the feet of the platform. One skilled in the art would have found incorporating Hall’s platform design into Aboagye’s system obvious as it provides structural stability while allowing for accurate weight measurement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye to have the plurality of feet include the sensor(s). This has the benefit of enhancing measurement accuracy and system stability by ensuring that the sensors, integrated into the feet of the platform, provide direct and stable load measurement at the coupling point with the toilet, minimizing interference and improving data reliability for urine output assessment in medical applications.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Aboagye does not teach that the plurality of feet are configured to secure the platform to the toilet bowl via a snap fit, or an interference fit. Aboagye teaches a general attachment mechanism for securing the platform, but it does not explicitly disclose a snap fit or interference fit (Aboagye, ¶[0052]). Hall supplements this by disclosing multiple attachment methods, including suction cups and structural securement features (Hall ¸¶[0060], Fig. 3). Hall further describes a mounting frame that can secure the capture bowl to the toilet bowl rim using frictional force as well as suction cups (Hall , ¶[0070], ¶[0060]). These features correspond to a snap fit or interference fit by providing a reliable means of securing the platform without additional fasteners on the toilet. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye to have the platform be secured to the toilet bowl via feet that are snap fit or interference fit. Both references focus on securing a platform within a toilet bowl, and the inclusion of a snap or interference fit ensures proper alignment and prevents movement. This combination improves system usability by ensuring a secure and repeatable fit, preventing misalignment or instability during use, which is critical for accurate measurement and long-term reliability.
Regarding claim 5 the modified Aboagye teaches that a monitor is coupled to the platform, wherein the monitor: is in communication with the console, and is configured to display information pertaining to the collection of urine (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 2: "The wall panel 138 is... a touchscreen control panel" that is coupled to the platform either "wirelessly or by a wired connection", describing a control panel that has an incorporated monitor that communicates with the console to display relevant system information as shown in the figure).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Aboagye teaches that the console is configured to wirelessly communicate with an external computing device (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 5: "The wall panel 138 is adapted to be connected to a network, either wirelessly via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or similar, or via a wired connection", describing a console capable of wireless communication with networks on a ¶[0079]: "a hospital database" (i.e. external devices)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the operations further include: correlating the determined volume of the collected urine with a time of day; and transmitting the correlated volume of collected urine to one or more of the monitor, or the external computing device. Aboagye teaches that recorded urine data is attributed to an identified user (Aboagye, ¶[0071]). Additionally, it describes that the wall panel 138 can be connected to a data network, and the recorded data can be sent to a hospital database for external access (Aboagye, ¶[0079]). Aboagye discloses a control panel that communicates with the system and monitor, but it does not explicitly disclose the correlation of this data with the time of day (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 2). Horiguchi describes a system that records urine volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded volume and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0090], Fig. 7-8). Additionally, it describes the transmission of urine quantity data to a computing device (Horiguchi, ¶[0080]), aligning with Aboagye’s system capability of sending recorded data to a hospital database (Aboagye, ¶[0079]). One skilled in the art would have recognized that incorporating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine volume recording and transmission functionality into Aboagye’s system would provide a logical and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends, and transmitting such data to an external device for review is a well-established practice, making this integration straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to have the operations include correlating the determined volume of the collected urine with a time of day and transmitting the correlated volume of collected urine to the monitor or an external computing device. This would be beneficial since healthcare professionals would gain improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time and allowing remote access to relevant health data.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Aboagye teaches that the operations further include transmitting to the external computing device (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 5: "The wall panel 138 is adapted to be connected to a network, either wirelessly via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or similar, or via a wired connection", describing a console capable of transmitting data with networks on a ¶[0079]: "a hospital database" (i.e. external devices)), but does not explicitly teach transmitting the correlated volume of collected urine. Aboagye teaches a control panel/wall panel that communicates with an external network, but it does not explicitly disclose the correlation of this data with the time of day (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 2). Horiguchi teaches a system that records urine volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded volume and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0090], Fig. 7-8). Additionally, it describes the transmission of urine quantity data to an external computing device (Horiguchi, ¶[0080]), aligning with Aboagye’s system capability of sending recorded data to a hospital database (Aboagye, ¶[0079]). One skilled in the art would recognize that incorporating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine volume recording and transmission functionality into Aboagye’s system would provide a logical and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends, and transmitting such data to an external device for review is a well-established practice, making this integration straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to transmit the correlated volume of collected urine. This would be beneficial as the healthcare professionals would gain improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time and allowing remote access to relevant health data.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Aboagye teaches that the operations further include: generating an alert pertaining to one or more operating conditions of the system; and transmitting the alert to the monitor and/or the external computing device (Aboagye, ¶[0057]-[0058]: “The PCB 136 responds by flagging a fault…to the user”, describing a fault detection mechanism where the PCB monitors current usage and responds to operational faults (i.e. operating conditions) and flags (i.e. alerts) the user through its connection to the control panel which is a touch screen display (i.e. monitor)).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Aboagye teaches that the urine hat includes a drain port located at a bottom of the cavity, the drain port selectively transitionable between: a closed position preventing the collected urine from exiting the urine hat through the drain port, and an open position allowing collected urine to exit the urine hat through the drain port (Aboagye, ¶[0068]: "If the gate 112 in the receptacle 108 was in the open position, it is now closed, sealing the aperture 110 in the receptacle 108"; ¶[0074]: "The gate 112 in the base of the receptacle 108 then opens", demonstrating a drain port that selectively opens and closes).
Regarding Claim 15, Aboagye teaches a method of measuring the urine output of a patient, comprising: collecting urine output from the patient within a urine hat of a urine output measuring system (Aboagye, ¶[0049]: "The receptacle 108 is... the shape of the toilet bowl 10 so that human bodily waste... is captured by the receptacle", where the receptacle acts as the urine hat and its body has the shape of the toilet bowl forming a cavity to collect urine; ¶[0001]: "the invention relates to capturing human bodily waste to measure parameters of and/or record the captured bodily waste matter", where the waste can be urine). Aboagye further teaches determining a load value exerted on a platform of the urine output measuring system by the urine hat (Aboagye, ¶[0051] and Fig. 4: "In this apparatus 100, a weighing arrangement 118, in the form of a strain gauge, is used to determine the weight of the receptacle 108 and its contents. The receptacle 108 is therefore suspended in the toilet bowl 10 via the strain gauge 118", describing a measurement system where a strain gauge is integrated into the platform to measure the load exerted by the collected urine).
Also regarding claim 15, Aboagye does not fully teach that the platform including: a number of feet that are disposed along and rest on a rim of a toilet bowl, and the same number of elongate connecting members, wherein each end of each elongate connecting member is coupled with a foot, and each foot is coupled with two elongate connecting members. Aboagye teaches a receptacle with a mounting arrangement, but not elongate connecting members where each foot is joined to two members or feet configured to couple directly to the toilet bowl. Specifically, Aboagye teaches a mounting/fitting that couples the receptacle/urine hat to the toilet bowl such that it is suspended over the toilet bowl (Aboagye, ¶[0046], [0052]; Figs. 1, 4). It additionally teaches that this mounting, while depicted as a single cantilevered connection point fixed to the toilet rim in figure 1, may alternatively be “mounted from any position(s) around the rim 106 or toilet...” (Aboagye, ¶[0052]) and that “the means for mounting the apparatus to the toilet may be arranged to rest on the surface of the toilet” (Aboagye, ¶[0020], [0083]). This indicates that the mounting or platform for the urine hat may take on configurations with multiple connection points rendering the urine hat self-stable such that it may rest on the toilet instead of being directly fixed to the rim.
WMME teaches the missing structural arrangement directly in a weighing platform (WMME, p.12, Image: platform depicted as a weighing frame composed of elongate members, with each end of each member terminating in a foot and each foot coupled with two members). This shows a stable weighing frame where every corner foot is joined to two elongate members. Although WMME is an industrial weighing platform, it demonstrates the fundamental structural principle of multi-foot frames that provide stability and distribute load, a principle equally applicable to a urine hat weighing platform.
Hall teaches the adaptation of such a multi-foot frame to a toilet environment, describing a urine specimen capture device that stabilizes on the rim using a flange with multiple suction cups (Hall, ¶[0060], Fig. 2). Hall thus provides explicit teaching that the feet are designed to couple a platform to the toilet bowl to ensure stability during urine collection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Aboagye in view of WMME and Hall to provide a platform with feet disposed along and resting on the rim of a toilet bowl, with elongate connecting members where each end is coupled to a foot and each foot to two connecting members. This combination is feasible because all references address supporting receptacles for weighing or collecting fluids, and adapting the known frame-foot coupling from industrial weighing systems to the toilet rim environment is straightforward. The benefit of the combination would be improved stability from the rigid elongate-member frame (WMME), secure attachment to a toilet bowl through multipoint coupling (Hall), and accurate positioning of the receptacle to ensure reliable weight measurements. By incorporating WMME’s weighing frame into Aboagye’s medical system and adapting it with Hall’s toilet-coupling feet, one of ordinary skill would gain a predictable and robust structure that minimizes tipping, distributes weight evenly, and ensures accurate data collection in a clinical setting.
Aboagye does not fully teach that the urine hat rests on the elongate connecting members. Rather, Aboagye, WMME, and Hall show receptacle mounting structures where the receptacle may be suspended or supported by fittings (Aboagye, ¶[0020], [0083]; Figs. 1, 4), but neither reference discloses a receptacle configured to rest directly on connecting members of a frame.
Bressler teaches the missing feature, describing a cup “slidably and removably positioned upon [a] mounting flange and registry with an outlet for collecting liquids” (Bressler, col. 1, ll. 59–65), and “an adapter 23 includes a semicircular mount flange 25 adapted to supportably receive the top flange 31 of cup 29” (col. 3, ll. 11–13). This shows that the collection receptacle is designed to rest on a support structure without permanent coupling, enabling easy removal and replacement.
WMME likewise demonstrates that containers are intended to be supported in a resting configuration on elongate connecting members of a weighing frame (WMME, p.13: “The weighing module for the hopper is the optimal solution … for enterprises that already have a container on which a weighing device needs to be installed”). This indicates to one of ordinary skill that the frame is designed to receive and support a removable container placed upon multiple connecting members. Although WMME is industrial, the underlying principle of stable, removable resting support is directly applicable to medical urine collection where receptacles must be inserted and removed frequently.
Hall further shows that these support structures are suitable for the toilet environment, describing multipoint feet and suction cups that couple the platform to the rim of a toilet (Hall, ¶[0060], Fig. 2). This contextualizes the resting arrangement within a clinical urine measurement application.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined Aboagye, WMME, and Hall in view of Bressler, WMME, and Hall to configure the urine hat for placement on the platform so that the urine hat rests on a plurality of connecting members. This combination is feasible because all references disclose receptacles supported by stable frames or flanges, and adapting WMME’s multi-member resting structure and Bressler’s removable placement to Aboagye’s urine hat within Hall’s toilet environment requires only routine optimization. The benefit of the combination would be a receptacle that is stably supported on multiple connecting members (WMME), easily removable for cleaning or replacement (Bressler), and reliably positioned in a toilet bowl environment (Hall). This improves hygiene, reduces cross-contamination, streamlines clinical workflows, and ensures accurate and repeatable urine output measurement.
The modified Aboagye also does not fully teach that the length of the elongate connecting members is adjustable. Rather, the modified Aboagye teaches a mounting arrangement for supporting a receptacle on or over a toilet bowl, but does not describe elongate connecting members whose length can be selectively changed.
Wu teaches elongate connecting members whose length is adjustable in a toilet-related support structure. Specifically, Wu states that "The length of the front crossbar, the rear crossbar and the backrest are adjusted to adjust the width of the toilet seat frame" (Wu, ¶[0012]). Wu further describes the adjustment structure, stating that "the adjustment structure includes an adjustment rod, a fixing rod, and a fastener;" that "the adjusting rod has several locking holes arranged sequentially along one end of the rod body; the fixing rod has a positioning hole at its end;" and that "one end of the fixed rod with the positioning hole extends through the inner cavity of the adjusting rod so that the elastic protrusion of the fastener engages with any of the locking holes of the adjusting rod in the positioning hole" (Wu, ¶[0009]–¶[0011]). Wu therefore explicitly teaches elongate connecting members whose length is adjustable using a telescoping and locking-hole mechanism. Further, Wu’s adjustable-width commode chair is used in a toilet environment and includes a “toilet bowl holder” that “holds a toilet bowl” reinforcing that Wu’s adjustable-width frame structure is directed to supporting toilet receptacle components during urination (Wu, FIG. 2; ¶[0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Wu to provide elongate connecting members having adjustable length. This modification is feasible because WMME already teaches a rigid frame whose geometry is defined by elongate connecting members between feet, and Wu teaches a known, predictable way to make an elongate crossbar adjustable in length using a telescoping/locking structure. The benefit of the combination would be improved adaptability of the platform to different toilet bowl sizes and geometries while maintaining stability and proper positioning of the urine hat during use.
Finally, the modified Aboagye does not explicitly teach that determining a volume of the collected urine output from the load value. (Aboagye, [0066]-[0070]: from the console "the user may select which bodily function they... perform... This selection will determine what tests are performed by the system and what data will be recorded", [0071]: "The results of this analysis, as well as the weight of the deposited waste, are recorded and attributed to the identified user", where the weight or load value of the urine will be recorded by the wall panel (i.e. console)) and the analysis of weight is connoted to be volume as [0002]-[0003] discuss monitoring urine output and volume). Aboagye describes a system that records the weight of deposited urine and assigns it to a user for tracking purposes ([0071]) and the invention is geared towards use in a medical facility (¶[0078]-[0079]) which, as a standard, record urine output via volume. While it monitors urine collection, it does not explicitly state calculating urine volume based on weight.
Horiguchi, who investigates a urine quantity measurement device, describes a method of calculating urine volume from weight using a prescribed value related to urine's specific gravity (Horiguchi, [0076], Fig. 7). One skilled in the art would recognize the obviousness of integrating Horiguchi's volume calculation method into Aboagye's urine monitoring system. Determining urine volume based on weight is a well-known approach in fluid monitoring, using the relationship between fluid density/volume/mass, making this combination a predictable improvement.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to determine the volume of urine based on the load. This has the benefit of providing direct urine volume measurements, improving accuracy and clinical utility in medical applications.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Aboagye does not expressly teach a method comprising correlating the determined volume of the collected urine with a time of day. Aboagye teaches that recorded urine data is attributed to an identified user (Aboagye, ¶[0071]), but it does not explicitly disclose the correlation of this data with the time of day. Horiguchi describes a system that records urine volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded volume and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0090], Fig. 7-8). One skilled in the art would have recognized that incorporating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine volume recording and transmission functionality into Aboagye’s system would provide an obvious and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends is a well-established practice and making this integration is straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to have the operations include correlating the determined volume of the collected urine with a time of day. This would be beneficial since healthcare professionals would gain improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Aboagye does not expressly teach a method comprising transmitting the correlated volume of the collected urine output to one or more of a monitor of the urine output measuring system or an external computing device. Aboagye teaches that recorded urine data is transmitted to a monitor (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 2) and external networks (Aboagye, ¶[0079]), but it does not explicitly disclose the correlation of this data with the time of day. Horiguchi describes a system that records urine volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded volume and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0090], Fig. 7-8). Additionally, it describes the transmission of urine quantity data to a computing device (Horiguchi, ¶[0080]), aligning with Aboagye’s system capability of sending recorded data to a hospital database (Aboagye, ¶[0079]). One skilled in the art would have recognized that incorporating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine volume recording and transmission functionality into Aboagye’s system would provide a logical and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends, and transmitting such data to an external device for review is a well-established practice, making this integration straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to have the operations include correlating the determined volume of the collected urine with a time of day and transmitting the correlated volume of collected urine to the monitor or an external computing device. This would be beneficial since healthcare professionals would gain improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time and allowing remote access to relevant health data.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Aboagye teaches a method comprising transmitting urine output to an electronic medical record system (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 5: "The wall panel 138 is adapted to be connected to a network", describing a console capable of transmitting urine weight and analysis to ¶[0079]: "a hospital database" (i.e. medical record system)), but does not explicitly teach transmitting the correlated volume of the collected urine. Aboagye teaches a control panel/wall panel that communicates with a medical record system (Aboagye, ¶[0058], Fig. 2), but it does not explicitly disclose the correlation of this data with the time of day. Horiguchi teaches a system that records urine volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded volume and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0090], Fig. 7-8). Additionally, it describes the transmission of urine quantity data to an external computing device (Horiguchi, ¶[0080]), aligning with Aboagye’s system capability of sending recorded data to a hospital database (Aboagye, ¶[0079]). One skilled in the art would recognize that incorporating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine volume recording and transmission functionality into Aboagye’s system would provide a logical and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends, and transmitting such data to an external device for review is a well-established practice, making this integration straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Horiguchi to transmit the correlated volume of collected urine. This would be beneficial as the healthcare professionals would gain improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time and allowing remote access to relevant health data.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Aboagye teaches generating an alert pertaining to operation of the urine output measuring system; and transmitting the alert to a monitor of the urine output measuring system and/or an external computing device (Aboagye, ¶[0057]-[0058]: “The PCB 136 responds by flagging a fault…to the user”, describing a fault detection mechanism where the PCB monitors current usage and responds to operational faults (i.e. operating conditions) and flags (i.e. alerts) the user through its connection to the control panel which is a touch screen display (i.e. monitor)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye, and in view of Weight Module Measuring Equipment et al. (Weight Module Measuring Equipment, Hopper Weighing Module, www.web.archive.org/web/20210422161926/http://modul-ves.ru/catalog/bunkernye-vesy/vesovoy-modul-dlya-bunkera/, 4-22-2021, translated via Google Translate, accessed 9/10/2025), hereto referred as WMME, and in view of Hall et al. (US 20150342576 A1), hereto referred as Hall, and in view of Bressler et al. (US 5146637 A), hereto referred as Bressler and in view of Wu et al. (CN-205306875-U), hereto referred as Wu, and in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 20220079487 A1), hereto referred as Horiguchi, and further in view of Guillemette et al. (US 11540760 B1), hereto referred as Guillemette.
The modified Aboagye teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the urine hat includes a rim extending radially outward from the body, the rim configured to operatively couple the urine hat to the platform. Aboagye describes a urine receptacle designed to collect waste and fit within the toilet bowl but does not disclose a rim specifically extending outward for the purpose of securing the receptacle to a platform (Aboagye, ¶[0049]). Guillemette teaches a collection container with a rim extending outward, which engages with a platform for stability and alignment (Guillemette, Fig. 8, parts 20 and 16). One skilled in the art would recognize that incorporating Guillemette’s outwardly extending rim into Aboagye’s receptacle would improve stability and ease of attachment to a platform. This is an obvious and common design practice in fluid collection systems, making the modification an expected enhancement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye with Guillemette to have a radially extending rim from the body of the urine hat so that it could couple with the platform. This has the benefit of securely attaching the urine hat to the platform, preventing displacement and ensuring reliable fluid collection with a method that improves usability by allowing for easy installation and removal while maintaining a stable and functional urine collection system.
Claims 9, 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye, and in view of Weight Module Measuring Equipment et al. (Weight Module Measuring Equipment, Hopper Weighing Module, www.web.archive.org/web/20210422161926/http://modul-ves.ru/catalog/bunkernye-vesy/vesovoy-modul-dlya-bunkera/, 4-22-2021, translated via Google Translate, accessed 9/10/2025), hereto referred as WMME, and in view of Hall et al. (US 20150342576 A1), hereto referred as Hall, and in view of Bressler et al. (US 5146637 A), hereto referred as Bressler and in view of Wu et al. (CN-205306875-U), hereto referred as Wu, and in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 20220079487 A1), hereto referred as Horiguchi, and further in view of Holt et al. (US 20190069830 A1), hereto referred as Holt.
The modified Aboagye teaches claims 1 and 15 as described above.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the operations further include calibrating the one or more sensors. Aboagye teaches waiting for the sensor to approximate zero, but does not expressly teach recalibrating the system to account for changes in load conditions or external factors (Aboagye, ¶[0076]). Holt, who investigates a urine weighing apparatus, describes a calibration step through a "Tare function" that resets the baseline sensor reading before and during measurement (Holt, ¶[0021]). This feature allows correction for vessel weight changes and ensures that only urine volume is measured. The reference further integrates this function into a "fluid monitoring" algorithm to maintain accuracy during continuous monitoring (Holt, ¶[0021]). One skilled in the art would recognize that integrating a sensor calibration function, such as Holt’s "Tare function," into Aboagye’s system would enhance measurement reliability. Weight-based fluid measurement systems commonly require recalibration to maintain accuracy, making the combination of these references a logical and expected design improvement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Holt to include calibrating the sensor(s). This combination ensures the urine output measuring system maintains accurate readings by compensating for vessel weight changes and ongoing use. Incorporating Holt’s calibration method into Aboagye’s system would prevent inaccuracies due to residual weight or environmental factors, leading to improved clinical reliability and usability.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the operating conditions include one or more of: a coupling status of the urine hat with the platform; a disruption in the collection of urine; the volume of collected urine exceeding a predefined volume; or a status of sensor calibration. Aboagye teaches a fault detection mechanism where the PCB 136 monitors current usage and responds to operational faults, indicating a form of system condition monitoring (Aboagye, ¶[0057]). However, Aboagye does not explicitly disclose the claimed alert conditions. Holt describes an alert system that generates notifications based on weight thresholds and operational conditions (Holt, ¶[0022]-[0023]). Specifically, the system triggers alerts when predefined volume limits are exceeded, or when disruptions in collection occur (Holt, ¶[0022]-[0023]). Additionally, Holt’s algorithm detects 'full vessel' status and, in conjunction with the 'Tare' function, recognizes when a collection vessel has been replaced or emptied, providing a mechanism for detecting and notifying users about urine collection conditions. One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to integrate Holt’s alert mechanisms into Aboagye’s system, which already provides monitoring functionality but lacks explicit alert mechanisms for specific urine collection conditions. Alerts in fluid monitoring systems are a well-established means of ensuring timely intervention when collection disruptions occur, making this combination a predictable and beneficial enhancement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Holt to include the noted operating conditions of a disruption in the collection of urine, the volume of collected urine exceeding a predefined volume, or a status of sensor calibration. This has the benefit of notifying users and external devices when operational thresholds are exceeded or system status changes which improves patient monitoring, ensuring that irregularities in urine collection or system status are promptly addressed for continued accurate measurement.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the system includes one or more alarm conditions configurable by a user of the system. Rather, Aboagye teaches that the system is configurable by the user for defining what form of waste will be collected such that the system can specifically respond (Aboagye, ¶[0067], ¶[0069]) and “if the results from the test apparatus 140 are unusual, the apparatus 100 may be configured to retain—rather than to release—the captured bodily waste… in order to permit further testing” (Aboagye, ¶[0072]) indicating that settings of the device may be altered due to changing conditions, but does not specify an alarm or alarm conditions. Holt, who measures urine load, teaches that “the apparatus may comprise both audible and/or visible (LED or display indicators) to indicate a particular status of the device, an error or a defined alarm situation or possible failure mode, for example low battery” (Holt, ¶[0018]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Holt to have the system include one or more alarm conditions configurable by a user. Aboagye already utilizes a user interface where the user can make selections and change inputs and receive information, adapting this system to include an alarm would be a rather straight forward process for a person of ordinary skill in the art. This would have the benefit of alerting the user to an error or issue that has occurred that may affect the collection or analysis of the waste such as a calibration error or low battery in the system.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach the method of calibrating one or more sensors of the urine output measuring system. Aboagye teaches waiting for the sensor to approximate zero, but does not expressly teach recalibrating the system to account for changes in load conditions or external factors (Aboagye, ¶[0076]). Holt describes a calibration step through a "Tare function" that resets the baseline sensor reading before and during measurement (Holt, ¶[0021]). This feature allows correction for vessel weight changes and ensures that only urine volume is measured. The reference further integrates this function into a "fluid monitoring" algorithm to maintain accuracy during continuous monitoring (Holt, ¶[0021]). One skilled in the art would recognize that integrating a sensor calibration function, such as Holt’s "Tare function," into Aboagye’s system would enhance measurement reliability. Weight-based fluid measurement systems commonly require recalibration to maintain accuracy, making the combination of these references a logical and expected design improvement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye in view of Holt to include calibrating the sensor(s). This combination ensures the urine output measuring system maintains accurate readings by compensating for vessel weight changes and ongoing use. Incorporating Holt’s calibration method into Aboagye’s system would prevent inaccuracies due to residual weight or environmental factors, leading to improved clinical reliability and usability.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye, and in view of Weight Module Measuring Equipment et al. (Weight Module Measuring Equipment, Hopper Weighing Module, www.web.archive.org/web/20210422161926/http://modul-ves.ru/catalog/bunkernye-vesy/vesovoy-modul-dlya-bunkera/, 4-22-2021, translated via Google Translate, accessed 9/10/2025), hereto referred as WMME, and in view of Hall et al. (US 20150342576 A1), hereto referred as Hall, and in view of Bressler et al. (US 5146637 A), hereto referred as Bressler and in view of Wu et al. (CN-205306875-U), hereto referred as Wu, and in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 20220079487 A1), hereto referred as Horiguchi, and www.vcalc.com (“Volumetric Flow Rate”, www.vcalc.com/wiki/Jeff/Volumetric+%28Fluid%29+Flow+Rate, March 8, 2018) as evidence.
The modified Aboagye teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the operations further include: correlating the load value with a first time of day; receiving a second load value from the one or more sensors subsequent the load value; correlating the second load value with a second time of day different from the first time of day. Aboagye teaches that urine measurement data is recorded (Aboagye,¶[0071]), but it does not explicitly teach correlating urine load with specific times. Horiguchi describes a system that records urine weight and volume data along with timestamps, ensuring correlation between the recorded urine load and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0096], ¶[0101], Figs. 7-8). One skilled in the art would recognize the obviousness of integrating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine data with Aboagye’s system as it would provide a logical and expected improvement. Medical monitoring systems commonly track both volume and time of urination to assess trends, making this integration straightforward. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Aboagye to receive and correlate every urine load value with a time of day. This has the benefit of improved tracking and trend analysis capabilities. This would enhance patient care by providing a clearer understanding of urination patterns over time and allowing remote access to relevant health data.
Aboagye does not fully teach that the operations further include: determining a volumetric rate of the collected urine from based on the load value correlated with the first time of day and the second load value correlated with the second time of day. Aboagye teaches that urine measurement data is recorded (Aboagye,¶[0071]), but it does not explicitly teach calculating a volumetric rate based on multiple time-stamped measurements. Horiguchi discloses a system that records urine weight and volume data with timestamps, enabling correlation between urine load and time of day (Horiguchi, ¶[0096], ¶[0101], Figs. 7-8). Based on this data, determining volumetric rate using a standard formula of volume over time would be a routine step for one skilled in the art (www.vcalc.com). Integrating Horiguchi’s timestamped urine data and volumetric rate calculation into Aboagye’s system is logical and obvious. Time-series data analysis for urine output is standard in medical monitoring, making this combination an expected advancement. Furthermore, calculating volumetric rate from urine output over time is a well-established principle in fluid monitoring, readily understood by skilled practitioners. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined Aboagye, Hall, Bressler, and Horiguchi to use the load values correlated with the respective time of day to determine a volumetric rate of the collected urine. This integration enhances patient monitoring by providing more precise fluid balance assessments and improving clinical decision-making based on urine output trends.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboagye et al. (US 20190223844 A1), hereto referred as Aboagye, and in view of Weight Module Measuring Equipment et al. (Weight Module Measuring Equipment, Hopper Weighing Module, www.web.archive.org/web/20210422161926/http://modul-ves.ru/catalog/bunkernye-vesy/vesovoy-modul-dlya-bunkera/, 4-22-2021, translated via Google Translate, accessed 9/10/2025), hereto referred as WMME, and in view of Hall et al. (US 20150342576 A1), hereto referred as Hall, and in view of Bressler et al. (US 5146637 A), hereto referred as Bressler and in view of Wu et al. (CN-205306875-U), hereto referred as Wu, and in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 20220079487 A1), hereto referred as Horiguchi, and further in view of Kasinoff (US-4763739-A), hereto referred as Kasinoff.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Aboagye does not fully teach that the operations further include: detecting the placement of the urine hat on the platform; and transitioning the one or more sensors from a standby mode to an activated mode upon detecting the placement. The modified Aboagye teaches a urine output measuring system including one or more sensors coupled to a support platform for determining a load value exerted by a urine receptacle (e.g., a urine hat) placed on the platform, as shown in claim 1 above. However, it does not explicitly teach detecting the placement of the urine hat on the platform and transitioning the one or more sensors from a standby mode to an activated mode upon detecting the placement.
Kasinoff teaches detecting placement of an object on a load-sensing platform and switching from a lower-power “waiting” state to a normal operating (activated) state in response. Specifically, Kasinoff teaches that the load cell is powered “during waiting periods from a supply which is too low for normal load cell operation but which is high enough for detection of the presence of an object on the scale” and that “When an object is detected the load cell generates a load detection signal which is relayed to a microprocessor. The microprocessor then causes a switching operation which applies a normal operating current flow to the load cell” (Kasinoff, col. 1, ll. 25–39). Kasinoff further explains that the “current supply means is switchable between a first state in which it supplies a normal operating current to the load cell and a second state in which it supplies to the load cell an energy saving current ... high enough for enabling the load cell to detect the presence of an object and generate a load detection signal” (Kasinoff, col. 1, ll. 40–52). Kasinoff therefore teaches detecting the presence/placement of an object on a load cell platform during a lower-power state and transitioning to a normal operating state in response (i.e., standby-to-activated switching). In the context of claim 21, the relevant “object” is the urine hat itself being placed on the platform (i.e., the initial placement event that causes the load cell to detect the presence of the object). This detection corresponds to the load cell detecting a non-zero or threshold load associated with the urine hat being placed on the platform, prior to any subsequent increases in load due to urine collection.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Aboagye in view of Kasinoff to include detecting the placement of the urine hat on the platform and transitioning the one or more sensors, as part of the load-sensing system, from a standby mode to an activated mode upon detecting the placement. This modification was feasible because the modified Aboagye platform already includes weight/load sensing hardware and control electronics for determining a load value exerted on the platform, and Kasinoff teaches powering a load cell in a reduced-power waiting state that is nevertheless “high enough for detection of the presence of an object on the scale” and switching to normal operating current when “an object is detected” via a load detection signal (Kasinoff, col. 1, ll. 25–39). Applying Kasinoff’s technique to the modified Aboagye platform would have predictably enabled the system to remain in standby while the platform is empty and to transition to an activated mode upon detection of the urine hat being placed on the platform (i.e., upon first detection of the hat), prior to any subsequent weight increases due to urine collection. The benefit of the combination would have been reduced power consumption and improved usability by automatically activating the weighing sensors when the urine hat is placed on the platform, while conserving energy when the platform is idle.
Response to Arguments
Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025, page 7, regarding the previous Objections of claims 1 and 15 are persuasive. The previous Objections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025, pages 7-8, regarding the previous 103 Rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, there are new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791