DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 includes compound C-507 which comprises an Ar1 or Ar2 that is a diarylamino substituted with alkyl groups and is not within the scope of claim 1 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al (US 2010/0072887) (Kwong).
In reference to claims 12 and 4-10, Kwong teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an organic layer between an anode and cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a dibenzoselenophene of the formula as shown below for use as a hole transport layer (Kwong [0016]; [0036]; [0045])
for example, wherein R1 is hydrogen, one of Ar is benzene and one of Ar is naphthalene (Kwong [0036]; [0037]).
Kwong discloses the dibenzoselenophene compound that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein R1 is hydrogen, one of Ar is benzene and one of Ar is naphthalene. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kwong are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the dibenzoselenophene compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the dibenzoselenophene compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kwong and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (US 2016/0351820) (Shin) in view of Kwong et al (US 2010/0072887) (Kwong).
In reference to claim 11, Shin teaches a compound of formula (D) as shown below for use in an organic electronic device [0016] [0017])
for example, wherein in the formula (2), X is O or S, each other R is hydrogen, Ar1 is aryl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group (Shin [0055] [0035] to [0041]).
Shin discloses the compound of formula (2) that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula (2), X is O or S, each other R is hydrogen, Ar1 is aryl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Shin are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula (2) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Shin and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Shin does not expressly teach that the heteroaryl group is a dibenzoselephene as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Kwong teaches, in analogous art, organoselenium compounds such as dibenzoselenophene compounds substituted with arylamine groups of the formula as shown below and further teaches that hosts containing dibenzoselenophene are excellent host and enhancement layer materials for OLEDs (Kwong p. 6; [0069] [0070]).
In light of the motivation of using dibenzoselenophene hosts as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the dibenzoselenophene as described by Kwong in order to provide an excellent host material and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103 over Kwong et al, Applicant argues that Kwong discloses a nearly infinte number of possible compounds and does not provide the required motivation or reasonable expectation that a skilled artisan would have selected the specific claimed species or narrow subgenus form the vast universe of disclosed possibilities.
This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing. Initially, Applicant’s genus of formula 1 is also nearly infinite and arguably broader than the formula of Kwong. Furthermore, arriving at a species of the Applicant’s most specific claim, claim 7, requires only selection of aryl groups as benzene and naphthalene and other groups to be selected as hydrogen (e.g. not substituted). In the many examples of Kwong, benzene and naphthalene are frequently selected when an aromatic group is present, they are also among a short list of preferred aromatic groups (Kwong [0037]). Furthermore, most of the examples of dibenzoselenophene groups include hydrogen at many or all of the positions corresponding to R1 of Kwong’s formula. That is, the selections required to arrive at a specifically claimed species are among the most common selections contemplated by Kwong and are from a finite list of preferred groups.
Applicant further argues that the amended claims eliminate the possibility of Ar1 and/or Ar2 being a mono- or di- (C6-C30)arylamino substituted with a (C10C30)alkyl(s). However, the claims were not rejected over a compound with such a group, and this amendment does not overcome the rejection of record.
Concerning the outstanding rejection of claim 11 over Shin in view of Kwong, Applicant does not add any additional arguments but points to previous arguments concerning Kwong. Therefore, those arguments are not convincing for the same reasons discussed herein above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786