DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Many of the materials claimed in claim 7 are not within the scope of the amended claim 1 as they do not include an Ar1 or Ar2 represented by the following formulae:
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (KR 2018/0024306) (Choi) in view of Kwong et al (US 2010/0072887) (Kwong).
In reference to claims 1-10, Choi teaches a compound of formula (D) as shown below for use in an organic electronic device in a hole transport layer (Choi [0016] [0017])
for example, wherein in the formula (D), X is O, R7 is a group of A2, m is 0, each other R# is hydrogen, Ar2 is biphenyl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group including a Se atom (Choi [0046] to [0060]).
Choi discloses the compound of formula (D) that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula (1), X is O, R7 is a group of A2, m is 0, each other R# is hydrogen, Ar2 is biphenyl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group including a Se atom. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Choi are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula (D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula (D) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Choi and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Choi does not expressly teach that the heteroaryl group including a Se atom is a dibenzoselephene as instantly claimed, but teaches e.g. example compound 128 above and that Se atom is an alternative to O for the heteroaryl group. Furthermore, dibenzoselenophene is a well-known Se comprising heteroaryl group for use in such host materials.
With respect to the difference, Kwong teaches, in analogous art, organoselenium compounds such as dibenzoselenophene compounds substituted with arylamine groups of the formula as shown below and further teaches that hosts containing dibenzoselenophene are excellent host and enhancement layer materials for OLEDs (Kwong p. 6; [0069] [0070]).
In light of the motivation of using dibenzoselenophene hosts as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the dibenzoselenophene as described by Kwong in order to provide an excellent host material and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786