DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 allows that X is CR’R’’, a scope outside of claim 1 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al (US 2010/0072887) (Kwong).
In reference to claims 1-10, Kwong teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an organic layer between an anode and cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a dibenzoselenophene of the formula as shown below for use as a hole transport layer (Kwong [0016]; [0036]; [0045])
for example, wherein R1 is hydrogen, one of Ar is benzene and one of Ar is naphthalene (Kwong [0036]; [0037]).
Kwong discloses the dibenzoselenophene compound that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein R1 is hydrogen, one of Ar is benzene and one of Ar is naphthalene. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kwong are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the dibenzoselenophene compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the dibenzoselenophene compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kwong and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (US 2016/0351820) (Shin) in view of Kwong et al (US 2010/0072887) (Kwong).
In reference to claim 11, Shin teaches a compound of formula (D) as shown below for use in an organic electronic device [0016] [0017])
for example, wherein in the formula (2), X is O or S, each other R is hydrogen, Ar1 is aryl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group (Shin [0055] [0035] to [0041]).
Shin discloses the compound of formula (2) that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula (2), X is O or S, each other R is hydrogen, Ar1 is aryl and Ar3 is a heteroaryl group. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Shin are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula (2) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Shin and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Shin does not expressly teach that the heteroaryl group is a dibenzoselephene as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Kwong teaches, in analogous art, organoselenium compounds such as dibenzoselenophene compounds substituted with arylamine groups of the formula as shown below and further teaches that hosts containing dibenzoselenophene are excellent host and enhancement layer materials for OLEDs (Kwong p. 6; [0069] [0070]).
In light of the motivation of using dibenzoselenophene hosts as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the dibenzoselenophene as described by Kwong in order to provide an excellent host material and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786