DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed August 19, 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claims 13 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 20 were withdrawn. Claim 9 has been cancelled. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a method of planning an implant placement in a patient without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “retrieving data at a plurality of positions of a tibia of the patient relative to a femur of the patient, the plurality of positions collectively representative of at least part of a range of motion of a knee of the patient, wherein the data at each of the plurality of positions includes: a medial contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a medial condyle of the femur and a first medial tibial articular surface of the tibia; and a lateral contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a lateral condyle of the femur and a first lateral tibial articular surface of the tibia; analyzing the data collected from the plurality of positions to determine a range of medial contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion and a range of lateral contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion; virtually selecting a virtual tibial implant with a second medial tibial articular surface and a second lateral tibial articular surface; and determining a planned implant position for the virtual tibial implant and a planned implant orientation for the virtual tibial implant by positioning and orienting the virtual tibial implant such that the range of medial contact locations are overlaid within the second medial tibial articular surface and the range of lateral contact locations are overlaid within the second lateral tibial articular surface”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) do not result in an implant/prosthesis as there is no transformation. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 14-16 and 21 are rejected on being dependent to a rejected base claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitson (US 2005/0054917) in view of Cole et al. (US 11,298,246), herein referred to as Cole.
Regarding claim 13, Kitson discloses a method of planning an implant placement in a patient (Abstract) comprising retrieving data (figure 1), analyzing the data collected (figure 1), virtually selecting a virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs, S4) with a second medial tibial articular surface (figures 5(a) and 6(a)) and a second lateral tibial articular surface (figures 5(a) and 6(a)), and determining a planned implant position (figure 1, S5) for the virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs) in a transverse plane (figure 5 and 5(a)) and a planned implant orientation (¶95) for the virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs) in the transverse plane (figure 5 and 5(a)) by positioning and orienting the virtual tibial implant such that a medial contact location is overlaid within the second medial tibial articular surface (figures 5, 5(a), 6(a)) and a lateral contact location is overlaid within the second lateral tibial articular surface (figures 5, 5(a), 6(a)).
Yet, Kitson lacks a detailed description on retrieving data at a plurality of positions of a tibia of the patient relative to a femur of the patient, the plurality of positions collectively representative of at least part of a range of motion of a knee of the patient, wherein the data at each of the plurality of positions includes: a medial contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a medial condyle of the femur and a first medial tibial articular surface of the tibia, and a lateral contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a lateral condyle of the femur and a first lateral tibial articular surface of the tibia, analyzing the data collected from the plurality of positions to determine a range of medial contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion and a range of lateral contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion.
However, Cole teaches retrieving data at a plurality of positions (e.g. range of motion, col. 13, ll. 19-30) of a tibia (element “T”) of the patient relative to a femur (element “F”) of the patient, the plurality of positions collectively representative of at least part of a range of motion of a knee of the patient (col. 13, ll. 19-30), wherein the data at each of the plurality of positions includes a medial contact location (figures 59-61) defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a medial condyle of the femur (element “F”) and a first medial tibial articular surface of the tibia (element “T”), and a lateral contact location (figures 59-61) defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a lateral condyle of the femur (element “F”) and a first lateral tibial articular surface of the tibia (element “T”), analyzing the data collected from the plurality of positions (e.g. range of motion, col. 13, ll. 19-30) to determine a range of medial contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion (col. 13, ll. 19-30) and a range of lateral contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion (col. 13, ll. 19-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kitson’s method with retrieving data at a plurality of positions of a tibia of the patient relative to a femur of the patient, the plurality of positions collectively representative of at least part of a range of motion of a knee of the patient, wherein the data at each of the plurality of positions includes: a medial contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a medial condyle of the femur and a first medial tibial articular surface of the tibia, and a lateral contact location defined by a maximum convergence of a low point on a lateral condyle of the femur and a first lateral tibial articular surface of the tibia, analyzing the data collected from the plurality of positions to determine a range of medial contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion and a range of lateral contact locations based on the at least part of the range of motion as taught by Cole, since such a modification would provide the user with multiple data points for evaluating a human knee joint (Abstract).
Claim(s) 14-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitson and Cole as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Heggendorn et al. (US 9,662,217), herein referred to as Heggendorn.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Kitson’s method discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein the range of lateral contact locations collectively defines a first lengthwise sequence in the transverse plane and the range of medial contact locations collectively defines a second lengthwise sequence in the transverse plane, the first and second lengthwise sequences together defining a pivot point on one of the range of lateral contact locations, the range of medial contact locations and an intercondylar eminence, the implant position being determined in part by the virtual tibial implant being positioned so that an anatomical feature on the virtual tibial implant that corresponds to an anatomical feature at the pivot point is aligned with the anatomical feature at the pivot point.
However, Heggendorn teaches wherein a range of lateral contact locations collectively defines a first lengthwise sequence in a transverse plane (figure 2C) and the range of medial contact locations collectively defines a second lengthwise sequence in a transverse plane (figure 2C), the first and second lengthwise sequences together defining a pivot point (Abstract) on one of the range of lateral contact locations (figure 2C), the range of medial contact locations (figure 2C) and an intercondylar eminence (152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Kitson’s method with wherein the range of lateral contact locations collectively defines a first lengthwise sequence in a transverse plane and the range of medial contact locations collectively defines a second lengthwise sequence in a transverse plane, the first and second lengthwise sequences together defining a pivot point on one of the range of lateral contact locations, the range of medial contact locations and an intercondylar eminence as taught by Heggendorn, since such a modification would obtain information regarding the range of motion of the knee joint.
Thus, the modified Kitson’s method has the implant position being determined in part by the virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs of Kitson) being positioned so that an anatomical feature on the virtual tibial implant that corresponds to an anatomical feature at the pivot point (figure 2C of Heggendorn) is aligned with the anatomical feature at the pivot point (figure 2C of Heggendorn).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Kitson’s method has wherein determining the planned implant position of the virtual tibial implant involves centering a medial sulcus point of a medial articular surface (figure 2C of Heggendorn) of the virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs of Kitson) on the pivot point (figure 2C of Heggendorn), the pivot point being on the range of medial contact locations (figure 2C of Heggendorn).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Kitson’s method has wherein determining the planned implant orientation of the virtual tibial implant involves rotating the virtual tibial implant about the pivot point (figure 2C of Heggendorn) such that the range of lateral contact locations are overlaid within the second lateral tibial articular surface ((figures 5(a) and 6(a) of Kitson) and the range of medial contact locations are overlaid within the second medial tibial articular surface (figures 5(a) and 6(a) of Kitson).
Regarding claim 17, Kitson discloses a method of implanting a total knee prosthesis (Abstract) comprising the method of planning according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above), resecting the tibia (element “T”) to define a resected tibial surface (¶138, ¶139) and placing a tibial implant corresponding to the virtual tibial implant (e.g. template via geometrical constructs) on the resected tibial surface (¶138, ¶139) according to the planned implant position and the planned implant orientation (¶138, ¶139 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Kitson’s method discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein determining the planned implant position and the planned implant orientation in the transverse plane includes modification to account for at least one of an anterior-posterior slope of a planned tibial resection surface or a medial-lateral slope of the planned tibial resection surface.
However, Heggendorn teaches wherein determining a planned implant position (col. 4, ll. 32-33) and a planned implant orientation (col. 4, ll. 32-33) in a transverse plane (figure 3D) includes modification to account for at least one of an anterior-posterior slope of a planned tibial resection surface (figure 3D) or a medial-lateral slope of the planned tibial resection surface (figure 3D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Kitson’s method with wherein determining the planned implant position and the planned implant orientation in the transverse plane includes modification to account for at least one of an anterior-posterior slope of a planned tibial resection surface or a medial-lateral slope of the planned tibial resection surface as taught by Heggendorn, since such planned bone cuts may be made to align implant components (col. 8, ll. 53-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-11 of the Remarks are directed to 35 U.S.C. 101. Applicant argues that amended claim 13 does not recite an abstract idea that falls within the mental process grouping of judicial exceptions. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because with respect to Step 2A Prong One, such steps are considered judgements or evaluations which are mental processes and/or mathematical concepts, i.e. mathematical calculations. Applicant argues with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, that amended claim 13 as a whole amount to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because such steps is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) do not result in an implant/prosthesis as there is no transformation. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, this rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-12, under 35 U.S.C. 103, of the Remarks are directed to the combination of references (Kitson in view of Cole). Applicant argues that “Accordingly, Cole is completely silent as to any use of contact pattern data from a range of motion of the knee to evaluate kinematics.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the reference Cole teaches “After the knee joint J is moved through some or all of its range of motion while collecting the above-noted data, this data may be stored as a basis of reference” (col. 13, ll. 19-30), where it is understood that the femur and tibia are touching (e.g. contact pattern) to be able to have the range of motion take place in order to collect the data.
Next, applicant argues “As shown in FIGs. 5(a) and 6(a) of Kitson, for example, Kitson contemplates tibial and femoral implant planning based on joint lines and resection cut lines in the sagittal and coronal planes, respectively”. However, the Examiner notes as generally claimed, Kitson discloses a transverse plane of the condyles shown in figure 5. Thus, applicant is suggested to provide additional information with respect to the transverse plane.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (e.g. Heggendorn), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775