DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action that was mailed on 14 July 2025, claim 1 was amended, and claims 1, 4-5 and 10-16 remain in the application, which are being further examined in this Office Action with full consideration of applicant remarks.
New in this Office Action are 102 and 103 rejections necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rich et al (CA 2792948 A1). This prior art reference cited as Rich in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Rich discloses a solid-state battery (“a battery” [0061]) comprising:
a solid-state battery laminate (800 Fig. 8; “an electrode stack assembly 800” [0090]) having a positive electrode layer (“electrode assembly 800a comprises a first current collector plate 802, a first active material layer 804, an insulative layer 806, a second active material layer 808 and a second current collector layer 810” [0090]), a negative electrode layer (“The second electrode assembly 800b comprises a third current collector plate 812 and a third active material layer 814, an insulative layer 816, a fourth active material layer 818 and a fourth current collector layer 820” [0090]), and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (either of 806 and 816 shown in Fig. 8; “an insulative layer” [0090]);
a positive electrode external terminal (822 Fig. 8; “a first tab element 822 having a first end lead portion 824” [0091]) connected to the positive electrode layer (“first end lead portion 824 in electrical contact with the first active material layer 804 and the first current collector layer 802” [0091]); and
a negative electrode external terminal (854 Fig. 8; “third tab element 854 having an end lead portion 856” [0095]) connected to the negative electrode layer (“end lead portion 856 in electrical contact with the third active material layer 814 and the third current collector layer 812” [0095]),
wherein both of the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal are on a same surface of the solid-state battery laminate (“The first tab element 822 also has an extended lead portion 826, which is a side lead portion that is substantially flush to a side facet of the electrode assemblies 800a and 800b.” [0091] and “The third tab element 854 also has an extended lead portion 858, which is a side lead portion that is substantially flush to a side facet of the electrode assembly 800b.” [0095] where Fig. 8 shows that extended lead portions 826 and 858 extends on the same side face of electrode assemblies 800a and 800b),
the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal extend in a same direction on the same surface (Fig. 8 shows that extended lead portions 826 and 858 of tab elements 822 and 854 extend parallel to each other),
the positive electrode layer has a positive electrode narrowed portion in which a positive electrode active material region is narrowed toward the same surface (the left side portion of active material layer 404 that is adjacent to 412c shown in Figs. 4B-4C is a narrowed portion in which the battery shown in Fig. 8 has a corresponding left side portion in first active material layer 804 that is narrow on the left side of 828), and the positive electrode narrowed portion is connected to the positive electrode external terminal (“first end lead portion 824 in electrical contact with the first active material layer 804” [0091]), and
the negative electrode layer has a negative electrode narrowed portion in which a negative electrode active material region is narrowed toward the same surface (the right side portion of active material layer 408 that is adjacent to 414d shown in Figs. 4B-4C is a narrowed portion in which the battery shown in Fig. 8 has a corresponding right side portion in third active material layer 814 that is narrow on the right side of 856), and the negative electrode narrowed portion is connected to the negative electrode external terminal (“end lead portion 856 in electrical contact with the third active material layer 814” [0095]).
Regarding claim 4, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the positive electrode active material region extends to a plan-view contour of the solid-state battery laminate in at least one side other than a side on which the positive electrode narrowed portion is positioned among sides forming the plan-view contour (Fig. 8 shows that first and second active material layers 804 and 808 extends to a plan-view that has all sides positioned at the outer edges of the solid-state battery 800).
Regarding claim 5, Rich discloses the solid state battery with all the features set forth in claim 4 above, and wherein the negative electrode active material region extends to a plan-view contour of the solid-state battery laminate in at least one side other than a side on which the negative electrode narrowed portion is positioned among sides forming the plan-view contour (Fig. 8 shows that third and fourth active material layers 804 and 808 extends to a plan-view that has all sides positioned at the outer edges of the solid-state battery 800).
Regarding claim 10, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the negative electrode active material region extends to the plan-view contour in all sides other than a side on which the negative electrode narrowed portion is positioned (Fig. 8 shows that third and fourth active material layers 804 and 808 extends to a plan-view that has all sides positioned at the outer edges of the solid-state battery 800 with portions of the side that comprises of the narrow portion extending to the outer edge of the same surface).
Regarding claim 11, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate other than the same surface are not constrained by external terminals of the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal (Fig. 8 shows that there are no elements that constrain all other sides of the battery 800 than the same surface of the battery, which is constrained by tab elements 822, 838, and 854).
Regarding claim 12, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the solid-state battery laminate has a rectangular parallelepiped shape as a whole, and the same surface corresponds to a side surface of the rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 8 shows that battery 800 is a four-sided plane rectilinear figure with opposite sides parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 13, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein each of the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal are positioned only on the same surface and do not extend to surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate other than the same surface (concerning the mapped positive electrode external terminal, “The first tab element 822 also has an extended lead portion 826, which is a side lead portion that is substantially flush to a side facet of the electrode assemblies 800a and 800b. The first tab element 822 has a bend portion 824b that is formed substantially in a right angle to adjoin the first end lead portion 824 and the side lead portion 826.” [0091], and concerning the mapped negative electrode external terminal, “third tab element 854 having an end lead portion 856 in electrical contact with the third active material layer 814 and the third current collector layer 812. The third tab element 854 also has an extended lead portion 858, which is a side lead portion that is substantially flush to a side facet of the electrode assembly 800b. The third tab element 854 has a bend portion 856b that is formed substantially in a right angle to adjoin the end lead portion 856 and the side lead portion 858.” [0095]).
Regarding claim 16, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer are layers capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions (“the anode can be made from graphite and the cathode can be made from lithium cobalt dioxide” [0048] where an anode made of graphite is known in the art to be capable of occluding lithium ions, and a cathode made of lithium cobalt dioxide is known in the art to be capable of releasing lithium ions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich (CA 2792948 A1) in view of Fukushima et al (JP 2013077486 A). The latter prior art reference cited as Fukushima in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 14, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the solid-state battery is a surface-mounted battery, and the same surface corresponds to a mounting-side surface.
However, Fukushima discloses a solid-state battery (“A secondary battery” [0009]) comprising a solid-state laminate (“power generation element 4” [0009]; 4 Fig. 1b) having a positive electrode layer (“in which the positive electrode 1” [0009]), a negative electrode layer (“and the negative electrode 3” [0009]) and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (“the positive electrode 1, the solid electrolyte layer 2 and the negative electrode 3 are stacked in this order” [0009], corresponding element italicized for emphasis); a positive electrode external terminal connected to the positive electrode layer (5P Fig. 1b; “positive electrode terminal 5P 'electrically connected to the external electrode 5P through a through hole conductor provided on the bottom plate is formed on the top surface of the bottom plate, and the metal foil 8P disposed on the positive electrode 1 side of the power generation element 4 And electrically connected” [0029]); and a negative electrode external terminal connected to the negative electrode layer (5N Fig. 1b; “The negative electrode 3 and the external electrode 5N are electrically connected to each other through the wiring conductor 10” [0042]) wherein both of the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal are on a same surface of the solid-state battery laminate (Figs 1b, 2a and 3b show that external terminals 5P and 5N are disposed on the same surface, which is below the bottom surface of housing 6; “As the casing, a pair of external electrodes plated with a nickel layer and a gold layer are disposed on the lower surface of the bottom plate” [0050]).
Fukushima teaches wherein the solid-state battery is a surface-mounted battery (“An object of the present invention is to provide a surface-mountable secondary battery” [0005]), and the same surface corresponds to a mounting-side surface (“The housing 6 for containing the power generation element 4 has a bottom plate and a side wall, and a lower surface of the bottom plate is mainly made of tungsten metal, for example, and a layer of nickel, gold, tin, solder on the surface for soldering to a substrate. External electrodes 5P and 5N are provided.” [0029]). Fukushima further teaches that the solid-state battery produced in this manner was able to achieve consistent low discharge depth of 10% for 500 cycles, which corresponds to good battery cycle characteristics and high reliability ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add that the solid-state battery of Rich is a surface-mounted battery, and that the same surface corresponds to a mounting-side surface, in view of Fukushima, in order to achieve a solid-state battery that exhibits consistent low discharge depth, exceptional battery cycle characteristics, and that is highly reliable.
Regarding claim 15, Rich discloses the solid-state battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the solid-state battery laminate is made of a sintered body.
However, Fukushima discloses a solid-state battery (“A secondary battery” [0009]) comprising a solid-state laminate (“power generation element 4” [0009]; 4 Fig. 1b) having a positive electrode layer (“in which the positive electrode 1” [0009]), a negative electrode layer (“and the negative electrode 3” [0009]) and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (“the positive electrode 1, the solid electrolyte layer 2 and the negative electrode 3 are stacked in this order” [0009], corresponding element italicized for emphasis); a positive electrode external terminal connected to the positive electrode layer (5P Fig. 1b; “positive electrode terminal 5P 'electrically connected to the external electrode 5P through a through hole conductor provided on the bottom plate is formed on the top surface of the bottom plate, and the metal foil 8P disposed on the positive electrode 1 side of the power generation element 4 And electrically connected” [0029]); and a negative electrode external terminal connected to the negative electrode layer (5N Fig. 1b; “The negative electrode 3 and the external electrode 5N are electrically connected to each other through the wiring conductor 10” [0042]) wherein both of the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal are on a same surface of the solid-state battery laminate (Figs 1b, 2a and 3b show that external terminals 5P and 5N are disposed on the same surface, which is below the bottom surface of housing 6; “As the casing, a pair of external electrodes plated with a nickel layer and a gold layer are disposed on the lower surface of the bottom plate” [0050]).
Fukushima teaches wherein the solid-state battery laminate is made of a sintered body (“a sintered body is used as the positive electrode 1 and the negative electrode 3” [0036], “metal foil 8P or 8N is bonded to one of the main surfaces of the sintered electrode thus produced using the conductive adhesive 9 to produce the positive electrode 1 and the negative electrode 3 with the metal foil” [0039], and “the power generation element 4 with metal foil is produced by thermocompression bonding” [0040]). Fukushima further teaches the solid-state laminate produced has high strength that can withstand mechanical processing such as cutting, improving the manufacturing process of the solid-state battery ([0041]) by enabling the solid-state laminate to be cut into a predetermined size to be housed in a housing so that it is in contact and electrically connected with the external terminals exposed on the same side surface of the solid-state battery ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add that the solid-state battery laminate of the solid-state battery of Rich is made of a sintered body, in view of Fukushima, in order to achieve a solid-state battery laminate that has high strength and can withstand mechanical processing such as cutting, which improves the manufacturing process of the solid-state battery by enabling the solid-state laminate to be cut into a predetermined size to be housed in a housing so that it is in contact and electrically connected with the external terminals exposed on the same side surface of the solid-state battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721