DETAILED ACTION
In light of the claim amendment filed on 03/17/2025, the previous rejections in the Non-final Rejected dated 12/20/2024 are withdrawn. The amendment, however, necessitates the following new rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe et al. (J Am Acad Dermatol. 2002, Vol. 47, No. 6, pp. 834-840) in view of Singh et al. (Toxicon 1996, Vol. 34, No. 2, pp. 267-275) and Aoki (US20040126397A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lowe teaches intramuscularly injecting 6, 12, or 18 units (“therapeutically effective amount”) of BTX-A (botulinum toxin A) into the orbicularis oculi muscle of humans for the treatment of crow’s feet (Title and Abstract). Lowe teaches that few and mild adverse events were seen (Abstract Results), so the injection is a non-lethal amount. Lowe’s treatment comprises a first and second treatment 16 months apart (Abstract Methods). 16 weeks corresponds to a point in time when the efficacy has already declined (Figure 4b). Lowe’s patients are 46-49 years old (Table 2).
Lowe’s BTX-A is BOTOX (page 835, left column, Study Medication), which contains the neurotoxic component of botulinum toxin in complex with other proteins, so Lowe does not teach that the neurotoxic component is devoid of other protein components of the toxin complex.
Singh teaches that the neurotoxin complex has a greater immunogenicity than the neurotoxic component (Abstract).
Aoki teaches the preparation and administration of a botulinum A neurotoxin component substantially free (“devoid”) of other proteins ([0012] and Aoki claims 1-2). Aoki defines “substantially free” as less than 10% complex proteins ([0032]), which is a range that encompasses 0%. Aoki administers the neurotoxin component to treat strabismus, which is an eye muscle condition.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lowe by replacing the botulinum toxin complex with Aoki’s neurotoxic component substantially free of other proteins in order to decrease the immunogenicity of the composition and consequently any adverse effects experienced by the patient in immunogenic reaction to the botulinum toxin A composition. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in replacing BTX-A with Aoki’s composition comprising only the neurotoxin component of botulinum toxin A (devoid of any other protein component of the Clostridium botulinum toxin complex), given that Aoki also administers the toxin into facial muscles near the eye. It would have been further obvious to decrease the time interval between the first and second botulinum injections in order to maintain the improvement in crow’s eye condition.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe et al. (J Am Acad Dermatol. 2002, Vol. 47, No. 6, pp. 834-840) in view of Singh et al. (Toxicon 1996, Vol. 34, No. 2, pp. 267-275) and Aoki (US20040126397A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carruthers et al. (US6358917).
Regarding claim 3, Lowe, Singh and Aoki do not teach that the muscle injected is the orbicularis oris muscle (circular muscle located around the mouth) or the depressor anguli oris.
Carruthers teaches injecting botulinum toxin into the depressor anguli oris and/or orbicularis oris muscle to treat age-related wrinkles (Abstract, column 1, lines 11-16 and column 4 lines 9-10).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add additional injection sites, the orbicularis oris and/or depressor anguli oris, as suggested by Carruthers in order to further improve the aesthetics of the aging patient. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding an additional injection to the orbicularis oris and/or depressor anguli oris muscles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. §102 and under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOUISE HUMPHREY
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1657