DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse in the response filed on August 26, 2025 is acknowledged. However, due to the claim amendments filed with the election, the previous restriction requirement of June 27, 2025 has been withdrawn and all pending claims, claims 1-14, 16 and 20-24, have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 06/07/2022. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11,934,033) in further view of Chang et al., (hereafter Chang) (US 2020/0099832 A1)
With respect to Claim 1, Lee teaches an imaging device, comprising: a focusing device (Figure 2; the first lens driving unit is a lens driving unit for auto-focusing function, column 7, lines 14-17) that includes an optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) is having one or more optical lens (first lens driving unit implies a lens, but not shown; see Figure 2; see also column 7, lines 18-22) configured to collect an image (image sensor output is a picture, column 6, lines 44-45) located at a distance of the focusing device (Figure 2) and transfers the image (image sensor output is a picture, column 6, lines 44-45) to an image sensor (column 12, lines 21-23) in the focusing device (Figure 2); the focusing device (Figure 2) being configured to be orientable (reciprocatively movable in an optical axis direction, column 7, lines 25-28) about an axis (optical axis, see column 5, lines 13-15) in one or more positions (reciprocatively movable indicates one or more positions, column 7, lines 25-28), wherein when the focusing device (Figure 2) is in one position (first position as part of the bidirectional movement, column 8, lines 12-14), the optical axis (optical axis, see column 5, lines 13-15) of the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) in the focusing device (Figure 2), wherein when the focusing device (Figure 2) is rotatable about the axis in another position (another position as part of the bidirectional movement, column 8, lines 12-14), the optical axis (optical axis, see column 5, lines 13-15), a plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) located exterior to the focusing device (Figure 2); at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3) placed around the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2); the plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) and the at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3) create a magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40), which causes a rotation of the focusing device (Figure 2); when the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) causes the rotation of the focusing device (Figure 2) at the axis.
Lee fails to teach a reading field and an extended reading field; wherein the reading field, to collect an image located at a distance at a reading field, having the optical assembly perpendicular to the reading field, the optical axis moving and creating an extended reading field, when the optical axis of the optical assembly in the focusing device, the optical assembly achieves a fixed focus; wherein the extended reading field is one or more adjacent areas to the reading field, and the rotation of the focusing device yields the extended reading field and the focusing device achieves an orientable focus in the one or more adjacent areas to the reading field.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]) and an extended reading field (extended field of view, ¶[0223]).
Chang teaches a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18) and an extended reading field (extended field of view, ¶[0223]); wherein the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]), to collect an image (inherent of an optical image capturing module) located at a distance (see annotated Figure 18) at a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]), having the optical assembly (230 and 240, Figure 18) perpendicular to the reading field (see annotated Figure 18), the optical axis (see annotated Figure 18) moving and creating an extended reading field (see annotated Figure 18); when the optical axis (see annotated Figure 18) of the optical assembly (230 and 240, Figure 18) in the focusing device (10, Figure 18), the optical assembly (230 and 240, Figure 18) achieves a fixed focus (230 is a fixed focus lens assembly, Figure 18); wherein the extended reading field is one or more adjacent areas to the reading field (see annotated Figure 18), and the rotation of the focusing device (Figure 18) yields the extended reading field (rotating the optical imaging device extends the reading field) and the focusing device (10, Figure 18) achieves an orientable focus (240 is an autofocus assembly, Figure 18) in the one or more adjacent areas to the reading field (see annotated Figure 18). Examiner notes a reading field is another name for field of view, which is common with imaging devices (the field of view is the area that can be imaged by the imaging device, well-known in the art).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having the reading field, to collect an image located at a distance at a reading field, having the optical assembly perpendicular to the reading field, the optical axis moving and creating an extended reading field, wherein the extended reading field is one or more adjacent areas to the reading field, and the rotation of the focusing device yields the extended reading field and the focusing device achieves an orientable focus in the one or more adjacent areas to the reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 2, Lee teaches the imaging device of claim 1.
Lee fails to teach wherein the extended reading field is planar.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches wherein the extended reading field (extended field of view, ¶[0223]) is planar.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having the extended reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 3, Lee further teaches wherein the at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3) have opposite polarities (41a and 41b, Figure 3, have different polarities, column 9, lines 36-38).
With respect to Claim 5, Lee further teaches wherein the plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) are four electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) that are placed in a fixed position in a housing (60, Figure 2) that includes the imaging device.
With respect to Claim 6, Lee further teaches wherein magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) includes a magnetic attraction (column 8, lines 35-40) or a magnetic repulsion (column 8, lines 35-40).
With respect to Claim 7, Lee further teaches wherein the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) is an electro-mechanical autofocus lens system.
With respect to Claim 8, Lee teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) is a lens system.
Lee fails to teach wherein the optical assembly is a fixed focus lens system that has a depth of focus and can capture in-focus images in the reading field and the extended reading field.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches wherein the optical assembly (Figure 18) is a fixed focus lens system (230, is a fixed focus lens assembly, Figure 18; see also ¶[0196]) that has a depth of focus and can capture in-focus images (inherent of a fixed focus lens assembly) in the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]) and an extended reading field (extended field of view, ¶[0223]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having a fixed focus lens system that has a depth of focus and can capture in-focus images in the reading field and the extended reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 9, Lee teaches a method for creating an imaging device, the method comprising: configuring a focusing device (Figure 2) in the imaging device with an optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2), further comprising, capturing through the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2), an image (image sensor output is a picture, column 6, lines 44-45) located at a distance of the focusing device (Figure 2); locating a plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) in proximity to the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2); placing at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3) around the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2), wherein the at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3) have opposite polarities (41a and 41b, Figure 3, have different polarities, column 9, lines 36-38); and creating a magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) between the plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) and the at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3), wherein creating the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) causes a rotation of the focusing device (Figure 2) at the axis (optical axis, see column 5, lines 13-15).
Lee fails to teach an imaging device with an orientable focus for extension of a reading field, the method comprising: configuring a focusing device in the imaging device with an optical assembly, further comprising capturing, through the optical assembly, an image located at a distance at a reading field of the focusing device; orienting the optical assembly to extend the reading field, which is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical assembly, wherein extending the reading field of the focusing device comprises rotating the focusing device about an axis; orienting a line of sight of the focusing device perpendicular to the reading field to achieve a fixed focus; and wherein rotating the focusing device yields an extension of the reading field and achieves an orientable focus in the extended areas beyond the reading field.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches an imaging device (Figure 32; see also ¶[0325]) with an orientable focus for extension of a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18), further comprising capturing, through the optical assembly, an image (inherent of an optical image capturing module) located at a distance (see annotated Figure 18) at a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18) of the focusing device (10, Figure 18); orienting the optical assembly (230 and 240, Figure 18) to extend (rotating the optical imaging device extends the reading field) the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18), which is perpendicular to an optical axis (see also annotated Figure 18) of the optical assembly (230 and 240, Figure 18), wherein extending the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18) of the focusing device (10, Figure 18) comprises rotating the focusing device (10, Figure 18) about an axis (see annotated Figure 18); orienting a line of sight of the focusing device (Figure 18) perpendicular to the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18) to achieve a fixed focus (230 is a fixed focus lens assembly, Figure 18); and wherein rotating the focusing device (10, Figure 18) yields an extension of the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18) and achieves an orientable focus (240 is an autofocus assembly, Figure 18) in the extended areas beyond the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18). Examiner notes a reading field is another name for field of view, which is common with imaging devices (the field of view is the area that can be imaged by the imaging device, well-known in the art).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having the reading field, which is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical assembly, wherein extending the reading field of the focusing device comprises rotating the focusing device about an axis; and wherein rotating the focusing device yields an extension of the reading field and achieves an orientable focus in the extended areas beyond the reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 10, Lee further teaches wherein connecting the plurality of electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2) to the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) comprises connecting four electromagnets (plurality of 41, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 11, Lee further teaches wherein creating a magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) comprises creating a magnetic attraction (column 8, lines 35-40) or a magnetic repulsion (column 8, lines 35-40).
With respect to Claim 21, Lee teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein: when the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) is balanced, causing a first pair of electromagnets (41, see annotated Figure 2) and a second pair of electromagnets (41, see annotated Figure 2) to be equidistant (formed in an asymmetric magnetization structure, column 9, lines 24-26) to achieve a fixed autofocus (column 10, lines45-47); and when the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) changes, causing the focusing device (Figure 2) to move and rotate about the axis (column 11, lines 7-10).
Lee fails to teach a reading field; a fixed autofocus on the reading field.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]); magnets to achieve a fixed autofocus (230 is a fixed focus lens assembly, Figure 18) on the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18); a fixed autofocus (240 is an autofocus lens assembly, Figure 18) on the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having the reading field and a fixed autofocus on the reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 22, the method of claim 9, wherein rotating the focusing device (Figure 2) includes: when the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) is balanced, causing a first pair of electromagnets (one pair of 41, Figure 2) and a second pair of electromagnets (second pair of 41, Figure 2) to be equidistant (see Figure 2); and when the magnetic levitation (column 8, lines 35-40) changes, causing the focusing device (Figure 2) to move and rotate about the axis (column 11, lines 7-10)..
Lee fails to teach a reading field and an extended reading field; a fixed autofocus on the reading field.
Lee teaches a lens driving device and Chang teaches an optical imaging module in which the lens driving device could be used in.
Chang teaches a reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]) and an extended reading field (extended field of view, ¶[0223]); a fixed autofocus (230 is a fixed focus lens assembly, Figure 18) on the reading field (field of view, ¶[0223]; see also annotated Figure 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee having the imaging device with the teachings of Chang having a reading field and an extended reading field; a fixed autofocus on the reading field, for the purpose of improving aberrations, ¶[0223].
With respect to Claim 23, Lee further teaches wherein the optical assembly includes one or more lens (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 24, Lee further teaches wherein the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2) includes a liquid lens assembly (liquid lens actuator, column 10, lines 41-45).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11,934,033) in view of Chang (US 2020/0099832 A1), as applied to Claim 3, above, and in further view of Lim et al., (hereafter Lim) (US 2010/0086294 A1)
With respect to Claim 4, Lee in view of Chang teach the imaging device of claim 3, at least two magnets (41a-41d, Figure 3, of Lee) are placed radially around the optical assembly (20, 30 and 40, Figure 2, of Lee).
Lee in view of Chang fail to teach ring magnets.
Lee in view of Chang teach the imaging device and Lim teaches a lens actuator that can be used in the imaging device.
Lim teach ring magnets (ring-shaped permanent magnet, 37, Figure 1; see also ¶[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lee in view of Chang having the imaging device with the teachings of Lim having ring magnets for the purpose of uniform magnetic field distribution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 12, the prior art does not teach or suggest “a ring spacer is-located between the at least two ring magnets, and wherein the pair of ring magnets and the ring spacer form a first cylindrical shape, wherein the at least two ring magnets are attached to an exterior of a cylindrical-shaped guide, wherein the pair of ring magnets and the ring spacer are adjacent to the cylindrical-shaped at least one motion coil b-located adjacent to an interior of the cylindrical-shaped guide, wherein the at least motion coil is in a second cylindrical shape; at least one sliding bushing adjacent to the at least one motion coil and located adjacent to the interior of the cylindrical-shaped guide; the at least one motion coil is attached to a cylindrical support that is located to the interior of the at least one motion coil, wherein the cylindrical support is also located to the interior of the at least one sliding bushing and includes the one or more optical lens; the at least one sliding bushing is attached to one end of one or more conductive springs, and the other end of the one or more conductive springs is attached to the focusing device in proximity to the image sensor, wherein the at least one sliding bushing and the at least one motion coil move in a direction along the interior of the cylindrical-shaped guide when the at least one motion coil receives an electric current that passes through the one or more conductive springs; when the at least one sliding bushing and the at least one motion coil move, the cylindrical support including the one or more optical lens also moves, wherein the at least one sliding bushing, the at least one motion coil, and the cylindrical support with the one or more optical lens move together as a unit, and wherein an amount of movement of the unit results in a focus of the reading field when captured at the image sensor.”
With respect to claims 13, 14, and 16, these claims depend on claim 12 and are allowable at least for the reasons stated supra.
With respect to Claim 20, the prior art does not teach or suggest “wherein: the at least two magnets placed around the optical assembly include two pair of cylindrical magnets that are axially magnetized and are located radially around a cylindrical apparatus; the interior of the cylindrical apparatus includes a liquid lens system including the one or more optical lens; a magnetic field crosses the two pair of cylindrical magnets in a direction orthogonal to the axis of the cylindrical apparatus; the plurality of electromagnets re located at an exterior of the cylindrical apparatus and are also located in proximity to the two pair of cylindrical magnets such that magnetic levitation occurs between the electromagnets and the two pair of cylindrical magnets, wherein each of a first pair of electromagnets is located on the side of the first pair of cylindrical magnets and each of a second pair of electromagnets is located on the side of the second pair of cylindrical magnets.”
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872