Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 10-11) that the limitation “selecting … one or more attribute values …” cannot be a mental process because the process for selecting the combinations operates on high dimensional datasets where the number of possible combinations can be as high as 37,195,200 combinations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the number of possible combinations may be a high number, the number of attribute values may not necessarily be that high. In FIG. 5, 330 shows a table of gender, educational background, and some Y’ category. While the number of attribute values is only 2 for each category, the number of possible combinations is 2^3=8, which is exponentially higher. Therefore, the selection of the attribute values is not necessarily extremely high in dimensions.
Applicant argues (pg. 11-12) that since Examiner acknowledged in the previous office action that there “appear[ed] to be an improvement in the technology, as disclosed in the Specification”, that simply following the Examiner’s suggestion of “amending the claim to better reflect this improvement” is sufficient for overcoming Step 2A, Prong Two.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Revisiting the previous office action, Examiner was responding to Applicant’s argument regarding the improvement in technology. However, Examiner should have given detail beyond to simply responding to Applicant’s arguments regarding Step 2A, Prong Two: in particular, the claims, as a whole, does not reflect this improvement because of the additional element of “training a machine learning model by using data group including …”. This is because the limitation of training the neural network treats the neural network as a black box that takes in data and outputs inferring data, without providing the details. Therefore, to more specifically give advice, Examiner suggests providing technical details about the neural network (such as the parameters, weights, hyperparameters, layers, etc.).
Applicant argues (pg. 13) that regarding Step 2B, the specific selection criteria based on appearing frequency to increase the ratio of valid records is not a “well-understood, routine, conventional” (WURC) activity in the field.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Perhaps there is a typo regarding the limitation to focus on, as the selection based on appearing frequency was argued as a mental process by the Examiner (see rejection below). However, “transmitting a request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data to a provider of the data group” was the limitation that was indeed argued as WURC by the Examiner (see rejection below).
The foregoing applies to all independent claims and their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 16-19) in claim 1 that the cited references do not teach the newly amended limitations that further clarify “the selecting selects the one or more attribute values to increase a ratio of valid records that correspond to the records of the actual data existing in the data group in the generated second data”
Examiner agrees. Accordingly, a new reference, Yang et al. (US20190188588A1) has been added to the rejection, as further detailed below.
The foregoing applies to all independent claims and their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-6 are method claims. Claims 7-18 are machine/system/product claims. Therefore, claims 1-18 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
With respect to claim 1:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
…
…
generating or obtaining first information being related to a plurality of attribute values defined for respective plurality of attribute items included in the data group; (mental process – a person can manually generate or obtain first information being related to a plurality of attribute values defined for respective plurality of attribute items included in the data group with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
selecting, based on an appearing frequency of each of the attribute values in the data group and the first information, one or more attribute values included in the plurality of attribute values defined for each of the plurality of attribute items, the number of or more attribute values selected for a first attribute item among the plurality of attribute items is less than the number of attribute values defined for the first attribute item in the first information; (mental process – a person can manually select attribute values based on an appearing frequency of each of the attribute values with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
generating second data having one of the one or more attribute values selected for each of the plurality of attribute items as an element for each of the plurality of attribute items; (mental process – a person can manually generate data having one of the one or more attribute values selected for each of the plurality of attribute items as an item value for each of the plurality of attribute items with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
generating inferring data including the generated second data and an inference result, the inference result being obtained … (mental process – a person can manually generate inferring data including the generated data and an inference result with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
…
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values to increase a ratio of valid records that correspond to the records of the actual data existing in the data group in the generated second data. (mental process – a person can recognize that the selecting selects the one or more attribute values to increase a ratio of valid records that correspond to the records of the actual data existing in the data group in the generated second data.)
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
A computer-implemented control method comprising: (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component – computer applies exception.)
training a machine learning model by using data group including one or more first data representing records of actual data, each of the first data including one or more attribute items, each of the attribute items including one or more elements, each of the elements being an attribute value defined for the corresponding attribute item, the one or more first data including anonymized data obtained by removing one or more attribute values of at least one attribute item for anonymization; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: High level recitation of training a machine learning model by using data group including one or more first data.);
…
…
…
… by inputting the generated second data to the machine learning model trained with the data group; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: High level recitation of inputting the generated data to a trained model.);
and transmitting a request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data to a provider of the data group. (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A computer-implemented control method comprising: (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component – computer applies exception.)
training a machine learning model by using data group including one or more first data representing records of actual data, each of the first data including one or more attribute items, each of the attribute items including one or more elements, each of the elements being an attribute value defined for the corresponding attribute item, the one or more first data including anonymized data obtained by removing one or more attribute values of at least one attribute item for anonymization; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: High level recitation of training a machine learning model by using data group including one or more first data.);
…
…
…
… by inputting the generated data to a trained model; (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: High level recitation of inputting the generated data to a trained model.);
and transmitting a request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data to a provider of the data group. (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim – the request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data is merely transmitted to a provider of the data group). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed distribute step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.)
With respect to claim 2:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
…
the second information being related to a plurality of attribute values defined for each of a plurality of attribute items included in evaluation data group used for the evaluation of the inference accuracy of the inferring data, (mental process – a person can recognize that the second information is related to a plurality of attribute values defined for each of a plurality of attribute items included in evaluation data group used for the evaluation of the inference accuracy of the inferring data.)
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values based on a result of comparing the first information with the second information and the appearing frequency. (mental process – a person can manually select attribute values based on a result of comparing the first information with the second information and the appearing frequency with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining first information and second information, (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
…
…
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The computer-readable control method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating or obtaining second information, (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim – the second information are merely received). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed distribute step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.)
…
…
With respect to claim 3:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 2, further comprising: specifying an attribute item having a number of attribute values being common to the first information and the second information and being larger than a threshold; (mental process – a person can recognize that an attribute item has a number of attribute values being common to the first information and the second information and being larger than a threshold.)
and determining a number less than the number of attribute values as a selection number of attribute values being selected from the plurality of attribute values defined for the specified attribute item, (mental process – a person can manually determine a number less than the number of attribute values as a selection number of attribute values being selected from the plurality of attribute values defined for the specified attribute item with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
wherein the selecting selects, based on an appearing frequency of the specified attribute item in the data group, the one or more attribute values according to the selection number from the plurality of attribute values defined in the specified attribute item. (mental process – a person can manually select, based on an appearing frequency of the specified attribute item in the data group, the one or more attribute values according to the selection number from the plurality of attribute values defined in the specified attribute item with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
With respect to claim 4:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values among the plurality of the attribute values in a descending order of appearing frequency of each of the plurality of attribute values in the data group. (mental process – a person can manually select the one or more attribute values among the plurality of the attribute values in a descending order of appearing frequency of each of the plurality of attribute values in the data group with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
With respect to claim 5:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values each having an appearing frequency equal to or more than a given frequency in the data group among the plurality of attribute values of each of the plurality of attribute items. (mental process – a person can manually select the one or more attribute values each having an appearing frequency equal to or more than a given frequency in the data group among the plurality of attribute values of each of the plurality of attribute items with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
With respect to claim 6:
Step 2A – Prong 1:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1, wherein the generating of the data generates the data including all combinations of an item value of each of the plurality of attribute items; (mental process – a person can manually generate the data including all combinations of an item value of each of the plurality of attribute items with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
and the generating of the second data generates the second data including each of the combinations included in the generated data and the inferring data including the inference result obtained … (mental process – a person can manually generate the inferring data including each of the combinations included in the generated data and the inferring data including the inference result with the assistance of a pen/paper.)
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
… by inputting each of the combinations included in the generated second data to the machine learning model. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: High level recitation of inputting each of the combinations included in the generated data to the trained model.);
Claim 7 is substantially similar to claim 1, but has the following additional elements:
With respect to claim 7:
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein a control program for causing a computer to execute a process comprising: (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component – non-transitory computer-readable recording medium and computer apply exception.)
Claims 8-12 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claims 2-6, as they are
substantially similar, respectively. Mutatis mutandis.
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1, but has the following additional elements:
With respect to claim 13:
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
An information processing device comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component – memory and processor apply exception.)
Claims 14-18 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claims 2-6, as they are
substantially similar, respectively. Mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szeto et al. (US20180018590A1) hereinafter known as Szeto in view of Ramamurthy et al. (US20190333155A1) hereinafter known as Ramamurthy in view of Yang et al. (US20190188588A1) hereinafter known as Yang.
Regarding independent claim 1, Szeto teaches:
A computer-implemented control method comprising:
training a machine learning model by using data group including one or more first data representing records of actual data, each of the first data including one or more attribute items, each of the attribute items including one or more elements, each of the elements being an attribute value defined for the corresponding attribute item, the one or more first data including anonymized data obtained by removing one or more attribute values of at least one attribute item for anonymization; (Szeto [¶ 0074]: “Proxy data 260 can be considered synthetic data randomly generated, in some cases deterministically generated, that retains the learnable salient features (i.e., knowledge) of the training data while eliminating the references to real information stored in private data 222.” Szeto teaches that the private data loses the references to real information to become proxy data. This shows that the proxy data is simply private data with missing element/attribute. Private data distributions 250 describe the overall nature of the private data training set. Szeto [¶ 0073]: “For example, private data distributes 250 could include a histogram of patients' ages.” Szeto teaches that the group data can be anonymized by giving the example of patient data having just the attribute of ages, showing that the sensitive information is redacted or removed.)
generating or obtaining first information being related to a plurality of attribute values defined for respective plurality of attribute items included in the data group; (Szeto [¶ 0074]: “Proxy data 260 can be considered synthetic data randomly generated, in some cases deterministically generated, that retains the learnable salient features (i.e., knowledge) of the training data while eliminating the references to real information stored in private data 222.” Szeto teaches that the proxy data is generated and contains attribute values. That is, the private data loses the references to real information to become proxy data, but key attribute values remain.)
selecting, based on an appearing frequency of each of the attribute values in the data group and the first information, one or more attribute values included in the plurality of attribute values defined for each of the plurality of attribute items, the number of or more attribute values selected for a first attribute item among the plurality of attribute items is less than the number of attribute values defined for the first attribute item in the first information; (Szeto [¶ 0101]: “Operation 530 includes generating one or more private data distributions from the local private data training sets where the private data distributions represent the training set in aggregate used to create the trained actual model. Depending on the nature of the data (e.g., continuous, discreet, etc.), the private data distributions will vary in their form or nature. In some cases, the data distributions represent one dimension, possibly represented as a histogram, frequency plot” Szeto teaches creating a data distribution from the private data based on the frequency plot of the data. This shows that for some attribute, the frequency of various values is analyzed and data is selected based on this metric. Szeto explains that in some cases, the data distributions represent one dimension, which is less than the multidimensional data that contains sensitive information. Thus, the dimension that is to be displayed is done so in a histogram or frequency plot.)
generating second data having one of the one or more attribute values selected for each of the plurality of attribute items as an element for each of the plurality of attribute items; (Szeto [¶ 0074]: “Proxy data 260 can be considered synthetic data randomly generated, in some cases deterministically generated, that retains the learnable salient features (i.e., knowledge) of the training data while eliminating the references to real information stored in private data 222.” Szeto teaches that the private data loses the references to real information to become proxy data. This shows that the proxy data is simply private data with missing element/attribute. The attribute value that is selected to retain the learnable salient features are kept in the generation of new data.)
Szeto does not explicitly teach:
generating inferring data including the generated second data and an inference result, the inference result being obtained by inputting the generated second data to the machine learning model trained with the data group;
and transmitting a request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data to a provider of the data group,
However, Ramamurthy teaches:
generating inferring data including the generated second data and an inference result, the inference result being obtained by inputting the generated second data to the machine learning model trained with the data group; (Ramamurthy [¶ 0022]: “The anonymized data may then be utilized to create a data set in which training data may be utilized to generate a learning module, which may be used with the test data to infer the predicted costs.” Ramamurthy teaches that the generated anonymized data can be input as training data to a learning module. This generates inferring data, including the inference result, by predicting the costs.)
and transmitting a request for an evaluation of inference accuracy of the inferring data to a provider of the data group, (Ramamurthy [¶ 0072]: “To generate a performance report, the health insurance cost prediction program 110a, 110b may utilize test data sets with ground truth outputs (i.e., outputs or information provided by direct observation or empirical evidence to confirm the accuracy of the classification of the training data set).” Ramamurthy teaches that a request to generate a performance report involves signaling to the health insurance cost prediction program to use test data to output the inference accuracy of the training data set.)
Szeto and Ramamurthy are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the
references are directed to generating data that has fewer attributes than previous data and generating inferring data using this generated data, respectively. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine generating data that has fewer attributes than previous data as taught in Szeto with using this generated data to further generate inferring data to make an inference as taught in Ramamurthy. Ramamurthy provides this additional functionality. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Szeto to include teachings of Ramamurthy because the combination would allow for inferences to be made on data that has lost attributes for privacy reasons, such as redacting the private information in medical records. This has the potential benefit of being able to make inferences on sensitive data, such as medical data, without comprising the confidentiality of the information.
Szeto and Ramamurthy do not explicitly teach:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values to increase a ratio of valid records that correspond to the records of the actual data existing in the data group in the generated second data.
However, Yang teaches:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values to increase a ratio of valid records that correspond to the records of the actual data existing in the data group in the generated second data. (Yang [¶ 0059]: “the LIME distribution 602 has a lot of generated values below zero, which is unrealistic, because LIME totally ignores the underlying empirical distribution of the feature. In the xLIME distribution 606, however, the feature empirical distribution is considered, so the generated values are all above zero.” Yang teaches that xLIME improves upon LIME, which had a lot of generated values which were unrealistic and therefore invalid. In contrast, xLIME use empirical/actual data, which creates more generated values above zero, making them valid.)
Yang is in the same field as the present invention, since it is directed to generating samples based on targets’ empirical/actual data. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine inferences to be made on data that has lost attributes for privacy reasons as taught in Szeto as modified by Ramamurthy with creating more usable/valid records by considering the empirical/actual distribution as taught in Yang. Yang provides this additional functionality. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Szeto as modified by Ramamurthy to include teachings of Yang because the combination would allow for more of the records to be viable/valid in inference learning. This has the potential benefit of enabling more accurate inferences when considering data with redactions, such as in private medical data.
Claim 7 is substantially similar to claim 1, but has the following additional elements:
Regarding independent claim 7, Szeto and Ramamurthy teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein a control program for causing a computer to execute a process comprising: (Szeto [¶ 0027]: “computing devices comprise one or more processors configured to execute software instructions that are stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer readable storage medium” Szeto teaches a computer that executes instructions on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 1.
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1, but has the following additional elements:
Regarding independent claim 13, Szeto and Ramamurthy teach:
An information processing device comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to (Szeto [¶ 0027]: “computing devices comprise one or more processors configured to execute software instructions that are stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer readable storage medium” Szeto teaches a computer that executes instructions using a processor and memory.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 1.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szeto in view of Ramamurthy in view of Yang in view of Do et al (“Categorical Data Clustering Using the Combinations of Attribute Values”) hereinafter known as Do.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Szeto and Ramamurthy teach:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1,
Ramamurthy teaches:
further comprising: generating or obtaining second information, (Ramamurthy [¶ 0031]: “a processing pipeline that pulls data from a private source database to create a training or testing data set. The retrieved data may be anonymized before moving through a learning module that generates a source learner mode” Ramamurthy teaches obtaining training data, which is the first information, and the testing data, which is the second information.)
the second information being related to a plurality of attribute values defined for each of a plurality of attribute items included in evaluation data group used for the evaluation of the inference accuracy of the inferring data, (Ramamurthy [¶ 0046]: “The created source training or test data set may then be anonymized …. Anonymization (… removal of personally identifiable information from data sets to preserve the anonymity of a person associated with the data) of the created source training or test data set may necessary to comply with data policy regulations” Ramamurthy teaches that the testing data, which is the second data, is related to the attribute values in the data group, as some attributes are removed to anonymize the data. The testing data is used for the evaluation of the inference accuracy.)
Szeto, Ramamurthy, and Yang do not explicitly teach:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values based on a result of comparing the first information with the second information and the appearing frequency.
However, Do teaches:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values based on a result of comparing the first information with the second information and the appearing frequency. (Do [Page 224, Paragraph 2]: “By computing all the combinations of the attribute value set for the tuple, we can cluster not only tuples consisting of the common or similar attribute value set, but also tuples with strongly associated attribute values.” Do teaches that the attribute values in the tuple are compared with each other to check if there is a common or similar attribute value set. Based on this, the tuples are clustered, which show that the selection of the attributes are based on this comparison. Do [Page 230, Paragraph 1]: “The FAVC algorithm calculates all the combinations of attribute values in a tuple, and then groups the tuples using the frequency of these combinations.” Do teaches that the grouping of tuples, which is the selecting of attribute values that make up the tuple, is based on the frequency of the attribute values.)
Do is in the same field as the present invention, since it is directed to selecting attributes based on the comparison of attributes between data and the frequency that the attribute appears. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine making inferences on data that has been privatized as taught in Szeto as modified by Ramamurthy as modified by Yang with making attribute selections on the data based on the frequency of the attributes and the comparison between the combinations of attributes as taught in Do. Do provides this additional functionality. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Szeto as modified by Ramamurthy as modified by Yang to include teachings of Do because the combination would allow for the most important attributes in the privatized data to be selected for inference. This has the potential benefit of speeding up the inference on the privatized data, as the most important attributes are mainly responsible for creating the inference, which can avoid relying on sensitive attributes and instead focus on the attributes that are more heavily weighted.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Szeto, Ramamurthy, and Do teach:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 2,
Do teaches:
further comprising: specifying an attribute item having a number of attribute values being common to the first information and the second information and being larger than a threshold; (Do [Page 224, Paragraph 3]: “The attribute sets which have a high Jaccard coefficient of 0.5 can be {Honda, September, New York} and {Honda, August, Chicago}. As these are very similar, they are grouped in the same cluster” Do teaches that the attribute sets that have a similar score, which is the Jaccard coefficient, that is above a threshold of 0.5 is grouped in the same cluster.)
…
wherein the selecting selects, based on an appearing frequency of the specified attribute item in the data group, the one or more attribute values according to the selection number from the plurality of attribute values defined in the specified attribute item. (Do [Page 230, Paragraph 1]: “The FAVC algorithm calculates all the combinations of attribute values in a tuple, and then groups the tuples using the frequency of these combinations.” Do teaches that the grouping of tuples, which is the selecting of attribute values that make up the tuple, is based on the frequency of the attribute values. Since the number of attribute values is already set by the privatization of data, the clustering is selecting the number of attribute values based on the frequency.)
Szeto teaches:
and determining a number less than the number of attribute values as a selection number of attribute values being selected from the plurality of attribute values defined for the specified attribute item, (Szeto [¶ 0074]: “Proxy data 260 can be considered synthetic data randomly generated, in some cases deterministically generated, that retains the learnable salient features (i.e., knowledge) of the training data while eliminating the references to real information stored in private data 222.” Szeto teaches that the private data loses the references to real information to become proxy data. This shows that the proxy data is simply private data with missing element/attribute. Therefore, the selection number of attributes is less than the original number of attributes.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 2.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Szeto, Ramamurthy, and Do teach:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1,
Do teaches:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values among the plurality of the attribute values in a descending order of appearing frequency of each of the plurality of attribute values in the data group. (Do [Page 224, Figure 2]: Do teaches a figure that shows the FAVC algorithm for clustering based on the frequency of attribute values. Step 2 takes the maximum frequency of the appearance of the attribute values and uses that to cluster. Step 4 shows that Step 2 is repeated until the clusters are stable. Since the maximum is taken every time, the frequencies that are chosen, when enumerated, will be a descending order of appearing frequencies.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 2.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Szeto, Ramamurthy, and Do teach:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1,
Do teaches:
wherein the selecting selects the one or more attribute values each having an appearing frequency equal to or more than a given frequency in the data group among the plurality of attribute values of each of the plurality of attribute items. (Do [Page 224, Figure 2]: Do teaches a figure that shows the FAVC algorithm for clustering based on the frequency of attribute values. Step 2 takes the maximum frequency of the appearance of the attribute values and uses that to cluster. This shows that the clustering, or selecting, is based on attribute values having an appearing frequency that is greater than that of other attributes in the data group.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 2.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Szeto, Ramamurthy, and Do teach:
The computer-implemented control method according to claim 1,
Do teaches:
wherein the generating of the data generates the data including all combinations of an item value of each of the plurality of attribute items; (Do [Page 224, Paragraph 2]: “By computing all the combinations of the attribute value set for the tuple, we can cluster not only tuples consisting of the common or similar attribute value set, but also tuples with strongly associated attribute values.” Do teaches that the all of the possible combinations of the attribute values for the tuple are generated and then clustered. This shows that every configuration of different attribute values is considered.)
and the generating of the inferring data generates the inferring data including each of the combinations included in the generated data and the inferring data including the inference result obtained by inputting each of the combinations included in the generated data to the trained model. (Ramamurthy [¶ 0022]: “The anonymized data may then be utilized to create a data set in which training data may be utilized to generate a learning module, which may be used with the test data to infer the predicted costs.” Ramamurthy teaches that the generated anonymized data can be input as training data to a learning module. This generates inferring data, including the inference result, by predicting the costs. This inferring data includes the different combinations of attribute values, as described above.)
The reasons to combine are substantially similar to those of claim 2.
Claims 8-12 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claims 2-6, as they are
substantially similar, respectively. Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 14-18 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claims 2-6, as they are
substantially similar, respectively. Mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
/Kyu Hyung Han/
Examiner
Art Unit 2123
/ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123