Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application; nonelected Claims 4-15 are withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have addressed every objection previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 12/03/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/11/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2016/0035456 A1, hereinafter Sauro, in view of Mei Qun Seah (Mei Qun Seah et al. Progress of Interfacial Polymerization Techniques for Polyamide Thin Film (Nano)Composite Membrane Fabrication: A Comprehensive Review), hereinafter MQS, further in view of US 2013/0056244 A1, hereinafter Srinivas.
Regarding Claim 1, For the purpose of furthering prosecution and in light of instant disclosure Examiner interprets “self-supporting” in light of instant specification [0022] “By "self-supporting" it is meant that the graphene-polyamide composite has structural integrity without use of a separate support membrane.”
Sauro teaches a composite comprising essentially pure graphene ([0005] “The compositions includes at least one polymer and graphene sheets”), and polyamide ([0017] “polyamides include…aromatic polyamides”; [0022]), wherein the composite is in the form of a self-supporting membrane ([0009] “The composition can be used to form … membranes having desired flow properties and porosities. Such materials could have highly variable and tunable porosities and porosity gradients can be formed”) .
Embodiments of Sauro suggest but do not explicitly teach interfacially-polymerized polyamides formed by aromatic components ([0017] “polyamides include…aromatic polyamides”; [0022] “The polymers, graphene sheets, and additional components, if used, can be formed into the compositions using any suitable means, including …solution/dispersion processing/blending…and similar processes. At least a portion of the graphene sheets ( and/or other components) can be added to monomer or oligomers that are then in-situ polymerized to form the polymers”).
However MQS teaches an interfacially-polymerized polyamide formed by polymerization of an aromatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polycarbonyl compound in the form of a self-supporting membrane (MQS p 7 Table 1- Authors: Cui et al. Support Free IP Conditions: Formation of support-free PA, using 2 wt % MPD and 0.1 wt % TMC. Excess solution was drained after . IP – Interfacial Polymerization, MPD = m- phenylenediamine, TMC = trimesoyl chloride or 1,3,5-benzenetricarbonyl trichloride).
MQS also provides motivation for aromatic polyamines, specifically: “The use of different monomers creates different surface morphologies, where the TFC membrane constructed of MPD–TMC generally exhibits a ridge-and-valley structure… the ridge-and-valley PA layer demonstrates excellent NaCl rejection over the globular PA structure, owing to the high degree of crosslinking that produces dense skin layer”, where the comparative globular PA structure was formed by PIP-TMC, PIP being an non-aromatic polyamine (See MQS p 3 Sec 2).
Sauro is analogous because Sauro is in the field of graphene-polyamide composites.
MQS is analogous because MQS is in the same field of aromatic polyamide synthesis via interfacial polymerization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effectively filed date, to use the interfacial polymerization of MQS Table 1 for the polymerization of the aromatic polyamide of Sauro [0017]. In doing so,“ the ridge-and-valley PA layer demonstrates excellent NaCl rejection … owing to the high degree of crosslinking that produces dense skin layer” (MQS p 2 Sec 2).
While MQS suggests combining the free-standing polyamide layer with another surface, (p 5 Sec 3.1), the combination of Sauro and MQS does not explicitly teach having a graphene side opposite to a polyamide side.
However, embodiments of Srinivas teach a composite (either of at least Figs. 1A, 2A), comprising graphene ([0061] “Additives can include…graphene”; [0063] “Additional examples of additives include those formed of activated carbon, graphene”) and polyamide ([0065] “host material can include …polyamide, polyimide…aromatic polyamide, polyamide-imide…graphene… polymer-carbon composite ( e.g., formed of ketjen black, activated carbon, carbon black, graphene, and other forms of carbon)”), wherein the composite is in the form of a self-supporting membrane ([0064] “A host material can be in the form of a layer, a film, or a sheet serving as a substrate”) having a graphene side opposite to a polyamide side (either of at least Figs. 1A, 2A; [0057] “the additives can be localized within the embedded region, such that a remainder of the host material is substantially devoid of the additives”; [0055] “Specifically, FIG. 1A is a schematic of surface-embedded additives 130 that form a network that is partially exposed and partially buried into a top, embedding surface 134 of a host material 132,”).
Srinivas is analogous because Srinivas is in the same field of graphene-polyamide composites.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effectively filed date, to try the specific localization practices of Srinivas for the modified Sauro composite. Doing so would “allow for variable, controllable vertical additive concentration profile, in accordance with a localization of additives within an embedded region of at least a portion of a host material” (Srinivas [0057]).
Regarding Claim 2, Sauro teaches the composite of claim 1, comprising 10 to 90 weight percent of the graphene ([0083] “The composition can comprise about 1 to about 10
weight percent graphene sheets, based on the total weight of graphene sheets and polymer”) based on the total weight of the composite ([0083] “The composition can comprise about 1 to about 10 weight percent graphene sheets, based on the total weight of graphene sheets and polymer”), which suggests a 10 to 90 weight percent of the polyamide, as the remainder of the total weight, about 99 to about 90 weight percent, would be the polymer weight .
MPEP 2144.05 (III)(A) states “Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effectively filed date, to optimize the weight ratios of graphene and polymer within the prior art conditions taught in Sauro to achieve the expected results of “electronically conductive polymer compositions” (Sauro Title).
Regarding Claim 3, while Sauro does not disclose all limitations within one embodiment, Embodiments of Sauro teach a thickness from 10 to 5000 micrometers ([0078] “the compositions can optionally have a thickness of …50 micrometers to 1 mm, 100 micrometers to 2 mm, 100 micrometers to 1 mm, 100 micrometers to 750 micrometers, 100 micrometers to 500 micrometers, 500 micrometers to 2 mm, or 500 micrometers to 1 mm”).
MPEP 2144.05 (III)(A) states “Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effectively filed date, to optimize the weight ratios of graphene and polymer within the prior art conditions taught in Sauro to achieve the expected results of “electronically conductive polymer compositions” (Sauro Title).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Sauro as applied to the claims above teaches the polyamine compound is m- phenylenediamine and the polycarbonyl compound is 1,3,5-benzenetricarbonyl trichloride (MQS p 7 Table 1- Authors: Cui et al. Support Free IP Conditions: Formation of support-free PA, using 2 wt % MPD and 0.1 wt % TMC. Excess solution was drained after . IP – Interfacial Polymerization, MPD = m- phenylenediamine, TMC = trimesoyl chloride or 1,3,5-benzenetricarbonyl trichloride).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20120241371-A1 teaches membrane having a carbon matrix layer and an active layer of interfacially polymerized polyamide made from TMC and mPDA.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARRIAH ELLINGTON/
Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773