DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 20-26 in the reply filed on 7 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 27-42 were cancelled by Applicant.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “elongated opening extends in at least two directions across the longitudinal axis” (claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 20 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: at line 6 of claim 20, “the interior curved surface” should apparently read --the curved interior surface-- (in line with line 5); and at line 2 of claim 24, “the exterior curved surface” should apparently read --the curved exterior surface-- (in line with line 7 of claim 20). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiegerinck et al. (WO 2006/033569). Regarding claim 20, Wiegerinck et al. (hereinafter Wiegerinck) discloses an apparatus 1 (Fig. 1) comprising: a body 4 extending along a longitudinal axis located at a center of the body (Fig. 1),
the body configured to receive a plunger 2 and to penetrate and extend into a vagina (Abstract and col. 2, lines 22-31), the body including a proximal end and a distal end 8 (col. 7, lines 8-12 and as shown in Fig. 1),
the distal end 8 defining a portion of a cavity (occupied by “space 5”) extending from the proximal end, the cavity at the distal end defined by a curved interior surface of the body (see Fig. 1 and col. 7, lines 8-31),
the body 4 further including a fluid passage 6 extending through the body from the interior curved surface on and along the longitudinal axis to a curved exterior surface of the body at the distal end 8 (see Fig. 1 and col. 7, lines 8-14),
the fluid passage 6 having an elongated opening on the longitudinal axis at the exterior surface and configured to draw seminal fluid into the cavity via the elongated opening and to expel seminal fluid from the cavity via the elongated opening (see Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 8-14 and 26-33; and col. 8, lines 1-10),
the elongated opening having an oval shape, an elliptical shape, an hourglass shape, a rectangular shape (as shown in the cross-section of Fig. 1), or a diamond shape to dispense and diffuse seminal fluid from the apparatus (col. 7, lines 8-14 and 26-33; and col. 8, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 21, the body 4 defines a barrel having the exterior surface (Fig. 1) and the apparatus further comprises a nub (shown in brackets below) extending outward from the barrel at the distal end (as seen in reproduction of Fig. 1 below), and wherein the nub defines the elongated opening and at least a portion of the fluid passage 6 (as seen in reproduction of Fig. 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]
[AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“nub”)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 22, the nub has a substantially semi-spherical shape (as shown by the inserted, U-shape arrow in the reproduction of Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 23, the body and the nub are monolithic (as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 24, the fluid passage 6 is the only fluid passage between the cavity and the exterior curved surface (as element 7 is denoted as a “spray opening” – col. 7, lines 9-11) .
Regarding claim 25, the elongated opening extends in at least two directions (indicated by double-ended arrow below) across the longitudinal axis (as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image2.png])]
[AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegerinck et al. (WO 2006/033569) in view of Baker et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0184341). Regarding claim 26, Wiegerinck teaches that the fluid passage is at least partially cylindrical (see Figs. 1 and 2), however Wiegerinck fails to disclose explicitly that the fluid passage is at least partially non-cylindrical. Baker et al. (hereinafter Baker) disclose a handheld device for aspirating/irrigating an orifice, such as a vagina [0065], wherein the fluid passage for aspirating/sampling fluid is partially non-cylindrical (due to element 70 as shown in Figs. 4 and 5) in order to prevent backflow of the aspirant (as described at [0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a fluid passage for collecting a sample, as taught by Wiegerinck, to be at least partially non-cylindrical, as suggested by Baker, as Wiegerinck recognizes the need to prevent “unpleasant backflow” (col. 3, lines 24-29), and Baker teaches that a partially non-cylindrical fluid passage substantially or completely prevents backflow [0111].
Double Patenting
12. Claims 20-23 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,350,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 is unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of the disclosed patent; and claims 20-23 and 25 are unpatentable over claims 14 and 15 of the disclosed patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent No. 3,343,539.
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791