DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/22/2025. Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-20 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are maintained and reiterated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) further in view of Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1), and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Fujita discloses a battery module (electrical storage module, 1) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) which are stacked on one another so as to form a battery cell stack (2); a pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction), which are respectively in surface contact with two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in a stacking direction (x-direction) in which the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked on one another (Figure 2, [0022]). Fujita further discloses a first cover (cooling plate, 8), which is disposed on the battery cell stack (2) on an upper side in a vertical direction (z-direction) perpendicular to the stacking direction (x-direction) so as to cover one surface of the battery cell stack (2), wherein first ends (end where receiving portions, 26, are formed) of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) extend downward beyond lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) on a lower side of the vertical direction (z-direction) opposite to the upper side (Figure 2, [0022, 0034]). Fujita further discloses that the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked such that respective electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are arranged in a lateral direction (y-direction) perpendicular to both the stacking direction (x-direction) and the vertical direction (z-direction) (Figure 2, [0030]). Fujita further discloses that each of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) includes an inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) which is in surface contact with the battery cell stack (2), and an outer plate (end plate, 4) which is disposed outside the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) so as to cover the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) (Figure 2, [0036]). Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is made of a resin having an insulating property, such as polycarbonate (Figure 2, [0031]). Fujita further discloses that the outer plate (end plate, 4) may be a resin plate (Figure 2, [0036]).
Fujita is silent to the rigidity of the inner plate and the outer plate.
Yamazaki discloses a battery module (10) comprising a battery stack (12) which includes a plurality of battery cells (16) stacked on one another in a stacking direction (L-direction), and a pair of end plates (20) on each end of the battery stack (12) in the stacking direction (L-direction) (Figure 3, [0055-0057]). Yamazaki further discloses that the pair of end plates (20) may be formed from a resin such as polypropylene (Figure 3, [0061]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the material of the outer plate of Fujita, polypropylene, as it is known in the art as a suitable material for forming a pair of end plates for a battery stack in a battery module, as taught by Yamazaki, and as Fujita teaches that the outer plate may be a resin plate. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the materials of the inner plate and outer plate of modified Fujita are polycarbonate and polypropylene, respectively. Neither of Fujita and Yamazaki disclose the rigidity of polycarbonate or polypropylene. However, as evidenced by FOW Mould, polycarbonate outperforms polypropylene in properties such as tensile strength, flexural strength, and impact strength (Polypropylene vs. Polycarbonate: Properties). Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the above modification, the outer plate (polypropylene) would have a lower rigidity than the inner plate (polycarbonate).
The examiner notes that terms such as “upwards”, “downwards”, “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that a lower end of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) includes a bent portion (biasing receiving portion, 26), which is positioned at a level lower than the lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) and is bent in the stacking direction (x-direction) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10), and a lower end of the outer plate (end plate, 4) is in contact with an upper surface of a portion of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction), which is oriented parallel to the stacking direction (x-direction) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) by the bent portion (biasing receiving portion, 26) of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) (i.e., a lower end of the outer plate is in contact with the end portion of the inner plate in the x-direction) (Figures 1 and 2).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses a first clamp (support portion, 32, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 below), which extends across the first cover (cooling plate, 8) between outer sides (sides in the x-direction) of the first cover (cooling plate, 8) (Figures 1 and 2, [0037]). Fujita further discloses a second clamp (biasing portions, 34, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 below), which extends across a lower surface of the battery cell stack (2) in the vertical direction (z-direction) (Figures 1 and 2, [0037]). Fujita further discloses that the first clamp (support portion, 32, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 below) and the second clamp (biasing portions, 34, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 below) are each coupled at two ends thereof to respective ones of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) (Figures 1 and 2, [0040]). Fujita further discloses a pair of bus bar assemblies (bus bar assemblies connecting the first row of output terminals, 18, and second row of output terminals, 18, see annotated Figure 2 below), which are disposed at two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in a lateral direction (y-direction) perpendicular to both the stacking direction (x-direction) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) and the vertical direction (z-direction), and each of which couples electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10), which are disposed at a corresponding one of the two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in the lateral direction (y-direction), to each other (Figure 2, [0030, 0044]).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Fujita US 2022/0294070 A1)
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 3, as set forth above. Fujita further discloses second and third covers (see annotated Figure 2 below), which are respectively disposed outside of a pair of bus bar assemblies (bus bar assemblies connecting the first row of output terminals, 18, and second row of output terminals, 18, see annotated Figure 2 below) in the x-direction, so as to cover the battery cell stack (2) (Figure 2, [0030, 0044]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Fujita US 2022/0294070 A1)
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the battery cell stack (2) includes a plurality of cell assemblies (see annotated Figure 2 below), each of which includes a pair of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) and a surface pressure pad (separator, 12) disposed therebetween, the plurality of cell assemblies (see annotated Figure 2 below) being stacked on one another in the stacking direction (x-direction) (Figure 2, [0031]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Fujita US 2022/0294070 A1)
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 6 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses each of the plurality of cell assemblies (see annotated Figure 2 above) may be constructed such that battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) thereof are stacked on one another such that electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) having a same polarity are disposed adjacent to each other (i.e., connected in parallel) (Figure 2, [0030]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 6 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the battery cell stack (2) may be constructed such that the plurality of cell assemblies (see annotated Figure 2 above) are stacked on one another such that electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) having opposite polarity are disposed adjacent to each other (i.e., connected in series) (Figure 2, [0030]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 4 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the first clamp (support portion, 32, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 above) is attached to the first cover (cooling plate, 8), and the two ends (ends in x-direction) of the first clamp (support portion, 32, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 above) are bent so as to face the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) and are coupled to outer surfaces of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) (Figure 2, [0040-0041]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 4 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the two ends (ends in x-direction) of the second clamp (biasing portions, 34, of one constraining member, 6, see annotated Figure 2 above) are bent so as to face the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) and are coupled to outer surfaces of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) (Figure 2, [0040]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is provided at an upper end thereof with a projection (cutout, 24), which is engaged with an upper end of the outer plate (end plate, 4) (Figure 2, [0032-0034]).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) modified by Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1) and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Houchin-Miller (US 2009/0155675 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023).
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is positioned between the outer plate (end plate, 4) and the battery cell stack (2) (Figure 2), thus the skilled artisan would appreciate that the outer plate (end plate, 4) is necessarily spaced apart from the battery cell stack (2) by a predetermined distance (i.e., thickness of inner plate) at an end thereof adjacent (in the z-direction) to the first cover (cooling plate, 8), and would necessarily define a fitting space (Figure 2).
Fujita is deficient in disclosing that a temperature sensor is fitted into the fitting space.
Houchin-Miller discloses a battery module (10) which comprises a plurality of battery cells (14) arranged in a stacking direction, as well as external plates (end plates, 64) on the ends of the battery cell arrangement and a first cover (side wall, 24) (Figure 8, [0018, 0024, 0026]). Houchin-Miller further discloses that the external plate (end plate, 64) may comprise an aperture near the first cover (side wall, 24) wherein a sensor, such as a temperature sensor, may be placed (see Figure 8, [0026]). Houchin-Miller further discloses that as batteries produce heat during operation, it is desirable to implement a system which can monitor and address the hear produced by a battery [0004].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery module of Fujita to include a temperature sensor, in order to monitor the temperature status of the battery module in order to address any abnormal change in temperature, as taught by Houchin-Miller, thus improving the overall safety of the battery module.
Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify the battery module of Fujita by placing the temperature sensor within the fitting space, as it is a known configuration in the art for implementing a temperature sensor within a battery module, and would thus serve as a useful location for a temperature sensor in the battery module which improves the overall safety of the battery module, as taught by Houchin-Miller. By making all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) modified by Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1) and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0305116 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023).
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 4 as set forth above.
Fujita is deficient in disclosing that each of the pair of bus bar assemblies includes a bus bar having a plurality of slits, and the plurality of battery cells are bent and coupled to the bus bars at portions thereof that extend outwards through the slits.
Yang discloses a battery module (800) comprising a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction, each of the battery cells comprising electrodes (electrode terminals, 320/321) on either side of the battery cells and arranged in a second direction (Figures 3 and 11, [0069, 0089]). Yang further discloses that the battery module (800) comprises a bus bar assembly (bus bars, 520 and front part, 510) having a plurality of slits (522), and regions of the electrodes (electrode terminals, 320/321) of the plurality of battery cells, which are positioned through the plurality of slits (522), are bent and are connected to the bus bar (bus bars, 520 and front part, 510) (Figure 4, [0079]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the bus bar assemblies of Fujita, the bus bar configuration of Yang, as it is known in the art as a functional bus bar/electrode connection configuration for battery modules, as taught by Yang. Furthermore, the selection of a known object based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). By making all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) as modified by Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1) and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2020/0058918 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023).
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 4 as set forth above.
Fujita is deficient in disclosing that the pair of bus bar assemblies includes a circuit, which is embodied as a cell management unit configured to detect a voltage of the battery cells.
Shin discloses a battery module (10) comprised of a plurality of battery cells (110), each having electrodes (electrode leads, 111a/111b) which are electrically connected to adjacent battery cells (110) via bus bar assemblies (sensing cover, 200) (Figures 4-6, [0051-0052, 0060]). Shin further teaches that in conventional battery modules, bus bar assemblies may include a circuit which is configured to detect an error in the voltage of the plurality of battery cells [0014-0015].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the pair of bus bar assemblies of Fujita to include a circuit configured to detect a voltage of the plurality of battery cells, as it is known in the art as a useful addition to a bus bar in a battery module, as taught by Shin, and would provide the skilled artisan with a reasonable expectation of success in easily monitoring the voltage status of the battery module during operation.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a circuit would be considered a cell management unit as the circuit would allow the skilled artisan to monitor the voltage status of the battery module and address any issues which may arise. Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) modified by Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1) and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Lee at al. (US 2014/0242429 A1).
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Fujita as modified by Yamazaki with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Fujita is deficient in disclosing that the inner plate is provided on a surface thereof with a plurality of beads, which project toward the outer plate, and the outer plate is provided at a surface thereof corresponding to the plurality of beads with a convex portion, which is convex outwards, whereby a space is defined between the inner plate and the outer plate.
Lee discloses a battery module (battery module assembly, 300) which comprises a plurality of battery cells (battery modules) stacked on one another to form a battery cell stack (battery module array, 540), and wherein a pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) are located at opposite ends of the battery cell stack (battery module array, 540) (Figures 2 and 3, [0056, 0060]). Lee further discloses that the pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) comprise an inner plate (cell cover, 310) in contact with the battery cell stack (battery module array, 540), and an outer plate (insulation member, 500) in contact with the inner plate (cell cover, 310) (Figures 3 and 5, [0060]). Lee further discloses that the outer plate (insulation member, 500) comprises a concave portion and a convex portion (ribs, 510), and the inner plate (cell cover, 310) comprises a plurality of beads (311), wherein the beads (311) and the convex portion (ribs, 510) come together to form channels (coolant flow channels, 560) which serve to supply coolant to the battery module (battery module assembly, 300) (Figures 5 and 14, [0026,0034, 0060]). Lee further teaches that when the beads (311) and the convex portion (ribs, 510) form channels (coolant flow channels, 560), the pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) function to absorb shock caused by external force and cool the battery module (battery module assembly, 300) (Figures 2 and 5, [0017-0019]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery module of Fujita to include on the inner plate a plurality of beads and on the outer plate a convex portion such that a coolant channel is formed, in order to provide a coolant channel in the end plates of the battery module to allow for the battery module to have a suitable means of cooling and also to allow for shock absorption when an external force is applied, as taught by Lee. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the safety of the battery module overall. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023), further in view of Von Borck et al. (US 2012/0183823 A1), Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1), and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage).
In Regards to Claim 16:
Fujita discloses a battery pack comprising: a battery module (electrical storage module, 1) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) which are stacked on one another so as to form a battery cell stack (2); a pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction), which are respectively in surface contact with two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in a stacking direction (x-direction) in which the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked on one another (Figure 2, [0022]). Fujita further discloses a first cover (cooling plate, 8), which is disposed on the battery cell stack (2) on an upper side in a vertical direction (z-direction) perpendicular to the stacking direction (x-direction) so as to cover one surface of the battery cell stack (2), wherein first ends (end where receiving portions, 26, are formed) of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) extend downward beyond lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) on a lower side of the vertical direction (z-direction) opposite to the upper side (Figure 2, [0022, 0034]). Fujita further discloses that the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked such that respective electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are arranged in a lateral direction (y-direction) perpendicular to both the stacking direction (x-direction) and the vertical direction (z-direction) (Figure 2, [0030]). Fujita further discloses that each of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) includes an inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) which is in surface contact with the battery cell stack (2), and an outer plate (end plate, 4) which is disposed outside the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) so as to cover the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) (Figure 2, [0036]). Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is made of a resin having an insulating property, such as polycarbonate (Figure 2, [0031]). Fujita further discloses that the outer plate (end plate, 4) may be a resin plate (Figure 2, [0036]).
The examiner notes that terms such as “upwards”, “downwards”, “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself.
Fujita is deficient in disclosing 1) a case including a seating surface on which the battery module is seated, wherein the battery module is open downwards in the vertical direction so as to allow the battery cell stack to be exposed downwards and to allow the exposed battery cell stack to face the seating surface of the case, and wherein a gap filler is disposed between the battery cell stack and the seating surface, and the first ends of the pair of end plates are in contact with the seating surface of the case; and 2) the rigidity of the inner and outer plates.
Regarding 1), Von Borck discloses a battery pack (battery module) comprising a battery module which includes a plurality of battery cells (12), and a case (housing, 811) including a seating surface (ribbing, 130) on which the battery module is seated (Figures 3A and 8A-8D, [0074, 0099-0100]). Von Borck further discloses that a gap filler (foam material inlay, 108) may be included on the seating surface (ribbing, 130) to press again the plurality of battery cells (12) to ensure adequate heat transfer (Figure 8D, [0100]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery pack of Fujita to include the case of Von Borck, wherein the gap filler is disposed between the battery cells and the seating surface, as it is known in the art as a useful implementation of a battery pack, to include a casing, as taught by Von Borck. Such a modification would allow the skilled artisan to have a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring that the battery cells have adequate heat transfer during operation, as taught by Von Borck, and furthermore, would prevent external hazards such as dust and moisture from damaging the battery cells.
By doing so, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the battery module (electrical storage module, 1) of Fujita is open “downwards” in the vertical direction (see Figure 2), the battery cell stack (2) would necessarily be exposed to the seating surface. Thus, upon the above modification, the limitations of Claim 16 requiring a case including a seating surface on which the battery module is seated, wherein the battery module is open downwards in the vertical direction so as to allow the battery cell stack to be exposed downwards and to allow the exposed battery cell stack to face the seating surface of the case, and wherein a gap filler is disposed between the battery cell stack and the seating surface, and the first ends of the pair of end plates are in contact with the seating surface of the case, are met.
Regarding 2), Yamazaki discloses a battery module (10) comprising a battery stack (12) which includes a plurality of battery cells (16) stacked on one another in a stacking direction (L-direction), and a pair of end plates (20) on each end of the battery stack (12) in the stacking direction (L-direction) (Figure 3, [0055-0057]). Yamazaki further discloses that the pair of end plates (20) may be formed from a resin such as polypropylene (Figure 3, [0061]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the material of the outer plate of Fujita, polypropylene, as it is known in the art as a suitable material for forming a pair of end plates for a battery stack in a battery module, as taught by Yamazaki, and as Fujita teaches that the outer plate may be a resin plate. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the materials of the inner plate and outer plate of modified Fujita are polycarbonate and polypropylene, respectively. Neither of Fujita and Yamazaki disclose the rigidity of polycarbonate or polypropylene. However, as evidenced by FOW Mould, polycarbonate outperforms polypropylene in properties such as tensile strength, flexural strength, and impact strength (Polypropylene vs. Polycarbonate: Properties). Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the above modification, the outer plate (polypropylene) would have a lower rigidity than the inner plate (polycarbonate). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
In Regards to Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 16):
Fujita as modified by Von Borck, Yamazaki, and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 16 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that a lower end of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) includes a bent portion (biasing receiving portion, 26), which is positioned at a level lower than the lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) and is bent in the stacking direction (x-direction) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10), and a lower end of the outer plate (end plate, 4) is in contact with an upper surface of a portion of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction), which is oriented parallel to the stacking direction (x-direction) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) by the bent portion (biasing receiving portion, 26) of the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) (i.e., a lower end of the outer plate is in contact with the end portion of the inner plate in the x-direction) (Figures 1 and 2).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
In Regards to Claim 19 (Dependent Upon Claim 16):
Fujita as modified by Von Borck, Yamazaki, and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 16 as set forth above. Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is provided at an upper end thereof with a projection (cutout, 24), which is engaged with an upper end of the outer plate (end plate, 4) (Figure 2, [0032-0034]).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower”, and “upper” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery module relative to one another within the battery module. The particular orientation of the battery module does not provide any structural limitations to the battery module itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/14/2023) modified by Von Borck et al. (US 2012/0183823 A1), Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1), and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould (Webpage), as applied to Claim 16 above, further in view of Lee at al. (US 2014/0242429 A1).
In Regards to Claim 20 (Dependent Upon Claim 16):
Fujita as modified by Von Borck, Yamazaki, and with evidentiary support from FOW Mould discloses the battery module of Claim 16 as set forth above.
Fujita is deficient in disclosing that the inner plate is provided on a surface thereof with a plurality of beads, which project toward the outer plate, and the outer plate is provided at a surface thereof corresponding to the plurality of beads with a convex portion, which is convex outwards, whereby a space is defined between the inner plate and the outer plate.
Lee discloses a battery module (battery module assembly, 300) which comprises a plurality of battery cells (battery modules) stacked on one another to form a battery cell stack (battery module array, 540), and wherein a pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) are located at opposite ends of the battery cell stack (battery module array, 540) (Figures 2 and 3, [0056, 0060]). Lee further discloses that the pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) comprise an inner plate (cell cover, 310) in contact with the battery cell stack (battery module array, 540), and an outer plate (insulation member, 500) in contact with the inner plate (cell cover, 310) (Figures 3 and 5, [0060]). Lee further discloses that the outer plate (insulation member, 500) comprises a concave portion and a convex portion (ribs, 510), and the inner plate (cell cover, 310) comprises a plurality of beads (311), wherein the beads (311) and the convex portion (ribs, 510) come together to form channels (coolant flow channels, 560) which serve to supply coolant to the battery module (battery module assembly, 300) (Figures 5 and 14, [0026,0034, 0060]). Lee further teaches that when the beads (311) and the convex portion (ribs, 510) form channels (coolant flow channels, 560), the pair of end plates (cell cover, 310, and insulation member, 500) function to absorb shock caused by external force and cool the battery module (battery module assembly, 300) (Figures 2 and 5, [0017-0019]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery module of Fujita to include on the inner plate a plurality of beads and on the outer plate a convex portion such that a coolant channel is formed, in order to provide a coolant channel in the end plates of the battery module to allow for the battery module to have a suitable means of cooling and also to allow for shock absorption when an external force is applied, as taught by Lee. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the safety of the battery module overall. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 20 are met.
Response to Arguments
As detailed in the previous office action (Advisory Action dated 01/15/2026), the Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner’s response to the arguments provided in the previous Advisory Action (dated 01/15/2026) are reiterated below.
Regarding the previous rejection of Claim 1, the Applicant notes that Yamazaki (US 2021/0273286 A1) does not disclose a multi-layer end plate structure including an inner plate and an outer plate, nor does Yamazaki suggest configuring an inner plate to have a higher rigidity than outer plate for functional impact-mitigation purposes, as required by Claim 1. The Applicant further notes that the instant application teaches an inner plate being in surface contact with the battery cell stack and having a higher rigidity functions to prevent deformation caused by internal pressure increases, and further teaches that an outer plate having a lower rigidity such that when an external impact is applied to the module, the outer plate may deform to mitigate the transmission of impact to the module. The Applicant argues that the reliance upon FOW Mould (Webpage) constitutes impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the examiner acknowledges that Yamazaki does not disclose a multi-layer end plate structure including an inner plate and an outer plate, nor does Yamazaki suggest configuring an inner plate to have a higher rigidity than outer plate. However, the examiner notes that Yamazaki is not relied upon to teach a multi-layer end plate configuration for a battery module, nor is Yamazaki relied upon to teach rigidity of an end plate.
As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 in the Final Rejection (dated 10/21/2025), Fujita et al. (US 2022/0294070 A1) discloses a battery module (electrical storage module, 1) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) which are stacked on one another so as to form a battery cell stack (2); a pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction), which are respectively in surface contact with two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in a stacking direction (x-direction) in which the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked on one another (Figure 2, [0022]). Fujita further discloses that each of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) includes an inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) which is in surface contact with the battery cell stack (2), and an outer plate (end plate, 4) which is disposed outside the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) so as to cover the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) (Figure 2, [0036]). Fujita further discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) is made of a resin having an insulating property, such as polycarbonate (Figure 2, [0031]). Fujita further discloses that the outer plate (end plate, 4) may be a resin plate (Figure 2, [0036]).
Yamazaki discloses a battery module (10) comprising a battery stack (12) which includes a plurality of battery cells (16) stacked on one another in a stacking direction (L-direction), and a pair of end plates (20) on each end of the battery stack (12) in the stacking direction (L-direction) (Figure 3, [0055-0057]). Yamazaki further discloses that the pair of end plates (20) may be formed from a resin such as polypropylene (Figure 3, [0061]).
In other words, Fujita expressly discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) may be formed of a resin such as polycarbonate [0031]. Fujita expressly discloses that the outer plate (end plate, 4) may be a resin plate [0036], but does not disclose which specific resin may be selected.
In the modification of Fujita in view of Yamazaki, Yamazaki is only relied upon to teach that it is known in the art that an end plate of a battery cell stack may be formed of a resin such as polypropylene. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to select for the resin material of the outer plate of Fujita, polypropylene, because Yamazaki teaches it is a suitable material for an end plate in a battery cell stack. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The examiner notes that the modification of Fujita does not rely on Yamazaki to teach that the end plate has certain rigidity properties in order to be able to perform a specific function. The examiner further notes that none of the arguments made in the previous office action regarding modification of Fujita were made on the basis of the rigidity of materials. However, upon the modification of Fujita in view of Yamazaki, modified Fujita discloses that the inner plate (outermost separators, 12, in the x-direction) and the outer plate (end plate, 4) are formed from polycarbonate and polypropylene, respectively. FOW Mould is only relied upon to teach that polycarbonate outperforms polypropylene in properties such as tensile strength, flexural strength, and impact strength (Polypropylene vs. Polycarbonate: Properties). Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification of Fujita in view of Yamazaki, the outer plate (polypropylene) would be expected to have a lower rigidity than the inner plate (polycarbonate).
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Applicant further argues that the Examiner’s position that the instant limitations regarding an “upper side”, a “lower side”, and the “vertical direction” are not bound by any particular orientation of the battery is improper. The Applicant particularly argues that the “vertical direction” is expressly defined in instant Claim 1 as being perpendicular to the stacking direction, thus the claimed coordinate system is internally defined by the structural relationships within the battery module and the Examiner’s position that the battery module may be “flipped upside down” is incorrect.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the examiner notes that the specific terms which were noted that do not convey any particular structural requirements are “upwards”, “downwards”, “lower” and “upper”. The examiner respectfully highlights that the “vertical direction” was not included in the list of terminology which did not provide any structural requirement within the claims.
Additionally, as detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 in the Final Rejection (dated 10/21/2025), Fujita discloses a battery module (electrical storage module, 1) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) which are stacked on one another so as to form a battery cell stack (2); a pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction), which are respectively in surface contact with two ends of the battery cell stack (2) in a stacking direction (x-direction) in which the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked on one another (Figure 2, [0022]). Fujita further discloses a first cover (cooling plate, 8), which is disposed on the battery cell stack (2) on an upper side in a vertical direction (z-direction) perpendicular to the stacking direction (x-direction) so as to cover one surface of the battery cell stack (2), wherein first ends (end where receiving portions, 26, are formed) of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) extend downward beyond lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) on a lower side of the vertical direction (z-direction) opposite to the upper side (Figure 2, [0022, 0034]). Fujita further discloses that the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are stacked such that respective electrodes (output terminals, 18) of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) are arranged in a lateral direction (y-direction) perpendicular to both the stacking direction (x-direction) and the vertical direction (z-direction) (Figure 2, [0030]).
As such, it can be seen that the examiner expressly acknowledges a specific coordinate system of Fujita which aligns with the limitations of instant Claim 1, wherein the x-direction of Fujita is considered the stacking direction, the z-direction of Fujita is considered the vertical direction, and the y-direction of Fujita is considered the lateral direction (see Figure 2 of Fujita).
However, the examiner does maintain that the orientation of the battery module can be altered from the perspective shown in Figure 2 of Fujita, wherein the limitations of Claim 1 are met. For example, were the battery module of Fujita in the orientation shown in Figure 2 to be “flipped upside down”, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis as earlier defined remain in the same position. In such a case, the coordinate system remains the same, but spatially what may be considered a “lower” position or an “upper position” changes.
While the examiner acknowledges that the instant application has an intended structural meaning for terms such as “upper” and “lower”, the terms as currently written in the instant claims are broad and subject the claims to the broadest reasonable interpretation.
The Applicant further notes that in the instant application, the first cover is disposed on an upper side of the battery cell stack in the vertical direction to cover the battery cell stack, while the first ends of the pair of end plates extend downward beyond lower ends of the battery cells on a lower side of the vertical direction opposite to the upper side, as required by Claim 1, which results in asymmetric structural protection. The Applicant further argues that the battery module of Fujita does not meet this limitation as the cooling plate (8) functions as a heat sink and support member, thus cannot read on the cover of the instant claims. The Applicant further argues that even if the battery module were to be subject to arbitrary orientation, Fujita fails to disclose that the first cover is disposed on the battery cell stack on an upper side in a vertical direction perpendicular to the stacking direction and that first ends of the pair of end plates extend downward beyond the lower ends of the battery cells on a lower side of the vertical direction opposite to the upper side.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. With the Applicant’s argument regarding structurally limiting terms and orientation being discussed above, the examiner further notes that there is no language in Claim 1 which bars the first cover from also being able to function as a heat sink. The requirements of the first cover according to Claim 1 is “a first cover, which is disposed on the battery cell stack on an upper side in a vertical direction perpendicular to the stacking direction so as to cover one surface of the battery cell stack” (lines 7-9 of Claim 1). Claim 1 does not include any further limitations regarding the first cover. The examiner maintains that the cooling plate (8) of Fujita, as described in the previous rejection, meets all of the requirements of the first cover as claimed.
As detailed in the previous office action, taking for example the orientation of Figure 2 of Fujita, when the battery module (electrical storage module, 1) is flipped “upside down”, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the first cover (cooling plate, 8) is disposed on the battery cell stack (2) on an upper side (Figure 2). Likewise, when the battery module (electrical storage module, 1) is flipped “upside down”, we can see from Figure 3 that first ends (end where receiving portions, 26, are formed) of the pair of end plates (end plate, 4 and outermost separators, 12 in the x-direction) extend downward beyond lower ends of the plurality of battery cells (electrical storage devices, 10) (Figure 3).
As such, structurally, instant Claim 1 as currently written requires that the first cover is disposed on the battery cell stack as to cover one surface of the battery cell stack, and that one end of the pair of end plates extends beyond lower ends of the plurality of battery cells in a direction opposite to where the first cover is located in the vertical direction. The skilled artisan would appreciate that the battery module (electrical storage module, 1) of Fujita meets these requirements (see annotated Figure 3 below).
Annotated Figure 3 (Fujita US 2022/0294070 A1)
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724