DETAILED ACTION
The present application, 17834652, US 20220389380, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 22-34, in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
The filing receipt, mailed 6/24/2022, states that this application, filed 6/7/2022, claims benefit of domestic priority benefit of 63197971, filed 6/7/2021.
It is noted that priority document 63197971, filed 6/7/2021, does not appear to use the present claim term “bifunctional” in the provisional specification. The instant specification does not use the term “bispecific,” and does not provide a limiting definition of “bifunctional.” The words specific and function may not have the same scope, (see e.g., Kraingkum at pp. 32-33, bridging paragraph, stating that a “bispecific antibody is distinct from bifunctional antibody both in terms of structure and function”). Thus, it appears that the benefit provisional application 63197971, filed 6/7/2021, does not provide support for the examined claims 22-34. Therefore, the priority date for examined claims 22-34 is considered to be the application filing date, 6/7/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/14/2022, 12/30/2022, and 1/18/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 22-34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, (‘816 PGP), published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 30-62 and para [12]-[13], [94]-[121] teach systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel. Claim 30 of reference the Fiering 1 PG-Pub recites:
30. A system for microfluidic particle separation configured to separate target particles from non-target particles in a biofluid, the system comprising: at least one microfluidic separation channel comprising at least one inlet, a first outlet, and a second outlet; a source of the biofluid in fluid communication with the at least one inlet of the at least one microfluidic separation channel; a source of an additive in fluid communication with the source of the biofluid, configured to introduce at least one additive into the biofluid, the additive capable of altering at least one of size of the target particles, size of the non-target particles, compressibility of the biofluid, compressibility of the target particles, compressibility of the non-target particles, aggregation potential of the target particles, and aggregation potential of the non-target particles; and at least one acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the at least one microfluidic separation channel.
Fiering 1 (‘816 PGP) at claim 30.
Fiering 1 at para [142]-[143] teaches that the additive may provide efficient separation of target particles from other non-target particles through pretreatment of the biofluid with an additive capable of altering, for example, the aggregation of non-target particles, because particle migration generally depends on particle size, density, and compressibility relative to the density and compressibility of the suspending biofluid. Fiering 1 at para [73] teaches the additive may comprise biochemical moieties, such as antibodies, that bind target particles or non-target particles. The cell aggregator may comprise a solution comprising antibodies that bind and aggregate target particles or non-target particles, which reads on the instant claim term “cluster”.
Fiering 1, at ‘816 PGP claims 54-61, and para [0122]-[0125], recite and disclose kits for microfluidic particle separation, including microfluidic separation channels, a source of additive fluidly connectable with the microfluidic separation channels, and instructions for use.
Fiering 1 does not teach or fairly suggest bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters.
Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, (‘829 PGP), published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), throughout the ‘829 publication, abstract, and claims. Independent reference Claim 30 recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel, (see para [70]. Claim 54 recites a kit therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells. Fiering 2, at [0131], describe using a cell aggregator that is Ficoll PM300 cell media comprising a long-chain polysaccharide, that provided superior non-target cell removal but inferior target cell recovery, compared to treatment with a density gradient medium.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation.
2. Claim(s) 22-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiering 3, PG Publication US 20190307946, published 10/10/2019, (of 16452191, now US 11,291,756, issued 04/05/2022), Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429) and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 3, PG Publication US 20190307946, throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 10-20 recite a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells comprising at least one microfluidic separation channel with an inlet and a first and second outlet, further comprising an acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the microfluidic channel. Claims 6 and 13 teaches antibodies as T cell activators. Fiering 3 at claims 54-62 and para [0116]- [0117], claim and disclose kits for the claimed invention.
Fiering 3 does not teach or fairly suggest bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters.
Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, (‘829 PGP), published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), throughout the ‘829 publication, abstract, and claims. Independent reference Claim 30 recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel, (see para [70]. Claim 54 recites a kit therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells. Fiering 2, at [0131], describe using a cell aggregator that is Ficoll PM300 cell media comprising a long-chain polysaccharide, that provided superior non-target cell removal but inferior target cell recovery, compared to treatment with a density gradient medium.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 3 and Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 3 and Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation.
3. Claim(s) 22-34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), and in view of Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, (‘829 PGP), published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), throughout the ‘829 publication, abstract, and claims. Independent reference Claim 30 recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel, (see para [70]. Claim 54 recites kits therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells. Fiering 2, at [0131], describe using a cell aggregator that is Ficoll PM300 cell media comprising a long-chain polysaccharide, that provided superior non-target cell removal but inferior target cell recovery, compared to treatment with a density gradient medium.
Fiering 2 does not teach or fairly suggest bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters.
Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, (‘816 PGP), published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 30-62 and para [12]-[13], [94]-[121] teach systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel. Claim 30 of reference the Fiering 1 PG-Pub recites:
30. A system for microfluidic particle separation configured to separate target particles from non-target particles in a biofluid, the system comprising: at least one microfluidic separation channel comprising at least one inlet, a first outlet, and a second outlet; a source of the biofluid in fluid communication with the at least one inlet of the at least one microfluidic separation channel; a source of an additive in fluid communication with the source of the biofluid, configured to introduce at least one additive into the biofluid, the additive capable of altering at least one of size of the target particles, size of the non-target particles, compressibility of the biofluid, compressibility of the target particles, compressibility of the non-target particles, aggregation potential of the target particles, and aggregation potential of the non-target particles; and at least one acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the at least one microfluidic separation channel.
Fiering 1 (‘816 PGP) at claim 30.
Fiering 1 at para [142]-[143] teaches that the additive may provide efficient separation of target particles from other non-target particles through pretreatment of the biofluid with an additive capable of altering, for example, the aggregation of non-target particles, because particle migration generally depends on particle size, density, and compressibility relative to the density and compressibility of the suspending biofluid. Fiering 1 at para [73] teaches the additive may comprise biochemical moieties, such as antibodies, that bind target particles or non-target particles. The cell aggregator may comprise a solution comprising antibodies that bind and aggregate target particles or non-target particles, which reads on the instant claim term “cluster”.
Fiering 1, at ‘816 PGP claims 54-61, and para [0122]-[0125], recite and disclose kits for microfluidic particle separation, including microfluidic separation channels, a source of additive fluidly connectable with the microfluidic separation channels, and instructions for use.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and claimed by Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and claimed by Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation.
Double Patenting
1. Claim(s) 22-34, is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of Fiering 1, US 10,914,723, in view of Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, (‘816 PGP), published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 30-62 claim systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel. Claim 30 of reference the Fiering 1 PG-Pub recites:
30. A system for microfluidic particle separation configured to separate target particles from non-target particles in a biofluid, the system comprising: at least one microfluidic separation channel comprising at least one inlet, a first outlet, and a second outlet; a source of the biofluid in fluid communication with the at least one inlet of the at least one microfluidic separation channel; a source of an additive in fluid communication with the source of the biofluid, configured to introduce at least one additive into the biofluid, the additive capable of altering at least one of size of the target particles, size of the non-target particles, compressibility of the biofluid, compressibility of the target particles, compressibility of the non-target particles, aggregation potential of the target particles, and aggregation potential of the non-target particles; and at least one acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the at least one microfluidic separation channel.
Fiering 1 (‘816 PGP) at claim 30.
Fiering 1, at ‘816 PGP claims 54-61, claim kits for microfluidic particle separation, including microfluidic separation channels, a source of additive fluidly connectable with the microfluidic separation channels, and instructions for use.
Fiering 1 does not teach or fairly suggest bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters.
Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, (‘829 PGP), published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), throughout the ‘829 publication, abstract, and claims. Independent reference Claim 30 recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel, (see para [70]. Claim 54 recites a kit therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells. Fiering 2, at [0131], describe using a cell aggregator that is Ficoll PM300 cell media comprising a long-chain polysaccharide, that provided superior non-target cell removal but inferior target cell recovery, compared to treatment with a density gradient medium. Fiering 2, at claims 54-62, teach and claim a kit.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakaki, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation.
2. Claim(s) 22-34 is/are on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-19 of U.S. Patent No. Fiering 3, US 11,291,756, (issued 04/05/2022), in view of Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429) and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 3, PG Publication US 20190307946, throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 10-20 recite a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells comprising at least one microfluidic separation channel with an inlet and a first and second outlet, further comprising an acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the microfluidic channel. Claims 6 and 13 teaches antibodies as T cell activators.
Fiering 3 does not claim bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters and does not claim kits of the claimed invention.
Fiering 2, PG Publication US 20190290829, (‘829 PGP), published 9/26/2019, (of Serial No. 16302429), throughout the ‘829 publication, abstract, and at Claim 30, recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel, (see para [70]. Claim 54 recites a kit therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells. Fiering 2, at [0131], describe using a cell aggregator that is Ficoll PM300 cell media comprising a long-chain polysaccharide, that provided superior non-target cell removal but inferior target cell recovery, compared to treatment with a density gradient medium. Fiering 2 at claims 54-61 claim kits for the microfluidic cell separation using acoustic energy.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as claimed by Fiering 3 and taught by Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 3 and Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use kits for the separation channel invention for convenience and ease of use.
3. Claim(s) 22-34, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30-62 of Fiering 2, copending Application Serial No. 16302429, and in view of Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), and Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5.
Fiering 2, Serial No. 16302429, at Claim 30 recites a system for microfluidic cell separation configured to separate target cells from non-target cells in a biofluid by applying acoustic energy to the microfluidic separation channel. Claim 54 recites kits therefor. Claim 8 recites antibodies that bind and aggregate non-target cells.
Fiering 2 does not claim bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters.
Fiering 1, PG Publication US 20180313816, (‘816 PGP), published 11/1/2018, (of Serial No. 15965368, now US 10,914,723, issued 2/9/2021), throughout the pre-grant publication and abstract and at claims 30-62 and para [12]-[13], [94]-[121] teach systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel. Claim 30 of reference the Fiering 1 PG-Pub recites:
30. A system for microfluidic particle separation configured to separate target particles from non-target particles in a biofluid, the system comprising: at least one microfluidic separation channel comprising at least one inlet, a first outlet, and a second outlet; a source of the biofluid in fluid communication with the at least one inlet of the at least one microfluidic separation channel; a source of an additive in fluid communication with the source of the biofluid, configured to introduce at least one additive into the biofluid, the additive capable of altering at least one of size of the target particles, size of the non-target particles, compressibility of the biofluid, compressibility of the target particles, compressibility of the non-target particles, aggregation potential of the target particles, and aggregation potential of the non-target particles; and at least one acoustic transducer coupled to a wall of the at least one microfluidic separation channel.
Fiering 1 (‘816 PGP) at claim 30.
Fiering 1 at para [142]-[143] teaches that the additive may provide efficient separation of target particles from other non-target particles through pretreatment of the biofluid with an additive capable of altering, for example, the aggregation of non-target particles, because particle migration generally depends on particle size, density, and compressibility relative to the density and compressibility of the suspending biofluid. Fiering 1 at para [73] teaches the additive may comprise biochemical moieties, such as antibodies, that bind target particles or non-target particles. The cell aggregator may comprise a solution comprising antibodies that bind and aggregate target particles or non-target particles, which reads on the instant claim term “cluster”.
Fiering 1, at ‘816 PGP claims 54-61, and para [0122]-[0125], recite and disclose kits for microfluidic particle separation, including microfluidic separation channels, a source of additive fluidly connectable with the microfluidic separation channels, and instructions for use.
Essakali, (2018) BMC Biotechnology, vol. 8, number 6, pages 1 to 5, throughout the publication and abstract, teach cell sample enrichment suing a “bifunctional rosette-based antibody cocktail.” Essakali, at p. 2 of 5, para 3, state: We used a bifunctional antibody cocktail for B-cell enrichment (RosetteSepTM (RS))that binds erythrocytes (via glycophorin)on one side and white cell populations other than B-cells (via the CD2, CD3, CD16, CD36, CD56 and/ or CD66b antigens) on the other side thus forming dense rosettes of erythrocytes surrounding the unwanted white blood cells when added to whole blood.”
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali, with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and claimed by Fiering 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined bifunctional antibodies that form non-target cell clusters, as taught by Essakali with the systems for separation of particles in biofluids comprising the use of acoustic transduces to apply a standing acoustic wave transverse to a microfluidic separation channel, and kits thereof, as taught by Fiering 1 and claimed by Fiering 2, in order to affect particle migration in acoustic bioprocessing separation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
MARK L. SHIBUYA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/MARK L SHIBUYA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631