Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-10, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
The newly found prior art is that of SUN et al. (US 20200205195 A1) that addresses the arguments of the applicant regarding independent claims 1, 10, and 24 found below in the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK et al. (US 20200029345 A1, hereinafter, "MALIK") in view of YI et al. (US 20200329481 A1, hereinafter, "YI") and SUN et al. (US 20200205195 A1, hereinafter, "SUN").
Regarding claim 10, MALIK teaches a method of operating a portable electronic device, the
method comprising:
MALIK writes, “FIG. 11 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1100 that supports identifying calibration
opportunities in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1100 may
be implemented by a UE 115 or its components as described herein” (paragraph 0118; figure 11). MALIK
indicates a method and displays a flowchart illustrating the method.
transmitting, using a radio, radio-frequency signals to a network over one or more antennas
MALIK writes, “The transceiver 920 may communicate bi-directionally, via one or more antennas, wired,
or wireless links as described above. For example, the transceiver 920 may represent a wireless
transceiver and may communicate bi-directionally with another wireless transceiver. The transceiver
920 may also include a modem to modulate the packets and provide the modulated packets to the
antennas for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the antennas” (paragraph 0107;
figure 9, 920: transceiver). MALIK continues, “The calibration module 910 may receive, at the UE,
information about a protocol configuration or scheduled communications and identify one or more
calibration opportunities. The calibration module 910 may calibrate a transceiver chain of the device 905
and utilize the calibrated transceiver chain for wireless communications” (paragraph 0105). MALIK adds,
“At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as
an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access
network entity may communicate with UEs 115 through a number of other access network transmission
entities, which may be referred to as a radio head, a smart radio head, or a transmission/reception point
(TRP). In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity or base station 105 may
be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and access network controllers) or
consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105)” (paragraph 0030). MALIK indicates
that some of the network devices may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which
may be referred to as a radio head, a smart radio head, etc. MALIK also indicates bi-directional
communication with between devices equipped with wireless transceiver, such as a wireless base
station, via one or more antennas. MALIK suggests calibration opportunities during scheduled
communications.
transmitting, using the radio, a radio-frequency sensing signal and receiving a reflected radio-
frequency sensing signal over the one or more antennas during a sensing period,
MALIK writes, “The UE 115 may perform calibration and measurements for various purposes or parts of
a transceiver chain. For example, in order to limit exceeding an MPE, the UE 115 may detect external
objects and/or classify them as human tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based
on movement). MPE measurements may be used to avoid radiation exposure which may be based on
the frequency used by a transmitter. For example, radiation exposure, and thus MPE requirements, for
mmW frequencies may be different than for non-mmW frequencies. When human tissue is detected,
the output power of a transmission may be calibrated to avoid exceeding the MPE requirements”
(paragraph 0059). MALIK states the UE may detect external objects and/or classify them as human
tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based on movement). MALIK indicates a
transceiver uses a radio-frequency signal to detect external objects (e.g. sensing), and to detect the
reflection of the same radio-frequency signal during a sensing period using the antenna(s) connected to
the transceiver.
identifying, using one or more processors, proximity to an external object based on the transmitted radio-frequency sensing signal and the received reflected radio- frequency sensing signal;
MALIK writes, “In one embodiment, the first device calibrates the transceiver chain using external
loopback. Calibrating using external loopback includes, in one embodiment, transmitting a signal using a
first set of antennas of the first device and measuring characteristics of the signal using a second set of
antennas of the first device. The first device may calibrate the transceiver chain based on the
characteristics of the signal. The first device may transmit the signal at a power level at or below an
agreed or indicated power level corresponding to a frequency band comprising the second resources
and protocol requirements. In one embodiment, the first device detects a proximity of an external
object based on the measuring and the transceiver chain is calibrated based on the proximity of the
external object. For example, the external object may be detected based on external loopback
measuring and identified as human tissue based movement. The first device may adjust a transmit
power or beam based on the presence of the human tissue to avoid an MPE” (paragraph 0126). MALIK
adds, “In one embodiment, the calibration module 910 may be implemented by the processor 940
and/or the memory 935” (paragraph 0105). MALIK indicates the calibration may be implemented by the
processor and “the external object may be detected based on external loopback measuring and
identified as human tissue based movement. The first device may adjust a transmit power or beam
based on the presence of the human tissue to avoid an MPE.”
and adjusting, using the one or more processors, a transmit power level of the radio based on
the identified proximity to the external object.
MALIK writes, “In one embodiment, the first device calibrates the transceiver chain using external
loopback. Calibrating using external loopback includes, in one embodiment, transmitting a signal using a
first set of antennas of the first device and measuring characteristics of the signal using a second set of
antennas of the first device. The first device may calibrate the transceiver chain based on the
characteristics of the signal. The first device may transmit the signal at a power level at or below an
agreed or indicated power level corresponding to a frequency band comprising the second resources
and protocol requirements. In one embodiment, the first device detects a proximity of an external
object based on the measuring and the transceiver chain is calibrated based on the proximity of the
external object. For example, the external object may be detected based on external loopback
measuring and identified as human tissue based movement. The first device may adjust a transmit
power or beam based on the presence of the human tissue to avoid an MPE” (paragraph 0126). MALIK
adds, “In one embodiment, the calibration module 910 may be implemented by the processor 940
and/or the memory 935” (paragraph 0105). MALIK indicates the calibration may be implemented by the
processor and “the external object may be detected based on external loopback measuring and
identified as human tissue based movement. The first device may adjust a transmit power or beam
based on the presence of the human tissue to avoid an MPE.”
MALIK fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “during a first scheduled data block and
during a second scheduled data block separated in time from the first scheduled data block by a
measurement gap having a neighbor cell measurement period;”, “wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the measurement gap,”, and “the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap;”
However, in analogous art, YI teaches during a first scheduled data block and during a second
scheduled data block separated in time from the first scheduled data block by a measurement gap
having a neighbor cell measurement period;
YI writes, “Thus, sensing gap for the network should cover sensing duration and DL->UL switching
latency. If only energy sensing is used, remaining portions from a symbol or switching gap may be used
for sensing period instead of increasing the sensing gap to minimize the overhead” (paragraph 0102). YI
continues, “Only if the transmitter changes its direction against intended DL/UL configuration,
sensing/measurement may be performed before transmission, and if there is on-going transmission,
transmission according the intended direction may be performed” (paragraph 0087). YI adds, “When
different direction is used, sensing/measurement gap may be used which may be blank resource with or
without explicit configuration” (paragraph 0087). YI explains, “In an aspect, a method for performing
sensing by a network node in a wireless communication system is provided. The method includes
listening on a reservation signal in a sensing gap from a neighbor cell, and upon listening on the
reservation signal, performing downlink (DL) transmission to a user equipment (UE) or uplink (UL)
reception from the UE in a cell” (paragraph 0009). YI indicates a sensing gap for the network that should
cover the sensing duration and the switching latency. The switching latency here is understood as a
transition period. YI mentions the sensing as energy sensing and states that the switching gap may be
used for the sensing period. YI also indicates that sensing/measurement may be performed before
transmission. YI specifies when a different direction is used, which is understood here as a transition
between uplink and downlink or vice versa, sensing/measurement gap may be used. Thus, it can be
construed that between gaps in communication that a measurement gap and sensing gap can occur,
whether the sensing occurs before the measurement gap or after the measurement gap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of MALIK to include aspects described by YI
that configures a sensing gap "among cells for inter-cell interference coordination (ICIC) mechanism." YI
provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Inter-cell interference can be avoided in a
new [radio access technology (RAT)]" (paragraph 0011). YI adds, "...listening on a reservation signal in a
sensing gap from a neighbor cell, and upon listening on the reservation signal, performing downlink (DL)
transmission to a user equipment (UE) or uplink (UL) reception from the UE in a cell" (paragraph 0009).
MALIK and YI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the measurement gap,” and “the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap;”
However, in analogous art, SUN teaches wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a
transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the
measurement gap,
SUN writes, “FIG. 10 is a timing diagram illustrating an LBT measurement scheme 1000 for variable link switch gap durations according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In the scheme 1000, a transmitting node may perform a single LBT measurement towards the end of a link switch gap duration when the link switch gap duration is shorter than a predetermined period. For example, a node (e.g., a BS or a UE) receives a communication signal 210 in one direction at time T0. The node switches to transmit a communication signal 220 in another direction at time T1. The node may determine a link switch gap duration 1002 by employing the scheme 600, 700, 800, and/or 900 described above with respect to FIGS. 6, 7, 8, and/or 9, respectively. The node may perform a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) in a measurement period 206 (e.g., with a minimum duration of about 4 μs) within a slot 204.sub.S(3) (e.g., with a duration of about 9 μs) towards the end of the link switch gap duration 1002. The node may determine that the LBT is a pass when the detected energy is below a certain threshold. The node may determine that the LBT fails when the detected energy is above a certain threshold” (paragraph 0111; figure 10). SUN indicates a link switch gap duration 1002 in which a measurement period 206 is within a slot 204.sub.S(3). SUN explains that a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) may be performed in the measurement period. As illustrated in figure 10, the LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) starts after the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and after the start of the measurement period, and the LBT measurement ends prior to the end of the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and prior to the end of the measurement period.
the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap;
SUN writes, “FIG. 10 is a timing diagram illustrating an LBT measurement scheme 1000 for variable link switch gap durations according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In the scheme 1000, a transmitting node may perform a single LBT measurement towards the end of a link switch gap duration when the link switch gap duration is shorter than a predetermined period. For example, a node (e.g., a BS or a UE) receives a communication signal 210 in one direction at time T0. The node switches to transmit a communication signal 220 in another direction at time T1. The node may determine a link switch gap duration 1002 by employing the scheme 600, 700, 800, and/or 900 described above with respect to FIGS. 6, 7, 8, and/or 9, respectively. The node may perform a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) in a measurement period 206 (e.g., with a minimum duration of about 4 μs) within a slot 204.sub.S(3) (e.g., with a duration of about 9 μs) towards the end of the link switch gap duration 1002. The node may determine that the LBT is a pass when the detected energy is below a certain threshold. The node may determine that the LBT fails when the detected energy is above a certain threshold” (paragraph 0111; figure 10). SUN indicates a link switch gap duration 1002 in which a measurement period 206 is within a slot 204.sub.S(3). SUN explains that a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) may be performed in the measurement period. As illustrated in figure 10, the LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) starts after the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and after the start of the measurement period, and the LBT measurement ends prior to the end of the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and prior to the end of the measurement period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK and YI to include aspects of the invention and method described by SUN that "relates to wireless communication systems, and more particularly to communications before a link switch and/or after a link switch in a frequency spectrum shared by multiple network operating entities." SUN provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "... the present disclosure include an apparatus including means for receiving, from a second wireless communication device, a first communication signal. The apparatus may also include means for determining a measurement period based on a first gap duration between the first communication signal and a second communication signal. The apparatus may also include means for performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) based on a channel measurement in the measurement period. The apparatus may also include means for transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, the second communication signal based on the LBT" (paragraph 0175).
Regarding claim 15, MALIK, YI, and SUN teach the method of claim 10,
Additionally, MALIK teaches wherein the radio-frequency sensing signal comprises a radar
signal and the reflected radio- frequency sensing signal comprises a reflected radar signal.
MALIK writes, “The UE 115 may perform calibration and measurements for various purposes or parts of
a transceiver chain. For example, in order to limit exceeding an MPE, the UE 115 may detect external
objects and/or classify them as human tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based
on movement). MPE measurements may be used to avoid radiation exposure which may be based on
the frequency used by a transmitter. For example, radiation exposure, and thus MPE requirements, for
mmW frequencies may be different than for non-mmW frequencies. When human tissue is detected,
the output power of a transmission may be calibrated to avoid exceeding the MPE requirements”
(paragraph 0059). MALIK states the UE may detect external objects and/or classify them as human
tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based on movement). MALIK indicates a
transceiver uses a radio-frequency signal to detect external objects (e.g. sensing), and to detect the
reflection of the same radio-frequency signal during a sensing period using the antenna(s) connected to
the transceiver.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK in view of SUN and SIOMINA et al. (US 20140200016 A1, hereinafter, "SIOMINA").
Regarding claim 1, MALIK teaches a mobile electronic device (paragraph 0104; figure 9, 905:
device) comprising:
one or more antennas (paragraph 0104; figure 9, 925: antenna);
a radio configured to transmit radio-frequency signals to a network over the one or more
antennas according to a communications schedule,
MALIK writes, “The transceiver 920 may communicate bi-directionally, via one or more
antennas, wired, or wireless links as described above. For example, the transceiver 920 may represent a
wireless transceiver and may communicate bi-directionally with another wireless transceiver. The
transceiver 920 may also include a modem to modulate the packets and provide the modulated packets
to the antennas for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the antennas” (paragraph
0107; figure 9, 920: transceiver). MALIK continues, “The calibration module 910 may receive, at the UE,
information about a protocol configuration or scheduled communications and identify one or more
calibration opportunities. The calibration module 910 may calibrate a transceiver chain of the device 905
and utilize the calibrated transceiver chain for wireless communications” (paragraph 0105). MALIK adds,
“At least some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as
an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access
network entity may communicate with UEs 115 through a number of other access network transmission
entities, which may be referred to as a radio head, a smart radio head, or a transmission/reception point
(TRP). In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity or base station 105 may
be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and access network controllers) or
consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105)” (paragraph 0030). MALIK indicates
that some of the network devices may include subcomponents such as an access network entity, which
may be referred to as a radio head, a smart radio head, etc. MALIK also indicates bi-directional
communication with between devices equipped with wireless transceiver, such as a wireless base
station, via one or more antennas. MALIK suggests calibration opportunities during scheduled
communications.
perform radio-frequency sensing of an external object using the one or more antennas during
a sensing period,
MALIK writes, “The UE 115 may perform calibration and measurements for various purposes or parts of
a transceiver chain. For example, in order to limit exceeding an MPE, the UE 115 may detect external
objects and/or classify them as human tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based
on movement). MPE measurements may be used to avoid radiation exposure which may be based on
the frequency used by a transmitter. For example, radiation exposure, and thus MPE requirements, for
mmW frequencies may be different than for non-mmW frequencies. When human tissue is detected,
the output power of a transmission may be calibrated to avoid exceeding the MPE requirements”
(paragraph 0059). MALIK states the UE may detect external objects and/or classify them as human
tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based on movement). MALIK indicates a
transceiver uses a radio-frequency signal to detect external objects (e.g. sensing), and to detect the
reflection of the same radio-frequency signal during a sensing period using the antenna(s) connected to
the transceiver.
and receive network configuration information from the network;
MALIK writes, “At 410, the base station 105-b and UE 115-c optionally communicate to schedule Rx/Tx
communications. For example, the base station 105-b may transmit, and the UE 115-c may receive, UL
and DL grants. As another example, the UE 115-c may transmit RACH preambles, BSRs, or otherwise
request to send UL data” (paragraph 0077). MALIK indicates scheduled Rx/Tx communication that the
base station may communicate. MALIK previously stated that configurations may be distributed across
various network devices and the UE receiving information about protocol configuration.
and one or more processors (paragraph 0104; figure 9, 940: processor)
configured to adjust timing of the radio-frequency sensing periods based on the network
configuration information.
MALIK writes, “At 415, the UE 115-c identifies one or more calibration opportunities. In one
embodiment, the UE 115-c may have rules or circuitry for interpreting network protocol information
and/or scheduled Rx/Tx in light of a protocol used for an air interface between the UE 115-c and base
station 105-b. For example, the UE 115-c may include software or processing circuitry that complies with
the protocol and thus can determine resources used for various signals or communications in light of
network protocol configuration and scheduling” (paragraph 0078). MALIK continues, “The UE 115-c may
construct a protocol timeline to identify resources for scheduled transmissions or reception by the UE
115-c, resources for optional transmission or reception by the UE 115-c, or resources where the UE 115-
c has no corresponding scheduled or optional transmission or reception. The UE 115-c may also identify
scheduled gaps for allowed calibrations or measurements. As discussed herein, the UE 115-c may
identify which resources are available for calibration of a transceiver chain without interrupting network
communications” (paragraph 0079). MALIK indicates that resources used can be determined for various
signals or communications in light of network protocol configuration and scheduling including timing.
MALIK adds that resources are identified for scheduled transmission and also identify scheduled gaps for
allowed calibrations or measurements.
MALIK fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the communications schedule including a measurement gap having a neighbor cell measurement period,”, “wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the measurement gap,”, and “the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap,”
However, in analogous art, SIOMINA teaches the communications schedule including a
measurement gap having a neighbor cell measurement period,
SIOMINA writes, “In LTE, measurement gaps are configured by the network to enable measurements on
the other LTE frequencies and/or other RATs, e.g. UTRAN, Global System for Mobile communication
(GSM), CDMA2000, etc. The gap configuration is signaled to the UE over RRC protocol as part of the
measurement configuration” (paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK to include aspects of the invention and method
described by SIOMINA that "relates generally to telecommunications systems, and in particular, to
methods and nodes, for handling measurements in radio communications systems." SIOMINA provides
motivation for modification of the invention explaining, "Embodiments of this invention deals with
defining a rule for the measuring node of how to use measurements performed before and after a
change of measurement configuration; By defining such a rule, measurements on radio signals can be
more efficiently utilized, which results in improved communication control, such as more efficient use of
radio resources" (paragraph 0072). SIOMINA adds, "It is a further object to make more efficient use of
measurements to improve UE and/or network performance" (paragraph 0070).
MALIK and SIOMINA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the measurement gap,” and “the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap,”
However, in analogous art, SUN teaches wherein the sensing period begins after a start of a
transition period of the measurement gap and ends prior to an end of the transition period of the
measurement gap,
SUN writes, “FIG. 10 is a timing diagram illustrating an LBT measurement scheme 1000 for variable link switch gap durations according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In the scheme 1000, a transmitting node may perform a single LBT measurement towards the end of a link switch gap duration when the link switch gap duration is shorter than a predetermined period. For example, a node (e.g., a BS or a UE) receives a communication signal 210 in one direction at time T0. The node switches to transmit a communication signal 220 in another direction at time T1. The node may determine a link switch gap duration 1002 by employing the scheme 600, 700, 800, and/or 900 described above with respect to FIGS. 6, 7, 8, and/or 9, respectively. The node may perform a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) in a measurement period 206 (e.g., with a minimum duration of about 4 μs) within a slot 204.sub.S(3) (e.g., with a duration of about 9 μs) towards the end of the link switch gap duration 1002. The node may determine that the LBT is a pass when the detected energy is below a certain threshold. The node may determine that the LBT fails when the detected energy is above a certain threshold” (paragraph 0111; figure 10). SUN indicates a link switch gap duration 1002 in which a measurement period 206 is within a slot 204.sub.S(3). SUN explains that a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) may be performed in the measurement period. As illustrated in figure 10, the LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) starts after the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and after the start of the measurement period, and the LBT measurement ends prior to the end of the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and prior to the end of the measurement period.
the transition period being before or after the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap;
SUN writes, “FIG. 10 is a timing diagram illustrating an LBT measurement scheme 1000 for variable link switch gap durations according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In the scheme 1000, a transmitting node may perform a single LBT measurement towards the end of a link switch gap duration when the link switch gap duration is shorter than a predetermined period. For example, a node (e.g., a BS or a UE) receives a communication signal 210 in one direction at time T0. The node switches to transmit a communication signal 220 in another direction at time T1. The node may determine a link switch gap duration 1002 by employing the scheme 600, 700, 800, and/or 900 described above with respect to FIGS. 6, 7, 8, and/or 9, respectively. The node may perform a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) in a measurement period 206 (e.g., with a minimum duration of about 4 μs) within a slot 204.sub.S(3) (e.g., with a duration of about 9 μs) towards the end of the link switch gap duration 1002. The node may determine that the LBT is a pass when the detected energy is below a certain threshold. The node may determine that the LBT fails when the detected energy is above a certain threshold” (paragraph 0111; figure 10). SUN indicates a link switch gap duration 1002 in which a measurement period 206 is within a slot 204.sub.S(3). SUN explains that a single LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) may be performed in the measurement period. As illustrated in figure 10, the LBT measurement (e.g., channel energy detection) starts after the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and after the start of the measurement period, and the LBT measurement ends prior to the end of the link switch gap (i.e. transition period) and prior to the end of the measurement period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK and SIOMINA to include aspects of the invention and method described by SUN that "relates to wireless communication systems, and more particularly to communications before a link switch and/or after a link switch in a frequency spectrum shared by multiple network operating entities." SUN provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "... the present disclosure include an apparatus including means for receiving, from a second wireless communication device, a first communication signal. The apparatus may also include means for determining a measurement period based on a first gap duration between the first communication signal and a second communication signal. The apparatus may also include means for performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) based on a channel measurement in the measurement period. The apparatus may also include means for transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, the second communication signal based on the LBT" (paragraph 0175).
Regarding claim 3, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim
1,
Additionally, MALIK teaches the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of
the radio-frequency sensing with ends of connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycles in
the communications schedule when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period.
MALIK writes, “FIGS. 5A-5B schematically illustrate calibration opportunities for a discontinuous
reception (DRX) mode, according to example embodiments. In a DRX mode, a UE 115 may be configured
to sleep, or enter a low power mode, for a period of time and then wake up during a DRX-on time to
listen for potential DL transmissions or request any needed UL transmission. In connected mode DRX
(CDRX), the UE 115 may remain in an RRC connected mode but still sleep for periods of time to reduce
power consumption. For example, the UE 115 may wake up during a DRX-on time, listen for PDCCH or
PDSCH scrambled with a paging identifier and then process the PDCCH or PDSCH to determine whether
there is data or instruction applicable to the UE 115. If there is data or instruction applicable to the UE
115, the UE 115 may transition out of the CDRX mode to monitor for signals or transmit signals. If there
is no further transmission nor reception to be done by the UE 115, it may return to a sleep mode or low
power state until the next DRX-on time. The DRX-on time may correspond to a window in time where
the UE 115 is expected to be available to monitor for or send transmissions. Thus, DRX modes or CDRX
modes may provide more opportunistic scheduling of a UE 115 to allow for times when the UE 115 is
not expected to be listening for transmissions” (paragraph 0083). MALIK adds, “The CDRX-on windows
505 may represent time periods where the UE 115 is unable to perform a full calibration (although a
partial calibration may be possible in some embodiments) because a transceiver chain is busy doing
monitoring or transmission” (paragraph 0084). MALIK specifies, “Based on the above embodiments and
other contemplated embodiments, a device may preferentially perform measurements or calibration
operations either or both (a) just before the start of CDRX off-time or (b) just prior to waking up at a
CDRX on-time. This may help to minimize the power consumption and overhead associated with waking
up the device specifically or only for measurements or calibrations.” MALIK indicates that the CDRX-on
windows may represent times when a full calibration cannot be performed due to the transceiver chain
being busy.
Regarding claim 4, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim
1,
Additionally, MALIK teaches the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of
the radio-frequency sensing with flexible periods between uplink slots and downlink slots in the
communications schedule when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the
network configuration information identifies that the communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.
MALIK writes, “FIG. 2A is a schematic diagram of a protocol timeline 200 for a UE 115 illustrating
scheduled Tx/Rx resources 205, optional Tx/Rx resources 210, and unscheduled resources 215,
according to one example embodiment. The scheduled Tx/Rx resources 205 may include resources in
which the UE 115 is scheduled for UL and/or DL transmissions. Individual allocations are not illustrated,
but the scheduled Tx/Rx resources 205 may be filled with control channel, data channel, physical
channel, or other channel transmissions or receptions scheduled with the UE 115 by a scheduling entity
(such as a base station 105)” (paragraph 0064). MALIK continues, “FIG. 2D is a schematic diagram of a
protocol timeline 260 for a UE 115 illustrating scheduled Tx/Rx resources 205, SSB resources 212, RACH
resources 214, and unscheduled resources 230, according to one example embodiment. A UE 115 may
identify each of the SSB resources 212, RACH resources 214, and unscheduled resources 230 as
calibration/measurement opportunities. For example, each of the SSB resources 212, RACH resources
214, and unscheduled resources 230 represent resources where a UE 115 may perform
calibration/measurements. In one embodiment, the UE 115 selects the unscheduled resources 230 with
a higher priority than other optional Tx/Rx resources” (paragraph 0071; figure 2D). MALIK explains in
paragraph 0064, “The scheduled Tx/Rx resources 205 may include resources in which the UE 115 is
scheduled for UL and/or DL transmissions.” MALIK continues in paragraph 0071, “For example, each of
the SSB resources 212, RACH resources 214, and unscheduled resources 230 represent resources where
a UE 115 may perform calibration/measurements. In one embodiment, the UE 115 selects the
unscheduled resources 230 with a higher priority than other optional Tx/Rx resources.” As can be seen
in figure 2D, the unscheduled resources occur between scheduled resources in the timeline.
Regarding claim 23, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of
claim 1,
Additionally, MALIK teaches wherein the radio is configured to transmit a radar signal and to
receive a reflected radar signal while performing the radio-frequency sensing.
MALIK writes, “The UE 115 may perform calibration and measurements for various purposes or parts of
a transceiver chain. For example, in order to limit exceeding an MPE, the UE 115 may detect external
objects and/or classify them as human tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based
on movement). MPE measurements may be used to avoid radiation exposure which may be based on
the frequency used by a transmitter. For example, radiation exposure, and thus MPE requirements, for
mmW frequencies may be different than for non-mmW frequencies. When human tissue is detected,
the output power of a transmission may be calibrated to avoid exceeding the MPE requirements”
(paragraph 0059). MALIK states the UE may detect external objects and/or classify them as human
tissue (e.g., detect a reflector and classify as human tissue based on movement). MALIK indicates a
transceiver uses a radio-frequency signal to detect external objects (e.g. sensing), and to detect the
reflection of the same radio-frequency signal during a sensing period using the antenna(s) connected to
the transceiver.
Claim 24 is a claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has already been rejected
above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 24 is rejected under the
same rational as claim 1.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of YANG et al. (US 20200044796 A1, hereinafter, "YANG").
Regarding claim 5, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 4,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with ends of the flexible periods when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the network configuration information identifies that the communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with ends of the flexible periods when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the network configuration information identifies that the
communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.
YANG writes, “As shown in FIG. 5, the gap is located at the end of the time unit, and is used for performing at least one of channel sensing, interference measurement, uplink and downlink transition time, or the like before transmission of the next time unit” (paragraph 0159; figure 5). YANG states that the gap is located at the end of the time unit which is used for performing at least one of channel sensing, measurement, uplink and downlink transition time, or the like before transmission of the next time unit. Thus, YANG indicates that the RF sensing may be aligned with the ends of flexible periods. As MALIK indicated above, the sensing period’s time may be adjusted with regards to the network configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the invention and method described by YANG that "relates to the field of communications and in particular, a method and apparatus for aligning uplink transmission with downlink transmission." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "The advantage is that channel estimation may be performed in advance so that at least one of the following can be achieved or obtained: the decoding success rate is improved; sufficient time is given to decode data; measurement interference condition is obtained; a cross-link interference level is obtained; a transmission link direction is obtained, or the like" (paragraph 0171). YANG adds, "The stability of transmitting a signal by a communication device is improved" (paragraph 0336).
Regarding claim 6, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 4,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with beginnings of the flexible periods when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the network configuration information identifies that the communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with beginnings of the flexible periods when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the network configuration information identifies that the communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.
YANG writes, “As shown in FIG. 6, the gap is located at the beginning of the time unit and is used for
performing at least one of the channel sensing, the interference measurement, the uplink and
downlink transition time, or the like before the transmission of the next time unit” (paragraph 0159;
figure 6). YANG states that the gap is located at the beginning of the time unit which is used for
performing at least one of channel sensing, measurement, uplink and downlink transition time, or the
like before transmission of the next time unit. Thus, YANG indicates that the RF sensing may be aligned
with the ends of flexible periods. As MALIK indicated above, the sensing period’s time may be adjusted
with regards to the network configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the invention and method described by YANG that "relates to the field of communications and in particular, a method and apparatus for aligning uplink transmission with downlink transmission." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, "The advantage is that channel estimation may be performed in advance so that at least one of the following can be achieved or obtained: the decoding success rate is improved; sufficient time is given to decode data; measurement interference condition is obtained; a cross-link interference level is obtained; a transmission link direction is obtained, or the like" (paragraph 0171). YANG adds, "The stability of transmitting a signal by a communication device is improved" (paragraph 0336).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, YI, and SUN as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI et al. (US 20220141842 A1, hereinafter, "KANAMARLAPUDI").
Regarding claim 14, MALIK, YI, and SUN teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
MALIK, YI, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “adjusting, using the
one or more processors, a frequency of the radio and adjusting a tuning setting of the one or more
antennas during the transition period.”
However, in analogous art, KANAMARLAPUDI teaches adjusting, using the one or more
processors, a frequency of the radio and adjusting a tuning setting of the one or more antennas during
the transition period.
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “Generally, a UE may not be able to measure a target carrier frequency in a neighbor cell simultaneously while transmitting or receiving on a serving cell. Thus, to enable the UE to
perform such measurements, the base station (for example, the eNB/MN in EN-DC) may configure measurement gaps for the UE. During a measurement gap, the UE may retune its antennas to the frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell, and then retune its antennas back to the serving cell. The UE may repeat the measurement process periodically during each configured measurement gap” (paragraph 0023). MALIK previously indicated a communication schedule, KANAMARLAPUDI specifies that the base station may configure measurement gaps for the UE.
KANAMARLAPUDI elaborates that during a measurement gap, the UE may return its antennas to the
frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell and then retune its
antennas. Thus, it can be concluded that KANAMARLAPUDI suggests a neighbor cell measurement
period. It is understood that transition period is during the retuning process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of MALIK, YI, and SUN to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANAMARLAPUDI that "allow a [User Equipment (UE)] to trigger initiation of an [Scheduling Request (SR)] procedure in response to a decrease in an amount of received data or uplink grants following a measurement gap." KANAMARLAPUDI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "inefficient data stalls caused by erroneous [Discontinuous Reception(DRX)] determinations by a base station may be avoided." KANAMARLAPUDI adds, "To prevent this data stalling from occurring in such cases, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the serving base station after performing a measurement based on the measurement configuration. The SR may inform the serving base station that the UE is not in the DRX off duration and currently has data to transmit to the base station" (paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI.
Regarding claim 21, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 1,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the
transition period of the measurement gap is before the neighbor cell measurement period.”
However, in analogous art, KANAMARLAPUDI teaches wherein the transition period of the
measurement gap is before the neighbor cell measurement period.
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “Generally, a UE may not be able to measure a target carrier frequency in
a neighbor cell simultaneously while transmitting or receiving on a serving cell. Thus, to enable the UE to
perform such measurements, the base station (for example, the eNB/MN in EN-DC) may configure
measurement gaps for the UE. During a measurement gap, the UE may retune its antennas to the
frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell, and then retune
its antennas back to the serving cell. The UE may repeat the measurement process periodically during
each configured measurement gap” (paragraph 0023). MALIK previously indicated a communication
schedule, KANAMARLAPUDI specifies that the base station may configure measurement gaps for the UE.
KANAMARLAPUDI elaborates that during a measurement gap, the UE may return its antennas to the
frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell and then retune its
antennas. Thus, it can be concluded that KANAMARLAPUDI suggests a neighbor cell measurement
period. It is understood that transition period is during the retuning process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANAMARLAPUDI that "allow a [User Equipment (UE)] to trigger initiation of an [Scheduling Request (SR)] procedure in response to a decrease in an amount of received data or uplink grants following a measurement gap." KANAMARLAPUDI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "inefficient data stalls caused by erroneous [Discontinuous Reception(DRX)] determinations by a base station may be avoided." KANAMARLAPUDI adds, "To prevent this data stalling from occurring in such cases, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the serving base station after performing a measurement based on the measurement configuration. The SR may inform the serving base station that the UE is not in the DRX off duration and currently has data to transmit to the base station" (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 22, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 1,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the transition period of the measurement gap is after the neighbor cell measurement period.”
However, in analogous art, KANAMARLAPUDI teaches wherein the transition period of the
measurement gap is after the neighbor cell measurement period.
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “Generally, a UE may not be able to measure a target carrier frequency in
a neighbor cell simultaneously while transmitting or receiving on a serving cell. Thus, to enable the UE to
perform such measurements, the base station (for example, the eNB/MN in EN-DC) may
configure measurement gaps for the UE. During a measurement gap, the UE may retune its antennas to
the frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell, and then retune
its antennas back to the serving cell. The UE may repeat the measurement process periodically during
each configured measurement gap” (paragraph 0023). MALIK previously indicated a communication
schedule, KANAMARLAPUDI specifies that the base station may configure measurement gaps for the UE.
KANAMARLAPUDI elaborates that during a measurement gap, the UE may return its antennas to the
frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell and then retune its
antennas. Thus, it can be concluded that KANAMARLAPUDI suggests a neighbor cell measurement
period. It is understood that transition period is during the retuning process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANAMARLAPUDI that "allow a [User Equipment (UE)] to trigger initiation of an [Scheduling Request (SR)] procedure in response to a decrease in an amount of received data or uplink grants following a measurement gap." KANAMARLAPUDI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "inefficient data stalls caused by erroneous [Discontinuous Reception(DRX)] determinations by a base station may be avoided." KANAMARLAPUDI adds, "To prevent this data stalling from occurring in such cases, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the serving base station after performing a measurement based on the measurement configuration. The SR may inform the serving base station that the UE is not in the DRX off duration and currently has data to transmit to the base station" (paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI and WU et al. (US 20100182928 A1, hereinafter, "WU").
Regarding claim 29, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 1,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the schedule includes a series of periodic measurement gaps,”, “the series of periodic measurement gaps
includes the measurement gap,”, “each periodic measurement gap in the series of periodic
measurement gaps has a respective neighbor cell measurement period and a respective transition
period,”, and “and the sensing gap occurs during the transition period of every Nth measurement gap in the series of periodic measurement gaps, N being greater than one.”
However, in analogous art, KANAMARLAPUDI teaches wherein the schedule includes a series of
periodic measurement gaps,
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “For example, the measurement configuration may include one or more
measurement objects indicating the frequency, time location, and subcarrier spacing of reference
signals the UE is to measure (e.g. synchronization signal block (SSB), channel state information reference
signal (CSI-RS), demodulation reference signal (DMRS), etc.), a reporting configuration for each
measurement object (e.g. event triggered reporting or periodic reporting), measurement gaps indicating
the time periods during which the UE may perform measurements, and other measurement criteria”
(paragraph 0021). KANAMARLAPUDI indicates the measurement configuration may include one or more
measurement gaps indicating the time periods during which the UE may perform measurements, and
other measurement criteria.
the series of periodic measurement gaps includes the measurement gap,
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “For example, the measurement configuration may include one or more
measurement objects indicating the frequency, time location, and subcarrier spacing of reference
signals the UE is to measure (e.g. synchronization signal block (SSB), channel state information reference
signal (CSI-RS), demodulation reference signal (DMRS), etc.), a reporting configuration for each
measurement object (e.g. event triggered reporting or periodic reporting), measurement gaps indicating
the time periods during which the UE may perform measurements, and other measurement criteria”
(paragraph 0021). KANAMARLAPUDI indicates the measurement configuration may include one or more
measurement gaps indicating the time periods during which the UE may perform measurements, and
other measurement criteria.
each periodic measurement gap in the series of periodic measurement gaps has a respective
neighbor cell measurement period and a respective transition period,
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “FIG. 4 illustrates an example 400 of a measurement gap 402. When the UE
receives a measurement configuration from the base station, the measurement configuration may
include a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap length (e.g. 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, 6
ms, etc.), a measurement gap repetition periodicity (e.g. 20, 40, 80, 160 ms, etc.), and other criteria. For
instance, FIG. 4 illustrates an example where the base station configures the UE with a measurement
gap length of 4 ms (e.g. 4 subframes) and a measurement repetition periodicity of 40 ms (e.g. occurring
after every 4 frames), although different gap lengths and periodicities may be configured in other
examples. During each measurement gap 402, the UE may perform RF retuning to a different frequency,
RAT, or cell, perform measurements, and then perform RF tuning back from the different frequency,
RAT, or cell” (paragraph 0063). KANAMARLAPUDI indicates the measurement configuration may include
a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap length, a measurement gap repetition
periodicity, and other criteria. KANAMARLAPUDI further states that for each measurement gap, the UE
may perform RF retuning to a different frequency, RAT, or cell, perform measurements, and then
perform RF tuning back from the different frequency, RAT, or cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANAMARLAPUDI that "allow a [User Equipment (UE)] to trigger initiation of an [Scheduling Request (SR)] procedure in response to a decrease in an amount of received data or uplink grants following a measurement gap." KANAMARLAPUDI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "inefficient data stalls caused by erroneous [Discontinuous Reception(DRX)] determinations by a base station may be avoided." KANAMARLAPUDI adds, "To prevent this data stalling from occurring in such cases, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the serving base station after performing a measurement based on the measurement configuration. The SR may inform the serving base station that the UE is not in the DRX off duration and currently has data to transmit to the base station" (paragraph 0025).
MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and KANAMARLAPUDI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the sensing gap occurs during the transition period of every Nth measurement gap in the series of periodic measurement gaps, N being greater than one.”
However, in analogous art, WU teaches and the sensing gap occurs during the transition period of every Nth measurement gap in the series of periodic measurement gaps, N being greater than one.
WU writes, “In an embodiment, the invention provides a method for RF spectrum scanning in wireless
communications. The method comprises sensing a signal, such as an Orthogonal Frequency Division
Multiple Access (OFDMA) signal; identifying a pre-defined transition period in the signal, such as a
transmit/receive transition gap or a receive/transmit transition gap (RTG); deriving an extended
transition period; and scanning a portion of the RF spectrum during the extended transition period”
(paragraph 0012). WU continues, “The method involves extending the transition periods, such as the
RTG 306 and TTG 308 described above, and scanning the spectrum during the extended transition
periods. The transition period can be extended by a specified amount that is programmed into the
transmitting and receiving devices (e.g. BS 102 and secondary wireless devices 104), or is communicated
in a message sent to the receiving device” (paragraph 0035). The method can be repeated periodically,
such as on receipt of each frame, or as desired or required by applicable standards (paragraph 0040).
WU mentions a method for RF spectrum scanning in wireless communications comprising sensing a
signal and identifying a pre-defined transition period. WU informs the reader that scanning a portion of
the RF spectrum during the extended transition period. Therefore, WU indicates that a sensing period
takes place during the extended transition period which would included a start of the extended
transition period and an end to the extended transition period. WU notes that the method can be
repeated periodically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and KANAMARLAPUDI to include aspects of the invention and method described by WU that includes "RF spectrum scanning in wireless communications." WU provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "In a wireless environment, devices must share the RF spectrum while operating at an acceptable level of performance. As the number of wireless applications continues to grow, so does the numbers of devices, networks and systems contending for the communications spectrum, making the management of the RF spectrum an important issue"(paragraph 0003). WU states, "In some embodiments the invention provides an advantageous method of detecting portions of spectrum being used, or not used, at a certain time without using defined quiet periods of during which all secondary devices must perform spectrum scanning, thus saving essential resources. In addition, in certain embodiments the invention is accomplished with minimal changes to the existing equipment, resulting in cost savings." (paragraph 0043).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of BAYESTEH et al. (US 20210286045 A1, hereinafter, "BAYESTEH").
Regarding claim 7, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 3,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more processors being configured to align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with a beginning of a downlink slot in the communications schedule when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the network configuration information identifies that the communications
schedule is free of CDRX cycles.”
However, in analogous art, BAYESTEH teaches the one or more processors being configured to
align the timing of the radio-frequency sensing with a beginning of a downlink slot in the
communications schedule when the sensing period does not fit within the transition period and the
network configuration information identifies that the communications schedule is free of CDRX cycles.
BAYESTEH writes, “It is recognized that the timing granularity for sensing is much larger than for
communications. Therefore, it may not be possible to align all active and passive phases in sensing with
regular communications symbols. However, the sensing signal may be configured so that a selected
number of the active and passive phases in the sensing signal are aligned with the boundaries of a
communication symbol. This has the benefit of aligning of the communications/sensing transmission of
one TRP with other TRPs in the network” (paragraph 0241). BAYESTEH adds, “The processing unit 220
can also be configured to implement some or all of the functionality described herein. Each processing
unit 220 may include any suitable processing or computing device configured to perform one or more
operations” (paragraph 0097). BAYESTEH indicates “that it may not be possible to align all active and
passive phases in sensing with regular communications symbols”, however, “the sensing signal may be
configured so that a selected number of the active and passive phases in the sensing signal are aligned
with the boundaries of a communication symbol. This has the benefit of aligning of the
communications/sensing transmission of one TRP with other TRPs in the network.” BAYESETH specifies
that the “processing unit 220 can also be configured to implement some or all of the functionality
described herein. Each processing unit 220 may include any suitable processing or computing device
configured to perform one or more operations.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the methods and apparatus described by BAYESTEH that "provided for integrated communication and sensing." BAYESTEH provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "A possible benefit of implementing both sensing and communications operations is that the network can configure communication signals based on the information determined from sensing. This type of communication is referred to as sensing-assisted communications" (paragraph 0057). BAYESTEH adds, "Possible benefits of providing target-specific and sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations include the flexibility to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes" (paragraph 0183).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SAMPATH et al. (US 20190200365 A1, hereinafter, "SAMPATH").
Regarding claim 8, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the mobile electronic device of claim 1,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or
more processors being configured to defer the radio- frequency sensing from a nominal sensing time
to a delayed time within a maximum delay time of the nominal sensing time when the sensing period
does not fit within the transition period and the communications schedule identifies that there is no
data to be conveyed between the nominal sensing time and the maximum delay time.”
However, in analogous art, SAMPATH teaches the one or more processors being configured to
defer the radio- frequency sensing from a nominal sensing time to a delayed time within a maximum
delay time of the nominal sensing time when the sensing period does not fit within the transition
period and the communications schedule identifies that there is no data to be conveyed between the
nominal sensing time and the maximum delay time.
SAMPATH writes, “At 1104, the base station controls use of the cell specific resource for the MPE
measurement. For example, the base station may transmit an indication that an uplink resource may be
used for the MPE measurement. Thus, the UE may wait to receive an indication that the resource may
be used for MPE measurement before performing measurements based on the resource. As another
example, the base station may transmit an indication that an uplink resource may not be used for the
MPE measurement. Thus, the UE may choose whether or not to use the resource for MPE measurement, unless the base station indicates that the resource may not be used. The base station
may set a parameter that governs when an uplink resource may be used for the MPE measurement. The
base station may transmit an indication regarding use of an uplink resource for the MPE measurement,
wherein the indication comprises a parameter in at least one of a MIB, SIB, other system information, a
MAC CE, DCI, or RRC message. The indication may throttle or otherwise place a limit on a UE's use of the
uplink resource for the MPE measurement. The base station may transmit a scheduled period for the
MPE measurement to a user equipment. The scheduled period for the MPE measurement may be based
on a pending uplink data transmission for the user equipment” (paragraph 0103). Here SAMPATH
indicates, “Thus, the UE may wait to receive an indication that the resource may be used for MPE
measurement before performing measurements based on the resource.” A person having ordinary skill
in the art can conclude that the indication may come from the processor(s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects of the methods and apparatus described by SAMPATH that "maintain conformance with exposure limits..." SAMPATH provides motivation for modification of the invention proposing, "MPE detection resource may be located in guard tones between RACH resources or in guard tones between RACH resources and data/control resources" (paragraph 0063). SAMPATH suggests MPE detection be located between RACH resources because, "a RACH resource is predictably an uplink resource, without concern for downlink transmission interference. The UE may use the RACH resource for MPE measurement when the UE does not need to use the resource for performing RACH or beam access recovery. Use of the RACH resource provides a number of benefits. The RACH resource is predictably a UE transmit occasion in contrast to data resources. The RACH resource is designed for low utilization in order to enable UEs to obtain access to the system quickly and reliably. Thus, the RACH resources should have less inaccuracy in MPE measurement" (paragraph 0066).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of DENT et al. (US 20090253385 A1, hereinafter, "DENT").
Regarding claim 25, MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN teach the wireless circuitry of claim 24,
MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the radio is configured to measure a signal transmitted by an additional wireless base station that is different than the wireless base station during the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap.”
However, in analogous art, DENT teaches wherein the radio is configured to measure a signal
transmitted by an additional wireless base station that is different than the wireless base station during the neighbor cell measurement period of the measurement gap.
DENT writes, “FIG. 1 illustrates a wireless communication device 100 operating in a cellular
network including first 111a, 111b and second 112a, 112b base stations. The first base stations 111a,
111b transmit and receive signals using a first pair of spaced frequency bands, while the second base
stations 112a, 112b transmit and receive signals using a second pair of spaced frequency bands different
from the first pair of spaced frequency bands. Thus, the base stations 111a, 111b, 112a, and 112b utilize
Frequency-Division Duplexing (FDD), in which the forward link (base station to mobile station) and
reverse link (mobile station to base station) transmissions are separated by frequency” (paragraph
0029). DENT indicates two separate base stations using “a second pair of spaced frequency bands
different from the first pair of spaced frequency bands.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of MALIK, SIOMINA, and SUN to include aspects described by DENT that "generally relates to wireless communication devices and particularly relates to circuits and methods for adaptively matching transceiver circuits to varying antenna impedances." DENT provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Absent a tuning device, the antenna impedance observed by the transceiver circuits is a function of the operating frequency, and may also vary substantially depending upon the proximity of the antenna to the human body. Therefore, it may be insufficient to determine fixed matching commands for the various channel frequencies, such as in conventional frequency hopping radios, due to the varying proximity of the cellular phone, and hence the antenna, to a user's body. Furthermore, the proximity of the cellular phone to the user's body may vary during a call, necessitating the detection and correction of a resultant impedance change without interrupting the call or otherwise distorting the signal" (paragraph 0007). DENT suggests, "a need for very small, low-cost, adaptive antenna matching techniques that are capable of operating continuously during normal transceiver use." (paragraph 0007). DENT adds, "a need for an improved method of measuring antenna reflection, compensated for advanced modulation schemes, as well as for providing periods during which the receiver is not employed for receiving user data which may be re-employed for such compensated measurements" (paragraph 0009). DENT continues, "One aim of the circuits and techniques disclosed herein is to obtain an accurate transmitter-to-antenna impedance match for signal transmissions, thereby improving transmitter linearity and efficiency without resorting, for example, to the use of ferrite isolators" (paragraph 0037).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and DENT as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of YI.
Regarding claim 26, MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and DENT teach the wireless circuitry of claim 25,
MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and DENT fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the radio does not measure the signal transmitted by the additional wireless base station during the transition period of the measurement gap.”
However, in analogous art, YI teaches wherein the radio does not measure the signal transmitted by the additional wireless base station during the transition period of the measurement
gap.
YI writes, “…at resources where the transmission direction follows, the intended DL/UL configuration
may trigger transmission without any sensing or measurement” (paragraph 0087). YI indicates that a
transmission may be triggered without any sensing or measurement. YI previously suggested a transition
period between the DL/UL for measurement/sensing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, and DENT to include aspects described by YI that configures a sensing gap "among cells for inter-cell interference coordination (ICIC) mechanism." YI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Inter-cell interference can be avoided in a new [radio access technology (RAT)]." (paragraph 0011). YI adds, "...listening on a reservation signal in a sensing gap from a neighbor cell, and upon listening on the reservation signal, performing downlink (DL) transmission to a user equipment (UE) or uplink (UL) reception from the UE in a cell" (paragraph 0009).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, DENT, and YI as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI.
Regarding claim 27, MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, DENT, and YI teach the wireless circuitry of claim 26,
MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, DENT, and YI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the transition period is before the neighbor cell measurement period in the measurement gap.”
However, in analogous art, KANAMARLAPUDI teaches wherein the transition period is before
the neighbor cell measurement period in the measurement gap.
KANAMARLAPUDI writes, “Generally, a UE may not be able to measure a target carrier frequency in
a neighbor cell simultaneously while transmitting or receiving on a serving cell. Thus, to enable the UE to
perform such measurements, the base station (for example, the eNB/MN in EN-DC) may
configure measurement gaps for the UE. During a measurement gap, the UE may retune its antennas to
the frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell, and then retune
its antennas back to the serving cell. The UE may repeat the measurement process periodically during
each configured measurement gap” (paragraph 0023). MALIK previously indicated a communication
schedule, KANAMARLAPUDI specifies that the base station may configure measurement gaps for the UE.
KANAMARLAPUDI elaborates that during a measurement gap, the UE may return its antennas to the
frequency or RAT of the neighbor cell, perform measurements in the neighbor cell and then retune its
antennas. Thus, it can be concluded that KANAMARLAPUDI suggests a neighbor cell measurement
period. It is understood that transition period is during the retuning process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of MALIK, SIOMINA, SUN, DENT, and YI to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANAMARLAPUDI that "allow a [User Equipment (UE)] to trigger initiation of an [Scheduling Request (SR)] procedure in response to a decrease in an amount of received data or uplink grants following a measurement gap." KANAMARLAPUDI provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "inefficient data stalls caused by erroneous [Discontinuous Reception(DRX)] determinations by a base station may be avoided." KANAMARLAPUDI adds, "To prevent this data stalling from occurring in such cases, the UE may transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the serving base station after performing a measurement based on the measurement configuration. The SR may inform the serving base station that the UE is not in the DRX off duration and currently has data to transmit to the base station" (paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK, YI, and SUN as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of ZOU et al. (US 20240147249 A1, hereinafter, "ZOU").
Regarding claim 30, MALIK, YI, and SUN teach the method of claim 10, wherein:
MALIK, YI, and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the transition period is before the neighbor cell measurement period,”, “the neighbor cell measurement period begins
immediately at the end of the transition period,”, “the first scheduled data block ends immediately at
the beginning of the transition period,”, “the transition period includes a first non-zero amount of time prior to the sensing period,”, “the transition period includes a second non-zero amount of time
after the sensing period,”, “the radio performs a neighbor cell measurement during the neighbor cell
measurement period,”, “the radio does not transmit signals during the first portion of the transition
period,”, “the radio does not transmit signals during the second portion of the transition period,”, and
“and the portable electronic device is not a wireless base station.”
However, in analogous art, ZOU teaches the transition period is before the neighbor cell
measurement period,
ZOU writes, “In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects
are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage
media, program means) that performs a radar sensing function in a mobile communication device that
operates in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) wireless communication system having an air interface that
comprises a plurality of uplink symbol times, a plurality of downlink symbol times, a plurality of TDD
transmission direction transition periods, and a plurality of transition pairs of symbol times, wherein
each of the transition pairs of symbol times comprises one of the uplink symbol times and one of the
downlink symbol times, and each of the TDD transmission direction transition periods is associated with
one of the plurality of transition pairs of symbol times and is immediately preceded by a first one of the
uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of symbol times and is immediately
followed by a second one of the uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of
symbol times” (paragraph 0007; figure 3, 303: DL-to-UL GP). ZOU illustrate in figure 3, and describes
above, the transition period is before the neighbor cell measurement period.
the neighbor cell measurement period begins immediately at the end of the transition period,
ZOU writes, “In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects
are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage
media, program means) that performs a radar sensing function in a mobile communication device that
operates in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) wireless communication system having an air interface that
comprises a plurality of uplink symbol times, a plurality of downlink symbol times, a plurality of TDD
transmission direction transition periods, and a plurality of transition pairs of symbol times, wherein
each of the transition pairs of symbol times comprises one of the uplink symbol times and one of the
downlink symbol times, and each of the TDD transmission direction transition periods is associated with
one of the plurality of transition pairs of symbol times and is immediately preceded by a first one of the
uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of symbol times and is immediately
followed by a second one of the uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of
symbol times” (paragraph 0007; figure 3, 303: DL-to-UL GP). ZOU illustrate in figure 3, and describes
above, the measurement period begins immediately at the end of the transition period.
the first scheduled data block ends immediately at the beginning of the transition period,
ZOU writes, “In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects
are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage
media, program means) that performs a radar sensing function in a mobile communication device that
operates in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) wireless communication system having an air interface that
comprises a plurality of uplink symbol times, a plurality of downlink symbol times, a plurality of TDD
transmission direction transition periods, and a plurality of transition pairs of symbol times, wherein
each of the transition pairs of symbol times comprises one of the uplink symbol times and one of the
downlink symbol times, and each of the TDD transmission direction transition periods is associated with
one of the plurality of transition pairs of symbol times and is immediately preceded by a first one of the
uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of symbol times and is immediately
followed by a second one of the uplink and downlink symbol times of the associated transition pair of
symbol times” (paragraph 0007; figure 3, 303: DL-to-UL GP). ZOU illustrate in figure 3, and describes
above, the first data block ends immediately at the beginning of the transition period.
the transition period includes a first non-zero amount of time prior to the sensing period,
ZOU writes, “Finding a suitable start time for the radar operation window 301 involves, in one respect, a
UE-R considering the following timing margins with respect to a beginning portion 305 of the DL-to-UL
TDD transmission direction transition period 303 of the UE-R:” (paragraph 0102; figure 3). ZOU adds, “1.
RF propagation time from the BS to other nearby UEs in order to avoid being an aggressor and causing
interference towards other nearby UEs' DL reception” (paragraph 0103). ZOU continues, “2. The BS TX
transient period in order to avoid having the transmitted radar signal become a victim of interference
from transient signals emitted by the base station during the time it switches its transmitter from ON to
OFF” (paragraph 0105). ZOU illustrates in figure 3, and indicates a non-zero amount of time prior to the
sensing period.
the transition period includes a second non-zero amount of time after the sensing period,
ZOU writes, “In an end portion 307 of the UE-R's DL-to-UL TDD transmission direction transition
period 303, the following timing margins should be considered by a UE-R when determining the start
time and duration of the radar operation window 301:” (paragraph 0108; figure 3). ZOU adds, “1. RF
propagation time to the BS in order to avoid being an aggressor that causes interference towards the
BS's uplink reception” (paragraph 0109). ZOU continues, “2. The UE TX transient time from OFF to ON, to
avoid being a victim and interfered during UE TX transient from OFF to ON occurring before its actual
transmission” (paragraph 0112). ZOU illustrates in figure 3, and indicates a non-zero amount of time
after the sensing period.
the radio performs a neighbor cell measurement during the neighbor cell measurement
period,
ZOU writes, “The presence of other UEs can be detected from previously observed UL transmissions.
The distance between a UE-R and its neighbor UEs can be estimated via a detected timing difference
with respect to the UE-R's local Timing Advance (TA) parameter. Alternatively or in addition,
measurements of received signal power from another UE's transmissions will give an indication of that
UE's relative distance between the UE-R and the measured UE. There are still other mechanisms that
can be used alone or in combination with other mechanisms, to assess a distance between a UE-R and a
neighboring UE” (paragraph 0071). ZOU adds, “FIG. 3 shows an example of a radar operation window
301 allocated within a DL-to-UL GP 303 based on existing 3GPP specifications, where the possible
placement and duration of a radar operation window depends on the UE-R RF propagation time to the
(serving) base station” (paragraph 0098). ZOU indicates the UE-R performs measurements to detect
distances of neighboring UEs. ZOU indicates the a radar operation window, 301, were the UE-R
operations occur.
the radio does not transmit signals during the first portion of the transition period,
ZOU writes “Finding a suitable start time for the radar operation window 301 involves, in one respect, a
UE-R considering the following timing margins with respect to a beginning portion 305 of the DL-to-UL
TDD transmission direction transition period 303 of the UE-R:” (paragraph 0102; figure 3). ZOU
continues, “1. RF propagation time from the BS to other nearby UEs in order to avoid being an aggressor
and causing interference towards other nearby UEs' DL reception” (paragraph 0103). ZOU adds, “2. The
BS TX transient period in order to avoid having the transmitted radar signal become a victim of
interference from transient signals emitted by the base station during the time it switches its
transmitter from ON to OFF” (paragraph 0105). ZOU illustrates in figure 3 and indicates a suitable start
time before the radar operation window, including allowing a transition to conclude to avoid
interference.
the radio does not transmit signals during the second portion of the transition period,
ZOU writes, “In an end portion 307 of the UE-R's DL-to-UL TDD transmission direction transition
period 303, the following timing margins should be considered by a UE-R when determining the start
time and duration of the radar operation window 301:” (paragraph 0108; figure 3). ZOU continues, “1.
RF propagation time to the BS in order to avoid being an aggressor that causes interference towards the
BS's uplink reception” (paragraph 0109). ZOU adds, “2. The UE TX transient time from OFF to ON, to
avoid being a victim and interfered during UE TX transient from OFF to ON occurring before its actual
transmission” (paragraph 0112). ZOU illustrates in figure 3 and indicates considering RF propagation
time to the BS in order to avoid being an aggressor that causes interference towards the BS's uplink
reception, and transient time from OFF to ON, to avoid being a victim and interfered during UE TX
transient from OFF to ON occurring before its actual transmission.
and the portable electronic device is not a wireless base station.
ZOU writes, “In an aspect of embodiments consistent with the invention, a radar-enabled UE (UE-R)
determines a suitable time window within one or more GPs for performing a radar operation. If a
suitable time window is available, the UE-R performs the radar operation during the time window of the
GP” (paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of MALIK, YI, and SUN to include aspects described by ZOU that "relates to technology that enables a mobile communication device to transmit a radar signal that causes little to no interference to communications being carried out in a mobile communication system in which the mobile communication device is operating." ZOU provides motivation for modification of the invention noting "Embodiments consistent with the invention provide any number of the following advantages over conventional technology: 1. Transmission of radar signals and reception of the corresponding backscattered signals can be scheduled autonomously by the UE-R without involving a central control unit (e.g., a BS in the communication network). 2. Interference from radar signals to base stations and to other nearby UEs can be avoided. 3. Co-existence of Radar and 5G communication is enabled. 4. A complete radar coverage can be achieved without involving a central control unit (e.g., a BS), or sharing information with the surrounding UEs." (paragraphs 0190-0194).
Claim 31 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 30 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 30. Claim 31 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 30.
Claims 2, 9, 11-13, 16-20, and 28 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 6/22/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475