DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 14 and dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 7-9; canceled claim 6; added new claims 11-16. The pending claims are claims 1-5, 7-16.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuno et al., US 20160285081.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuno et al., teaches a secondary battery (abstract; 0016) negative electrode (abstract; 0016) comprising: a negative electrode current collector (0016); and a negative electrode active material layer (0016) formed on a surface of the negative electrode current collector (0016), wherein the negative electrode active material layer (0016) includes at least a first layer (0016) and a second layer (0016), both the first layer and second layer contain a carbon material as a negative electrode active material (0031; 0034; 0042), both the first layer and the second layer contain silicon oxide (0016; 0022-0023) doped with at least one alkali earth metal (0084; 0096-0097), the first layer is disposed between the second layer and the negative electrode current collector (0016; 0022); an amount of the alkali earth metal in the second layer is higher than an amount of the alkali earth metal in the first layer (0016; 0022; 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the second layer contains at least 2 mass% or more of the silicon oxide doped with the alkali earth metal (1.5 to 85 mass%) (0027), relative to 100 mass% of the negative electrode active material in the second layer (1.5 to 85 mass%) (0027).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the first layer contains less than 2 mass% of the silicon oxide containing the alkali earth metal (1.5 mass %) (0027-0028), relative to 100 mass% of the negative electrode active material in the first layer.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuno et al., does not teach wherein a ratio of an average thickness of the second layer to an average thickness of the negative electrode active material layer is 5% or more to 50% or less (0037-0038).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the silicon oxide containing the alkali earth metal includes silicon oxide containing magnesium (0084; 0096-0097).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the first layer further contains silicon oxide (0110) containing an alkali metal in addition to the silicon oxide containing the alkali earth metal (0084; 0096-0097).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the second layer further contains silicon oxide (0016; 0021-0022) containing an alkali metal in addition to the silicon oxide containing the alkali earth metal (0031-0032).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the silicon oxide containing the alkali metal includes silicon oxide containing lithium (0016; 0021; 0023).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuno et al., teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (0015-0016) comprising: the negative electrode (0016) according to claim 1; a positive electrode (0027; 0054); and a nonaqueous electrolyte (0015; 0017-0020).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein both the first layer and the second layer contain graphite as the negative electrode active material (0034; 0042; 0062).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the second layer does not contain the silicon oxide (0016) doped with the alkali metal (0016; 0022; 0036).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuno et al., teaches secondary battery negative electrode (0015-0016) according to claim 1, wherein both the first layer and the second layer contain the silicon oxide doped with the alkali metal (0084; 0096-0097), and an amount of the silicon oxide doped with the alkali metal in the first layer is higher than an amount of the silicon oxide doped with the alkali earth metal in the second layer (0016; 0022; 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuno et al., teaches a secondary battery negative electrode (0016) comprising: a negative electrode current collector (0016-0017); and
a negative electrode active material layer formed on a surface of the negative electrode current collector (0016-0017), wherein
the negative electrode active material layer includes at least a first layer (0016; 0022) and a second layer (0016; 0022),
both the first layer and the second layer contain a carbon material as a negative electrode active material (0031; 0034; 0042),
the second layer contains silicon oxide doped with at least one alkali earth metal (0042), the first layer does not contain silicon oxide doped with at least one alkali earth metal (0016; 0021-0022; 0031), the first layer contains silicon oxide doped with at least one alkali metal (0096-0097),
the first layer is disposed between the second layer and the negative electrode current collector (0016-0017), and
an amount of the alkali earth metal in the second layer is higher than an amount of the alkali earth metal in the first layer (0016; 0022; 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 15, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein the second first layer does not contain the silicon oxide doped with the alkali metal (0016; 0021-0022; 0031).
Regarding claim 16, Matsuno et al., teaches wherein both the first layer and the second layer (abstract; 0016; 0022) contain the silicon oxide doped with the alkali metal (0042), and an amount of the silicon oxide doped with the alkali metal in the first layer is higher than an amount of the silicon oxide doped with the alkali earth metal in the second layer (0016; 0022; 0032-0033).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727