DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the amendments to the claims necessitated new ground of rejection, as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lau et al. (US 2005/0102015 A1).
As to claim 1, Lau et al. discloses a kit comprising a device for electrotherapy and/or electrophysiology and a delivery system for the device (Figures 27-28 and 33-34), wherein the device comprises: a lead (lead, depicted as 31 in Figures 32-36; [0011, 0101, 0145]); and a paddle (depicted in 15B; a paddle is comprised of paddle electrode, depicted as 32 in Figure 15B with at least one panel, depicted as 21 in Figure 15B; [0090]) comprising a paddle electrode (paddle electrode, depicted as 32 in Figure 15B) having an exposed surface configured to come into contact with living anatomy inside a patient's body (Figures 34-36); the paddle being reconfigurable between a transport configuration (Figure 28-29) and an operative configuration (Figures 34-36), a transverse extent of the paddle being smaller in the transport configuration than in the operative configuration ([0141]; “The cardiac harness 20, 60, 100 is collapsed to a low profile configuration and inserted into the distal end of the dilator tube shown in FIG. 28.”; Figures 28 and 33); and wherein the delivery system (delivery device, depicted as 140; Figures 33-34; [0141]) comprises: a flexible, hollow outer sheath (introducer tube, depicted as 142 in Figures 27 and 33-34; [0140-0141]) comprising a proximal end and a distal end the outer sheath being a tubular structure configured to bend to conform to patient anatomy while resisting buckling under compressive forces and being distinct from a percutaneous needle ([0140-0141]); and a hollow delivery sheath (dilator tube, depicted as 150 in Figures 28 and 33-34; [0141]) for receiving at least the paddle of the device in the transport configuration (Figures 28 and 33-34; [0141]), the delivery sheath being soft and flexible with low-friction properties enabling sliding and rotation within the outer sheath ([0141]; Figures 33-34); wherein the delivery sheath is configured to be inserted into the proximal end of the outer sheath and transported through the outer sheath to deliver the paddle of the device to the distal end of the outer sheath ([0141]).
As to claim 2, Lau et al. discloses the delivery sheath comprises a proximal end and a distal end; the distal end comprising a distal opening, through which the paddle is capable of being received and ejected (Figure 27-28 and 32-34).
As to claim 3, Lau et al. discloses the delivery sheath further comprises a proximal opening in the proximal end of the delivery sheath, through which the lead of the device is capable of passing (Figure 27-30 and 32-35).
As to claim 4, Lau et al. discloses the paddle is configured to adopt its operative configuration automatically when ejected from the delivery sheath (Figure 33-35; [0145]).
As to claim 5, Lau et al. discloses the device further comprises a stylet (ejection tube, depicted as 183 in Figures 37 and 42; [0150]) for controlling movement of the lead from outside the body (“the ejection tube has a distal end 184 and a proximal end 185, wherein the distal end of the ejection tube has a plate that fills the entire inner diameter of the ejection tube. The plate has a number of lumens 187 for receiving leads 31,132”and “After the cardiac harness is pushed over the epicardial surface of the heart, the ejection tube can be withdrawn proximally so that the tubing 157 and the leads 31,132 slide through lumens 189,188 respectively” [0150]; Therefore, since the ejection tube lumen retains the leads and facilitates placement during delivery, the ejection tube thus “controls movement of the lead outside the body” (i.e., during delivery; [0150]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau et al. (US 2005/0102015 A1) in view of Hastings et al. (US 2004/0002643 A1).
Lau et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed with the paddle that is delivered at least partially within the delivery sheath and the delivery sheath is rotatable within the outer sheath to adjust the orientation of the paddle, but does not explicitly disclose “at least one fluoro-marker”. Navigation of medical devices in the presence of radiopaque materials with fluoroscopy is extremely well know procedure for implantation of medical devices. Hastings et al. discloses readiopaque marks that are visible under fluoroscopy during implantation ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lau et al. to include at least one fluoro-marker as disclosed by Hastings et al. in order to facilitate accurate delivery and proper orientation of the implantable medical device (Hstings et al.,[0001]) for optimized delivery and treatment for the patient.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonini et al. (US 2020/0316371 A1) in view of Lau et al. (US 2005/0102015 A1).
As to claim 1, Antonini et al. discloses a kit ([0028]) comprising a device for electrotherapy and/or electrophysiology and a delivery system for the device ([0028]), wherein the device comprises: a lead (depicted as 2 in Figures 1-2, 5, 7 and 11; Abstract); and a paddle (depicted as 5 in Figure 1-2 and 10-11; Abstract) comprising a paddle electrode having an exposed surface configured to come into contact with living anatomy inside a patient's body (Abstract); the paddle being reconfigurable between a transport configuration and an operative configuration, a transverse extent of the paddle being smaller in the transport configuration than in the operative configuration (Abstract; [0145]; Figures 1 and 6); and wherein the delivery system comprises: a hollow delivery sheath (depicted as 49 in Figure 16; [0132]) for receiving at least the paddle of the device in the transport configuration (hollow body, depicted as 28; [0132]; Figures 1-2, 6 and 16), the delivery sheath being soft and flexible with low-friction properties enabling sliding and rotation ([138]).
Antonini et al. additionally, discloses “(vi) therefore, a lower delivery sheath diameter over paddle width ratio is achieved in respect of known solutions; (vii) furthermore, the “omega”-like shape of the transport configuration of the paddle allows the folding of the paddle around a cylindrical lead, thus permitting the insertion in a catheter sheath that brings the paddle in the target position” ([0145]).
Thus, Antonini et al. discloses a delivery sheath which retains the paddle as well as a catheter sheath for the delivery of the paddle to the target position. Thus, in accordance to the specification ([0145]), the examiner considers “the delivery sheath is configured to be inserted into the proximal end of the outer sheath (catheter sheath) and transported through the outer sheath to deliver the paddle of the device to the distal end of the outer sheath”. However, Antonini et al. does not explicitly disclose “the delivery sheath is configured to be inserted into the proximal end of the outer sheath and transported through the outer sheath to deliver the paddle of the device to the distal end of the outer sheath”. Lau et al. includes delivery of a medical device in a compressed or transport state in a delivery sheath (dilator tube, depicted as 150 in Figures 28 and 33-34; [0141]) that is disposed within an outer sheath (introducer tube, depicted as 142 in Figures 28 and 33-34; [0141]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the delivery system of Antonini et al. to include a flexible, hollow outer sheath transported the delivery sheath as disclosed by Lau et al. in order to provide the predictable results of delivering the medical device minimally invasively in a compressed state to the target position (Antonini et al, [0145]; Lau et al. Figure 33-36) in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring a low profile configuration and delivery (Lau et al. [0141, 0146]) to optimize delivery and minimize the invasiveness of the implantation surgery for improved patient treatment.
Additionally, Antonini et al. discloses a percutaneous needle, depicted as 50 in Figure 16 which is different than the catheter, depicted as 49 in Figure 16. Therefore, the modified Antonini et al. discloses a hollow outer sheath distinct from a percutaneous needle.
As to claim 2, the modified Antonini et al. discloses the delivery sheath comprises a proximal end and a distal end; the distal end comprising a distal opening, through which the paddle is capable of being received and ejected (Antonini et al., Figure 16 and Lau et al., Figures 29-30 and 33-34).
As to claim 3, the modified Antonini et al. discloses the delivery sheath further comprises a proximal opening in the proximal end of the delivery sheath, through which the lead of the device is capable of passing (Antonini et al., Figure 16 and Lau et al., Figures 33-34).
As to claim 4, the modified Antonini et al. discloses the paddle is configured to adopt its operative configuration automatically when ejected from the delivery sheath (Antonini et al., Figures 1-2 and Lau et al., Figures 33-34).
As to claim 5, the modified Antonini et al. discloses the device further comprises a stylet for controlling movement of the lead from outside the body (Antonini et al., [0081, 0134, 0145]).
As to claim 7, the modified Antonini et al. discloses the delivery system further comprises: a substantially rigid, hollow needle (percutaneous needle, depicted as 50 in Figures 7 and 16 of Antonini et al.) for creating a path into the body of the patient (Antonini et al., Figure 16); a guidewire (stylet, [0081, 0134, 0145]) capable of passing through the needle ( [0134]); since the stylet is received inside the lead which is passed through the percutaneous needle, Figures 7 and 16, the stylet is “capable of passing through the needle”. Additionally, the modified Antonini et al. discloses a hollow dilator (Lau et al., depicted as 150) capable of engagement around the guidewire and movement along the guidewire (since the dilator delivers the medical device, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the dilator is “capable of engagement around the guidewire and movement along the guidewire” since the guidewire (i.e., stylet) is disposed within the medical device (i.e. the lead)) with the hollow outer sheath is capable of engagement around the dilator to move with it along the guidewire.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Antonini et al., as applied to claims 1-5 and 7 above, in further view of Hastings et al. (US 2004/0002643 A1).
The modified Antonini et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed with the paddle that is delivered at least partially within the delivery sheath and the delivery sheath is rotatable within the outer sheath to adjust the orientation of the paddle, but does not explicitly disclose “at least one fluoro-marker”. Navigation of medical devices in the presence of radiopaque materials with fluoroscopy is extremely well know procedure for implantation of medical devices. Hastings et al. discloses readiopaque marks that are visible under fluoroscopy during implantation ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of the modified Antonini et al. to include at least one fluoro-marker as disclosed by Hastings et al. in order to facilitate accurate delivery and proper orientation of the implantable medical device (Hstings et al.,[0001]) for optimized delivery and treatment for the patient.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796