DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 19, as amended, requires “a heat dissipation part comprising a heat exchanger and a cooler” in line 4, “in a first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler alone” in line 10-11, “in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier in an external pipeline network by using the heat exchanger alone” in line 12-14, and as amended now it further recites “the cooler is a dry cooler, the dry cooler is connected in parallel to the external pipeline network, and the dry cooler is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the heat carrier to implement indirect air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant” in line 17-19. The originally filed disclosure shows: In Fig. 1: a cooler (32) directly air-cooling refrigerant and a heat exchanger (31) exchanging heat with a heat carrier in an external pipeline network. In a separate embodiment (e.g., Fig. 7): a dry cooler (32) cooling a heat carrier, and the cooler 32 of the heat dissipation part 30 is implemented by using a dry cooler 322, the dry cooler 322 is connected in parallel to the external pipeline network 300.
However, the specification does not disclose a single embodiment in which:
The claimed heat exchanger connected in parallel to the external pipeline of Fig. 1; and
A dry cooler connected in parallel to the external pipeline network that cools the heat carrier; are combined in the same structural arrangement.
The written description requirement demands support for the claimed invention as a whole, not for isolated elements appearing in different embodiments. The originally filed specification does not reasonably convey possession of the specific combination now claimed. Accordingly, claims 1 and 19 lacks adequate written description support and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 5, 7-8, 11-12, 14, 17, 18 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19, as amended, requires “a heat dissipation part comprising a heat exchanger and a cooler” in line 4, “in a first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler alone” in line 10-11, “in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier in an external pipeline network by using the heat exchanger alone” in line 12-14, and as amended now it further recites “the cooler is a dry cooler, the dry cooler is connected in parallel to the external pipeline network, and the dry cooler is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the heat carrier to implement indirect air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant” in line 17-19 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the parallel external pipeline network is configured with the heat exchanger or the cooler. Furthermore, it is unclear if the cooler directly cools refrigerant, exclusively cools the heat carrier, or performs different structural functions in different modes. Additionally, the phrase: “connected in parallel to the external pipeline network” fails to define the structural relationship or flow paths establishing the parallel configuration. Because the claim does not clearly define the fluid paths or structural arrangement in each mode, the scope of the invention cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. For examination purposes, examiner read the parallel external pipeline network is configured with the heat exchanger.
Claims 5, 7-8, 11-12, 14, 17, 18 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2015/0261229 A1) in view of Scheumann et al. (US 2014/0130534 A1) and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2020/0191423 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Roy discloses a composite refrigeration system, comprising:
a refrigeration part (HVAC 110) connected to an indoor space (structure 190) and configured to use refrigerant (closed-loop piping systems 112 in which a heat transfer fluid or refrigerant circulated in, ¶ 0041; fig. 1) to cool air (air circulated through ducts 192/194) sent into the indoor space (190) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0040-0043);
a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler (condenser section 130) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0042);
a first pipeline (closed-loop piping systems 112) connected between the refrigeration part (see evaporator 120) and the heat dissipation part (130) and configured to send the refrigerant from the heat dissipation part (130) to the refrigeration part (120) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0041-0042); and
a second pipeline (see the closed-loop piping system 112 between the condenser 130 and the evaporator 120) connected between the refrigeration part (120) and the heat dissipation part (130) and configured to send the refrigerant from the heat dissipation part (130) to the refrigeration part (120) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0041-0042), wherein there is a first heat dissipation mode: in the first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part (130) is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler (130) alone (see fig. 1; ¶ 0042).
Roy discloses a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler and a single heat dissipation mode as disclosed above, but does not explicitly teach the heat dissipation part further comprises a heat exchanger, and a second and third heat dissipation modes, wherein in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchanges heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier in an external pipeline network by using the heat exchanger alone, to perform heat dissipation; and in a third heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs heat dissipation on the refrigerant by simultaneously using the cooler and the heat exchanger.
However, Scheumann teaches a refrigeration circuit is disclosed circulating a refrigerant and comprising in the direction of flow of a refrigerant a compressor (2), a heat dissipation part comprising a heat exchanger (14) and a cooler (16) for rejecting heat, an expansion device (8) and an evaporator (10) (see fig. 1), wherein the system discloses three heat dissipation modes wherein: in a first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler (14) alone (see ¶ 0031); in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchanges heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier (air) by using the heat exchanger (14) alone, to perform heat dissipation (see ¶ 0032); and in a third heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs heat dissipation on the refrigerant by simultaneously using the cooler (16) and the heat exchanger (14) (see ¶ 0033).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation part of Roy by further comprising a heat exchanger in addition to the cooler, and to configure the system to operate in multiple heat dissipation modes, in view of the teachings of Scheumann, in order to provide flexibility in operating the refrigeration system under different thermal load and environmental conditions, and improve the system efficiency and adaptability by enabling selective operation of the heat dissipation part.
Roy, as modified by Scheumann discloses the heat dissipation part in the heat exchanger (16) is configured to exchanges heat between a refrigerant and a heat carrier (air/fan), but does not explicitly teaches using an external pipeline network to carry heat from the refrigerant in the heat exchanger.
However, it is well known in the art to use other means than air to withdraw heat from a refrigerant, as taught by Sun, wherein Sun teaches an air conditioning system comprising a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler (202) and a heat exchanger (302), wherein the heat from the refrigerant in heat exchanger is carried out using an external pipeline network that include a water supply tank (306) and a water supply pump (308) to supply water to the heat exchanger (302) and to receive the water/hot water generated through heat exchange in the heat exchanger (302) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0062).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified heat exchanger of Roy by substituting the air cool heat exchanger with other refrigerant circuit that comprise an external pipeline network, in view of the teachings Son, since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would have change the air cool heat exchanger with for example, with a water cool heat exchanger, in order to provide a much higher heat capacity and thermal conductivity.
Roy, as modified by Scheumann and Sun, further discloses the cooler (16 of Roy/ the heat exchanger14 of Scheumann) is a dry cooler, the dry cooler (14) is connected in parallel (with pipe line 5d) to the external pipeline network (as modified above by Sun), and the dry cooler (14) is configured to performs air-cooled heat dissipation on the heat carrier to implement indirect air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant (see Scheumann fig. 1; ¶ 0026-0031 and Sun ¶ 0044-0062; see also the 122(a) and (b) rejections above).
In regard to claim 8, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 1, wherein Roy discloses the refrigeration part further comprises: an evaporator (120); and a compressor (114) that are sequentially connected, and the compressor (114) is disposed downstream of the evaporator (120) and in communication with the second pipeline (see fig. 1 of Roy), but does not explicitly teach comprising an electronic expansion valve, wherein the electronic expansion valve is disposed upstream of the evaporator and in communication with the first pipeline. However, it is well known in the art for a refrigeration system to comprise an expansion valve, as taught by Sun, wherein Sun discloses an air condition system comprising an electronic expansion valve (110), an evaporator (108), and a compressor (102) that are sequentially connected, the electronic expansion valve (110) is disposed upstream of the evaporator (108) on a pipeline heading into the evaporator (108), and the compressor (102) is disposed downstream of the evaporator (108) in communication with second pipeline coming out of the evaporator (108) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0050).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Roy by implementing an electronic expansion valve, in view of the teachings of Sun, in order to cause a significant drop in pressure and temperature, and allow the refrigerant to absorb heat and cool the air.
In regard to claim 11, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 1, Roy discloses the refrigeration part further comprises an evaporator (120); and a compressor (114) that are sequentially connected, and the compressor (114) is disposed downstream of the evaporator (120) and in communication with the second pipeline (see fig. 1 of Roy), but does not explicitly teach comprising an electronic expansion valve, wherein the electronic expansion valve is disposed upstream of the evaporator and in communication with the first pipeline. However, it is well known in the art for a refrigeration system to comprise an expansion valve, as taught by Sun, wherein Sun discloses an air condition system comprising an electronic expansion valve (110), an evaporator (108), and a compressor (102) that are sequentially connected, the electronic expansion valve (110) is located on a side of the evaporator (108) on a pipeline heading into the evaporator (108), and the compressor (102) is located on a side of the evaporator (108) on a second pipeline coming out of the evaporator (108) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0050).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Roy by implementing an electronic expansion valve, in view of the teachings of Sun, in order to cause a significant drop in pressure and temperature, and allow the refrigerant to absorb heat and cool the air.
In regard to claim 12, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 5, Roy discloses the refrigeration part further comprises an evaporator (120); and a compressor (114) that are sequentially connected, and the compressor (114) is disposed downstream of the evaporator (120) and in communication with the second pipeline (see fig. 1 of Roy), but does not explicitly teach comprising an electronic expansion valve, wherein the electronic expansion valve is disposed upstream of the evaporator and in communication with the first pipeline. However, it is well known in the art for a refrigeration system to comprise an expansion valve, as taught by Sun, wherein Sun discloses an air condition system comprising an electronic expansion valve (110), an evaporator (108), and a compressor (102) that are sequentially connected, the electronic expansion valve (110) is located on a side of the evaporator (108) on a pipeline heading into the evaporator (108), and the compressor (102) is located on a side of the evaporator (108) on a second pipeline coming out of the evaporator (108) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0050).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Roy by implementing an electronic expansion valve, in view of the teachings of Sun, in order to cause a significant drop in pressure and temperature, and allow the refrigerant to absorb heat and cool the air.
In regard to claim 14, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 1, further comprising: a circulating ventilation channel (the entire channel that comprises 192, 194 and the evaporator coil 120) wherein an air supply port (192) and an air outlet port (194) of the circulating ventilation channel are separately connected to the indoor space (190), and the refrigeration part (the evaporator coil 120) is disposed in the circulating ventilation channel and is configured to refrigerate air flowing out of the air outlet port (194); and send refrigerated air into the indoor space through the air supply port (192) (see Roy fig. 1; ¶ 0040, 0043).
In regard to claim 17, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 14, further comprising: a circulating ventilation channel (the entire channel that comprises 192, 194 and the evaporator coil 120) wherein an air supply port (192) and an air outlet port (194) of the circulating ventilation channel are separately connected to the indoor space (190), and the refrigeration part (the evaporator coil 120) is disposed in the circulating ventilation channel and is configured to refrigerate air flowing out of the air outlet port (194); and send refrigerated air into the indoor space through the air supply port (192) (see Roy fig. 1; ¶ 0040, 0043).
In regard to claim 18, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 14, wherein a heat exchange core (the evaporator section 120 that comprises the one or more closed-loop piping, see fig. 1; ¶ 0043) is further disposed in the circulating ventilation channel (see fig. 1), the heat exchange core is located between the air outlet port (194) and the refrigeration part, external air flows at the heat exchange core, and the heat exchange core is configured to introduce the external air (via fan 122) to perform pre-refrigeration on the air flowing out of the air outlet port (194) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0043).
In regard to claim 19, Roy discloses a data center (¶ 0030, a controlled data center space), comprising
an equipment room (190, a temperature/humidity controlled data center space); and
a composite refrigeration system (100), comprising:
a refrigeration part (HVAC 110) connected to an indoor space of the equipment room (inside space of 190) and configured to use refrigerant (112, ¶ 0041; fig. 1) to cool air (air circulated through ducts 192/194) sent into the indoor space of the equipment room (190) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0041-0043);
a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler (condenser section 130) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0042);
a first pipeline (closed-loop piping systems 112) connected between the refrigeration part (see evaporator 120) and the heat dissipation part (130) and configured to send the refrigerant from the heat dissipation part (130) to the refrigeration part (evaporator 120) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0041-0042); and
a second pipeline (see the closed-loop piping system 112 between the condenser 130 and the evaporator 120) connected between the refrigeration part (evaporator 120) and the heat dissipation part (130) and configured to send the refrigerant from the heat dissipation part (130) to the refrigeration part (evaporator 120) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0041-0042), wherein there is a first heat dissipation mode: in the first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part (130) is configured to perform air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler (130) alone (see fig. 1; ¶ 0042).
Roy discloses a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler and a single heat dissipation mode as disclosed above, but does not explicitly teach the heat dissipation part further comprises a heat exchanger, and a second and third heat dissipation modes, wherein in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchanges heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier in an external pipeline network by using the heat exchanger alone, to perform heat dissipation; and in a third heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs heat dissipation on the refrigerant by simultaneously using the cooler and the heat exchanger.
However, Scheumann teaches a refrigeration circuit is disclosed circulating a refrigerant and comprising in the direction of flow of a refrigerant a compressor (2), a heat dissipation part comprising a heat exchanger (14) and a cooler (16) for rejecting heat, an expansion device (8) and an evaporator (10) (see fig. 1), wherein the system discloses three heat dissipation modes wherein: in a first heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant by using the cooler (14) alone (see ¶ 0031); in a second heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to exchanges heat between the refrigerant and a heat carrier (air) by using the heat exchanger (14) alone, to perform heat dissipation (see ¶ 0032); and in a third heat dissipation mode, the heat dissipation part is configured to performs heat dissipation on the refrigerant by simultaneously using the cooler (16) and the heat exchanger (14) (see ¶ 0033).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation part of Roy by further comprising a heat exchanger in addition to the cooler, and to configure the system to operate the system in multiple heat dissipation modes, in view of the teachings of Scheumann, in order to provide flexibility in operating the refrigeration system under different thermal load and environmental conditions, and improve the system efficiency and adaptability by enabling selective operation of the heat dissipation part.
Roy, as modified by Scheumann discloses the heat dissipation part in the heat exchanger (16) is configured to exchanges heat between a refrigerant and a heat carrier (air/fan), but does not explicitly teaches using an external pipeline network to carry heat from the refrigerant. However, it is well known in the art to use other means than air to withdraw heat from a refrigerant, as taught by Sun, wherein Sun teaches an air conditioning system comprising a heat dissipation part comprising a cooler (202) and a heat exchanger (302), wherein the heat from the refrigerant in heat exchanger is carried out using an external pipeline network that include a water supply tank (306) and a water supply pump (308) to supply water to the heat exchanger (302) and to receive the water/hot water generated through heat exchange in the heat exchanger (302) (see fig. 1; ¶ 0044-0062).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modify heat exchanger of Roy by substituting the air cool heat exchanger with other refrigerant circuit/external pipeline network, in view of the teachings Son, since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would have change the air cool heat exchanger with for example, with a water cool heat exchanger, in order to provide a much higher heat capacity and thermal conductivity.
Roy, as modified by Scheumann and Sun, further discloses the cooler (16 of Roy/ the heat exchanger14 of Scheumann) is a dry cooler, the dry cooler (14) is connected in parallel (with pipe line 5d) to the external pipeline network (as modified above by Sun), and the dry cooler (14) is configured to performs air-cooled heat dissipation on the heat carrier to implement indirect air-cooled heat dissipation on the refrigerant (see Scheumann fig. 1; ¶ 0026-0031 and Sun ¶ 0044-0062; see also the 122(a) and (b) rejections above).
In regard to claim 20, the modified Roy discloses the data center according to claim 19, wherein Roy further teaches the composite refrigeration system comprises: a controller (140), the controller (140) is communicatively connected to a server (data storage device/200), and the controller (140) is configured to control a heat dissipation mode of the composite refrigeration system with reference to a workload of the server (¶ 0051-0052, 0075, 0078, 0079, 0087, 0088). Roy discloses the server (system 200) could be implemented as a unit integral to an HVAC system, may be located in the monitored building or may be implemented as a separate unit remote from, but does not explicitly teach a server is disposed in the equipment room. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the server of Roy by disposing it in the equipment room as an obvious matter of engineering expedient in order to improve response time and reduce network delays, and allow operators to readily monitor, diagnose, and maintain the system without the need for remote physical access.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy, Scheumann and Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blanton et al. (US 20210102738 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Roy discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 1, wherein Roy teaches the composite refrigeration system further comprises; a controller (140), and Roy as modified by Scheumann teaches valve (valves v1-v6) that are respectively connected to the second pipeline (5c and 5d), the heat exchanger (14), and the condenser (16), and the valves configured to control the heat dissipation mode of the heat dissipation part (Scheumann ¶ 0031-0033), but does not explicitly teach a second three-way valve, three ports of the second three-way valve are respectively connected to the heat exchanger, the external pipeline network, and the dry cooler, and the controller is configured to controls the second three-way valve to adjust the heat dissipation mode of the heat dissipation part.
However, Blanton teaches an air conditioning (HVAC) unit comprising a refrigerant circuit including a condenser system, a three-way valve (156) disposed along the refrigerant circuit and configured to modulate refrigerant flow to the condenser system (162), wherein the condenser system includes a first condenser coil (168) and a second condenser coil (170), and the unit further comprises a controller/processor (220/224) configured to execute such instructions, such as to control operation of certain components of the HVAC system 150, including the three-way valve (156), the first valve (176), and the controller (220) communicatively coupled to a set of sensors (226) configured to transmit feedback to the controller (220) indicative of various operating parameters including a temperature of the space conditioned by the HVAC system, based on a determined temperature, the controller (220) adjust the three-way valve (156) enable the refrigerant to flow through a heat dissipation part (e.g., condenser coil 168/170) (see fig. 5-7; ¶ 0060-0061).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified valves of Roy with a first three-way valve, wherein three ports of the first three-way valve are respectively connected to the second pipeline, the heat exchanger, and the condenser, respectively connected to the heat exchanger, the external pipeline network, and the dry cooler, and the controller is configured to controls the second three-way valve to adjust the heat dissipation mode of the heat dissipation part, in view of the teachings of Blanton, in order to reduce the number of components, simplify system design, lower manufacturing cost, minimize leak paths, and improve reliability through consolidated flow control by using a three-way valve controlled by the controller to achieve selective flow between the heat dissipation parts paths, as no more than a predictable use of known technology to achieve an expected result. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
In regard to claim 7, the modified Roy in view of Blanton discloses the composite refrigeration system according to claim 5, wherein Roy teaches the composite refrigeration system further comprises a temperature sensor (156), the temperature sensor (156) is disposed in the indoor space (inside 190) and configured to monitoring a temperature in the indoor space (inside temp of 190) (¶ 0046), the temperature sensor (156) is electrically connected to the controller (140) (see fig. 1 of Roy), and Roy in view of Blanton, as modified above in claim 5, further teaches the controller is configured to controls the second three-way valve with reference to a temperature value detected by the temperature sensor (see ¶ 0061 of Blanton).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remark page 12) that none of the references teach a dry cooler connected in parallel to an external pipeline network configured to perform indirect air-cooled heat dissipation on a heat carrier.
In response, the argument is not persuasive. Scheumann discloses parallel selectable heat rejection paths (Fig. 1; ¶0031–0033), including an air-cooled condenser (cooler 16). Sun discloses an external pipeline network carrying a heat carrier fluid that removes heat from refrigerant. Although Scheumann’s cooler directly cools refrigerant, Sun teaches removal of refrigerant heat via a heat carrier loop. It would have been obvious to configure the air-cooled heat rejection component to cool the heat carrier loop instead of directly condensing refrigerant, because: dry coolers are standard devices used to cool secondary water/glycol loops, such configuration improves flexibility and heat rejection capacity and the modification merely substitutes one known heat rejection topology for another known topology. The combination therefore teaches or renders obvious the claimed indirect air-cooled heat dissipation via a heat carrier.
Applicant argues (Remark page 12) by asserting that Roy and Scheumann only disclose direct refrigerant heat rejection.
In response, the argument is not persuasive. Roy supplies the base composite refrigeration architecture. Scheumann supplies selectable heat rejection modes. Sun expressly discloses refrigerant-to-heat-carrier exchange via an external pipeline network. The rejection is based on the combined teachings. A reference need not disclose all limitations individually if the combination renders the claim obvious.
Applicant argues (Remark page 12) that the claimed topology is not suggested by the art and would require reconfiguration changing the principle of operation.
In response, the argument is not persuasive. The principle of operation of Roy is removal of heat from refrigerant and rejection to the environment. Whether heat is rejected: directly to air, or Indirectly via a heat carrier loop cooled by air does not alter the fundamental refrigeration cycle. The modification merely changes the medium through which heat is rejected and constitutes a predictable substitution of known alternatives. There is no teaching away, incompatibility, or change in the basic thermodynamic function.
Applicant argues (Remark page 12) that the amended claims now recite a configuration not taught or suggested by the references.
In response, the argument is not persuasive. Scheumann teaches parallel heat rejection paths and air-cooled condensation. Sun teaches an external pipeline heat carrier network. The use of dry coolers to cool heat carrier loops is a well-established HVAC practice. Combining these teachings to provide selectable direct and indirect heat rejection modes yields predictable results and is within ordinary skill. Accordingly, amended claims 1 and 19 remain obvious.
Applicant argues (Remark page 13) that Blanton does not disclose a three-way valve connected specifically to a heat exchanger, an external pipeline network, and a dry cooler.
In response, the argument is not persuasive. Blanton discloses: a three-way valve (156), controller-controlled, selectively directing refrigerant among condenser coils based on system conditions. Scheumann discloses multiple selectable heat rejection paths. Sun discloses an external pipeline network. Once multiple selectable paths are present, use of a three-way valve to consolidate flow control is a predictable design choice. The claim does not require a novel valve structure — only that its ports be connected to respective heat rejection branches. Applying Blanton’s known three-way valve control to the modified Roy/Scheumann/Sun system reduces components and simplifies flow control, constituting a predictable implementation of known technology.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763