Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 26-40 are currently pending;
Claims 11-12 are currently withdrawn;
Claims 3 and 13-25 are canceled;
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 27-28, 30, and 24-25 are currently amended;
Claims 39-40 are new.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 10/01/2025
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to Applicant’s argument concerning Dandrea not teaching the one or more conveyors, the argument is not persuasive. Dandrea is only being relied on to show that using conveyors to transport and support electrodes during manufacture, and in particular shows the use of conveyors after pressing, is known in the art and would have been obvious to employ in the primary reference of Zhong to transport and support the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regards to Applicant’s arguments concerning Hanada not teaching “a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line,” the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hanada is being relied on to teach controlling a speed of one or more conveyors and consequently of the mill line (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material; inherently, if the speed of the conveyors are controlled based on the slackness, the mill line speed will also be controlled, as the one or more conveyors are inherently part of the mill line; to control the speed of the conveyors is to control the speed of the mill line). Hanada is not being relied upon to teach all of the individual sections of the apparatus as claimed in the instant specification, and as read on by Zhong (Zhong (laminator fig. 3 and [0128]-[0129]; Zhong mill line [0111]-[0126] figs. 2a and 2g). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, the newly amended claim 1 limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line” is read on by any speed control of the one or more conveyors, as the one or more conveyors are included as an inherent part of the mill line in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 includes the limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one second press of the mill line and the laminator…” in lines 1-2. It is unclear to the Examiner if this limitation is the same as the limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors…” in claim 1, line 15, as the “one or more conveyors” in claim 1 are defined as “one or more conveyors arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator” in lines 13-15. This section is the same section as defined by the limitation in claim 5.
Likewise, claim 5 includes the limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors between the first of the at least one second press and the second of the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 3-4. It is unclear to the Examiner whether this limitation is the same as the ”a speed of the one or more conveyors” in claim 1, line 15 since claim 4, upon which claim 5 depends, further defines the one or more conveyors to “transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 2-4, the same section as claimed in the limitation in claim 5, lines 3-4.
In a similar manner, claim 29 includes the limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors between the first of the at least one second press and the second of the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 1-3. It is unclear to the Examiner whether this limitation is the same as the “a speed of the one or more conveyors” in claim 27, lines 16-17, as the “one or more conveyors” in claim 27 are defined as “one or more conveyors arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 14-16. This section is the same section as defined by the limitation in claim 29.
Likewise, claim 29 includes the limitation “a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one first press and the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 3-5. It is unclear to the Examiner whether this limitation is the same as the ”a speed of the one or more conveyors” in claim 27, lines 16-17 since claim 28, upon which claim 5 depends, further defines the one or more conveyors to “transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line” in lines 2-3, the same section as claimed in the limitation in claim 29, lines 3-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 26-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al., (US-20100014215-A1), hereinafter Zhong in view of Dandrea (US-20140127570-A1), as cited in the IDS, and Hanada (JP-2016002493-A), as cited and translated in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Zhong teaches an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode for an energy storage device ([0016]), the apparatus comprising: at least one laminator for simultaneously laminating two free-standing electrode films on opposite sides of a current collector (fig. 3; [0128]-[0129] two electrode films 34 are calendared (laminated) and bonded to current collector 50 with roll-mill 52).
Zhong fails to explicitly teach a pair of mill lines operable to produce, respectively, the two free-standing electrode films and to feed the two free-standing electrode films simultaneously to the laminator, but Zhong does teach that a mill line produces dry electrode film 34, and at the end of the mill line the dry film 34 may be subsequently attached to a collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48 ([0126] bottom of paragraph; fig. 2a or 2g). As such, it would be obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art to duplicate and combine the mill line with the laminator in fig. 3 such as to form a continuous process such that the dry film 34 is attached to a current collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48.
Zhong also teaches each of the mill lines comprising: at least one first press including working rolls arranged horizontally ([0112] fig. 2a-2b high pressure nip of a roll mill 32; alternatively fig. 2g roll mill 32) for pressing a powder mixture into a respective one of the free-standing electrode films ([0111]-[0112] fig. 2a dry particles formed in steps 19 and 20 are provided in containers 19 and 20 to be fed to high pressure nip roll 32; fig. 2g [0123]-[0124] dry fibrillized particles 20 is fed to roll mill 32); and at least one second press including working rolls for reducing the thickness of the respective free-standing electrode film (fig. 2a; fig. 2g [0117] calender 38 may be used to further compact and densify the dry film; multiple calendaring steps can be used to further reduce the dry film’s thickness and to increase tensile strength).
Zhong fails to explicitly teach one or more conveyors arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support the respective free-standing electrode film as it is transported between the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator.
Modified Zhong fails to teach a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line.
Hanada is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Hanada teaches a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material; inherently, if the speed of the conveyors are controlled based on the slackness, the mill line speed will also be controlled, as the one or more conveyors are inherently part of the mill line; to control the speed of the conveyors is to control the speed of the mill line).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhong and provided a tension control device to control the operation speed of the one or more conveyors (and consequently the mill line) such as in Hanada. Doing so allows for tension control of the substrate between the different sections of manufacture (Hanada [0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhong also teaches that the apparatus further comprises a mill line expansion module, the mill line expansion module being insertable into a mill line of the pair of mill lines and comprising at least one additional second press including working rolls for reducing the thickness of the respective free-standing electrode film ([0117] multiple calendaring steps can be used to further reduce the dry film’s thickness and to increase tensile strength; figs. 2a and 2g shows 1 calender 38, therefore the multiple calendaring nips would have to be insertable and consequently expand the module).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhong fails to teach wherein the one or more conveyors are further arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support and transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line.
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one second press of the mill line and the laminator is controlled to be different from a speed of the one or more conveyors between the first of the at least one second press and the second of the at least one second press of the mill line (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Zhong fails to teach wherein the one or more conveyors are further arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support and transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill lines further comprises one or more tension sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, the speed of the one or more conveyors of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a tension control device including a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein the tension measured by the one or more tension sensors of each mill line is further used to control a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhong fails to teach that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor.
Dandrea is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor ([0044] the material can be conveyed by vacuum).
Zhong and Dandrea are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the vacuum transfer of Dandrea. Doing so would provide a process that can be continuous from raw materials to finished sheet (Dandrea [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhong also teaches that the working rolls of the at least one second press are arranged vertically (figs. 2a or 2g; [0117]; calender rolls 38 are arranged vertically).
Regarding claim 26, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill lines further comprises one or more tensions sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B).
Regarding claim 27, Zhong teaches an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode for an energy storage device ([0016]), the apparatus comprising: at least one laminator for simultaneously laminating two free-standing electrode films on opposite sides of a current collector (fig. 3; [0128]-[0129] two electrode films 34 are calendared (laminated) and bonded to current collector 50 with roll-mill 52);
Zhong fails to explicitly teach a pair of mill lines operable to produce, respectively, the two free-standing electrode films and to feed the two free-standing electrode films simultaneously to the laminator, but Zhong does teach that a mill line produces dry electrode film 34, and at the end of the mill line the dry film 34 may be subsequently attached to a collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48 ([0126] bottom of paragraph; fig. 2a or 2g). As such, it would be obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art to duplicate and combine the mill line with the laminator in fig. 3 such as to form a continuous process such that the dry film 34 is attached to a current collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48.
Zhong also teaches each of the mill lines comprising: at least one first press including working rolls arranged horizontally ([0112] fig. 2a-2b high pressure nip of a roll mill 32; alternatively fig. 2g roll mill 32) for pressing a powder mixture into a respective one of the free-standing electrode films ([0111]-[0112] fig. 2a dry particles formed in steps 19 and 20 are provided in containers 19 and 20 to be fed to high pressure nip roll 32; fig. 2g [0123]-[0124] dry fibrillized particles 20 is fed to roll mill 32) and at least one second press including working rolls for reducing the thickness of the respective free-standing electrode film (fig. 2a; fig. 2g [0117] calender 38 may be used to further compact and densify the dry film; multiple calendaring steps can be used to further reduce the dry film’s thickness and to increase tensile strength).
Zhong fails to explicitly teach one or more conveyors arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line, a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support and transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from a first of the at least one second press to a second of the at least one second press of the mill line, a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line.
Modified Zhong fails to teach a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line.
Hanada is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Hanada teaches a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material; inherently, if the speed of the conveyors are controlled based on the slackness, the mill line speed will also be controlled, as the one or more conveyors are inherently part of the mill line; to control the speed of the conveyors is to control the speed of the mill line).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhong and provided a tension control device to control the operation speed of the one or more conveyors (and consequently the mill line) such as in Hanada. Doing so allows for tension control of the substrate between the different sections of manufacture (Hanada [0020]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 27. Zhong also fails to teach wherein the one or more conveyors are further arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support and transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Regarding claim 29, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 28. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein a speed of the one or more conveyors between the first of the at least one second press and the second of the at least one second press of the mill line is controlled to be different from a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one first press and the at least one second press of the mill line. (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side).
Regarding claim 30, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 27. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill lines further comprises one or more tension sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, the speed of the one or more conveyors of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a tension control device including a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material).
Regarding claim 31, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 30. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein the tension measured by the one or more tension sensors of each mill line is further used to control a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B).
Regarding claim 32, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 27. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill lines further comprises one or more tension sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B)..
Regarding claim 33, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 27. Zhong fails to teach that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor.
Dandrea is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor ([0044] the material can be conveyed by vacuum).
Zhong and Dandrea are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the vacuum transfer of Dandrea. Doing so would provide a process that can be continuous from raw materials to finished sheet (Dandrea [0044]).
Regarding claim 34, Zhong teaches an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode for an energy storage device ([0016]), the apparatus comprising: at least one laminator for simultaneously laminating two free-standing electrode films on opposite sides of a current collector (fig. 3; [0128]-[0129] two electrode films 34 are calendared (laminated) and bonded to current collector 50 with roll-mill 52).
Zhong fails to explicitly teach a pair of mill lines operable to produce, respectively, the two free-standing electrode films and to feed the two free-standing electrode films simultaneously to the laminator, but Zhong does teach that a mill line produces dry electrode film 34, and at the end of the mill line the dry film 34 may be subsequently attached to a collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48 ([0126] bottom of paragraph; fig. 2a or 2g). As such, it would be obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art to duplicate and combine the mill line with the laminator in fig. 3 such as to form a continuous process such that the dry film 34 is attached to a current collector rather than wound onto the storage roll 48
Zhong also teaches each of the mill lines comprising: at least one first press including working rolls arranged horizontally ([0112] fig. 2a-2b high pressure nip of a roll mill 32; alternatively fig. 2g roll mill 32) for pressing a powder mixture into a respective one of the free-standing electrode films ([0111]-[0112] fig. 2a dry particles formed in steps 19 and 20 are provided in containers 19 and 20 to be fed to high pressure nip roll 32; fig. 2g [0123]-[0124] dry fibrillized particles 20 is fed to roll mill 32) and at least one second press including working rolls for reducing the thickness of the respective free-standing electrode film (fig. 2a; fig. 2g [0117] calender 38 may be used to further compact and densify the dry film; multiple calendaring steps can be used to further reduce the dry film’s thickness and to increase tensile strength).
Zhong fails to teach one or more conveyors arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support and transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one first press to the at least one second press of the mill line.
Regarding claim 35, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 34. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill liens further comprises one or more tension sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, the speed of the one or more conveyors of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a tension control device including a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material).
Regarding claim 36, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 35. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein the tension measured by the one or more tension sensors of each mill line is further used to control a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B).
Regarding claim 37, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 34. Modified Zhong also teaches wherein each of the mill lines further comprises one or more tension sensors arranged to measure a tension of the free-standing electrode film, a speed of the working rolls of the at least one second press of the mill line being controlled based on the measured tension (Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side; [0076] speed is adjusted based on tension from slack detector and control device; [0071] feed of press device 70 is controlled by slack detector 60B).
Regarding claim 38, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 34. Zhong fails to teach that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor.
Dandrea is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that the one or more conveyors comprises at least one vacuum conveyor ([0044] the material can be conveyed by vacuum).
Zhong and Dandrea are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the vacuum transfer of Dandrea. Doing so would provide a process that can be continuous from raw materials to finished sheet (Dandrea [0044]).
Modified Zhong fails to teach a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line.
Hanada is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of processes for electrode manufacture. Hanada teaches a speed of the one or more conveyors being adjusted to control a speed of the mill line (Hanada [0018]-[0020] a slack detector detects slackness of the base material, and then a device drives the base material based on the slackness of the base material, adjusting the movement of each apparatus (such as conveyors) used for conveyance of the base material; inherently, if the speed of the conveyors are controlled based on the slackness, the mill line speed will also be controlled, as the one or more conveyors are inherently part of the mill line; to control the speed of the conveyors is to control the speed of the mill line).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhong and provided a tension control device to control the operation speed of the one or more conveyors (and consequently the mill line) such as in Hanada. Doing so allows for tension control of the substrate between the different sections of manufacture (Hanada [0020]).
Regarding claim 39, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 34. Zhong fails to teach wherein the one or more conveyors are further arranged to transport the respective free-standing electrode film as it is fed from the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator.
Dandrea is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing ([0002]). Dandrea teaches that electrodes during manufacture can be supported and transported on conveyors after pressing ([0037]; after the fibrillated mixture is pressed through a calendar, the mixture exits in the form of a sheet onto a belt conveyor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhong with the conveyor belts of Dandrea to support the respective free-standing electrode film as it is transported between the at least one second press of the mill line to the laminator.
Regarding claim 40, modified Zhong teaches all of the limitations of claim 39. Zhong fails to teach wherein a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one first press and the at least one second press of the mill line is controlled to be different from a speed of the one or more conveyors between the at least one second press and the laminator Hanada [0020] the feed speed on the downstream side is different than the feed speed on the upstream side).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20250192183-A1 teaches a method for manufacturing a dry electrode film including preparing a powdery blend, kneading, pulverizing, calendering, and then laminating the dry electrode film onto one or both sides of a current collector (fig. 3; [0029]; [0141]-[0143]);
US-20210098770-A1 teaches a method for dry electrode films including forming an active material mixture, mixing the active material mixture with a binder, calendaring the electrode film mixture to form a free standing electrode film, and then laminating the electrode film to a current collector (fig. 2; [0068]);
US-20200227722-A1 teaches a method for manufacturing a dry electrode including fibrillizing a dry mixture, calendaring the dry mixture, and then bonding the dry mixture onto a collector, wherein the apparatus includes a tension control system (fig. 1; fig. 2; [0031]-[0033]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722