DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant Remarks received on November 18, 2025. Claims 1 and 3-5 are pending with claim 2 canceled, and claims 1, 3, and 4 currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Smithsonian Institution in the “Mega Science Lab” as witnessed and published under the title, “Reviewing the Smithsonian Mega Science Lab Volcano Edition Episode 1 of 6” by “Hi Gavin Gabe” on YouTube [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8KZiaum1NU] published on January 9, 2021 (hereinafter, “Smithsonian”) and the product published on YouTube under the title, “Massive Erupting Volcano” by the YouTube Channel, “Thames & Kosmos” [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMUVOgROWoY] published on January 20, 2021 (hereinafter, T&K).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), the Smithsonian discloses:
A model science kit (Smithsonian, 0:07 of 15:35, The Presenter displays the “Smithsonian Mega Science Lab” box.) comprising:
a plurality of flat members including a base member and connecting members, each comprising at least one slot in the form of a slit extending through an outer edge of the respective member (Smithsonian, 2:25 of 15:35, The Presenter displays the two flat members with slots.);
wherein the plurality of connecting members are configured to interconnect to the base member to form a hollow frame (Smithsonian, 4:58 of 15:35, The Presenter fastens the base at which the volcano sits to the foundation of the surface of the volcano.);
a first material which is in a shape of a flat sheet when fully extended, and is configured to be self-adhering when saturated with water and which dries into a hardened material (Smithsonian, 5:09-6:36 of 15:35, The Presenter displays the gauze wrap that forms the plaster wrap which is extended and later saturated with water.); and
a second material configured to become moldable when saturated with water and to dry into a hardened material (Smithsonian, 5:09 of 15:35, The plaster that is mixed with the gauze wrap to form the plaster wrap.),
wherein the first material is configured to be laid over the hollow frame to form a first surface (Smithsonian, 7:10 of 15:35, The Presenter begins to wrap the gauze wrap around the foundation of the surface of the volcano.), and
wherein the second material is configured to be laid over the first surface to form a second surface (Smithsonian, 7:19 of 15:35, The Presenter begins to wrap the plaster wrap around the foundation of the surface of the volcano in overlapping layers.).
Smithsonian discloses a base member at the bottom of the volcanic science kit, but Smithsonian does not disclose a second base member near the center of the volcanic science kit.
T&K, however, discloses:
a base member near the center of the volcanic science kit (T&K, 0:11 of 0:33); and
sliding the respective slits of the base members and connecting members into one another to form a friction fit (T&K, 0:11 of 0:33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a base member at the bottom of a volcanic science kit, as taught by Smithsonian, and center of a volcanic science kit, as taught by T&K, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, the Applicant has elected to cancel the claim after the First Action on the Merits.
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Smithsonian/T&K discloses:
The model science kit of claim 1, wherein the kit is a model volcano science kit (Smithsonian, Title, “…Volcano Edition…”) and
wherein the plurality of flat base members each has a hollow ring in a center of the flat base member (Smithsonian, 4:07 of 15:35, The hollow ring is displayed in the center.).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Smithsonian/T&K discloses:
The model science kit of claim 3, wherein the kit further comprises:
a fastening member configured to attach to the plurality of flat connecting members (Smithsonian, 3:20 of 15:35, Tape is placed on one of the flat members.);
a first reactant mix (Smithsonian, 9:57 of 15:35, The Presenter retrieves the Vinegar.);
a second reactant mix (Smithsonian, 10:12 of 15:35, The Presenter retrieves the Baking Soda.); and
a reactant vessel (Smithsonian, 3:00 of 15:35, The Presenter displays the reactant vessel that will be attached to the top of the hollow tub which secures the baking soda to the mouth of the volcano.),
wherein the first reactant mix and the second reactant mix are configured to chemically react with each other to produce a gas (Smithsonian, 13:45 of 15:35, The Presenter begins mixing the vinegar and baking soda which produces carbon dioxide gas.), and
wherein a dye is present in at least one of the reactant mixes (Smithsonian, 10:22 of 15:35, The Presenter retrieves the food coloring.).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Smithsonian/T&K discloses:
The model science kit of claim 4, further comprising:
a tube attached to the vessel which leads to a top of the hollow frame (Smithsonian, 4:07 of 15:35, The tube is displayed in the center.); and
a separating structure which is configured to releasably separate the first reactant mix and the second reactant mix from one another, and which is configured to cause the first reactant mix and the second reactant mix to combine when released (Smithsonian, 13:46 of 15:35, The Presenter utilizes a measuring cup to separate the vinegar from the baking soda before controllably releasing the vinegar to mix with the baking soda.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4 of the Remarks, filed November 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5 of the Remarks, filed November 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the Applicant’s amendments and a different interpretation of the previously applied reference. See the rejection of claims 1, 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the corresponding section above for further details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715