DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0062407 (Li) in view of WO 2018/010016 (Bouchard).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a portable battery (Fig. 1-3 shows car-mounted charging comprising battery i.e. portable battery) [0031] comprising: a latch configured to secure the portable battery to a dock within a vehicle (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery is secured to a dock within a vehicle by being inserted into a cigarette lighter hole) [0031]; and one or more electrical ports configured to provide power (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery having one or more USB configured to provide power) [0027, 0031].
However, Li does not teach wherein the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied.
However, Bouchard teaches wherein the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied [0007-0011].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied as taught by Bouchard in order to ensure that the power device with battery is secured to the vehicle thereby ensuring safety of the driver and the passengers.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches further comprising: a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; a lens housing surrounding a lower exterior surface of the portable battery (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 surrounding a lower exterior surface of the car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery); and one or more light emitters internal to the light source and configured to emit light towards an interior surface of the lens housing to provide diffuse light around the portable battery (Fig. 3 shows white-light illumination light 931 and red-light illumination light 932 i.e. one or more light emitters internal to the light source and configured to emit light toward an interior surface of the lighting housing 8 to provide diffuse light around the car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery) [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches further comprising: a plurality of electrical contacts configured to transfer electricity with a vehicle to charge the portable battery (Fig. 3 shows positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25 i.e. plurality of electrical contacts configured to transfer electricity with a vehicle to charge the battery 3) [0027, 0031], wherein when the portable battery is secured within the vehicle via the latch (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery is secured within the vehicle via being latched into the cigarette lighter hole) [0031], the plurality of the electrical contacts interface with corresponding contacts within the vehicle to transfer the electricity with the vehicle (Fig. 3 shows positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25 i.e. plurality of electrical contacts interface with corresponding contacts within the vehicle to transfer the electricity with the vehicle) [0031].
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches further comprising: one or more buttons for operating a light source or for disabling or enabling the one or more electrical ports (Fig. 5-6 shows button switch 914 having button cap 911 for operating lighting circuit 92 to enable light pieces 93) [0029-0030].
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches wherein the one or more buttons comprise one or more capacitive switches [0015, 0030].
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches further comprising: a handle with an exterior surface of the portable battery and configured to, in response to being pulled, disengage the latch (Fig. 1-3 shows car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery exterior surface having a handle can be pulled to disengage from the cigarette lighter hole of the car) [0031].
Regarding claim 9. The portable battery of claim 1, further comprising: a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; and processing circuitry configured to: receive a signal from a vehicle light controller [0031]; and in response to receiving the signal, turn on the light source [0030-0031].
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches further comprising: a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; and processing circuitry configured to synchronize operation of the light source with other lights associated with the vehicle [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to synchronize the light emitted by the light source by one or more of changing the brightness, color, or power of the emitted light [0014, 0030-0032].
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches further comprising: a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; and processing circuitry configured to transmit a light source status signal to a vehicle light controller to enable synchronization of other lights associated with the vehicle based on the light source status signal [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a vehicle [0003] comprising: a vehicle [0003, 0016, 0027]; a dock arranged within the vehicle (cigarette lighter hole of a vehicle i.e. dock arranged within the vehicle) [0031]; and a portable battery (Fig. 1-3 shows car-mounted charger) [0031] comprising: a latch, wherein the dock is arranged to receive the portable battery and secure the portable battery thereto via the latch (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery is secured within a vehicle by being inserted into a cigarette lighter hole) [0031]; a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; and one or more electrical ports configured to configured to provide power (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery having one or more USB configured to provide power) [0027, 0031].
However, Li does not teach wherein the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied.
However, Bouchard teaches wherein the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied [0007-0011].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied as taught by Bouchard in order to ensure that the power device with battery is secured to the vehicle thereby ensuring safety of the driver and the passengers.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches wherein the vehicle comprises a center console and wherein the dock is arranged within the center console (vehicle comprises cigarette lighter hole i.e. dock which is arranged within the center console of the vehicle) [0031].
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches wherein the portable battery further comprises a plurality of electrical contacts and wherein the dock comprises corresponding contacts configured to interface with the electrical contracts to transfer electricity between the vehicle and the portable battery for charging the portable battery from the vehicle or the vehicle from the portable battery (Fig. 3 shows positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25 i.e. plurality of electrical contacts interface with corresponding contacts within the vehicle to transfer the electricity with the vehicle) [0031].
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches further comprising processing circuitry configured to synchronize operation of the light source with other lights associated with the vehicle [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 21, Li does not teach wherein the vehicle driving condition comprises at least one of vehicle speed threshold and a vehicle drive mode.
However, Bouchard teaches wherein the vehicle driving condition comprises at least one of vehicle speed threshold and a vehicle drive mode [0009-0011].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the vehicle driving condition comprises at least one of vehicle speed threshold and a vehicle drive mode as taught by Bouchard such that the device comprising battery is detachable from the vehicle cigarette lighter only when the vehicle is switched off i.e. vehicle drive mode to ensure safety of the vehicle driver and passengers.
Claim(s) 4, 14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0062407 (Li) in view of WO 2018/010016 (Bouchard) further in view of US 2016/0068075 (Chen).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Bouchard does not teach wherein the electrical contracts are further adapted to transfer electricity with the corresponding contacts to charge the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches wherein the electrical contracts are further adapted to transfer electricity with the corresponding contacts to charge the vehicle [0091, 0103].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the electrical contracts are further adapted to transfer electricity with the corresponding contacts to charge the vehicle as taught by Chen in order to optimize the vehicle performance and maximize the vehicle life.
Regarding claim 14, Li and Bouchard does not teach further comprising a battery module having a capacity of at least fifty-amp hours.
However, Chen teaches a battery module having a capacity of at least fifty amp hour [0003-0004, 0104].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a battery module having a capacity of at least fifty amp hour as taught by Chen in order to supply power to the loads for an extended period of time.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches a method, comprising: determining, using processing circuitry (Fig. 1-3 shows main circuit 7) [0027], a portable battery is coupled to a dock arranged in a vehicle, wherein the portable battery comprises a latch to secure the portable battery to the dock (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery is coupled to cigarette lighter hole i.e. dock arranged in a vehicle) [0031]; and in response to determining the state of charge is low, charging the vehicle battery from the portable battery (rechargeable batteries 3 are being charged by main circuit 7 thereby indicating that the state of charge requires to be replenished) [0031].
However, Li does not teach determining, using the processing circuitry, a state of charge of a vehicle battery; preventing the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied.
However, Bouchard teaches preventing the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied [0007-0011].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied as taught by Bouchard in order to ensure that the power device with battery is secured to the vehicle thereby ensuring safety of the driver and the passengers.
However, Chen teaches determining, using the processing circuitry, a state of charge of a vehicle battery [0083, 0104].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determining, using the processing circuitry, a state of charge of a vehicle battery as taught by Chen in order to ensure that the battery is not overcharged or over discharged thereby protecting the battery life.
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches wherein the portable battery (Fig. 1-3 shows car-mounted charger comprising battery i.e. portable battery) comprises: a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030]; and one or more electrical ports configured to configured to provide power (car-mounted charger with battery i.e. portable battery having one or more USB configured to provide power) [0027, 0031].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0062407 (Li) in view of WO 2018/010016 (Bouchard) further in view of US 2017/0251305 (Fathollahi).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches further comprising: a light source (Fig. 1-3 shows lighting housing 8 having a light source configured to emit light the light pieces 93) [0030].
However, Li and Bouchard does not teach processing circuitry configured to synchronize operation of the light source with another portable battery or a portable speaker.
However, Fathollahi teaches processing circuitry configured to synchronize operation of the light source with another portable battery or a portable speaker [0055-56].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have processing circuitry configured to synchronize operation of the light source with another portable battery or a portable speaker as taught by Fathollahi in order to provide a visual indicator via light source while also operating a speaker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 19, the Applicant presents that Li does not teach: wherein the dock prevents the latch from being disengaged based on whether a vehicle driving condition is satisfied.
Examiner agrees that Li does not teach abovementioned limitation. Thereby, the Examiner relies on the Bouchard reference to teach handheld device storage unit to be latched into cigarette lighter connector only to be removed when the vehicle is turned off as taught in paragraph [0007-0011].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836