DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 23-28 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 23 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 23-28 now recite selecting a second motivator that conveys substantially similar content as the first motivator. This is not taught by the specification as-filed. The specification does not ever use the word “similar” in the context of the content, nor does it ever use the word “substantially.” Instead, the specification repeatedly teaches that the same content may be conveyed via the different motivator formats. The phrase “substantially similar” implies some degree of difference from being “the same,” and this degree of difference is not taught by the specification as-filed. Accordingly, this limitation is new matter.
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 23-28 now recite selecting a second motivator that conveys substantially similar content as the first motivator. The term “substantially similar” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of the requisite similarity to meet the claim language is not readily determinable, especially in the context of switching between different content formats.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwatra et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0001238 A1; hereinafter known as “Kwatra”).
Regarding claim 23, Kwatra discloses a system for assessing how engaged a user is in an activity (Abstract), comprising: a display 112/116 that instructs the user to perform the activity ([0023]-[0025]; [0055]); a monitoring routine, executing on one or more processors, that assesses an engagement of the user in performing the activity by monitoring an activity parameter ([0037]-[0039]), wherein the display exposes the user to a first motivator that prompts the user to perform the activity, wherein the first motivator is content presented to the user in a first format selected from a plurality of formats comprising video content, audio content, a quiz game, images, and text ([0027]; [0029]; [0067]-[0070]), and wherein the monitoring routine assesses the engagement of the user with the first motivator by monitoring a motivator parameter ([0039]; [0046]; [0055]; [0058]); an evaluation routine, executing on the one or more processors, that determines an efficacy of the first motivator at motivating the user to perform the activity by using a model customized to the user based on the activity parameter and the motivator parameter ([0032]-[0035]; [0040]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0054]-[0055]; [0058]; customized/personalized sessions); and a comparison routine, executing on the one or more processors, that compares the activity parameter to an activity engagement threshold and that compares the motivator parameter to a motivator engagement threshold, wherein the evaluation routine uses the model to select a second motivator conveying substantially similar content as the first motivator in a second format different from the first format if either or both the activity parameter is below the activity engagement threshold or the motivator parameter is below the motivator engagement threshold, and wherein the display exposes the user to the second motivator ([0058]-[0061]; [0067]-[0069]; [0072]; activity parameters are compared to activity engagement thresholds in determining cognitive states; cognitive states and user characteristics/personality/preferences are used to determine or change workouts; motivators are provided based on cognitive states and user characteristics; if the user is not satisfying the motivation threshold, the workout may be changed or a different motivator provided; the motivators may include video content, audio content, and images, so changing the motivator includes changing the format; changed/altered workouts are taken to be substantially similar content, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term, as they still provide customized workouts for the user).
Regarding claim 24, Kwatra discloses that the evaluation routine updates the model with a subsequently monitored activity parameter ([0039]; [0061]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 25, Kwatra discloses that the evaluation routine determines a change in the activity parameter monitored at a current time compared to the activity parameter monitored at a past time ([0015]; [0037]; [0039]; [0058]-[0059]; [0072]).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Kwatra discloses that the evaluation routine uses the model to identify an attribute of the user that indicates a preference of the user for the first motivator, wherein the evaluation routine selects based on the attribute a support source that the model predicts is likely to support the user in performing the activity, and wherein the support source is selected from a group consisting of: a physician, a chatbot, and an avatar ([0057]; [0067]; [0076]).
Regarding claim 28, Kwatra discloses that the system generates a virtual support system that the model predicts is likely to support the user in performing the activity ([0067]; [0075]-[0079]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 23-28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 23-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kwatra changes the content that the AR headset delivers, via changing the story line or choice path, thus not conveying substantially similar content. Applicant also argues that Kwatra maintains the same format, rather than switching from a first format to a second format, as the content remains within the same AR format. The examiner disagrees on both counts. With respect to the latter argument, Kwatra utilizes video content, audio content, and images in generating its storylines. Thus, the first motivator and the second motivator may include different formats (as well as the same formats). The examiner agrees that Kwatra does not teach providing a single first format (e.g., text) as the first motivator and then switching completely to a second, different format (e.g., quiz game) as the second motivator; however, this is not recited by the present claim language. With respect to the former argument, Kwatra teaches presenting an AR workout in each instance; while there is some degree of change provided to the workout when either (or both) threshold is not met, these changes/adjustments can be made within the same AR workout and are taken to be “substantially similar” content within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791