DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 02/23/2026
Claims 1 and 7 have been amended
Claims 1-9 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (JP 2015074273).
Claims 1, 7. Sakata discloses a wafer container, comprising:
a top wall;
a bottom wall;
a first side wall;
a second side wall;
a back wall comprising a central panel, wherein the top wall, the bottom wall, the first side wall, the second side wall, and the back wall define an interior space, the interior space configured to accommodate one or more wafers;
a first diffuser located within the interior space; and
a second diffuser located within the interior space,
wherein an angle between the first diffuser and the second diffuser relative to a central axis of the one or more wafers when the one or more wafers are accommodated within the interior space is 60 degrees or less, wherein the central axis extends perpendicular to a plane of the one or more wafers through a center of each of the one or more wafers, and
wherein the first diffuser is spaced apart from the second diffuser in a direction parallel to the plane of the back wall by a distance less than a width of the central panel (see annotated figures below).
However, Sakata does teach the angle between the first diffuser and the second diffuser relative to a central axis of the one or more wafers has been recognized as a result- effective variable i.e., a variable which achieves the recognize result of quickly and reliably replacing the gas of the internal space of the wafer container (page 9, para. 7). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said angle might be characterized as routine experimentation. (See MPEP 2144.05 II B). Furthermore, Sakata teaches that the angle is formed to be in a specific range inside the container so that the flow does not collide with the walls and therefore, helps minimize turbulence. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an angle between the first and second diffusers at 60 degrees or less since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in order to blow gas efficiently toward the vicinity of the center of the wafers. (See MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 2. Sakata disclose the wafer container of claim 1, wherein the first diffuser is located on a first side of a center line of the interior space, the center line being evenly spaced between the first side wall and the second side wall, and the second diffuser is located on a second side of the center line of the interior space, the center line extending perpendicular to an opening of the wafer container and intersecting the central axis of the one or more wafers (see annotated figures of claim 1).
Claims 3, 9. Sakata discloses the wafer container of claim 2, wherein an angle between the center line and the first diffuser relative to the central axis is 30 degrees or less and an angle between the center line and the second diffuser relative to the central axis is 30 degrees or less (fig. 1).
Sakata does teach the angle between the first diffuser and the second diffuser relative to a central axis of the one or more wafers has been recognized as a result- effective variable i.e., a variable which achieves the recognize result of quickly and reliably replacing the gas of the internal space of the wafer container (page 9, para. 7). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said angle might be characterized as routine experimentation. (See MPEP 2144.05 II B). Furthermore, Sakata teaches that the angle is formed to be in a specific range inside the container so that the flow does not collide with the walls and therefore, helps minimize turbulence. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an angle between the first and second diffusers at 60 degrees or less since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in order to blow gas efficiently toward the vicinity of the center of the wafers (as taught by Ogawa). (See MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 4. Sakata discloses the wafer container of claim 1, further comprising a first offset between the first diffuser and a first purge port and a second offset between the second diffuser and a second purge port.
Claim 5. Sakata discloses the wafer container of claim 1, wherein the first diffuser comprises a diffuser tower (page 9, para. 2).
Claim 6. Sakata discloses the wafer container of claim 1, wherein the first diffuser is spaced apart from the center line by a distance that is less than a distance from the center line to the first purge port 72, and the second diffuser is spaced apart from the center line by a distance that is less than a distance from the center line to the second purge port 72 (page 7; fig. 17b).
Claim 8. Sakata discloses the wafer container of claim 7, wherein the first diffuser and second diffuser are symmetrical with respect to the center line (fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The annotated art of claim 1 has been updated to better describe the Examiner’s position. It is suggested that Applicant include subject matter relating to the structure of the central and back panel/wall to better position the diffusers within the central panel.
Because the diffusers of Sakata have the ability to release gases at varying angles, modifying the angle placement of the diffusers to diffuse in a pre-existing gas release location would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. The rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735