Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim 21 is cancelled.
Claims 5-11 are withdrawn.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on July 14th, 2025 has been fully considered but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of April 14th, 2025
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
The 102 rejections over Zhao (Dual-functionalized ionic liquids: synthesis and characterization of imidazolium salts with a nitrile-functionalized anion”) has been withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
The 103 rejections over Giroud (US 2011/0151317 A1) in view of Zhao, Ignatyen (US 2014/0155566 A1), Abe (US 2009/0136838), and/or Su (US 2020/0044285) are withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because the limitation of “a second additive selected from (LiDFOB)” should be changed to “a second additive selected from LiDFOB” such that “LiDFOB” is no longer in parentheses. Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of their dependence on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giroud (US 2011/0151317 A1) and further in view of Zhao (Dual-functionalized ionic liquids: synthesis and characterization of imidazolium salts with a nitrile-functionalized anion”).
Regarding claims 1-3, Giroud teaches ionic liquid electrolytes with an imidazolium ion and a quaternary ammonium ion [0065] with an anion containing a halogenic element, but is silent with respect to the organotrifluoroborate claimed in Formula I and the wt. % of the additive. Zhao is analogous art to Giroud because both teach ionic liquids. Zhao teaches the ionic liquids that contain the imidazolium ion taught by Giroud and the anion depicted below (the organotrifluoroborate of interest).
Zhao continues to teach that ionic liquids with this structure have low viscosities and melting points (Zhao, right column, page 2500), and Giroud indicates that a low viscosity is beneficial for electrolytes ([0075] and [0105]–[0109]). Substituting the ionic liquid of Giroud’s with the ionic liquid of Zhao’s results in the structure of Formula I where m = 1 and the “M+” is an imidazolium ion.
Giroud teaches that the electrolyte that contains the ionic compound, an organic solvent (in an amount of 5-20% by mass of the electrolyte [0165]), a conducting salt [0072], and small percentage of anionic surfactant [0143]. In this case, the content of the organotrifluoroborate would be overlapping with the claimed range of at least 0.01 wt.%.
Moreover, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the ionic liquid of Zhao in place of the ionic liquid of Giroud in order to create an electrolyte that has low viscosity to improve electrolyte performance.
Furthermore, Giroud teaches a cathode comprising a cathode active material disposed on a cathode current collector ([0168] and Figure 1, #3), an anode comprising an anode active material disposed on an anode current collector ([0168] and Figure 1, #1) and a separator disposed between them ([0180] and Figure 1, #2). As seen in Figure 1, the two electrodes are facing each other, and the liquid electrolyte is disposed between the cathode and anode. The liquid electrolyte may be comprised of the ionic liquid [0163]. Figure 1 is depicted below:
Regarding claims 12-14, Giroud teaches that the electrolyte may be comprised of LiPF6 in a range of 0.1M – 10M ([0072] and [0074]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8M to 1.6M. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 18-20, Giroud teaches that a mixture of conducting salts may be used in the electrolyte, including LiODBF [0072]. LiODBF is an alternative acronym for LiDFOB. Therefore, Giroud teaches using LiDFOB as a component or additive of the electrolyte.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Giroud as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ignatyen (US 2014/0155566 A1). Giroud is silent on whether or not potassium may be used as a cation. Ignatyen teaches ionic liquids and is therefore analogous art to Giroud. Ignatyen teaches that both imidazolium ions ([0016]) and inorganic ions such as potassium ([0014]) may be used as a cation in ionic fluids. Combining potassium and Zhao’s anion results in the creation of potassium organotrifluoroborate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use potassium organotrifluoroborate as an ionic liquid in an electrolyte with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giroud in view of Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abe (US 20090136838 A1) and Su (US 2020/0044285 A1). Giroud teaches that the electrolyte comprising of an ionic liquid “may further contain other components such as organic solvents…currently used in electrolytes such as carbonates” ([0164]-[0165]), but is silent on specific organic solvents or carbonates. Su and Giroud teach non-aqueous electrolytes and therefore are analogous art. Su teaches that an electrolyte fluid may be a mixture of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), and other solvents (0054]), thus it would be prima facie obvious to use them as solvents in Giroud’s electrolyte based on their suitability for their intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Abe and Giroud teach non-aqueous electrolytes and therefore are analogous art. Abe teaches that using propyl propionate (PP) and ethyl propionate (EP) as solvents in an electrolyte fluid obtains excellent low-temperature output characteristics, especially in temperatures under -20 ℃ ([0027]–[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the solvents of modified Giroud, Su, and Abe such that the electrolyte comprises of Giroud’s ionic liquid, the PC and EC taught by Su, and the PP and EP taught by Abe in order to improve battery function in sub-zero temperatures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant alleges that the Examiner argues that the imidazolium ion of Giroud is functionally equivalent to the presently claimed organotrifluoroborate of Formula (I). However, Giroud’s imidazolium ion corresponds with the cation “M+” present within Formula (I). Zhao teaches the required anion present within Formula (I). Furthermore, this allegation argument addresses Giroud alone and does not address the combination of Giroud and Zhao.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.B.R./
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722