DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on June 8, 2026. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1, 5, 9, 13, and 17 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondello, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11570625) in view of Niesen, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11474235), and further in view of Breed, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 8060282), and further in view of Miller (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180164833).
Regarding claim 1, Mondello, et al. teaches: receiving, by a radar sensor disposed on the first vehicle, a radar signal set; (Col. 12, lines 50-54: "Vehicular subsystem (706) is additionally included within the system. Vehicular subsystem (706) includes [...] sensors (706D) [disposed on the vehicle]." ; Step (124), Col. 7, lines 19-23: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using LiDAR, radar, sonar, etc. as described above [receiving radar signal set on specified vehicle].")
extracting, from the radar signal set by the apparatus of the first vehicle, an identifier of a radar device of one of a second vehicle and a third vehicle that transmitted the radar signal set, wherein the identifier includes operational characteristics of the received radar signals; (Steps (112) - (114), Col. 5, line 65 to Col. 6, lines 1-10: "In step (112), the target vehicle sends a data request message. Details of the message format are described in FIG. 5, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety [sending out request via radar device]. […] The message will include the position and speed of the target vehicle. Additionally, the message includes the target vehicle's triple for authentication purposes [operational characteristics of received radar signals]. In Step (S114), the target vehicle receives a response message [extracting received radar signal set].")
associating, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, the received radar signal set with a radar detection, wherein the radar detection is an object within a field of view of the radar device when the object is located in a blind spot of the apparatus of the first vehicle; (Step (104), Fig. 1, Col. 5, lines 30-35: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection [blind spot] and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using LiDAR, radar [radar detection]" ; Col. 6, lines 37-39: "…blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle [first vehicle].")
in response to identifying, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, that the identifier is associated with a second vehicle, initiating, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication between the first and second vehicles to cause the second vehicle to provide information indicative of a location of the second vehicle; (Col. 2, lines 4-26: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication], […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication] [...] Once the channel is established, the vehicles transmit position (left/right), direction, speed, and freshness data to control the operations of each vehicle [location of second vehicle].")
and performing, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, an evaluation that identifies a location of the radar detection when the object is within the field of view of the radar device and when the object is located in the blind spot of the apparatus of the first vehicle (Step (118), Fig. 1, Col. 6, lines 30-39: "… verification [evaluation process]. […] blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the foregoing, the verification may comprise determining that the vehicle is in a lane adjacent to the target vehicle [location - blind spot of target vehicle]" ; Step (124), Fig. 1, Col. 7, lines 19-25: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another [location detection policy]. […] radar [radar communication method], sonar, etc. as described above. Thus, in step (124) the method checks to see if a vehicle associated with a connection is still within the secure channel area [within field of view of radar device]").
Mondello, et al. does not teach broadcasting, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; receiving, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (identification of vehicles using doppler radar signals), Niesen, et al. teaches: broadcasting, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "To identify spatial parameters about the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle] using the reflected radar signals (325), the primary vehicle (305) [first vehicle] may use information about the primary vehicle (305) and/or the obstacle (335) to extract the information about the secondary vehicle (315) from the received radar signals (325) [extracting identifier]. For example, the primary vehicle (305) may use the location of the obstacle (335) and the doppler shift caused by the primary vehicle (305) to identify a doppler shift in the radar signal (325) caused by the secondary vehicle (315) [detailed request for data]. Using the doppler shift caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters (e.g., velocity, range, location, and/or angle) of the secondary vehicle (315) [request for data after extraction of identifier]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to request and receive information from a second and third vehicle]")
receiving, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "…Using the doppler shift [radar waveforms] caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters […] location [parameters of radar waveforms from computer - which include location], […] of the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to receive information from a second and third vehicle]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mondello, et al. to include the teaching of Niesen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of a vehicle detecting radar signals from nearby vehicles in a surrounding environment (Niesen, et al. Col. 5, lines 36-53).
The combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. does not teach and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle communication component control), Breed, et al. teaches: and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; (Col. 23, lines 52-58: "…an interrogator may transmit a chirp form of energy at 905 MHz to 925 MHz to a variety of sensors located within and/or in the vicinity of the vehicle. These sensors may be of the RFID electronic type and/or of the surface acoustic wave (SAW) type or a combination thereof [identifier is encoded on phase-coded signature superimposed on chirp sequence of radar signal set]. In the electronic type, information can be returned immediately to the interrogator in the form of a modulated backscatter RF signal [extracted by decoding phase-coded signature].")
and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; (Col. 50, lines 29-34: "This particular Motia device is designed to operate at 433 MHz and to mitigate multipath signals at that frequency [multipath component]. The signals returning to the antennas from tires, for example, contain some multipath effects that, especially if the antennas are offset somewhat from the vehicle center, are different for each wheel [multipath reflected from object and known reflective surface of first vehicle].")
wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle (Col. 51, lines 20-27: "The smart antenna works by determining a set of factors or weights that are used to operate on the magnitude and/or phase of the signals from each antenna before the signals are combined [incorporates multipath component signals]. However, since the geometry of a vehicle tire relative to the centralized antenna array does not change much as the tire rotates, but is different for each wheel, the weights themselves contain the information as to which tire signal is being received [stored geometry model related to specific tire of first vehicle].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. to include the teaching of Breed, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of improving the communication of signals between vehicles (Breed, et al. Col. 20, lines 28-35, Col. 31, lines 31-40).
The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. does not teach and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector.
In a similar field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle object detection), Miller, et al. teaches: and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First [first vehicle] […] equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 [first vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first [first vehicle] and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110). First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network [transmission pathway of radar signal of radar device of second vehicle toward the object based on second vehicle location].")
identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First and second vehicles [second vehicle] (110) are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 and D2 [second vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] [...] Distance vectors are vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes. First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110) [angle associated with reflected radar signal after reflection from object].")
and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector (Paragraph [0024]: "…are also equipped with sensors (116) [radar sensor detection] that can determine distance vector D3 [third vector], represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)." ; Paragraph [0036]: "…FIG. 2, triangulation is a technique whereby two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common [location - point where first vector intersects second vector].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. to include the teaching of Miller, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the determination of vehicle locations using radar sensor detection (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising extracting characteristics of the radar device of the second vehicle from the received information, wherein the location of the radar detection is based at least in part on the characteristics of the radar device (Mondello, et al. Col. 12, lines 38-46: "Radar devices (702B) [radar device] […] comprise various respective devices installed at various positions throughout the autonomous vehicle as known in the art. For example, these devices may be installed along the perimeter of an autonomous vehicle to provide location awareness, collision avoidance, and other standard autonomous vehicle functionality [properties measured by radar device]." ; Mondello, et al. Step (302), Fig. 3A, Col. 8, lines 43-48: "In step (302), the method detects a vehicle in front of a target vehicle [second vehicle]. […] detecting the forward vehicle, the method may receive the position and speed of the forward vehicle (identical to that in step (310), as will be explained) [characteristics of radar device linked to second vehicle].").
Regarding claim 3, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 2, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method of claim 2, wherein the characteristics of the radar device include at least one of a frequency, a magnitude, a phase, a chirp rate, a frequency change rate, or a duration time of the received radar signal set (Breed, et al. Col. 47, lines 56-60: "…each SAW or RFID device can be designed to operate on a slightly different frequency and the antennas of the array (622) can be designed to send a chirp signal and the returned signals will then be separated in frequency, permitting the four signals to be separated [frequency of received radar signal set].").
Regarding claim 4, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising establishing vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communications via a communication device of the second vehicle, wherein the received information is received via the V2V communications (Mondello, et al. Col. 2, lines 4-14: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication with second vehicle], […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication]").
Regarding claim 5, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a first vector to associate with the received signal set and the radar detection, wherein the first vector corresponds to the transmission pathway of the radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object based on the location of the second vehicle; (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "First [first vehicle] […] are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 [first vector] […] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first [first vehicle] and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110). First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network [transmission pathway of radar signal of radar device of second vehicle toward the object based on second vehicle location].")
and identifying a second vector to associate with the second vehicle and the detection, and identifying a second vector to associate with the second vehicle and the detection, wherein identifying the second vector comprises identifying an angle associated with the reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...] The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "First and second vehicles [second vehicle] (110) are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 and D2 [second vector] […] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] [...] Distance vectors are vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes. First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110) [angle associated with reflected radar signal after reflection from object].")
and wherein the location of the radar detection is associated with a point where the first vector intersects the second vector (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "…are also equipped with sensors (116) [radar sensor detection] that can determine distance vector D3 [third vector], represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0036]: "…FIG. 2, triangulation is a technique whereby two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common [location - point where first vector intersects second vector].").
Regarding claim 9, Mondello, et al. teaches: A computing system for processing radar data, the system comprising: (Col. 12, lines 28-31: "The system optionally includes an autonomous vehicle subsystem (702) [computing system]. In the illustrated embodiment, autonomous vehicle subsystem (702) includes […] radar devices (702B) [processing radar data]")
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions are effective to cause the computing system to: (Col. 3, lines 1-5: "…a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor is disclosed, the computer program instructions defining the steps of [non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions - action on computing system]")
receive, by a radar sensor disposed on a first vehicle, a radar signal set; (Col. 12, lines 50-54: "Vehicular subsystem (706) is additionally included within the system. Vehicular subsystem (706) includes [...] sensors (706D) [disposed on the vehicle]." ; Col. 7, lines 19-23: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using […] radar, […] as described above [receiving radar signal set on specified vehicle].")
extract, from the radar signal set, an identifier of a radar device of one of a second vehicle and a third vehicle that transmitted the radar signal set, wherein the identifier includes operational characteristics of the received radar signals; (Col. 5, line 65 to Col. 6, lines 1-10: "...the target vehicle sends a data request message. Details of the message format are described in FIG. 5, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety [sending out request via radar device]. […] The message will include the position and speed of the target vehicle. Additionally, the message includes the target vehicle's triple for authentication purposes [operational characteristics of received radar signals]. […] the target vehicle receives a response message [extracting received radar signal set].")
associate the received radar signal set with a radar detection, wherein the radar detection is an object within a field of view of the radar device when the object is located in a blind spot of the first vehicle, (Col. 13, lines 14-18: "…ADAS subsystem (704) includes a blind spot ADAS (704a) and distance ADAS (704b) which perform the blind spot algorithms [system for measuring blind spots in vehicle]" ; Col. 5, lines 30-35: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection [blind spot] and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using LiDAR, radar [radar detection]"; Col. 6, lines 37-39: "…blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle [first vehicle].")
in response to identifying that the identifier is associated with a second vehicle, initiate vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication between the first and second vehicles to cause the second vehicle to provide information indicative of a location of the second vehicle; (Col. 2, lines 4-26: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication], […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication] [...] Once the channel is established, the vehicles transmit position (left/right), direction, speed, and freshness data to control the operations of each vehicle [location of second vehicle].")
and perform an evaluation that identifies a location of the radar detection when the object is within the field of view of the radar device and when the object is located in the blind spot of the first vehicle (Col. 6, lines 30-39: "…verification [evaluation process]. […] blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the foregoing, the verification may comprise determining that the vehicle is in a lane adjacent to the target vehicle [location - blind spot of target vehicle]" ; Col. 7, lines 19-25: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another [location detection policy]. […] radar [radar communication method], […] step (124) the method checks to see if a vehicle associated with a connection is still within the secure channel area [within field of view of radar device]").
Mondello, et al. does not teach broadcast, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; receive, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (identification of vehicles using doppler radar signals), Niesen, et al. teaches: broadcast, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "To identify spatial parameters about the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle] using the reflected radar signals (325), the primary vehicle (305) [first vehicle] may use information about the primary vehicle (305) and/or the obstacle (335) to extract the information about the secondary vehicle (315) from the received radar signals (325) [extracting identifier]. For example, the primary vehicle (305) may use the location of the obstacle (335) and the doppler shift caused by the primary vehicle (305) to identify a doppler shift in the radar signal (325) caused by the secondary vehicle (315) [detailed request for data]. Using the doppler shift caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters (e.g., velocity, range, location, and/or angle) of the secondary vehicle (315) [request for data after extraction of identifier]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to request and receive information from a second and third vehicle]")
receive, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "…Using the doppler shift [radar waveforms] caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters […] location [parameters of radar waveforms from computer - which include location], […] of the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to receive information from a second and third vehicle]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mondello, et al. to include the teaching of Niesen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of a vehicle detecting radar signals from nearby vehicles in a surrounding environment (Niesen, et al. Col. 5, lines 36-53).
The combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. does not teach and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle communication component control), Breed, et al. teaches: and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; (Col. 23, lines 52-58: "…an interrogator may transmit a chirp form of energy at 905 MHz to 925 MHz to a variety of sensors located within and/or in the vicinity of the vehicle. These sensors may be of the RFID electronic type and/or of the surface acoustic wave (SAW) type or a combination thereof [identifier is encoded on phase-coded signature superimposed on chirp sequence of radar signal set]. In the electronic type, information can be returned immediately to the interrogator in the form of a modulated backscatter RF signal [extracted by decoding phase-coded signature].")
and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; (Col. 50, lines 29-34: "This particular Motia device is designed to operate at 433 MHz and to mitigate multipath signals at that frequency [multipath component]. The signals returning to the antennas from tires, for example, contain some multipath effects that, especially if the antennas are offset somewhat from the vehicle center, are different for each wheel [multipath reflected from object and known reflective surface of first vehicle].")
wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle (Col. 51, lines 20-27: "The smart antenna works by determining a set of factors or weights that are used to operate on the magnitude and/or phase of the signals from each antenna before the signals are combined [incorporates multipath component signals]. However, since the geometry of a vehicle tire relative to the centralized antenna array does not change much as the tire rotates, but is different for each wheel, the weights themselves contain the information as to which tire signal is being received [stored geometry model related to specific tire of first vehicle].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. to include the teaching of Breed, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of improving the communication of signals between vehicles (Breed, et al. Col. 20, lines 28-35, Col. 31, lines 31-40).
The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. does not teach and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector.
In a similar field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle object detection), Miller, et al. teaches: and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First [first vehicle] […] equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 [first vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first [first vehicle] and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110). First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network [transmission pathway of radar signal of radar device of second vehicle toward the object based on second vehicle location].")
identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First and second vehicles [second vehicle] (110) are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 and D2 [second vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] [...] Distance vectors are vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes. First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110) [angle associated with reflected radar signal after reflection from object].")
and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector (Paragraph [0024]: "…are also equipped with sensors (116) [radar sensor detection] that can determine distance vector D3 [third vector], represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)." ; Paragraph [0036]: "…FIG. 2, triangulation is a technique whereby two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common [location - point where first vector intersects second vector].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. to include the teaching of Miller, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the determination of vehicle locations using radar sensor detection (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 10, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to extract characteristics of the radar device of the second vehicle from the received information, wherein the location of the radar detection is based at least in part on the characteristics of the radar device (Mondello, et al. Col. 12, lines 38-46: "Radar devices (702B) [radar device] […] comprise various respective devices installed at various positions throughout the autonomous vehicle as known in the art. For example, these devices may be installed along the perimeter of an autonomous vehicle to provide location awareness, collision avoidance, and other standard autonomous vehicle functionality [properties measured by radar device]." ; Mondello, et al. Col. 8, lines 43-48: "In step (302), the method detects a vehicle in front of a target vehicle [second vehicle]. […] detecting the forward vehicle, the method may receive the position and speed of the forward vehicle (identical to that in step (310), as will be explained) [characteristics of radar device linked to second vehicle].").
Regarding claim 11, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 10, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 10, wherein the characteristics of the radar device include at least one of a frequency, a magnitude, a phase, a chirp rate, a frequency change rate, or a duration time of the received radar signal set (Breed, et al. Col. 47, lines 56-60: "…each SAW or RFID device can be designed to operate on a slightly different frequency and the antennas of the array (622) can be designed to send a chirp signal and the returned signals will then be separated in frequency, permitting the four signals to be separated [frequency of received radar signal set].").
Regarding claim 12, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to establish vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communications via a communication device of the second vehicle, wherein the received information is received via the V2V communications (Mondello, et al. Col. 2, lines 4-14: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication with second vehicle], […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication]").
Regarding claim 13, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to: identify a first vector to associate with the received signal set and the radar detection, wherein the first vector corresponds to the transmission pathway of the radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object based on the location of the second vehicle; (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "First [first vehicle] […] are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 [first vector] […] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first [first vehicle] and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110). First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network [transmission pathway of radar signal of radar device of second vehicle toward the object based on second vehicle location].")
and identify a second vector to associate with the second vehicle and the detection, identifying the second vector comprises identifying an angle associated with the reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...]The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "First and second vehicles [second vehicle] (110) are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 and D2 [second vector] […] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle]" [...] Distance vectors are vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes. First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110) [angle associated with reflected radar signal after reflection from object].")
and wherein the location of the radar detection is associated with a point where the first vector intersects the second vector (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0024]: "…are also equipped with sensors (116) [radar sensor detection] that can determine distance vector D3 [third vector], represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)." ; Miller, et al. Paragraph [0036]: "…FIG. 2, triangulation is a technique whereby two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common [location - point where first vector intersects second vector].").
Regarding claim 17, Mondello, et al. teaches: A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions are effective to cause a computing system to: (Col. 3, lines 1-5: "…a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor is disclosed, the computer program instructions defining the steps of [non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions - action on computing system]")
receive, by a radar sensor disposed on a first vehicle, a radar signal set; (Col. 12, lines 50-54: "Vehicular subsystem (706) is additionally included within the system. Vehicular subsystem (706) includes [...] sensors (706D) [disposed on the vehicle]." ; Col. 7, lines 19-23: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using […] radar, […] as described above [receiving radar signal set on specified vehicle].")
extract, from the radar signal set, an identifier of a radar device of one of a second vehicle and a third vehicle that transmitted the radar signal set, wherein the identifier includes operational characteristics of the received radar signals, (Col. 5, line 65 to Col. 6, lines 1-10: "...the target vehicle sends a data request message. Details of the message format are described in FIG. 5, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety [sending out request via radar device]. […] The message will include the position and speed of the target vehicle. Additionally, the message includes the target vehicle's triple for authentication purposes [operational characteristics of received radar signals]. […] the target vehicle receives a response message [extracting received radar signal set].")
associate the received radar signal set with a radar detection, wherein the radar detection is an object within a field of view of the radar device when the object is located in a blind spot of the first vehicle, (Col. 13, lines 14-18: "…ADAS subsystem (704) includes a blind spot ADAS (704a) and distance ADAS (704b) which perform the blind spot algorithms [system for measuring blind spots in vehicle]" ; Col. 5, lines 30-35: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection [blind spot] and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another. This may be detected using LiDAR, radar [radar detection]" ; Col. 6, lines 37-39: "…blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle [first vehicle].")
in response to identifying that the radar is associated with a second vehicle, initiate vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication between the first and second vehicles to cause the second vehicle to provide information indicative of a location of the second vehicle; (Col. 2, lines 4-26: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication] […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication] [...] Once the channel is established, the vehicles transmit position (left/right), direction, speed, and freshness data to control the operations of each vehicle [location of second vehicle].")
and perform an evaluation that identifies a location of the radar detection when the object is within the field of view of the radar device and when the object is located in the blind spot of the first vehicle (Col. 6, lines 30-39: "…verification [evaluation process]. […] blind spot detection scenario, the method may confirm that the data in the message indicates that the sender of the message is travelling in the same direction as the target vehicle. Alternatively, or in conjunction with the foregoing, the verification may comprise determining that the vehicle is in a lane adjacent to the target vehicle [location - blind spot of target vehicle]" ; Col. 7, lines 19-25: "…two vehicles are only communicating with respect to blind spot detection and following distance detection when a vehicle is within a secure channel area of another [location detection policy]. […] radar [radar communication method], […] step (124) the method checks to see if a vehicle associated with a connection is still within the secure channel area [within field of view of radar device]").
Mondello, et al. does not teach broadcast, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; receive, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (identification of vehicles using doppler radar signals), Niesen, et al. teaches: broadcast, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, a request for data to a computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle after extracting the identifier; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "To identify spatial parameters about the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle] using the reflected radar signals (325), the primary vehicle (305) [first vehicle] may use information about the primary vehicle (305) and/or the obstacle (335) to extract the information about the secondary vehicle (315) from the received radar signals (325) [extracting identifier]. For example, the primary vehicle (305) may use the location of the obstacle (335) and the doppler shift caused by the primary vehicle (305) to identify a doppler shift in the radar signal (325) caused by the secondary vehicle (315) [detailed request for data]. Using the doppler shift caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters (e.g., velocity, range, location, and/or angle) of the secondary vehicle (315) [request for data after extraction of identifier]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to request and receive information from a second and third vehicle]")
receive, by the apparatus of the first vehicle, data from the computer of the second vehicle and the third vehicle in response to the request, wherein the data identifies parameters of radar waveforms currently being used by the radar device of the second vehicle and the third vehicle and a location of the second vehicle and the third vehicle; (Col. 12, lines 52-64: "…Using the doppler shift [radar waveforms] caused by the secondary vehicle (315), the primary vehicle (305) may be configured to determine one or more spatial parameters […] location [parameters of radar waveforms from computer - which include location], […] of the secondary vehicle (315) [selected second or third vehicle]." ; Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3: "The indication manager (710) may receive, by a first UE associated with a first vehicle, an indication of a resource use pattern of a radar signal transmitted by a second UE associated with a second vehicle. In some examples, the indication manager (710) may receive, by the first UE, a second indication of a second resource use pattern of radar signals transmitted by a third UE associated with a third vehicle [has the ability to receive information from a second and third vehicle]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mondello, et al. to include the teaching of Niesen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of a vehicle detecting radar signals from nearby vehicles in a surrounding environment (Niesen, et al. Col. 5, lines 36-53).
The combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. does not teach and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle communication component control), Breed, et al. teaches: and wherein the identifier is encoded as a phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set and is extracted by decoding the phase-coded signature; (Col. 23, lines 52-58: "…an interrogator may transmit a chirp form of energy at 905 MHz to 925 MHz to a variety of sensors located within and/or in the vicinity of the vehicle. These sensors may be of the RFID electronic type and/or of the surface acoustic wave (SAW) type or a combination thereof [identifier is encoded on phase-coded signature superimposed on chirp sequence of radar signal set]. In the electronic type, information can be returned immediately to the interrogator in the form of a modulated backscatter RF signal [extracted by decoding phase-coded signature].")
and wherein the radar signal set includes at least one multipath component sequentially reflected from the object and a known reflective surface of the first vehicle; (Col. 50, lines 29-34: "This particular Motia device is designed to operate at 433 MHz and to mitigate multipath signals at that frequency [multipath component]. The signals returning to the antennas from tires, for example, contain some multipath effects that, especially if the antennas are offset somewhat from the vehicle center, are different for each wheel [multipath reflected from object and known reflective surface of first vehicle].")
wherein the evaluation compensates for the additional path-length of the multipath component using a stored geometry model of the first vehicle (Col. 51, lines 20-27: "The smart antenna works by determining a set of factors or weights that are used to operate on the magnitude and/or phase of the signals from each antenna before the signals are combined [incorporates multipath component signals]. However, since the geometry of a vehicle tire relative to the centralized antenna array does not change much as the tire rotates, but is different for each wheel, the weights themselves contain the information as to which tire signal is being received [stored geometry model related to specific tire of first vehicle].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al. and Niesen, et al. to include the teaching of Breed, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of improving the communication of signals between vehicles (Breed, et al. Col. 20, lines 28-35, Col. 31, lines 31-40).
The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. does not teach and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector.
In a similar field of endeavor (autonomous vehicle object detection), Miller, et al. teaches: and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...] The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First [first vehicle] […] equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 [first vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first [first vehicle] and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110). First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network [transmission pathway of radar signal of radar device of second vehicle toward the object based on second vehicle location].")
identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, (Paragraph [0018]: "…For example, a radar fixed to a front bumper (not shown) of the vehicle (110) may provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110) [...] The distance provided by the radar [radar detection and signal set] […] may be used by the computing device (115) to operate the vehicle (110) autonomously or semi-autonomously." ; Paragraph [0024]: "First and second vehicles [second vehicle] (110) are equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vectors D1 and D2 [second vector] [...] Distance vectors D1 and D2, represented by dotted lines, from first and second vehicles (110) [second vehicle] [...] Distance vectors are vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes. First and second vehicles (110) are also equipped with sensors (116) that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110) [angle associated with reflected radar signal after reflection from object].")
and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector (Paragraph [0024]: "…are also equipped with sensors (116) [radar sensor detection] that can determine distance vector D3 [third vector], represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)." ; Paragraph [0036]: "…FIG. 2, triangulation is a technique whereby two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common [location - point where first vector intersects second vector].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. to include the teaching of Miller, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the determination of vehicle locations using radar sensor detection (Miller, et al. Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 17, and in a further embodiment, teach: The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to extract characteristics of the radar device of the second vehicle from the received information, wherein the location of the radar detection is based at least in part on the characteristics of the radar device (Mondello, et al. Col. 12, lines 38-46: "Radar devices (702B) [radar device], […] comprise various respective devices installed at various positions throughout the autonomous vehicle as known in the art. For example, these devices may be installed along the perimeter of an autonomous vehicle to provide location awareness, collision avoidance, and other standard autonomous vehicle functionality [properties measured by radar device]." ; Mondello, et al. Col. 8, lines 43-48: "In step (302), the method detects a vehicle in front of a target vehicle [second vehicle]. […] detecting the forward vehicle, the method may receive the position and speed of the forward vehicle (identical to that in step (310), as will be explained) [characteristics of radar device linked to second vehicle].").
Regarding claim 19, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 18, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 18, wherein the characteristics of the radar device include at least one of a frequency, a magnitude, a phase, a chirp rate, a frequency change rate, or a duration time of the received radar signal set (Breed, et al. Col. 47, lines 56-60: "…each SAW or RFID device can be designed to operate on a slightly different frequency and the antennas of the array (622) can be designed to send a chirp signal and the returned signals will then be separated in frequency, permitting the four signals to be separated [frequency of received radar signal set].").
Regarding claim 20, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. remain as applied to claim 17, and in a further embodiment, teach: The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to establish vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communications via a communication device of the second vehicle, wherein the received information is received via the V2V communications (Mondello, et al. Col. 2, lines 4-14: "As vehicles approach the blind spot area of a vehicle (the “target vehicle”), the approaching vehicles and the target vehicle authenticate and exchange identification information and, subsequently, repeatedly transmit positioning information until the target vehicle is overtaken [initiates V2V communication with second vehicle], […] In operation, a secure communications channel is established between the target vehicle and overtaking vehicle(s) using a DICE-RIoT protocol [example - type of V2V communication]").
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondello, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11570625), Niesen, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11474235), Breed, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8060282), and Miller, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220144287) in view of Seo (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220144287).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising storing a data point in association with information that identifies the location of the radar detection as part of a set of radar detection data, wherein the set of radar detection data also includes data points associated with radar signals transmitted and received by the apparatus of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (radar systems for vehicles), Seo teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising storing a data point in association with information that identifies the location of the radar detection as part of a set of radar detection data, (Paragraph [0059]: "…radar microcontroller unit (MCU) (13) for sampling the demodulated signal with a predetermined sampling frequency to convert the demodulated signal into digital data [storing data point], processing the digital data, and calculating a distance to the target and a speed of the target using the processing result [location of the radar detection as part of data set]")
wherein the set of radar detection data also includes data points associated with radar signals transmitted and received by the apparatus of the first vehicle (Paragraph [0059]: "…a radar module (10) including an antenna (11) for outputting a radar signal and receiving a signal reflected from a target [radar signals transmitted and received by first vehicle], a radio frequency (RF) module (12) for modulating a specific signal and radiating radio waves through the antenna or demodulating a received RF signal, and a radar microcontroller unit (MCU) (13) for sampling the demodulated signal with a predetermined sampling frequency to convert the demodulated signal into digital data [data points]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. to include the teaching of Seo based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the performance of a vehicle radar system in a designated driving environment by adjusting its output waveform (Seo Paragraphs [0002], [0012]).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting information for receipt by an apparatus of another vehicle, the transmitted information identifying a location of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (radar systems for vehicles), Seo teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting information for receipt by an apparatus of another vehicle, the transmitted information identifying a location of the first vehicle (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0065]: "…host vehicle (V1) and the neighboring vehicle (V2) [another vehicle] exchange radar operation information [transmit information] through V2V communication." ; Fig. 4, Step (S12), Paragraph [0054]: "…position information of the vehicle received from the navigation system (22) of the vehicle (S12) [location of first vehicle].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. to include the teaching of Seo based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the performance of a vehicle radar system in a designated driving environment by adjusting its output waveform (Seo Paragraphs [0002], [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., Miller, et al., and Seo remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The method of claim 7, wherein the transmitted information also includes one or more characteristics of the apparatus of the first vehicle (Seo Fig. 4, Step (S14), Paragraph [0056]: "…radar MCU (13) may receive information on the vehicle speed from the vehicle speed sensor (21) and compare the received vehicle speed with a preset reference speed A (S14) [first vehicle characteristics - speed].").
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. does not teach the computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to store a data point in association with information that identifies the location of the radar detection as part of a set of radar detection data, wherein the set of radar detection data also includes data points associated with radar signals transmitted and received by the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (radar systems for vehicles), Seo teaches: The computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to store a data point in association with information that identifies the location of the radar detection as part of a set of radar detection data, (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0059]: "…a radar microcontroller unit (MCU) (13) for sampling the demodulated signal with a predetermined sampling frequency to convert the demodulated signal into digital data [storing data point], processing the digital data, and calculating a distance to the target and a speed of the target using the processing result [location of the radar detection as part of data set]")
wherein the set of radar detection data also includes data points associated with radar signals transmitted and received by the first vehicle (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0059]: "…a radar module (10) including an antenna (11) for outputting a radar signal and receiving a signal reflected from a target [radar signals transmitted and received by first vehicle], a radio frequency (RF) module (12) for modulating a specific signal and radiating radio waves through the antenna or demodulating a received RF signal, and a radar microcontroller unit (MCU) (13) for sampling the demodulated signal with a predetermined sampling frequency to convert the demodulated signal into digital data [data points]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. to include the teaching of Seo based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the performance of a vehicle radar system in a designated driving environment by adjusting its output waveform (Seo Paragraphs [0002], [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. does not teach the computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to transmit information for receipt by an apparatus of another vehicle, the transmitted information identifying a location of the first vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (radar systems for vehicles), Seo teaches: The computing system of claim 9, wherein the instructions are effective to further cause the computing system to transmit information for receipt by an apparatus of another vehicle, (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0065]: "…host vehicle (V1) and the neighboring vehicle (V2) [another vehicle] exchange radar operation information [transmit information] through V2V communication.")
the transmitted information identifying a location of the first vehicle (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0044]: "…receive vehicle position information [location of first vehicle] from a navigation system (22) of the vehicle.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. to include the teaching of Seo based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the performance of a vehicle radar system in a designated driving environment by adjusting its output waveform (Seo Paragraphs [0002], [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., Miller, et al., and Seo remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing of claim 15, wherein the transmitted information also includes one or more characteristics of the apparatus of the first vehicle (Seo Fig. 1, Paragraph [0044]: "…receive vehicle speed information from a vehicle speed sensor (21) of the vehicle [first vehicle characteristics - speed]").
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserted that amended claims 1, 9, and 17 were patentable over Mondello, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11570625) in view of Niesen, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11474235), and further in view of Breed, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 8060282) because the references did not meet the claim limitations “and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector”. Please note that Miller, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180164833) was cited in order to teach these features. In Miller, et al., the usage of sensors (116), such as radar, allows the detection of a signal which can “…provide a distance from the vehicle (110) to a next vehicle in front of the vehicle (110)” (Paragraph [0018]) through the process of providing a distance vector D1, a distance vector D2, and “…distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)”, and “…V-to-I interfaces (111) that permit communications between first and second vehicles (110) via a local area network”, which enables the transmission pathway of a radar signal of a radar device of a second vehicle toward the object based on a second vehicle location (Paragraph [0024]). Additionally, a second vector, given by D2, yielded by the second vehicle sensor, can be expressed as a “…vector quantities that have an origin or location in three-dimensions, for example X, Y and Z, a distance, which is a scalar quantity, and a direction, expressed as three angular quantities ρ, ϕ and θ, measured as rotations with respect to each of the X, Y and Z axes”, which is the angle associated with a reflected radar signal after reflection from an object, and can be expressed in conjunction with the first vehicle “that can determine distance vector D.sub.3, represented by a dotted line, between first and second vehicles (110)” (Paragraph [0024]). Finally, as a function of the vector identification, the radar detection of the intersection at D3 (as described previously in Paragraph [0024]) can be determined through the triangulation process, in which “…two distance vectors V1, V2 and their locations, which can be used to determine a third distance vectors from the vehicles perpendicular to a line that passes through the point to which each distance vector V1, V2 points to in common” (Paragraph [0036]). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Miller, et al. with Mondello, et al., Niesen, et al., and Breed, et al. because Mondello, et al. teaches the process of using radar detection to identify and determine the location of an object in the blind spot of a vehicle (Col. 5, lines 30-35, Col. 6, lines 30-39, Col. 7, lines 19-25) and Niesen, et al. teaches the process of broadcasting a request for data to the computer of other vehicles after extracting an identifier and identifying location parameters of another vehicle using radar waveforms (Col. 12, lines 52-64, Col. 19, line 64 to Col. 20, lines 1-3), and Breed teaches an identifier encoded as phase-coded signature superimposed on a chirp sequence of the radar signal set (Col. 23, lines 52-58) and in which the radar signal set includes a multipath component reflected from the object and the first vehicle (Col. 50, lines 29-34).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Mondello, et al, Niesen, et al., Breed, et al., and Miller, et al. reads on the claim limitations “and wherein the evaluation identifies the location of the radar detection by identifying a first vector corresponding to a transmission pathway of a radar signal of the radar signal set from the radar device of the second vehicle toward the object, identifying a second vector corresponding to a reflected radar signal of the radar signal set received by the radar sensor of the first vehicle after reflection from the object, and identifying the location of the radar detection at a point where the first vector intersects the second vector”, as stated in amended claims 1, 9, and 17, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dolgov, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10591919) teaches various processes in which autonomous vehicles can detect and avoid blind spots of other vehicles while maneuvering on the road.
Shabtay, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250093498) teaches various apparatuses, devices, and methods regarding the use of radar communication technology in autonomous vehicles.
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663