DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09 June 2022, 11 August 2023, 10 January 2025, 10 February 2025, and 10 March 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶ [0021] of the Specification re: the description of FIG. 3 contains a minor grammatical error: “… of one of pixels…” The description appears intended to be that of a top view of a pixel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0155970 to D. Chung (“Chung”) in view of US 2011/0127472 to Sato et al. (“Sato”).
With regard to Claims 1, 3-4, and 10-11, Chung teaches a method of making a vertical organic light-emitting transistor device comprising preparing a substrate, applying a hydrocarbon polymer thereon, applying a dispersed carbon nanotube layer thereon, and drying the dispersion layer (see Abstract; FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0035]-[0038]). Chung does not expressly teach removing dispersant via applying a cleaning fluid. Sato is similarly directed to preparation of dispersed carbon nanotube conductive layer materials, and teaches removing excess dispersion liquid via washing with solvent (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0078]-[0079]). Further according to Sato, usage of aqueous alkaline material aids in impurity removal (see ¶ [0131]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have performed a cleansing step in the method of Chung using an alkaline aqueous solution to remove excess dispersant and improve purity of the carbon nanotube layer as taught by Sato.
With regard to Claim 8, Chung teaches polymer layer materials with the claimed oxygen content (see ¶ [0035]).
With regard to Claim 9, Chung teaches application of the CNT dispersion layer via a solution process, and indicates spin coating, slit coating, spray coating, and inkjet coating as examples thereof (see ¶¶ [0038], [0053], [0058], [0068], [0078]).
2. Claims 2, 5-7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Sato as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of JP 2016118763 to Uesaka et al., a translation of which is provided herewith and referred-to herein, (“Uesaka”).
With regard to Claims 2 and 12-13, Chung teaches a dispersed carbon nanotube liquid and usage of a variety of coating techniques therefor; however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed proportion of dispersant relative to carbon material. Uesaka is similarly directed to producing polymer light emission layers comprising transparent conductive films using similar solution processes wherein the layers feature improved coatability, adhesion, and alignment properties, and teaches dispersants therefor (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0003]-[0004], [0066], [0071], [0082]). According to Uesaka, solids content in layer materials is selectable based on coating method (see ¶ [0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a solids content within the claimed range in the method of Chung throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in identifying a desired coating method as taught by Uesaka.
With regard to Claims 5-7 and 14, Chung does not teach the claimed dispersant. As noted, Uesaka is similarly directed to production of light emission films, and teaches the claimed dispersant, noting that produced films feature improved coatability, adhesion, and alignment properties (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0001]-[0004], [0021]-[0024], [0066], [0079]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the dispersant of Uesaka in the method of Chung in order to realize the advantages identified by Uesaka.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715