DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s remarks and amendments dated 12/05/2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been withdrawn. Claim 16 has been cancelled. Claims 1-15, 17, and 18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crowley et al. (US Patent No. 8,517,870 B2).
In Reference to Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 11, 15, and 16
Crowley teaches (Claim 1) A ball comprising: a bladder having an interior surface (item 304, fig. 7); a component holder secured to the interior surface of the bladder (item 100, fig’s 1-4) and comprising a proximal portion proximal to the bladder (portions of item 100 including item 104, portion that flares and mates with item 102, and item 106), wherein the proximal portion is shaped as a frustrum having a wide end adjacent to the bladder (rightmost portion of item 100, adjacent bladder, fig. 1, at flare that meets item 102) and a narrow end distal to the bladder (leftward portions of item 100 within portion 104, which house components 110 / 112), and a distal portion distal to the bladder and directly adjacent to the narrow end of the proximal portion (leftmost end portion of item 104, fig. 1), wherein the distal portion is no wider than the narrow end of the proximal portion (left end of item 104 is narrowest, and gets wider in the direction toward portion 102 / bladder); a component secured within the distal portion of the component holder (item 110/112, fig. 1); and a cap secured fully within the proximal portion of the component holder (item 120, fully secured within uppermost portion of item 100, note portion 106 of item 100 is flush with item 120), wherein there is a section between the cap and the component (area 116, fig. 1).
(Claim 3) wherein the distal portion of the component holder is form fitting to the component (left portion / interior of item 100 form fits with items 110 / 112, fig. 1);
(Claim 4) wherein the cap has a protrusion and an interior surface of the proximal portion of the component holder has a corresponding depression (at 121, fig. 1);
(Claim 5) wherein the cap has a hollowed out core (122, fig. 2);
(Claim 10) wherein the section is filled with air (item 116, fig. 1, space / gap shown);
(Claim 11) wherein the section is filled with foam (column 6 lines 50-52, this space is optionally disclosed to be filled with foam);
(Claim 15) wherein the component holder further comprises a skirt securing the component holder to the bladder (item 102, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley.
In Reference to Claims 6 and 8
Crowley teaches all of claim 1 as discussed above.
Crowley fails to teach the features of claims 6 and 8.
Crowley further teaches (Claim 6) further comprising a [] pad placed over the cap and having an outer surface level with an outer surface of the [device] (item 312, fig. 5, column 12 lines 14-24);
(Claim 8) further comprising a [] pad placed over the cap and having an outer surface level with an [] surface of the [device](item 312, fig. 5, column 12 lines 14-24).
Crowley fails to teach the cap is foam and being flush with various other surfaces of the bladder.
However, Crowley also teaches that a cap can be flush or nearly flush along an outer surface of the object, or, flush or nearly flush with an outer surface of the inner bladder (column 6 lines 59 – 63, and column 7 lines 57-63); and that it can be made of foam (column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the additional cap pad of foam as taught by alternate components of Crowley simply as a matter of engineering design choice, since, it has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Since Crowley teaches that a variety of materials are suitable for the various caps (column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 2 and column 12 line 37-39), including foam, merely selecting foam for the additional pad cap is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance.
It would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the additional pad cap flush with the inner or outer surface of the bladder simply as a matter of engineering design choice, since, it has been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of engineering design choice where the operation of the device is not modified. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). And, that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since Crowley teaches the general conditions of locating caps flush with various surfaces of the device, including being flush with the outer surface of the device, or, flush with the outer surface of the bladder (column 6 lines 59 – 63, and column 7 lines 57-63), merely claiming that the pad cap is flush with any desired surface would not change the operation of the device, but would simply be a matter of optimizing a surface characteristic that is already generally taught in the art. Since making the cap flush with a surface is taught, merely claiming a particular flush surface that would work well with a particular bladder setup or sports object is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance.
In Reference to Claim 14
Crowley teaches all of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Crowley fails to teach the specific thickness of the foam of claim 14.
However, as discussed above, Crowley teaches a space that is located within the internal cavity that may be filled with foam which is intended to be customized to provide a snug fit for the battery and circuit board (column 6 lines 51-58). Therefore, the dimensions of this foam filled cavity are result effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. Note MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It has also been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have, therefore, been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the claimed thickness simply as a matter of engineering design choice, in order to properly secure the battery and circuit board in place within the internal cavity, and, since the general conditions of a foam filled cavity which is customized to secure components is taught in Crowley. Since there is no claimed criticality or new and unexpected result produced from simply claiming a suitable dimension for foam within a cavity that secures components, these specific dimensions are not patentable advances.
Claims 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley in view of Glowinski (US PGPub. No. 2008/0234077 A1).
In Reference to Claims 7 and 9
Crowley teaches all of claims 1, 6, and 8, as discussed above.
Crowley fails to teach the specific foam of claims 7 and 9.
Glowinski teaches (Claim 7) wherein [a] foam [] comprises an open cell, low
density polyurethane (paragraph 0013, note open cell is low density);
(Claim 9) wherein [a] foam [] comprises an open cell, low density polyurethane (paragraph 0013, note open cell is low density).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sports ball device material of Crowley with the feature of using open cell foam as taught by the sports ball device material of Glowinski for the purpose of using a lightweight known material with good resiliency characteristics as taught by Glowinski (paragraph 0013), making the device more durable, and more attractive to the users.
Further, the examiner notes that it has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Merely selecting a known type of foam or rubber for a sports ball element that is suitable for such a purpose is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance.
In Reference to Claim 12
Crowley teaches all of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Crowley fails to teach the specific foam of claim 12.
Glowinski teaches (Claim 12) wherein [a] foam is an open cell, low density
polyurethane (paragraph 0013, note open cell is low density).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sports ball device material of Crowley with the feature of using open cell foam as taught by the sports ball device material of Glowinski for the purpose of using a lightweight known material with good resiliency characteristics as taught by Glowinski (paragraph 0013), making the device more durable, and more attractive to the users.
Further, the examiner notes that it has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Merely selecting a known type of foam or rubber for a sports ball element that is suitable for such a purpose is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley in view of Willner et al. (US Patent No. 5,810,685).
In Reference to Claim 13
Crowley teaches all of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Crowley fails to teach the specific density of claim 13.
Willner teaches (Claim 13) [a] foam has a density between 1 and 20
lbs/cubic feet (column 4 lines 12-23, 3.5 lbs/cubic feet).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sports ball material of Crowley with the feature of a specific foam density as taught by the sports ball material of Willner for the purpose of providing a known and durable material that is capable of use in sports balls as well as, more specifically, capable of securing electronic components within sports balls, making the device more reliable, more durable, and more attractive to the users.
Further, the examiner notes that it has been held that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Merely selecting a known type of foam or rubber for a sports ball element that is suitable for such a purpose is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable advance.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley in view of Krysiak et al. (US PGPub. No. 2016/0074714 A1).
In Reference to Claims 17 and 18
Crowley teaches all of claim 1 as discussed above.
Crowley fails to specify rebound height characteristics.
Krysiak teaches (Claim 17) wherein when [a] ball is dropped from a height of 72 inches, the ball rebounds within a range of 50-56 inches, and further wherein the maximum difference in rebound for any location on the ball is 3 inches (fig. 29, paragraph 0110, and table 1);
(Claim 18) wherein when [a] ball is dropped from a height of 72 inches, the ball rebounds within a range of 50-56 inches, and further wherein the maximum difference in rebound for any location on the ball is 1 inch (fig. 29, paragraph 0110, and table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the basketball of Crowley with the rebound characteristics claimed as taught by the basketball of Krysiak for the purpose of providing a basketball that performs within the consistent ranges as specified by various basketball rules as taught by Krysiak (paragraph 0110), providing a basketball that is usable in a wider range of official basketball games, making the ball more reliable, and more attractive to a wider range of users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the proximal portion and the distal portion are not directly adjacent to each other in Crowley. This is not persuasive. The claim reads “a distal portion distal to the bladder and directly adjacent to the narrow end of the proximal portion.” As noted above, all of these elements are met in the cited reference. Leftmost portion of item 104 is a distal portion that is distal to the bladder and directly adjacent a narrow end (central and left portions of item 104 that house components), which then leads to a wide end, which is adjacent the bladder. This meets all of applicant’s claimed limitations.
Applicant also argues the cap is not “fully” within the proximal portion, which is also not persuasive. See fig. 1, item 120 is fully within item 100, specifically, within items 106, which is being used to read on part of the “proximal portion.” See action above for further details.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711