DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 8/14/2026.
Claims 1, 5, and 18 are amended.
Claims 10-14 are cancelled.
Claims 1-9 and 15-19 are pending.
Applicant has overcome the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite by amending the claims in the reply filed 8/14/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 8/14/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kannisto, claims 1-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moldoveanu, and claims 1-9 and 14-19 under the doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the limitations “a filler comprising at least one cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight, citric acid in an amount of about 0.1 to about 10% by weight, at least one humectant in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight” and “wherein the composition is substantially free of a tobacco material.” The prior art of record fails to disclose such limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation “about 0.1 to about 10%” should be changed to “about 0.1% to about 10%” to remain consistent with the rest of the claim (reciting two % signs in the range).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannisto et al. (US 2020/0297026; of record) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2009/0022856) and Moldoveanu et al. (US 2015/00685545; of record).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 16-17 Kannisto discloses an oral pouched nicotine product (abstract) comprising:
a particulate non-tobacco material ([0057]; “filler”), which may comprise cellulose such as microcrystalline cellulose ([0076]), humectant ([0168]), a nicotine source ([0057]; “active ingredient” in the form of a “nicotine component”), and a salt ([0107]) in the range of 1.0-10% w/w based on the total weight of the moist filling material ([0108]; overlapping the claimed range of “about 3% to about 4.5%,” and “about 3.5% to about 4.0%”),
wherein the product may be free from tobacco ([0057]; “substantially free of a tobacco material”).
In a specific example, the nicotine product uses 39% microcrystalline cellulose (“particulate filler” in the form of a “cellulose material”), 3.5% sodium chloride, and 3% nicotine bitartrate dehydrate (see Example 1; Table 1).
However, Kannisto is silent as to a filler comprising at least one cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight.
Cheng teaches an oral pouch product including an immobilized flavorant (abstract) comprising microcrystalline cellulose (MCC), which helps to provide physical encapsulation of the flavorant in the matrix and helps to adjust the degradation and release rate of the flavorant ([0032]), and in addition or alternatively carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) (“at least one cellulosic ether”) in an amount of up to about 2 wt%, which help to regulate and control the degradation rate of the immobilizing matrix and thus the rate of release of the flavorant from the oral pouch product ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Kannisto to include CMC in the amount of up to 2% as in Cheng in order to obtain the predictable result of forming an immobilizing matrix to desirably control the degradation rate of the matrix and thus the rate of release of flavorant form the oral pouch (Cheng; [0033]).
Regarding the claim limitation “at least one cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight,” Kannisto discloses up to 2% CMC, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Moreover, modified Kannisto discloses the moist filling has a pH above 7.0, such as a range of 7.0 to about 10.0 ([0099]).
Moreover, Kannisto is silent as to citric acid in an amount of about 0.1% to about 10% by weight. Lastly, Kannisto is silent as to at least one humectant in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight. Specifically, while Kannisto discloses adding a humectant to the composition (see [0168]), Kannisto does not disclose the specific amount to be added.
Moldoveanu teaches a smokeless tobacco product (abstract) which can use pharmaceutical grade nicotine as having a purity of greater than 98% or greater than 99% in the present invention ([0057]) comprising a pH buffering agent that provide and/or buffer within the pH range of about 5 to about 10 and include citric acid, wherein the buffering material is typically used up to about 5 dry weight percent ([0097], see also [0057]). Moreover, Moldoveanu teaches that organic acids, such as citric acid function as a throat irritation mitigant that is capable of mitigating of soothing irritation caused by smokeless tobacco products, wherein the throat irritation mitigant is in an amount of at least 1 weight percent (e.g., about 1 to about 10 weight percent) ([0101]). Lastly, Moldoveanu teaches the formulation includes a humectant which typically ranges up to about 5 dry weight percent, such as about 2 to about 5 dry weight percent ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added citric acid as in Moldoveanu to Kannisto’s composition in order to function as a pH buffering agent and/or a throat irritation mitigant. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add citric acid in a range of up to about 5 dry weight percent as taught by Moldoveanu in order to obtain the predictable result of providing a pH range of about 5 to about 10, as suggested by Kannisto (Moldoveanu; [0097]). Alternatively, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to add citric acid in an amount of about 1 to about 10 weight percent as taught by Moldoveanu to soothe the irritation caused by the oral product (Moldoveanu; [0101]). Lastly, it would have been obvious to said skill artisan to have modified the amount of humectant in Kannisto to be about 2 to about 5 percent as in Moldoveanu because such a modification involves optimization within prior art conditions. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3-4, modified Kannisto discloses water in an amount of 51% and 47% (Example 1; Table 1).
Regarding claims 5-9, modified Kannisto discloses the flavor contains limonene (Example 1; Table 1; “flavoring agent”). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that limonene has a carbon-carbon bond, and is a monoterpene (i.e., “terpenes”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kannisto discloses the nicotine product is pouched ([0057] see also [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Kannisto discloses the oral pouched nicotine product further comprises a pH adjusting agent ([0057]; “pH adjusters”), and citric acid (see Moldoveanu [0059]; “one or more buffering agents”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kannisto is silent as to one or more binding agents comprising a natural gum binder.
Cheng teaches an oral pouch product including an immobilized flavorant (abstract) comprising one or more natural or modified starches or polysaccharides, such as gum Arabic and other ingredients, such as sweeteners present in an range of preferably about 4 wt% to about 6 wt% in order to contribute to the overall solubility of the immobilizing matrix thereby helping to regulate and the rate of degradation of the immobilizing matrix and thus the release of flavorant from the oral pouch product (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of modified Kannisto to include gum Arabic as in Cheng in order to obtain the predictable result of forming an immobilizing matrix to desirably control the degradation rate of the immobilizing matrix and thus the rate of release of flavorant from the oral pouch product (Cheng; para. 33).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 18-19 of copending Application No. 16/707057 (reference application) in view of Moldoveanu et al. (US 2015/00685545; of record).
Regarding claim 1, the copending application recites: an oral composition configured for oral use, comprising one or more cellulosic ether (i.e., a filler in the form of a cellulose derivative) in an amount of about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight, an active ingredient, and a salt, the salt being present in an amount of about 3% to about 4.5% by weight based on the total weight of the pouched composition, wherein the pouched composition is substantially free of a tobacco material (claim 1), wherein the active ingredient is selected from the group consisting of a nicotine component (claim 5), wherein the pouched composition is substantially free of a tobacco material (claim 1), and wherein the pouched product further comprises one or more humectants (claim 18).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim recites a species of the claimed “filler,” and other chemical constituents of the composition with specific range amounts.
Moreover, the copending application is silent as to at citric acid in an amount of about 0.1% to about 10% by weight, and at least one humectant in an amount of about 1% to about 5% by weight.
Moldoveanu teaches a smokeless tobacco product (abstract) which can use pharmaceutical grade nicotine as having a purity of greater than 98% or greater than 99% in the present invention ([0057]) comprising a pH buffering agent that provide and/or buffer within the pH range of about 5 to about 10 and include citric acid, wherein the buffering material is typically used up to about 5 dry weight percent ([0097], see also [0057]). Moreover, Moldoveanu teaches that organic acids, such as citric acid function as a throat irritation mitigant that is capable of mitigating of soothing irritation caused by smokeless tobacco products, wherein the throat irritation mitigant is in an amount of at least 1 weight percent (e.g., about 1 to about 10 weight percent) ([0101]). Lastly, Moldoveanu teaches the formulation includes a humectant which typically ranges up to about 5 dry weight percent, such as about 2 to about 5 dry weight percent ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added citric acid as in Moldoveanu to the copending application’s composition in order to function as a pH buffering agent and/or a throat irritation mitigant. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add citric acid in a range of up to about 5 dry weight percent as taught by Moldoveanu in order to obtain the predictable result of providing a pH range from about 5 to about 10 (Moldoveanu; [0097]). Alternatively, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to add citric acid in an amount of about 1 to about 10 weight percent as taught by Moldoveanu to soothe the irritation caused by the oral product (Moldoveanu; [0101]). Lastly, it would have been obvious to said skill artisan to have modified the amount of humectant in the copending application to be about 2 to about 5 percent as in Moldoveanu because such a modification involves optimization within prior art conditions. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 2, the copending application recites wherein the salt is present in an amount of about 3.5% to about 4.0% by weight based on the total weight of the pouched composition (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, the copending application recites wherein the pouched composition has a water content of at least 30% by weight based on the total weight of the pouched composition (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the copending application recites wherein the pouched composition has a water content of at least about 40% by weight based on the total weight of the pouched composition (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, the copending application recites wherein the active ingredient is selected from the group consisting of botanicals, stimulants, amino acids, vitamins, cannabinoids, nutraceuticals, and combinations thereof (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, the copending application recites the oral composition comprising one or more flavoring agents (claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises a compound having a carbon-carbon double bond, a carbon-oxygen double bond, or both (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises one or more aldehydes, ketones, esters, terpenes, terpenoids, trigeminal sensates, or combinations thereof (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises one or more of ethyl vanillan, cinnamaldehyde, sabinene, limonene, gamma-terpinene, beta-farnesene, and citral (claim 9).
Regarding claim 15, the copending application recites the oral composition configured for oral use in the form of a pouched composition enclosed in a pouch (claim 1).
Regarding claim 16-17, the copending application recites one or more cellulosic ether (claim 1; “particulate filler” and “cellulose derivative”).
Regarding claim 18, the copending application recites wherein the pouched composition further comprises one or more sweeteners, one or more binding agents, one or more humectants, one or more organic acids, one or more gums, one or more buffering agents and/or pH adjusters, and combinations thereof (claim 18).
Regarding claim 19¸ the copending application recites wherein the one or more binding agents comprises a natural gum binder (claim 19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SONNY V NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755