Claims 1, 4-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-19 and method claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruun, US 20190255035 (equivalent to WO 2018233795 12/27/2018), Szel, The Journal of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, Volume 29, Issue12, December 2015, 2333-2341, Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001, Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567.
Chappell and Gee are new, added in view of amendments to claims.
The rejection is maintained. Yes, amendments to claims are noted. Detailed Response is at the bottom of the following restatement of previously presented rejection, including the teachings of Chappell US8950408 and Gee.
Bruun teach a pouch designed for administration of an active ingredient in the oral cavity; the pouch contains a matrix composition including a combination of nicotine and a water-soluble composition. Abstract.
Claim 1, releasable
Claim 4, 7 in part, 8, non-sugar sweetener
Claim 5,6, 7
xylitol
Xylitol (as sugar alcohol) [0039] [0108] [0115] [0136] [0139] [0165] Table 1
(see below for more on how the above reads on ‘irritation’)
Also according to Szel teaches xylitol has anti-irritant property.
claims 7-8 sweetener
claims 9-12 flavor, double bond C=C, C=O
[0113] [0114] [0117]
The flavoring agent, taught as pepper mint in the above mentioned Bruun Table corresponds to the flavoring agent of dependent claims (including the structural limitations of ‘double bond’: Peppermint component, for example, ‘limonene’ of claim 12, see page 121 Table 19th flavor component as per Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001. To visualize the double bonds of claim 10 see cartoons on page 127.
Claims 13, 14, 15 particulate filler component (microcrystalline cellulose)
(see below for more on how the above reads on ‘filler’)
[0019]-[0022], [0073] , [0094],
Example 3.1, 3.4
Claim 16 no more than 10% tobacco.
T0obacco not excluded from the laundry list of active ingredients in the base claim 1; see Remarks filed 12/19/2025, page 1, last line. Further tobacco contains nicotine (about 5%).
The relevant limitations pertaining to the instant claims 1, 4-20, for example the inherent property of the various ingredients, are
here in the obviousness analysis.
What is good for applicant is good for examiner.
Specification page 1, line 15-23:
taught in the applicant admitted to references in oral pouch products containing tobacco As set forth in the applicant admitted to references at page 1 Tobacco containing oral pouch products are well-known in the art as admitted to by the applicant at page 1
Claim 17 free flowing particulate form
The powder obtained (Example 3.6 of Bruun) is usable in different particle size and is ‘sieved’.
Claim 18 salts, humectants
[0086] [0095] [0138] [0142] [0150] [0147] [0156] [0157]
claim 19 mouth and throat,
Claim 20 method
The nicotine patch (and its contents) taught by Bruun fall(s) under the scope of the base claim, in the stipulated free-flowing particulate form. More specifically, the active ingredient, the irritation reducing agent xylitol, the filler (microcrystalline cellulose), three critical elements of base claim 1 are present in Bruun page 6-8, working Examples. On page 8, Table 1, specific combination (see Patch No.102) of nicotine, xylitol, flavoring material and sweeteners are prepared. Components other than the active ingredient nicotine are taught by Bruun in explicit manner, though, not always with the recited property. For example, the agent/compound xylitol is taught (as sugar alcohol which in turn is listed with the cellulose (filler)) as humectants by Bruun. It is noted that compound and its properties are inseparable. Further, though not taught by Bruun as such, the anti-irritant property of xylitol is not unknown in the art . See Szel, The Journal of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, Volume 29, Issue12, December 2015, 2333-2341, teaches that xylitol has anti-irritant property. Likewise, the flavoring agent, taught as pepper mint in the above mentioned Bruun Table corresponds to the flavoring agent of dependent claims (including the structural limitations of ‘double bond’: Peppermint component, for example, ‘limonene’ of claim 12, see page 121 Table 19th flavor component as per Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001. To visualize the double bonds of claim 10 see cartoons on page 127. Similarly, as to the ‘free-flowing’ limitations: The powder obtained (Example 3.6 of Bruun) is usable in different particle size and is ‘sieved’. The position taken is that such ‘sieved’ material would provide the property of free-flow. As to ‘mouth and throat’ limitation: The position taken is that it is one of commonsense to expect an oral composition, once released, is likely to leak into the throat in view of the proximal nature of mouth and throat:
Various nicotine pouches are known to one of skill in the art. The global Nicotine Pouches market was valued at US$ 2.33 billion in 2020 and is expected to reach US$ 21.84 billion by the end of 2027, growing at a CAGR of 30.7% during 2021-2027. https://www.marketresearch.com/QYResearch-Group-v3531/Global-Nicotine-Pouches-Research-14261122/
With such motivation, one of skill in the art would make modifications to nicotine patches known in the prior art, to participate in the market. All the critical claimed elements of the claims are taught in the prior art of Bruun explicitly and or implicitly (by inherency) to make different forms of nicotine patches. Therefore with the teaching of the prior art one of skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at alternate versions of prior art composition As such there is nothing unobvious in the instant claim limitations, further because, data
with regards to
secondary considerations, or "objective indicia" of nonobviousness,, that is real-world facts—such as commercial success, long-felt need, failure of others, and industry praise—used to demonstrate that an invention was not obvious,
could not be found in the disclosure for an oral composition comprising: an active ingredient that is releasable from the oral composition; a filler; and at least one irritation reducing agent effective to reduce irritation arising from the release of the active ingredient from the oral composition, wherein the active ingredient comprises one or more of: a vitamin selected from Vitamin A, Vitamin B1, Vitamin , Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B7, Vitamin B9, Vitamin D, Vitamin E, Vitamin K; wherein the active ingredient, the filler component, and the at least one irritation reducing agent are combined as a mixture that is enclosed in a pouch to form a pouched product.
Response to Applicants Remarks:
Applicants arguments focus on the amendments limiting the active ingredients to vitamins. Applicant argues that in the presently claimed oral compositions, the active ingredient, the filler component and the irritation reducing agent are combined as a mixture that is enclosed in a pouch to form a pouched product. Emphasis by Applicant. See Remarks page 12 of 14.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive. Active and inactive ingredients are known in the art. The inherent property of these ingredients are inseparable. How to combine these to make oral pouches are taught in the prior art. As per Examination guidance unappreciated property doctrine dictates that discovering a new, previously unappreciated property or scientific explanation for an old, existing composition does not make that composition patentably new. An inherently functioning property cannot support a patent, even if explicitly claimed by the applicant.
According to MPEP § 2112 (Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency), discovering that an old compound or prior art composition exhibits an unknown benefit or function does not render the composition patentable to the discoverer. This is because a composition that is old in the art does not suddenly become new simply because someone found a new use or function for it that was inherently present all along.
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103. Oral pouches with active ingredients are well-known in the art, two of these are Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567:
Chappell US8950408: teaches Abstract
Chappell column 2:
Chappell Column 3:
Gee US 9027567 teaches Abstract
Gee column 1:
Gee Column 6:
Position taken with respect to other ingredients such as xylitol takes into consideration the inherent property of the excipients. Applicant is not responsive to reference to lack of any data for secondary consideration in the disclosure. See office action, starting at bottom of page 9 of previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruun1 WO2018233782 and Bruun, US 20190255035 (equivalent to WO 2018233795 12/27/2018), Szel, The Journal of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, Volume 29, Issue12, December 2015, 2333-2341, Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001, Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567.
Chappell and Gee are new, added in view of amendments to claims.
The rejection is maintained. Yes, amendments to claims are noted. Detailed Response is at the bottom of the following restatement of previously presented rejection, including the teachings of Chappell US8950408 and Gee.
Bruun1 teaches a pouch designed for administration of an active ingredient in the oral cavity is disclosed, the pouch containing an amount of one or more cannabinoids. Abstract.
Bruun1 teaches that the cannabinoid pouch contains, cellulose and xylitol. Bruun1 composition comprises at least one of carbohydrates, sugars, sugar alcohol, maltodextrin, sucralose, modified food starches, cornstarch, microcrystalline cellulose, THC distillate, MCT oil, baking soda, natural flavoring, botanical terpenes, vanilla extract, and salt. In some embodiments, the cannabinoid composition or cannabinoid infused wafer fragments composition do not comprise of microcrystalline cellulose. As used herein the term "humectant" is understood as a moistening agent used to attract moisture or water in the form of saliva. Humectants may typically include suitably hygroscopic compositions. In some cases, humectants may also be described as moistening agents, due to their role in attraction of moisture. Examples of humectants include cellulose, such as microcrystalline cellulose and other cellulose types disclosed herein, sugar alcohols, such as those disclosed herein, alginate, cellulose, such as microcrystalline cellulose, pectin, xanthan gum, etc.
Applicant is encouraged to use word search technique known to one of skill in the art by pressing Ctrl + F (or Cmd + F on Mac) to quickly find, search, or highlight specific words, phrases to claim limitations in Bruun1. The technique was used to locate these limitations in Bruun, which teaches nicotine replacement for cannabinoid in the Bruun1 pouch, as shown below:
Claim 1, releasable
Claim 4, 7 in part, 8, non-sugar sweetener
Claim 5,6, 7
xylitol
Xylitol (as sugar alcohol) [0039] [0108] [0115] [0136] [0139] [0165] Table 1
(see below for more on how the above reads on ‘irritation’)
Also according to Szel teaches xylitol has anti-irritant property.
claims 7-8 sweetener
claims 9-12 flavor, double bond C=C, C=O
[0113] [0114] [0117]
The flavoring agent, taught as pepper mint in the above mentioned Bruun Table corresponds to the flavoring agent of dependent claims (including the structural limitations of ‘double bond’: Peppermint component, for example, ‘limonene’ of claim 12, see page 121 Table 19th flavor component as per Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001. To visualize the double bonds of claim 10 see cartoons on page 127.
Claims 13, 14, 15 particulate filler component (microcrystalline cellulose)
(see below for more on how the above reads on ‘filler’)
[0019]-[0022], [0073] , [0094],
Example 3.1, 3.4
Claim 16 no more than 10% tobacco.
T0obacco not excluded from the laundry list of active ingredients in the base claim 1; see Remarks filed 12/19/2025, page 1, last line. Further tobacco contains nicotine (about 5%).
The relevant limitations pertaining to the instant claims 1, 4-20, for example the inherent property of the various ingredients, are
here in the obviousness analysis. What is good for applicant is good for examiner.
Specification page 1, line 15-23:
taught in the applicant admitted to references in oral pouch products containing tobacco As set forth in the applicant admitted to references at page 1 Tobacco containing oral pouch products are well-known in the art as admitted to by the applicant at page 1
Claim 17 free flowing particulate form
The powder obtained (Example 3.6 of Bruun) is usable in different particle size and is ‘sieved’.
Claim 18 salts, humectants
[0086] [0095] [0138] [0142] [0150] [0147] [0156] [0157]
claim 19 mouth and throat,
Claim 20 method
All the claimed limitations are known in the prior art of Bruun1 and Bruun. Since the claimed elements were known in the prior art, one of skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions to arrive at the instantly claimed composition. Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Suggestion: See MPEP 1204 Notice of Appeal [R-01.2024]
https://cannadips.com/?srsltid=AfmBOoq2En5mt9eK_BFfVthF2Msd6Wcf1hKy8iOHw5_2UdkPo3RMsDTW
Response to Applicants Remarks:
Applicants arguments focus on the amendments limiting the active ingredients to vitamins. Applicant argues that in the presently claimed oral compositions, the active ingredient, the filler component and the irritation reducing agent are combined as a mixture that is enclosed in a pouch to form a pouched product. Emphasis by Applicant. See Remarks page 12 of 14.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive. Active and inactive ingredients are known in the art. The inherent property of these ingredients are inseparable. How to combine these to make oral pouches are taught in the prior art. As per Examination guidance unappreciated property doctrine dictates that discovering a new, previously unappreciated property or scientific explanation for an old, existing composition does not make that composition patentably new. An inherently functioning property cannot support a patent, even if explicitly claimed by the applicant.
According to MPEP § 2112 (Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency), discovering that an old compound or prior art composition exhibits an unknown benefit or function does not render the composition patentable to the discoverer. This is because a composition that is old in the art does not suddenly become new simply because someone found a new use or function for it that was inherently present all along.
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103. Oral pouches with active ingredients are well-known in the art, two of these are Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567:
Chappell US8950408: teaches Abstract
Chappell column 2:
Chappell Column 3:
Gee US 9027567 teaches Abstract
Gee column 1:
Gee Column 6:
Position taken with respect to other ingredients such as xylitol takes into consideration the inherent property of the excipients. Applicant is not responsive to reference to lack of any data for secondary consideration in the disclosure. See office action, starting at bottom of page 9 of previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the base claims 1 and 20 and dependent claims is unclear. For example, with respect to the limitation for active ingredients, that is
in addition to specific compounds (active ingredients),
the term comprising in the claims renders the scope of the claims with respect to the active ingredient unclear. As per Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948) "comprising" leaves "the claim open for the inclusion of unspecified ingredients even in major amounts. In Gillette Co. v. Energizer Holdings Inc., 405 F.3d 1367, 1371-73, 74 USPQ2d 1586, 1589-91 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held. "The word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended."
For example consider claim 16:
Reference to less than
could be present in the
implies active ingredients more that positively recited as
Suggestion: See MPEP 1204 Notice of Appeal [R-01.2024]
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US patents 12642292, 12635723, 12564552, 12520867, 12496276,12491250,12439952,12439949,12342847,12274779,12213510,12178905,12138342,12064424,11793230 and 11617744, further in view of Bruun1 WO2018233782 and Bruun, US 20190255035 (equivalent to WO 2018233795 12/27/2018), Szel, The Journal of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, Volume 29, Issue12, December 2015, 2333-2341, Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001, Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims as highlighted below contain overlapping subject matter. The active ingredients and inactive ingredients have species-genus relationship.
The discussion under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 in its entirety is incorporated by reference in the obviousness analysis.
US 12642292:
US 12635723:
US 12564552
US 12520867:
US 12496276:
US 12491250:
US 12439952:
US 12439949:
US 12342847:
US 12274779:
US 12213510:
US 12178905:
US 12138342:
US 12064424:
US 11793230:
US 11617744:
Also note that reliance on specification of a potentially conflicting patent or application is generally prohibited. However limited exceptions do exist. Exceptions to the General Prohibition of Using the Disclosure of a Potentially Conflicting Patent or Application include Dictionary for claim terminology, Portions of the disclosure which provide support for the claims in the potentially conflicting patent or application.
The MPEP refers to two exceptions to the general prohibition of using the disclosure of a potentially conflicting patent or application in an ODP-Obviousness analysis. The two exceptions are:
1. The disclosure can be used as a dictionary for claim terminology; and
2. “[T]hose portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent” (MPEP § 804).
The MPEP further notes:
The court in Vogel recognized “that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim,” but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent which provides support for the patent claim. According to the court, one must first “determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent” because only “[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered.” The court pointed out that “this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103 since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined.”)
Claims 1, 4-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25, 27-40 of copending Application No. 18143391 (reference application) further in view of Bruun1 WO2018233782 and Bruun, US 20190255035 (equivalent to WO 2018233795 12/27/2018), Szel, The Journal of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, Volume 29, Issue12, December 2015, 2333-2341, Günter, Takeoka et al.; Aroma Active Compounds in Foods, ACS Symposium Series; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001, Chappell US8950408 and Gee US9027567. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims as highlighted below contain overlapping subject matter. The active ingredients and inactive ingredients have species-genus relationship.
The discussion under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 in its entirety is incorporated by reference in the obviousness analysis. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims contain overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Note: Appeal Brief filed 07/20/2026 after Notice of panel decision from pre-appeal brief filed 06/18/2026 is found in the file wrapper of 18143391.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32
(2010) 324–330.
Suggestion: See MPEP 1204 Notice of Appeal [R-01.2024]
Copending Applications
Applicant is encouraged to check for additional copending applications and issued patents for overlapping subject matter in the claims and file terminal disclaimers.
As set forth by the court (not by this Examiner) in Armour & Co. v. Swift & Co., 466 F.2d 767, 779, 175 USPQ 70, 79 (7th Cir. 1972):
[W]e think that it is unfair to the busy examiner, no matter how diligent and well informed he may be, to assume that he retains details of every pending file in his mind when he is reviewing a particular application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625