Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 5/7/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 4/29/2026.
Amendments to claims 1 and 4-6, filed, 4/29/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Due to the amendments to claims, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
On pgs. 5-7 of the Remarks, filed 4/29/2026, Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been fully considered but are moot because the Applicant is arguing newly amended claims, filed 4/29/2026, not the Non-Final Rejection, filed 1/29/2026. Newly amended claims are argued below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai (JP 2013210397 A) in view of Weaver (US 8427730 B1) and Boerup (US 20210263396 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Mukai discloses (see FIGs. 1-2, 3, 6, 8-11; ¶s 50, 58) a lens mount (screw ring unit 17) configured to attach and detach a lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) to and from a camera mount (filter section 299) of an image pickup apparatus (video camera 200), wherein the lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) includes a first optical system (G(1,2,3)L) and a second optical system (G(1,2,3)R).
Mukai does not disclose the lens mount comprising:
a cover member having a first opening corresponding to the first optical system and a second opening corresponding to the second optical system;
a holder configured to hold at least one filter configured to cover the first opening and the second opening, the holder including a first holder disposed on one side with respect to the first and second openings in a direction orthogonal to an arrangement direction of the first and second openings, and a second holder disposed on the other side with respect to the first and second openings in the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction; and
groove portions that are respectively formed between the cover member and the first holder and between the cover member and the second holder,
wherein the cover member, the holder, and the groove portions are exposed towards the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount, and
wherein the at least one filter is insertable into and removable from the groove portions while the holder remains assembled with the cover member.
Mukai and Weaver commonly relate to stereoscopic image processing.
Weaver discloses (see FIG. 1, annotated below; col. 3 lines 3-55; col. 4 lines 26-55) a lens mount (main chassis 11 with retainer 75) comprising:
a cover member (main chassis 11) having a first opening corresponding to the first optical system and a second opening corresponding to the second optical system (diametrically opposed thickened input end portions 41, corresponding to upper and lower sets 21 of optical elements 22);
a holder (polarizer/mirror section 13) configured to hold at least one filter (wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, quarter wave plates 77) configured to cover the first opening and the second opening, the holder (polarizer/mirror section 13) including a first holder (upper two retaining screws 76, which secure/hold wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, and quarter wave plates 77 to main chassis 11) disposed on one side with respect to the first and second openings (i.e. the upper side of thickened input end portions 41) in a direction orthogonal to an arrangement direction of the first and second openings, and a second holder (lower two retaining screws 76) disposed on the other side with respect to the first and second openings (i.e. on the lower side) in the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction; and
groove portions that are respectively formed between the cover member (main chassis 11) and the first holder (upper retaining screws 76) and between the cover member (main chassis 11) and the second holder (lower retaining screws 76),
wherein the cover member (main chassis 11), the holder (polarizer/mirror section 13), and the groove portion are exposed towards the lens apparatus (i.e. comprising first/second optical systems), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 of Weaver is annotated to highlight various structural features and relationships.)]wherein the at least one filter (wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, quarter wave plates 77) is inserted into the groove portions while the holder (polarizer/ mirror section 13) remains assembled with the cover member (main chassis 11).
Mukai and Boerup commonly relate to mounted accessories for image pickup devices.
Boerup discloses (see ¶s 48-54, FIGs. 4(A-B)) wherein the at least one filter (402) is insertable into and removable from the groove portions (filter receiving slot 406) while the holder (light filter body 404) remains assembled with other peripheral devices. (Per ¶ 52 and as shown in FIGs. 4-5, filters 402 are externally accessible/replaceable, even when the light filter body 404 is assembled together with other peripheral devices/accessories)
Thus, the combined teachings of Mukai, Weaver, and Boerup disclose the invention substantially as claimed, differing only in that the cover member, the holder, and the groove portion are exposed away from the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount – rather than towards the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount as claimed. (As established in the preamble and addressed above by Mukai (refer again to FIGs. 1-2, 8-9), the lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) is arranged opposite to the camera mount (filter section 299), with respect to the lens mount (screw ring unit 17). Thus, if the cover member, holder, and groove portion all face towards the (first/second optical systems of the) lens apparatus as in Weaver’s annotated FIG. 1 above, this implies that they also face away from the camera mount.) Examiner notes, however, that the difference between this structure and the claimed structure only amounts to a mere reversal of parts (i.e. away vs. towards the camera mount).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mukai’s lens mount design so that it accommodates filters for stereoscopic image processing as well as heat management, as taught by Weaver (col. 4, lines 56-65).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Mukai (in view of Weaver) to provide filter receiving slots for filter so as to be externally accessible/insertable/removable, as taught by Boerup, in order to enable simpler filter replacements that require less (dis)assembly.
It would have then been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to also modify Mukai (in view of Weaver and Boerup) by reversing the (latter’s) lens mount components, in order to improve accessibility of the holder and make more precise/manual adjustments of the filters (note this would be a natural convenience and accommodation to make when importing the cited structure of Weaver into Mukai’s image pickup apparatus) – since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1.
Weaver further discloses (see annotated FIG. 1 above) wherein the first holder (upper two retaining screws 76) and the second holder (lower two retaining screws 76) have the same shape (all are screw-shaped).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1.
Weaver also discloses the further comprising:
a first wall portion in which the first opening is formed, wherein the first wall portion includes an end portion projecting inside the first opening and located on an attachment surface side to the image pickup apparatus; and
a second wall portion in which the second opening is formed, wherein the second wall portion includes an end portion projecting inside the second opening and located on the attachment surface side to the image pickup apparatus.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 of Weaver is again annotated to highlight the end portions of the first/second wall portions of the first/second openings, how their inner surfaces project (see arrows) in an axial direction into the first/second openings, and how they are located on a side of the main chassis 11 which attaches to upper/lower lens housing 31/32.)](See newly annotated FIG. 1 below, where both first/second openings are formed by first/second wall portions having end portions – the inside surfaces of which project into the first/second openings along axial directions, and are located on a side of the main chassis 11 where it attaches to the upper/lower lens housing 31/32 corresponding to an image pickup apparatus. Examiner notes that, broadly speaking, an image pick up apparatus’s overall figure is typically defined, at least in part, by some form of outer frame or housing for lenses.)
Regarding claim 4, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1.
Weaver further discloses:
wherein each of the first opening and the second opening has a substantially circular shape including a D-cut portion,
wherein the D-cut portion of the first opening is provided on a second opening side along a chord parallel to the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction, and
wherein the D-cut portion of the second opening is provided on a first opening side along a chord parallel to the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction.
(See (either) annotated FIG. 1 above, where both first/second openings are each formed by the walls of a semicircle – i.e., with D-cuts taken on a chord that is the diameter of a circle – and where flat/D-cut edges of either semicircle run perpendicular to the displacement between the first/second openings.)
Regarding claim 5, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 4.
Weaver further discloses wherein the D-cut portion of the first opening, and wherein the D-cut portion of the second opening are positioned to define a boundary between the first opening and the second opening. (See (either) annotated FIG. 1 above, where both first/second openings are each formed by the walls of a semicircle – i.e., with D-cuts taken on a chord that is the diameter of a circle – and where flat/D-cut edges are arranged back-to-back, defining a boundary between them.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872