Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/3/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 12/3/2025.
Amendments to claims 1 and 4-6, filed 11/10/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Due to the amendments to claims 4-5, most of their rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are now withdrawn. However, other/remaining 112(b) issues are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
As indicated in the Advisory Action, filed 11/26/2025, Applicant's arguments, filed 11/10/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pgs. 5-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the following features are not supported by the cited art:
(1) The groove portions are respectively formed between the cover member and the first holder and between the cover member and the second holder.
(2) The cover member, the holder, and the groove portions are exposed towards the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount.
However, feature (2) was already amended into (claims 1 and 6 of) the previous claim set, filed 6/27/2025, and was addressed in the Final Office Action, filed 9/12/2025. Examiner also notes that feature (1) is indeed supported by the prior art, as a simple remapping could merely associate the first/second holders with the heads of Weaver's upper/lower retaining screws 76, such that corresponding groove portions may be identified between either first/second holders (i.e. either pair of screw heads) and the cover member (main chassis 11).
Now, Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s argument that “no groove portions into which a filter can be inserted are formed between the retaining screws 76 and the main chassis 11”, but finds this to be unconvincing and counter to the rejections provided in the prior office actions and basic physical considerations. As explained in the Non-Final Rejection filed 3/28/2025 and the Final Rejection filed 9/12/2025, Weaver provides screws/holders that hold multiple frame-type elements together (retainer 75, polarization holder 71a, quarter wave plate holders 71b) and fixes them against the main chassis 11. Further held between these are various types of optical filters (e.g. wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, etc.). Clearly, therefore, some form of groove must be present to accommodate such filter elements and hold their positioning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, lines 4 and 7 of claim 4 and lines 2 and 4 of recite “the D-cup portion”, which lacks a proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the D-cup portion” shall be interpreted as “the D-cut portion”, as first introduced in line 3 of claim 4.
14. Further regarding claim 5, lines 2-3 recite “the first opening [of the cover member, per claim 1] shields light of the first optical system so as not to enter the second optical system”, and lines 6-7 recite “the second opening [of the cover member] shields light of the second optical system so as not to enter the first optical system”. However, the stated limitations appear to be inconsistent with the disclosure for reasons described below:
A. The first/second openings (i.e. of lens mount 202’s mount cover 258, corresponding to the claimed cover member) are located behind the first/second optical systems (201L, 201R) in the direction of traveling light (see, e.g., FIG. 1). Thus, the only physical mechanism that the claimed features could conceivably address would be backward scattering – i.e. light traveling through one optical system that reflects off of the lens mount behind it and subsequently travels back through the other optical system. No such mechanism is mentioned in the disclosure, however.
B. The disclosure only states (¶ 61) that the openings are formed “so as to prevent crosstalk” (i.e. to direct light of the first/second optical system so as to not enter an image of the second/first optical system). There is no written description of such lens mount openings preventing the first/second optical system’s light itself from entering the second/first optical system.
Therefore, for examination purposes – and to be consistent with ¶ 61 (and with claim 6 of the previous claim set, prior-rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefinite language) – the limitation on lines 2-3 shall be read as “the first opening shields light of the first optical system so as not to enter an image of the second optical system, while the limitation on lines 6-7 shall be read as “a shape made by cutting the second opening shields light of the second optical system so as not to enter an image of the first optical system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai (JP 2013210397 A) in view of Weaver (US 8427730 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Mukai discloses (see FIGs. 1-2, 3, 6, 8-11; ¶s 50, 58) a lens mount (screw ring unit 17) configured to attach and detach a lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) to and from a camera mount (filter section 299) of an image pickup apparatus (video camera 200), wherein the lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) includes a first optical system (G(1,2,3)L) and a second optical system (G(1,2,3)R).
Mukai does not disclose the lens mount comprising:
a cover member having a first opening corresponding to the first optical system and a second opening corresponding to the second optical system;
a holder configured to hold at least one filter configured to cover the first opening and the second opening, the holder including a first holder disposed on one side with respect to the first and second openings in a direction orthogonal to an arrangement direction of the first and second openings, and a second holder disposed on the other side with respect to the first and second openings in the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction; and
groove portions that are respectively formed between the cover member and the first holder and between the cover member and the second holder,
wherein the at least one filter is insertable into the groove portions, and wherein the cover member, the holder, and the groove portions are exposed towards the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount.
Mukai and Weaver are commonly related to stereoscopic image processing.
Weaver discloses (see FIG. 1, annotated below; col. 3 lines 3-55; col. 4 lines 26-55) a lens mount (main chassis 11 with retainer 75) comprising:
a cover member (main chassis 11) having a first opening corresponding to the first optical system and a second opening corresponding to the second optical system (diametrically opposed thickened input end portions 41, corresponding to upper and lower sets 21 of optical elements 22);
a holder (polarizer/mirror section 13) configured to hold at least one filter (wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, quarter wave plates 77) configured to cover the first opening and the second opening, the holder (polarizer/mirror section 13) including a first holder (upper two retaining screws 76, which secure/hold wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, and quarter wave plates 77 to main chassis 11) disposed on one side with respect to the first and second openings (i.e. the upper side of thickened input end portions 41) in a direction orthogonal to an arrangement direction of the first and second openings, and a second holder (lower two retaining screws 76) disposed on the other side with respect to the first and second openings (i.e. on the lower side) in the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction; and
groove portions that are respectively formed between the cover member (main chassis 11) and the first holder (upper retaining screws 76) and between the cover member (main chassis 11) and the second holder (lower retaining screws 76),
wherein the at least one filter (wire grid polarizers 73(a,b), hot mirror 74, quarter wave plates 77) is insertable into the groove portions, and
wherein the cover member (main chassis 11), the holder (polarizer/mirror section 13), and the groove portion are exposed towards the lens apparatus (i.e. comprising first/second optical systems).
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 of Weaver is annotated to highlight various structural features and relationships.)]
Thus, the combined teachings of Mukai and Weaver disclose the invention substantially as claimed, differing only in that the cover member, the holder, and the groove portion are exposed away from the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount – rather than towards the camera mount that is to be attached to the lens mount as claimed. (As established in the preamble and addressed above by Mukai (refer again to FIGs. 1-2, 8-9), the lens apparatus (3D adapter 100) is arranged opposite to the camera mount (filter section 299), with respect to the lens mount (screw ring unit 17). Thus, if the cover member, holder, and groove portion all face towards the (first/second optical systems of the) lens apparatus as in Weaver’s annotated FIG. 1 above, this implies that they also face away from the camera mount.) Examiner notes, however, that the difference between this structure and the claimed structure only amounts to a mere reversal of parts (i.e. away vs. towards the camera mount).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mukai’s lens mount design so that it accommodates filters for stereoscopic image processing as well as heat management, as taught by Weaver (col. 4, lines 56-65).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Mukai (in view of Weaver) by reversing the (latter’s) lens mount components, in order to improve accessibility of the holder and the interchangeability of its filters (note this would be a natural convenience and accommodation to make when importing the cited structure of Weaver into Mukai’s image pickup apparatus) – since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1.
Weaver further discloses (see annotated FIG. 1 above) wherein the first holder (upper two retaining screws 76) and the second holder (lower two retaining screws 76) have the same shape (all are screw-shaped).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1.
Weaver also discloses the further comprising:
a first wall portion in which the first opening is formed, wherein the first wall portion includes an end portion projecting inside the first opening and located on an attachment surface side to the image pickup apparatus; and
a second wall portion in which the second opening is formed, wherein the second wall portion includes an end portion projecting inside the second opening and located on the attachment surface side to the image pickup apparatus.
(See newly annotated FIG. 1 below, where both first/second openings are formed by first/second wall portions having end portions – the inside surfaces of which project into the first/second openings along axial directions, and are located on a side of the main chassis 11 where it attaches to the upper/lower lens housing 31/32 corresponding to an image pickup apparatus. Examiner notes that, broadly speaking, an image pick up apparatus’s overall figure is typically defined, at least in part, by some form of outer frame or housing for lenses.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 of Weaver is again annotated to highlight the end portions of the first/second wall portions of the first/second openings, how their inner surfaces project (see arrows) in an axial direction into the first/second openings, and how they are located on a side of the main chassis 11 which attaches to upper/lower lens housing 31/32.)]
Regarding claim 4, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 1
Weaver further discloses:
wherein each of the first opening and the second opening has a substantially circular shape including a D-cut portion,
wherein the D-cup portion of the first opening is provided on a second opening side along a chord parallel to the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction, and
wherein the D-cup portion of the second opening is provided on a first opening side along of a chord parallel to the direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction.
(See (either) annotated FIG. 1 above, where both first/second openings are each formed by the walls of a semicircle – i.e., with D-cuts taken on a chord that is the diameter of a circle – and where flat/D-cut edges of either semicircle run perpendicular to the displacement between the first/second openings.)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai in view of Weaver, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tamaki et al (WO 2007123064 A1, hereinafter “Tamaki”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mukai discloses the lens mount according to claim 4.
Modified Mukai does not disclose:
wherein the D-cup portion of the first opening shields light of the first optical system so as not to enter the second optical system, and
wherein the D-cup portion of the second opening shields light of the second optical system so as not to enter the first optical system.
Mukai and Tamaki are related as being directed towards image processing in multiocular (including binocular) camera systems.
Tamaki discloses:
wherein the D-cup portion of the first opening shields light of the first optical system (lens 1a) so as not to enter the second optical system (lens 1b), and
wherein the D-cup portion of the second opening shields light of the second optical system (lens 1b) so as not to enter the first optical system (lens 1a).
(See annotated FIG. 3 below, and note ¶ 41: “the light-shielding walls 61a-61d prevent light that passes through one of the lenses la-1d from entering an imaging area that does not correspond to that lens”. In other words, light passing through either lens/opening may only be directed towards a respective imaging area – shielded from other imaging areas, so as to not be reflected in the images produced there.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mukai by incorporating Tamaki’s light-shielding wall, in order to suppress interference between different (left, right) optical channels.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 3 of Tamaki is annotated to show how light rays passing through a given lens, filter, and opening may only reach a respective imaging area, while being shielded from other imaging areas by a light-shielding wall 61a)]
Conclusion
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872