DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Condon et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0367100) in view of Cook et al. (US Pat 5,299,849) and Ward et al. (US Pat 5,752,734).
Regarding claim 1, Condon et al. disclose a canopy system for covering a tray 54 of a vehicle 56 comprising: a frame 50 mountable to the vehicle 56 so as to extend over the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 (see Figure 1; Paragraph 47), the frame 50 comprising a pair of frame members 58f, 58r mounted at opposing ends of the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 with struts 66, 70 extending between the pair of frame members 58f, 58r to define a roof structure of the frame 50, each of the frame members 58f, 58r having supports 62 configured to attach to a side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 50 above the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 (see Figure 1; Paragraph 47); wherein the supports 62 of the frame members 58f ,58r are independently attached to the side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 at each corner thereof by bracket members 192 attached to ends of the supports 62, each of the bracket members 192 extend inwardly from each of the supports 60 so that the supports 62 define the end of the frame 50 (see Figure 16; Paragraphs 67-69), each of the bracket members 192 have a brace portion 208 having a portion extending along the support 62 and a portion that extends substantially orthogonally from the support 62 in an inward manner with respect to the support 62 such that the brace portion 208 extends along a top surface of the side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 (see Figures 1, 14, and 16-17; Paragraph 73), and wherein along each of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56, the bracket members 192 attached to each support 62 positioned at opposing ends thereof each have the brace portions 208 extending along the top surface of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 in a direction toward the other support 62 to support the frame 50 thereon (see Figure 1; Paragraph 73), and wherein each of the brace portions 208 of the bracket members 192 have a mount portion 272 that extends from an inner edge of the brace portion 208 in a substantially vertical manner to be affixed to only an inner surface of the side wall 52a of the vehicle 56 by a fastener 274 (see Figures 14-17; Paragraphs 82-83).
Condon et al. fail to disclose a cover configured to extend over the frame, the cover being attachable to at least one of the supports of the frame and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions and a rear portion, at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion being partially detachable from the cover to provide access to the tray of the vehicle; and the brace portion comprises a triangular body.
Cook et al. disclose a canopy system 50 for covering a tray of a vehicle 22 comprising: a frame 52 mountable to the vehicle 22 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 22, the frame 52 comprising a pair of frame members 56 mounted at opposing ends of the tray of the vehicle 22 with struts 60 extending between the pair of frame members 56 to define a roof structure of the frame 52 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58), each of the frame members 56 having supports 58 configured to attach to a side wall 24 of the vehicle 22 at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 52 above the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58); a cover 212 configured to extend over the frame 52, the cover 212 being attachable to at least one of the supports 58 of the frame 52 and having a roof portion 228, a front portion 74, opposing side portions 228 and a rear portion 232 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 4-32), at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 being partially detachable from the cover 212 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figures 4 and 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35). The rear portion 232 is provided with a door 240 that enables access to the bed (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 26-35). The cover provides a protective covering to enclose a protected space either for cargo or for shelter (see Col. 3, lines 5-9).
Ward et al. disclose a frame 10 having a pair of frame members 12 mounted at opposing ends of a tray of a vehicle 14 with struts 26 extending between the pair of frame members 12 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 25-43). Each of the frame members 12 has a support with a triangular body 28 with a portion extending along the support and a portion extending substantially orthogonally from the support in an inward manner with respect to the support (see Figure 5; Col. 4, lines 16-43). The triangular body 28 is provided for extra support (see Figure 5; Col. 4, lines 37-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover configured to extend over the frame of Condon et al., the cover being attachable to at least one of the supports of the frame and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions and a rear portion, at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion being partially detachable from the cover to provide access to the tray of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enclose the tray and create a protected space either for cargo or for shelter, as taught by Cook et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a triangular body in the brace portion of Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide extra support to the support, as taught by Ward et al..
Regarding claim 2, Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 1, wherein the supports 62 are located at each corner of the frame 50 and the bracket members 192 attach to opposing ends of each of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 such that the frame 50 spans the 54 tray of the vehicle 56 and the frame 50 is supported on the vehicle 56 (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs 47-48).
Regarding claim 3, Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 1.
Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. and Ward et al., fail to disclose the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion are partially detachable from the cover along their sides such that the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle.
Cook et al. disclose a canopy system 50 for covering a tray of a vehicle 22 comprising: a frame 52 mountable to the vehicle 22 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 22, the frame 52 comprising a pair of frame members 56 mounted at opposing ends of the tray of the vehicle 22 with struts 60 extending between the pair of frame members 56 to define a roof structure of the frame 52 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58), each of the frame members 56 having supports 58 configured to attach to a side wall 24 of the vehicle 22 at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 52 above the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58); a cover 212 configured to extend over the frame 52, the cover 212 being attachable to at least one of the supports 58 of the frame 52 and having a roof portion 228, a front portion 74, opposing side portions 228 and a rear portion 232 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 4-32), at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 being partially detachable from the cover 212 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figures 4 and 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35). The rear portion 232 is provided with a door 240 that enables access to the bed (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 26-35). The rear portion 232 is partially detachable from the cover 212 along their sides 240 such that the rear portion 232 can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 22 and able users to ingress into and egress out of the tray (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 26-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the rear portion of the cover Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. and Ward et al., to be partially detachable from the cover along sides such that the rear portion can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable ingress into and egress out of the tray, as taught by Cook et al..
Regarding claim 4, Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. twice and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 3.
Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. twice and Ward et al., fail to disclose the at least one of the partially detachable opposing side portions and the rear portion have a pocket formed along a length thereof, the pocket configured to receive a rod member therein to extend substantially the length of the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion.
Cook et al. disclose a canopy system 50 for covering a tray of a vehicle 22 comprising: a frame 52 mountable to the vehicle 22 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 22, the frame 52 comprising a pair of frame members 56 mounted at opposing ends of the tray of the vehicle 22 with struts 60 extending between the pair of frame members 56 to define a roof structure of the frame 52 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58), each of the frame members 56 having supports 58 configured to attach to a side wall 24 of the vehicle 22 at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 52 above the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58); a cover 212 configured to extend over the frame 52, the cover 212 being attachable to at least one of the supports 58 of the frame 52 and having a roof portion 228, a front portion 74, opposing side portions 228 and a rear portion 232 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 4-32), at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 being partially detachable from the cover 212 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figures 4 and 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35). The rear portion 232 is provided with a door 240 that enables access to the bed (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 26-35). Tt least one of the partially detachable opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 have a pocket 80, 214 formed along a length thereof, the pocket 80, 214 configured to receive a rod member 86, 218 therein to extend substantially the length of the at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35; Col. 10, lines 17-40). The pockets 80, 214 receive the rod member 86, 218 to maintain tension and keep the cover 212 in a taut condition when secured (see Col. 10, lines 41-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the rear portion of Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. twice and Ward et al., with a pocket formed along a length thereof, the pocket configured to receive a rod member therein to extend substantially the length of the rear portion, with a reasonable expectation of success, to maintain tension and keep the cover in a taut condition when secured, as taught by Cook et al..
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Condon et al. in view of Kaestner et al. (US Pat 5,988,195) and Ward et al..
Regarding claim 1, Condon et al. disclose a canopy system for covering a tray 54 of a vehicle 56 comprising: a frame 50 mountable to the vehicle 56 so as to extend over the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 (see Figure 1; Paragraph 47), the frame 50 comprising a pair of frame members 58f, 58r mounted at opposing ends of the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 with struts 66, 70 extending between the pair of frame members 58f, 58r to define a roof structure of the frame 50, each of the frame members 58f, 58r having supports 62 configured to attach to a side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 50 above the tray 54 of the vehicle 56 (see Figure 1; Paragraph 47); wherein the supports 62 of the frame members 58f ,58r are independently attached to the side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 at each corner thereof by bracket members 192 attached to ends of the supports 62, each of the bracket members 192 extend inwardly from each of the supports 60 so that the supports 62 define the end of the frame 50 (see Figure 16; Paragraphs 67-69), each of the bracket members 192 have a brace portion 208 having a portion extending along the support 62 and a portion that extends substantially orthogonally from the support 62 in an inward manner with respect to the support 62 such that the brace portion 208 extends along a top surface of the side wall 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 (see Figures 1, 14, and 16-17; Paragraph 73), and wherein along each of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56, the bracket members 192 attached to each support 62 positioned at opposing ends thereof each have the brace portions 208 extending along the top surface of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 in a direction toward the other support 62 to support the frame 50 thereon (see Figure 1; Paragraph 73), and wherein each of the brace portions 208 of the bracket members 192 have a mount portion 272 that extends from an inner edge of the brace portion 208 in a substantially vertical manner to be affixed to only an inner surface of the side wall 52a of the vehicle 56 by a fastener 274 (see Figures 14-17; Paragraphs 82-83).
Condon et al. fail to disclose a cover configured to extend over the frame, the cover being attachable to at least one of the supports of the frame and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions and a rear portion, at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion being partially detachable from the cover to provide access to the tray of the vehicle; and the brace portion comprises a triangular body.
Kaestner et al. disclose a canopy system for covering a tray of a vehicle comprising: a frame 17 mountable to the vehicle 1 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 1, the frame 17 having supports 10 configured to attach to the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 22-30); a cover 35 configured to extend over the frame 17, the cover 35 being attachable to at least one of the supports 10 of the frame 17 and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions 36 and a rear portion 40, at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 being partially detachable from the cover 35 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 5, lines 50-67); wherein the supports 10 are independently attached to the vehicle 1 by bracket members 25 attached to ends thereof, each of the bracket members 25 have a brace portion comprising a portion that extends substantially orthogonally from the support 10 to extend along and be received on a top surface of a side wall 3 of the vehicle 1 (see annotated Figure 5 below; Col. 4, lines 56-57; Col. 5, lines 7-20), the brace portion having a mount portion 26 that extends from an inner edge of the brace portion in a substantially vertical manner to be affixed to an inner surface of the side walls 3 of the vehicle 1 by a fastener 21 (see Figure 5; Col. 5, lines 7-15).
Ward et al. disclose a frame 10 having a pair of frame members 12 mounted at opposing ends of a tray of a vehicle 14 with struts 26 extending between the pair of frame members 12 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 25-43). Each of the frame members 12 has a support with a triangular body 28 with a portion extending along the support and a portion extending substantially orthogonally from the support in an inward manner with respect to the support (see Figure 5; Col. 4, lines 16-43). The triangular body 28 is provided for extra support (see Figure 5; Col. 4, lines 37-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover configured to extend over the frame of Condon et al., the cover being attachable to at least one of the supports of the frame and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions and a rear portion, at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion being partially detachable from the cover to provide access to the tray of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enclose the tray and create a protected space either for cargo or for shelter, as taught by Kaestner et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a triangular body in the brace portion of Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide extra support to the support, as taught by Ward et al..
Regarding claim 2, Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 1, wherein the supports 62 are located at each corner of the frame 50 and the bracket members 192 attach to opposing ends of each of the side walls 52a, 52b of the vehicle 56 such that the frame 50 spans the 54 tray of the vehicle 56 and the frame 50 is supported on the vehicle 56 (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs 47-48).
Regarding claim 3, Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 1.
Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. and Ward et al., fail to disclose the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion are partially detachable from the cover along their sides such that the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle.
Kaestner et al. disclose a canopy system for covering a tray of a vehicle comprising: a frame 17 mountable to the vehicle 1 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 1, the frame 17 having supports 10 configured to attach to the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 22-30); a cover 35 configured to extend over the frame 17, the cover 35 being attachable to at least one of the supports 10 of the frame 17 and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions 36 and a rear portion 40, at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 being partially detachable from the cover 35 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 5, lines 50-67); wherein the supports 10 are independently attached to the vehicle 1 by bracket members 25 attached to ends thereof, each of the bracket members 25 have a brace portion comprising a portion that extends substantially orthogonally from the support 10 to extend along and be received on a top surface of a side wall 3 of the vehicle 1 (see annotated Figure 5 below; Col. 4, lines 56-57; Col. 5, lines 7-20), the brace portion having a mount portion 26 that extends from an inner edge of the brace portion in a substantially vertical manner to be affixed to an inner surface of the side walls 3 of the vehicle 1 by a fastener 21 (see Figure 5; Col. 5, lines 7-15). The at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 are partially detachable from the cover 35 along their sides such that the at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 1 (see Col. 5, lines 53-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the rear portion of the cover Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. and Ward et al., to be partially detachable from the cover along sides such that the rear portion can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable ingress into and egress out of the tray, as taught by Kaestner et al..
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice and Ward et al., in view of Cook et al..
Regarding claim 4, Condon et al., as modified by Cook et al. twice and Ward et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 3.
Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice and Ward et al., fail to disclose the at least one of the partially detachable opposing side portions and the rear portion have a pocket formed along a length thereof, the pocket configured to receive a rod member therein to extend substantially the length of the at least one of the opposing side portions and the rear portion.
Cook et al. disclose a canopy system 50 for covering a tray of a vehicle 22 comprising: a frame 52 mountable to the vehicle 22 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 22, the frame 52 comprising a pair of frame members 56 mounted at opposing ends of the tray of the vehicle 22 with struts 60 extending between the pair of frame members 56 to define a roof structure of the frame 52 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58), each of the frame members 56 having supports 58 configured to attach to a side wall 24 of the vehicle 22 at each corner thereof so as to position the frame 52 above the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 33-58); a cover 212 configured to extend over the frame 52, the cover 212 being attachable to at least one of the supports 58 of the frame 52 and having a roof portion 228, a front portion 74, opposing side portions 228 and a rear portion 232 (see Figure 4; Col. 7, lines 4-32), at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 being partially detachable from the cover 212 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 22 (see Figures 4 and 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35). The rear portion 232 is provided with a door 240 that enables access to the bed (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 26-35). Tt least one of the partially detachable opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 have a pocket 80, 214 formed along a length thereof, the pocket 80, 214 configured to receive a rod member 86, 218 therein to extend substantially the length of the at least one of the opposing side portions 228 and the rear portion 232 (see Figure 8; Col. 9, lines 7-35; Col. 10, lines 17-40). The pockets 80, 214 receive the rod member 86, 218 to maintain tension and keep the cover 212 in a taut condition when secured (see Col. 10, lines 41-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the rear portion of Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice and Ward et al., with a pocket formed along a length thereof, the pocket configured to receive a rod member therein to extend substantially the length of the rear portion, with a reasonable expectation of success, to maintain tension and keep the cover in a taut condition when secured, as taught by Cook et al..
Regarding claim 5, Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice, Ward et al., and Cook et al., disclose the canopy system according to claim 4.
Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice, Ward et al., and Cook et al., fail to disclose the rod member is supported at either end by the bracket members of the frame to extend along a lowermost edge of the opposing side portions and the rear portion when the opposing side portions and the rear portion are fully attached to the cover.
Kaestner et al. disclose a canopy system for covering a tray of a vehicle comprising: a frame 17 mountable to the vehicle 1 so as to extend over the tray of the vehicle 1, the frame 17 having supports 10 configured to attach to the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 22-30); a cover 35 configured to extend over the frame 17, the cover 35 being attachable to at least one of the supports 10 of the frame 17 and having a roof portion, a front portion, opposing side portions 36 and a rear portion 40, at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 being partially detachable from the cover 35 to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 5, lines 50-67); wherein the supports 10 are independently attached to the vehicle 1 by bracket members 25 attached to ends thereof, each of the bracket members 25 have a brace portion comprising a portion that extends substantially orthogonally from the support 10 to extend along and be received on a top surface of a side wall 3 of the vehicle 1 (see annotated Figure 5 below; Col. 4, lines 56-57; Col. 5, lines 7-20), the brace portion having a mount portion 26 that extends from an inner edge of the brace portion in a substantially vertical manner to be affixed to an inner surface of the side walls 3 of the vehicle 1 by a fastener 21 (see Figure 5; Col. 5, lines 7-15). The at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 are partially detachable from the cover 35 along their sides such that the at least one of the opposing side portions 36 and the rear portion 40 can be lifted to provide access to the tray of the vehicle 1 (see Col. 5, lines 53-67). The rear portion 40 has a lower edge 45 positioned on the tailgate acting as a rain guard and securing the rear portion 40 to the tray (see Figure 1; Col. 6, lines 8-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the pocket of the rear portion of Condon et al., as modified by Kaestner et al. twice, Ward et al., and Cook et al., on the tailgate, causing the rod member to be supported at either end by bracket members of the frame and extend along a lowermost edge of the rear portion when the rear portion is fully attached to the cover, with a reasonable expectation of success, to guard against rain entering the tray, as taught by Kaestner et al..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered, but the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deckard et al. (US Pat 11,529,853) disclose a canopy system having a frame and a cover for a tray of a vehicle. Barnwell (US Pat 11,376,932) discloses a canopy system having a frame and a cover for a tray of a vehicle. Bowman (US Pat 4,709,956) discloses a canopy system having a frame and a cover for a tray of a vehicle. Boudah (US Pat 5,143,415) disclose a canopy system for a tray of a vehicle having a frame and a triangular support to mount the frame to the tray. Joab (US Pat 7,914,064) discloses a canopy system having a frame and a cover mounted to a tray of a vehicle.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612